Old 25th September 2017, 13:10   #3046

Re: Tata Hexa : Official Review

Even i am potential Hexa buyer here to replace my Scorpio . This is a constructive argument and setting right expectations .

End of the day we need to be mentally prepared on what we can expect from the HEXA Vs Others .

By nature we always have a tendency that " Grass on the other side is green "

Our forum is the only place where we can come to some conclusion that grass on our side is also green.

Originally Posted by vinodvayyat View Post
It sends a very wrong message to the Hexa aspirants when we generalize and come to conclusions based on one or two incidents - I have booked a Hexa and waiting currently for the delivery. I booked the vehicle after going through TeamBHP review and numerous feedbacks about the vehicle in this forum and in my research I have not come across any major incidents reported since the product launch (barring a Turbo noise incident and this wiper motor issue).

How many such niggles are you aware of till date about Hexa? - Please back your thoughts with references - that will be a constructive way to discuss this issue.
Ranga is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th September 2017, 13:15   #3047

Anyone has any idea if Tata will launch 4x4 automatic variant of the Hexa sooner or later.
Old 25th September 2017, 13:44   #3048

Originally Posted by patil View Post
Anyone has any idea if Tata will launch 4x4 automatic variant of the Hexa sooner or later.
As per the info from the Tata Officials they have confirmed that the Hexa XTA 4x4 is on its way and currently under testing...
gowda79 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 25th September 2017, 13:54   #3049

Originally Posted by patil View Post
There also was a news that a new colour and other features would be on the way. Lets wait and watch for only time will tell!
Old 25th September 2017, 14:32   #3050

Originally Posted by abhi7013 View Post
There also was a news that a new colour and other features would be on the way. Lets wait and watch for only time will tell!
Heard from the SA that the new colour would be Urban Bronze.

Any timelines on release of 4x4 AT?
Old 25th September 2017, 15:06   #3051

Originally Posted by arif_t01 View Post
A large tree fell on a vehicle. If we see the size of the tree & the fact that it has fallen fully into it, we would expect a Total loss. But what happened was entirely different. Because the vehicle was none other than TATA HEXA. The A-Pillar, B-Pillar & C-Pillar stood strong. Hence the impact did not get into the cabin area. Imagine if it was any other vehicle.

Source: Received in WhatsApp.
Wow! Just for comparing apples with apples, here is what happened when similar thing happened with Innova.

Tata Hexa : Official Review-images_1506332036561.jpg
akshay380 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 25th September 2017, 15:16   #3052

Originally Posted by akshay380 View Post
Wow! Just for comparing apples with apples, here is what happened when similar thing happened with Innova.

Attachment 1679642
In case of tree collapse on Hexa, the weight of the tree that was transfered to the vehicle was minimal. While it is quite the opposite in case of Innova. Yes, I do agree that Hexa has better rigidity in it but the entire vehicle was not made with gun metal .
I prefer a total loss in this kind of scenario (where human life risk may not be involved) rather than dents & repairs to the cabin .

Last edited by Hickstead : 25th September 2017 at 15:26.
Hickstead is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th September 2017, 15:22   #3053

Originally Posted by Hickstead View Post
In case of tree collapse on Hexa, the weight of the tree that was transfered to the vehicle was minimal. While it is quite the opposite in case of Innova. Yes, I do agree that Hexa has better rigidity in it but the entire vehicle was not made with gun metal .
I prefer a total loss in this kind of scenario rather than dents & repairs to the cabin .
Sorry, we are not talking about the life of the vehicle. Anybody in sane mind would want to replace the vehicle by declaring it as a total loss. But we are talking about precious human lives, which alas can't be replaced at any cost.

Do you think Innova had any better chance if it was in the place of HEXA?

Last edited by arif_t01 : 25th September 2017 at 15:25.
Old 25th September 2017, 15:34   #3054

I mean to say, No vehicle can take a tree on it as seen in the incident of Innova here. We have seen so many vehicles splitting into two or more parts when T boned even with a small tree .

Last edited by Hickstead : 25th September 2017 at 15:36.
Old 25th September 2017, 16:37   #3055

Originally Posted by Ranga View Post
I am commenting from the angle of

1. All scorpios bought in 2009 had

a.Clutch problem ( Many replaced under warranty )
b. Power windows ( Known failures where many were replaced under warranty
c. sensor problems ( Many reported )

I have read Toyoto Innova Leak issues here in Team bhp. But it might one of its kind. I am reporting about quality issues where the entire batch sold during the time frame where spares were replaced in above conditions. (Accepted by Mahindra sales as a known problem or asked to replace from Mahindra company itself )

The issue or the argument today is are we ready to invest 20Lakhs + for a Mahindra or a Hexa without niggles ??

How is it that you managed to generalize the problem of one brand's (Mahindra) known defect in a particular batch with that of a different brand altogether? Kindly enlighten us how that is constructive discussion?

While an issue of Toyota was quickly branded as one-off, the one in the Hexa you are not willing to ?

Just because both the brands happen to be Indian, are they related? If one fails, so should the other??

Last edited by akhil994 : 25th September 2017 at 16:39.
akhil994 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 25th September 2017, 16:44   #3056

Just completed 850 Kms road trip from Mumbai to Vadodara and back. The Odometer now reads 1540 Kms. I am happy with the highway performance of my Hexa XTA. There are few observations from my road trip that I want to share and see if other fellow Hexa owners have made similar observations? All strengths of Hexa are evident from the drive and I am not repeating them. Having bought the vehicle, I am obviously talking about things I noticed during my drive that got me thinking .

1. Odometer reading variation - The distance between our house in Mumbai & in Vadodara as per google maps is 410 Kms. I used Etios Liva and the odometer reading for the trip was always about 412-415 Kms. The Hexa Tripmeter showed the reading as 429 Kms. That is about 4% excess over Liva. Is that normal? Has anyone noticed similar thing?

2. Trip Fuel Average - During the road trip, the display showed fuel average of 13.4 KMPL. However, when I refuelled the car, the average came to 10.6 KMPL. This happened for two refuel cycles with different amount of fuel filling (about 50 L in the first fill and 28 L in the second one just to check this again). Both instances fo refuelling gave similar results. This variation IMO is beyond an acceptable range. Would like to know the experience of others on this.

3. I observed that 90-110 KMPH / 1900-2000 RPM is the sweet spot for highway driving. Due to running in period, I did not drive beyond this speed, but a couple of instances where I touched 120 KMPH, I found wind noise to be more than what I had expected. Intending to take the vehicle to the workshop and see if this needs any fix.
SMILEY is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th September 2017, 16:49   #3057

Originally Posted by Hickstead View Post
I mean to say, No vehicle can take a tree on it as seen in the incident of Innova here. We have seen so many vehicles splitting into two or more parts when T boned even with a small tree .
While I agree with you in this case

You still haven't answered my question here. My guess is, it would have split into two causing major injury to any passengers or even loss of lives.

Last edited by arif_t01 : 25th September 2017 at 16:51.
Old 25th September 2017, 17:42   #3058

I recently went with a friend who wanted to check out the Hexa. He was interested in the top end automatic (XTA). I knew earlier that the ride modes were deleted in the Automatic, but I was really astonished to find that they have deleted Vehicle Skid Protection, Traction Control and Hill Hold Feature from the top end automatic.

I am sure buyers always justify their decisions, but to me deleting Traction Control and ESP from your top end model is totally foolish on Tata's part.
4x4addict is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 25th September 2017, 18:20   #3059

I see all traits of what happened in my Scorpio way back in 2009 happening in HEXA (Wiper issue mentioned above)

Why should one pay 20Lakhs + and get a failed wiper after 1200 Kms on the odometer ?
I have nothing against TATA or the HEXA .I like the car and might be a future buyer of this platform .

Its just that i want a niggle free car. I don't want someone using me to test the features of the car . ( First batch of car buyers who invest there hard earned money and invite headaches )

In all my discussion i am trying to point out that even when Mahindra and TATA are using some of the best suppliers ( BEHER- AC Condenser supplier ) ,they cannot integrate in the car properly and miserably fail. Go to your AC car specialist in your area and ask him how many times he has received a Innova which has a failed AC condenser.

Our Indian cars no doubt are still trying to be niggle free in long run . But same time they do not last when compared to Japanese or a Korean make .

Originally Posted by vinodvayyat View Post
It sends a very wrong message to the Hexa aspirants when we generalize and come to conclusions based on one or two incidents - I have booked a Hexa and waiting currently for the delivery. I booked the vehicle after going through TeamBHP review and numerous feedbacks about the vehicle in this forum and in my research I have not come across any major incidents reported since the product launch (barring a Turbo noise incident and this wiper motor issue).

How many such niggles are you aware of till date about Hexa? - Please back your thoughts with references - that will be a constructive way to discuss this issue.
Originally Posted by akhil994 View Post
How is it that you managed to generalize the problem of one brand's (Mahindra) known defect in a particular batch with that of a different brand altogether? Kindly enlighten us how that is constructive discussion?

While an issue of Toyota was quickly branded as one-off, the one in the Hexa you are not willing to ?

Just because both the brands happen to be Indian, are they related? If one fails, so should the other??
Ranga is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th September 2017, 18:49   #3060

Originally Posted by Ranga View Post
I see all traits of what happened in my Scorpio way back in 2009 happening in HEXA ...Our Indian cars no doubt are still trying to be niggle free in long run . But same time they do not last when compared to Japanese or a Korean make .
Unless you "specifically choose" to live in the past, you may want to read some ownership logs for recent Tata Motors cars (starting from the Zest, Bolt, Tiago, Tigor and the Hexa). That was 2009, this is 2017. And the world has moved on.

And if that does not help, you may want to further read

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...va-crysta.html

and in specific my post here

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...ml#post4107989

and if you want to read more

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...e-anymore.html

and finally some thing on Tata Motors

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...enge-vrde.html

And if you want to provide constructive criticism kindly explain why a one-off incident on the Tata Hexa has you all guns blazing, while a rather-systemic issue with the Innova Crysta (speaking about tires and not the windshield leakage) does not raise your eyebrows. Lets get back to 2017, may we?

Edit: Just to add some context, I currently drive a 2011-Innova having moved on from a rather trouble-free experience with the Tata Manza. Have had a bit of experience on both sides (and my second car is a Korean - Hyundai Santro).

Last edited by sachinayak : 25th September 2017 at 18:51.
sachinayak is offline   (13) Thanks