Prelude:- The year was 2010, we bought a Hyundai i10 1.2 Kappa VTVT Sportz (Daytona Grey). The best car we could buy at that time was either a Ford Figo or the i10. Dad always say Maruti's are "MURIR DABBA" (In bengali it means a "BAG OF PUFFED RICE") Ford didn't had a showroom/service center in Kharagpur back then so we decided to go with the Hyundai as the highways were terrible towards the nearest city Kolkata(Calcutta) and travelling 120 kms just for service was not an option.
The year was 2019, My friend bought a used Alto K10, our i10 being nearly 10 years old, 33K kms run and chauffeured by 11 drivers, shockers failed , clutch assembly destroyed, tax failed due to the showroom not being transparent while selling the car (we buy 15 years road tax as default) but showroom gave 5 years tax to lower the car price as a result we paid 25K tax and 25K Fine and it needed tax again for next 5 years in 2020 Dec, Hyundai gave us a bill of 1lakh + after taking 2500 just for estimating repair cost so we decided to sell the car and buy something that had abs+ airbags (i10 had none). Friend said we can use the Alto K10 whenever needed so sold the i10 to a factory owner who needed the car for one of his relative at 1.3 Lakh only.
The AltoK10:-
Present Day :- In search of gold, we found daimond. I was in search of a car which was bigger, safer in highways (abs + airbags + safety rating) and a petrol due to uncertainty of 10 year diesel ban pan India + DPF issues in bs6 cars. I follow TBHP since 2012 or before than that don't remember but recently became a member. This thread helped me a lot in choosing a proper car-
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/what-...altroz-xt.html (Advice needed: Tata Nexon XM vs Altroz XT)
Options considered/Test drove these cars:
Tiago= Same as i10 in terms of size but ac was far better and the steering was super light, declined due to same as i10 ness.
Altroz= Phenomenal driving dynamics + size + style, declined as punch was coming and its 165mm ground clearance was not enough for the car breaking speed breakers.
Baleno CVT= Paper wrapped all around feeling, good engine+gearbox combo hope it came in Altroz, Declined due to extremely fragile product.
S-Cross= was out of budget but all 4 disc brakes got me hooked but used car market was flooded with old model and 2 year old new model quotes were of a new Nexon XM territory.
Ford= LEFT/DEAD in India.
Punch= Feels like a proper suv from drivers seat and that suspension is a category higher when compared to other micro suv's .Booked Adventure Rythm white (comes with harman 7 inch with reversing camera), 2 months passed and went to showroom with parents to try the back seat and it felt congested for 3 well built and a bit claustrophobic , tried the Nexon beside it and it felt like an ambassador seat, super comfortable, mom said after a long drive in Punch, we'll feel relieved that the journey ended but in Nexon we would be relaxed.
Nexon it is then, cancelled Punch and booked XE Foliage green. Just out of curiosity, called K.B Motors Kolkata for a deal, got better deal from them so asked Kharagpur dealer if they can provide the same but got denied so cancelled and booked from Kolkata, was promised a 2022 model . Opened Boodmo and evaluated the 1 lakh price difference in XE and XM model, as XE didnt had rear power windows, central locking, music system and what not, calculated price of everything from HMI Silver(music system) box + display , power windows winder + switches+ antennae+ central locking + BCM module etc and parts price alone was like 90k+ so price was justified. Cancelled XE and booked XM. Got a call from K.B Motors RM , Mr. Surja Kanta Datta on 7th Jan that a 2022 red Nexon XM is available and is in transit so I said keep it for me , he's extremely helpful, felt like NEXA experience
, new generation guys are polite and well trained, gone are the days of bad tata experience.
Paid the amount via RTGS/NEFT (Took insurance outside, National@22K) but I took late delivery as I was waiting for number plates to arrive+ the accessories I wanted.
RM- Surya + Me and My Mom
TATA Genuine Led Fog Lamps and switch location -
Immaculate fit and finish LOL(we were in a hurry)
I opened them in home and Filed/Cut them Properly
Tata Genuine Seat Covers, Black+ Perforated+ NEXON Badging= 7500 appox
My Favourite Lord Ganesh Idol @ Amazon link:-
https://www.amazon.in/Gold-terracott...st_sto_dp&th=1
Bergmann Mobile Stand XL @ Amazon 599 Rs Link:-
https://www.amazon.in/Bergmann-Autom..._dp&th=1&psc=1
Keyfob Cover @ Amazon link:-
https://www.amazon.in/Keyzone%C2%AE-...st_sto_dp&th=1
I'm giving away free code if anyone wants it grab it.
After visiting Durga Temple and pooja
Problems Faced :- Engine Management Light Glowing from day of delivery and after reaching home noticed it, so I did my first service in Kharagpur , Krishna Motors, Very helpful guys, TATA SERVICE HAS INDEED IMPROVED.
OBD Scanning revealed brake light fuse blown/not working. Music system and ECU was up to date from Factory.
Bought 3D floor mats from Tata as it doesn't mess with accelerator and clutch operation, at time of service and 3 year extended warranty.
Generation Gap Or should I say Star Vs The Underdog?
DIY Painted Wheel covers @ home
New colour/model with ventilated seats and amt @ StockYard
Adios ! Will post more Pics after I cover more Happy miles with My "TANK".