![]() | #151 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Sep 2017 Location: MH 43 // MH 46
| ![]() Quote:
This is one vehicle I was most impressed with during my test drives this year. Did not take the plunge since I was waiting for AWD, Sunroof & ventilated seats that will be so helpful in Mumbai summers. And except for AWD, the other two were been made available in the AWD iteration they just launched. So the wait for my next ride continues. Kindly update us with regard to passenger seat height and how the lady found the same. If you do go for the aftermarket height adjuster "Risers" , please update regarding comfort and how better it is. Have a wonderful ownership experience and hope to read your ownership report soon. Cheers. | |
![]() | ![]() |
|
![]() | #152 | |||
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | ![]() Many congratulations vharihar! ![]() Quote:
Most of these units have anti-stall built into the engine management, so its very difficult to stall the engine. But if you have stalled it multiple times, you are seriously lugging the engine - that is too high a gear for the speed. Shift down one or two gears. Its bad for the drive train otherwise. And don't shift up too frequently in slow traffic. Be in the right gear for the speed and load, and drive it like an automatic. You can also rely on engine braking to slow the car down if you watch the traffic properly. Your engine, brakes and passengers will love you for it. ![]() Quote:
The first time I encountered that, I had to call up a friend of mine who owns a Creta to confirm how it works. Laptop bags are best kept behind the driver seat on the floor. Enjoy the miles with the Tucson! | |||
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #153 | |
BHPian Join Date: Jan 2008 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() Thanks all for the wishes. Had an occasion to use cruise control on the airport highway last weekend. Loved it! Looking fwd to long highway trips ... One problem I noticed (perhaps only in the base variant, not sure) is that the ignition key hole isn't illuminated. My 6 year old SX4 that whose OTR price was 1/3rd that of my Tucson, had illuminated ignition key hole! Quote:
Yes. I learned that the 2nd position is for auto lights. You can just leave it in that position forever and it'll sense ambient lighting and turn on headlights automatically as needed, and also turns them off when you leave and lock the car. The 4th similar position means mandatorily leaving it on (would stay on even if you leave and lock the car) Last edited by GTO : 31st October 2017 at 09:59. Reason: As requested :) | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #154 |
| ![]() Bought this cargo cover accessory: Danti Black Retractable Rear Trunk Cargo Luggage Security Shade Cover Shield for Hyundai Tucson 2016 (https://www.amazon.in/dp/B015R1TBFG/..._M6bhAbH16R27M) Fits neatly and is very impressive. It's not included in the base variant, hence I bought it as an accessory. |
![]() |
![]() | #155 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() | ![]() Quote:
Wish you many happy miles on your new ride. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #156 |
BHPian Join Date: Jan 2011 Location: Navi Mumbai
| ![]() So guys finally took delivery of my Hyundai Tuscon Petrol AT GL in white. Amazing car with very stable ride and handling miles ahead of my Honda City. Haven't driven it much now but MID shows around an avg of 9Kmpl in city driving primarily which is what I expected. Delivery time was spot on by the dealer and I got the updated GL model with additional safety features (ASM, VSC, BA etc.). Hoping for a good ownership experience. ![]() |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #157 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Dec 2013 Location: Hyderabad
| ![]() Quote:
| |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #158 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Sep 2017 Location: MH 43 // MH 46
| ![]() Quote:
Hope to read your ownership report and decision making process with regard to how you narrowed down your choice to this beauty. Congratulations once again and wishing you miles and miles of blissful ownership. | |
![]() | ![]() |
|
![]() | #159 | |
| ![]() Quote:
| |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #160 | |
BHPian Join Date: Feb 2016 Location: Mumbai
| ![]() Quote:
Can you shed some light on the clutch in the base variant diesel? Does it have a long play or short? I had been to the showroom in Mumbai today and I was told that they do not have a manual transmission demo car and that I ll have to TD the automatic to gauge the driving dynamics. I am keen on booking the same variant, however I foresee a slight risk in booking it without experiencing how the clutch play is as it will play a crucial role in bumper to bumper traffic. Last edited by ampere : 3rd December 2017 at 20:22. | |
![]() |
![]() | #161 | |
| ![]() Quote:
I don't recall any issue with the clutch play or travel. The only issue I had was likely my getting used to a diesel car coming from a petrol car, esp given the gearing ratios. I'd have it stall on 2nd gear often in the initial days, but am now getting used to it. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #162 | |
Newbie Join Date: Jan 2010 Location: Delhi
| ![]() Quote:
I am planning to buy base variant in Petrol. Can you please share pictures of dashboard if you don't mind. Thanks in advance | |
![]() |
![]() | #163 |
BHPian Join Date: Feb 2012 Location: Gurgaon
| ![]() I spent christmas afternoon with a spanking new Tucson GLS Petrol AT. Belongs to a very dear friend of mine. It took his family a little over 2 years to decide on a worthy replacement for their ageing 2007 Civic Automatic. The cars considered were Compass, Kodiaq, Tiguan, Tucson & Creta. They had booked a Compass Petrol AT during launch. The promised delivery date of their Compass got delayed. After checking out the competition, they were disappointed with the drive and interior space the Compass had to offer. Non availability of Limited (O) variant pretty much sealed the deal for the Compass. The additional couple of lakhs for a Tucson are in my opinion worth it considering some extra features (6 airbags), cruise control, electric driver seat etc and more spacious interiors. Some observations and comparisons drawn from the point of view from a Creta Petrol Automatic owner.
![]() Last edited by promit : 26th December 2017 at 14:39. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #164 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jul 2010 Location: BLR
| ![]() Are you sure its a GLS, AFAIK Petrol just comes in GL AT. The dealer I spoke to made it clear that petrol comes only in GL variant, the GLS top spec is limited to the 4WD Diesel. The price point of a 4WD GLS Diesel is much higher than the Crysta 2.8 AT Touring sport, the other alternative I have been considering (please dont beat me up on comparing cars from 2 different spectrum - but those are my 2 choices right now). It would be nice to know if a Petrol AT is indeed available in the GLS variant. Last edited by SR-71 : 26th December 2017 at 17:33. |
![]() |
![]() | #165 |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Apr 2007 Location: Pune
| ![]() Yellow light works better than white in fog. So fogs have to be yellow. |
![]() | ![]() |