Old 17th June 2019, 14:00   #1

2019 Ford Endeavour Facelift : Official Review

The Ford Endeavour Facelift is on sale in India at a price of between Rs. 28.20 - 33.70 lakhs (ex-Delhi).

What you'll like:

• A big all-rounded SUV with no real deal breaker. Fair pricing too
• Macho styling packs appeal. Solid build quality matches the butch presence
• Cabin is a nice place to be in. Likeable design, comfy seats & lots of storage
• The 3.2L diesel engine with 197 BHP and 470 Nm is very impressive
• Good balance between ride & handling for a body-on-frame SUV. Sweet steering too
• Offroad ready - Terrain Management System, rear diff lock, 225 mm GC & 800 mm of water wading
• 5 star safety: ESP & TC, 7 airbags, roll stability control, hill launch assist etc.
• Loaded to the gill with features! Panoramic sunroof, 10 speaker ICE, powered tailgate & more

What you won't:

• Fortuner's cabin is roomier, offering more headroom & space at the back
• 2.2L engine feels lethargic over 120 kph. Not a fast highway express
• Mediocre fuel economy due to the fat 2,200+ kilo weight, AT & big diesel (3.2L)
• Annoying feature deletions (e.g. headlamp washers, gear position backlight)
• Missing essentials (steering reach adjustment, tumbling 2nd row seat, Isofix mounts)
• Ingress is difficult for the elderly / short folk. 3rd row access is terrible!
• No manual gearbox with the 3.2L / 4x4. Fortuner 2.8L 4x4 is available with an MT
• A bit uncertain of how the long-term after-sales will be, with the Mahindra-Ford JV

The 2.0L Diesel AT:

Review Link

Last edited by GTO : 31st March 2020 at 16:45. Reason: Link to 2.0 review
ChiragM is offline   (52) Thanks
Old 17th June 2019, 14:00   #2

Since the Ford Endeavour has already been reviewed by Team-BHP, this report will only focus on changes made to the 2019 Facelift. To read the full official review, click here.

Last edited by GTO : 17th June 2019 at 14:06.
ChiragM is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 17th June 2019, 14:00   #3

Why fix what's not broken? While the Toyota Fortuner is still the supreme leader in the segment, the Endeavour has managed to hold its ground selling a respectable 500 - 600 units a month. It's a very strong number 2 in the premium SUV segment. The Endeavour was launched 3+ years back and it now has to deal with fresh competition from the likes of the Mahindra Alturas G4. What better time for a facelift?

2019 Ford Endeavour Facelift : Official Review-ford-endeavour-facelift-comparo.png

So, what's new on the outside?

A typical "blink and you'll miss it" facelift. Minor cosmetic changes at the front like blackened headlamps, a new bumper and a new grille distinguish the new Endeavour from the old one:

A new alloy wheel design is the only change in the side profile. The length of the SUV has gone up by 11 mm to 4,903 mm (thanks to the bumper):

No changes to the rear. We're told that the width has increased by 9 mm...that's just 4.5 mm on each side. Maybe the bumper again? We wish Ford had used this opportunity to get rid of the boot-open handle that looks awful (below the number-plate):

The Endeavour is a ruggedly handsome SUV & we feel it has a timeless design. The blackened headlights and new grille make it look a little sharper:

The SUV now comes in this new color called Diffused Silver:

A closer look at the blackened bits in the headlight cluster:

The 2016 Endeavour got headlight washers, but they were deleted in 2017! This really sucks. Headlamp washers are very useful on long drives and an expected feature on such expensive cars. Ford's continuous addition & deletion of features can get frustrating:

The grille gets three chrome slats running across it. The detailing of the mesh behind it has also changed. It now gets horizontal slats:

The silver skid plate looks slightly less chunky and gets some small changes, including black highlights (check the older one here):

The foglamp housing gets a black surround:

Finally, a feature many Endeavour owners were asking for. Keyless entry!

18" dual-tone 12-spoke alloy wheels look smart & funky! They get 265/60 MRF Wanderer rubber on them:

Flush-fitting roof rails get a smooth finish on top (earlier ones had indents on them):

Last edited by GTO : 17th June 2019 at 14:05.
ChiragM is offline   (33) Thanks
Old 17th June 2019, 14:00   #4

So, what's new on the inside?

Just like the exterior, changes to the interior are minimal. The biggest change here is the dashboard, which now gets a black leather cover on top with contrast stitching. It was chocolate brown on the outgoing car. This is a welcome change:

Lateral view of the dashboard with the new black top:

Zooming in on the dash top to show you the contrast stitching:

The steering wheel now gets grey contrast stitching:

The MID gets a Navigation feature added to it, and it displays a compass. The option of speed dial has been removed from the phone function though:

Endeavour now gets a more advanced TPMS which shows the active tyre pressure value for all four wheels. It also gives out a warning if there is a drop in pressure:

The new engine start button gets a green light and blue backlighting as well. In accessory mode, the green light keeps blinking and when you switch on the car, it stays green:

Rotary dial is from other Ford cars. It now gets the pop-out headlamp leveling switch:

Beige-colored bonnet opening lever (old car got a dark coloured one):

The passenger seat gets electric adjustment...

...as well as lumbar adjustment! Your spouse will be pleased. We wish Ford had thrown in the useful 'memory seats' function for the driver:

Minor changes to the centre console include an additional USB port and new trim to the gear lever. The SUV comes with Ford's fantastic Sync 3 system:

Ford no longer gives a cigarette lighter with the car. It has been replaced by a 12V port:

In place of the old 12V port comes a secondary USB port:

The USB port for Android Auto / Apple CarPlay gets a blue-glow surround. The SD card reader & AUX port have been removed (we agree with their deletion):

Sharp new gear lever gets a leather-wrap and metal trim (check older one here). We love Ford's classy approach to design:

The backlight for the transmission indicator has been removed. HOW CHEAP! Penny-wise, pound-foolish move by Ford :

No cigarette lighter, so no ashtray either. This has given way for one more cup holder:

The deep storage compartment (under the armrest). Position of this tray has changed. It is useful for storing smaller items (like a pen, for example):

The roof bezel remains the same, except for the new "door open" light switch. It has orange backlighting:

The 3rd row gets coat hooks on both sides:

The tailgate can be opened / closed by waving your leg underneath the bumper. The sensor is located on the left side. Here's a demonstration of how the hands-free boot works:

Another cheap move - the grab-handles no longer get ambient lighting (check older one here). Ford should realise that such cost-cutting is not done on a 35-lakh car!

New smartkey is needed only to lock the car from the outside. It has a boot release button:

Last edited by GTO : 17th June 2019 at 14:17.
ChiragM is offline   (37) Thanks
Old 17th June 2019, 14:00   #5

In-Car Entertainment

Both variants of the Endeavour come with an 8.0-inch touchscreen system equipped with Sync 3. It is largely similar to the one found in the EcoSport (link). The 10-speaker audio system offers excellent sound quality!

The Ford logo on start-up:

The split home screen displays the audio details, a compass and the connected phone. Pressing the temperature display takes you to the climate control, while time takes you to the clock settings. Similarly, pressing the envelope on the top right corner takes you to the messages screen:

Album art is displayed on the right....even when I was playing through YouTube! Ford's Sync 3 is undoubtedly the segment-best ICE software. We love it!

You can control the dual-zone AC through the Sync 3 system (including the rear air-con and defrost):

Among other things, Sync 3 has a "do not disturb" mode if you don't want to be distracted while driving:

The system also supports voice readout of text messages:

The navigation system displays the speed limit of the road you are traveling on. It beeps when the speed limit is crossed. The system also beeps when the speed limit changes or when nearing a school zone. Damn cool!

Lots of options available to choose the ideal route. You can add different points to the route or take detours to skip a particular road or section:

If you get lost, the 'Where am I' function tells the exact location, along with coordinates, and also the streets directly in front + behind the vehicle:

The country information gives you the speed limit for various types of roads in different countries, along with the phone country code and emergency number...

...as well as other information like maximum permissible blood alcohol level and special information like the visibility vest displayed here:

For the United States, there's separate information for different states!

It has Ford's Emergency Assist System which will automatically call 108 (emergency services) in case of an accident (full details here). You can set emergency contacts too:

The colour of the interior ambient lights can be customised:

You can connect the system to a nearby WiFi network (or your phone's WiFi via tethering):

You can switch the display off if it distracts you at night. We like that the system comes with an information button for most functions to tell the user what it does:

Reversing camera has adaptive guidelines which give you an indication of the vehicle's path with the steering wheel turned. You can zoom in when maneuvering in tight situations:

The Endeavour gets Android Auto and Apple CarPlay. To use them, owners have to connect their smartphones to the system via a USB cable. You can get directions, make calls, send and receive messages and listen to music through this Android interface:

Remember, Apple CarPlay now gets Google Maps:

Last edited by GTO : 17th June 2019 at 14:03.
ChiragM is offline   (35) Thanks
Old 17th June 2019, 14:00   #6

Driving the Endeavour

You can check out our review of the awesome 3.2L diesel & adequate 2.2L diesel engines at this link.

It does appear that Ford has softened the suspension now, compared to the 2016 car. This has resulted in a really nicer riding experience within the city; it's very comfortable and takes bumps well. Ride quality is pretty much as good as it can get with a body-on-frame SUV (it's no Duster though). On the other hand, this softness has chipped away some of the high-speed dynamics. The Endeavour felt distinctly top-heavier & had more body roll in the corners. We noticed the same in 80 - 100 kmph aggressive lane changes too. At high speed, the Endeavour did feel a bit floaty on wavy / undulating roads. Of course, the handling is still sorted by body-on-frame SUV standards and the grip levels are good; just that the pre-facelift was better.

Most customers will prefer this cushiony ride quality. We'll take it over the Fortuner's suspension for sure. That said, we prefer the overall behaviour & balance of the pre-facelift. IMHO, Ford has gone a level too soft for those who will use the car as a highway express. The suspension softening is good for those driving primarily in the city, not so for expressway champions.

The suspension is the same as the pre-facelift Endeavour. Only the position of the anti-roll bar has changed & the tuning is softer. More details in this post:

Last edited by GTO : 17th June 2019 at 14:02.
ChiragM is offline   (24) Thanks
Old 17th June 2019, 14:01   #7

Other Points

• The Ford website lists prices for the scheduled service plans. We find them to be very fair for a Rs 30 - 40 lakh premium SUV:

• The Endeavour comes with a 3 year / 1 lakh km standard warranty. Extended warranty up to 6 years / 1 lakh km can be purchased. As always, we strongly recommend the 6-year coverage.

• Available in 5 colour options - Diffused Silver (our test car), Moondust Silver (regular silver), Diamond White, Absolute Black & Sunset Red.

• With the facelift, Ford has brought in the manual version of the 2.2-liter engine as well.

• The Ford Endeavour facelift brochure can be viewed here - Ford Endeavour facelift.pdf

Last edited by GTO : 17th June 2019 at 14:08.
ChiragM is offline   (34) Thanks
Old 17th June 2019, 14:20   #8

Re: 2019 Ford Endeavour Facelift : Official Review

Thread moved from the Assembly Line to Official Reviews. Thanks for sharing!

IMHO, the suspension is a level softer than I’d prefer, but this is still a s-e-x-y SUV. It would be my pick over the Fortuner. If I was a potential customer in this segment, it would be a tough fight between the Endeavour & Kodiaq, both of which I see as offering a package that is on par with many Rs 60-70 lakh SUVs. In the end though, I’d probably go with the Endeavour because of its butch presence, robustness and indisputably superior reliability / ease of ownership over the Kodiaq.

Can be modified so well! Check out this stunning example by Autopsyche:
2019 Ford Endeavour Facelift : Official Review-fb_img_1492018700967.jpg
GTO is offline   (41) Thanks
Old 17th June 2019, 14:53   #9

Excellent review! Rated a well deserved 5 stars.

I think Ford is one of the best manufacturers in India when it comes to introducing facelifts. The Ecosport with its improved looks and that mean front end, the Figo and the Aspire with the improved petrol engines and a better feature set, and now the Endeavour with all the customer complains such as lack of keyless entry sorted along with the addition of a powered seat for the passenger. Thumbs up for that.

On the other hand, deleting inconspicuous but good to have features such as ambient lighting in the door handles, and the illuminated gates for the gear shifter is just being penny wise pound foolish as said before.

Finally, hope they don't keep shuffling the prices time and again apart from deleting equipment foolishly.

The Endy is a well priced, irresistable offering and the only thing that can kill it is Ford itself!

Last edited by vishy76 : 17th June 2019 at 14:55.
vishy76 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 17th June 2019, 16:54   #10

Thread moved from the Assembly Line to Official Reviews. Thanks for sharing!

If I was a potential customer in this segment, it would be a tough fight between the Endeavour & Kodiaq, both of which I see as offering a package that is on par with many Rs 60-70 lakh SUVs. In the end though, I’d probably go with the Endeavour because of its butch presence, robustness and indisputably superior reliability / ease of ownership over the Kodiaq.
I was in the exact same fix back in the last week of March 2019 and just as you mentioned picked up the Endeavour facelift for exact same reasons (even though Kodiaq was being for almost Rs.1.5 lakh less than Endeavour + free service package till 60k kms) + lack of punch in Kodiaq. It also did not seem abuse friendly either which is what most of our roads are always turning into. On any long Indian roadtrip, always expect uncertainty in road, traffic and weather condidtions and this SUV is simply the best.

Here is the link to my initial ownership experience. Just completed 5k kms and having a blast - https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...d-india-9.html (Ford Endeavour facelift launch in early 2019. EDIT: Spotted in India)
Aniket6 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 17th June 2019, 17:20   #11

Originally Posted by ChiragM View Post
Why fix what's not broken? While the Toyota Fortuner is still the supreme leader in the segment, the Endeavour has managed to hold its ground selling a respectable 500 - 600 units a month. It's a very strong number 2 in the premium SUV segment. The Endeavour was launched 3+ years back and it now has to deal with fresh competition from the likes of the Mahindra Alturas G4. What better time for a facelift?

Attachment 1885771
How come no prices are listed for others in comparison, but only the Fortuner?

Last edited by benbsb29 : 19th June 2019 at 09:31. Reason: Corrected punctuation.
Old 18th June 2019, 08:58   #12

Originally Posted by lemedico View Post
how come no prices are listed for others in comparison, but only the fortuner?
Cause you are looking at prices for the petrol and only Fortuner comes in petrol.

Do see the columns higher up for all the diesels.

Last edited by Vid6639 : 18th June 2019 at 23:02.
Vid6639 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 18th June 2019, 09:20   #13

The Ford Endeavour has always been one of my three all time favourite SUVs in India. The other two being Land cruiser (both the prado as well as the big boy Land cruiser) and of course the legendary Tata Safari. Experts here could answer a question of mine though. Granted that the Endeavour comes loaded to the gills with safety features, which I really like, I can't help but notice the absence of ISOFIX child seat mounting points for the outer middle row of seats though. If it is present, then bravo but if it isn't, then I would say it is a glaring omission on such an expensive car.
aveoman19 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th June 2019, 10:00   #14

Does the Endeavour come with ISOFIX mounts? I couldnt find mention of it in the brochure.
neil.jericho is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th June 2019, 11:01   #15

Originally Posted by aveoman19 View Post
The Ford Endeavour has always been one of my three all time favourite SUVs in India. The other two being Land cruiser (both the prado as well as the big boy Land cruiser) and of course the legendary Tata Safari. Experts here could answer a question of mine though. Granted that the Endeavour comes loaded to the gills with safety features, which I really like, I can't help but notice the absence of ISOFIX child seat mounting points for the outer middle row of seats though. If it is present, then bravo but if it isn't, then I would say it is a glaring omission on such an expensive car.
Endeavour is the only D2 SUV without isofix mounts. The Japanese and the Europeans (who are most of the segment) obviously have it. The Korean Indian doesn't skimp on it either.

Ironically in the Australian Everest, it comes with 2 additional isofix mounts in third row also!

Maybe not a deal breaker for many buyers, but in my usage, the child seat is 'part of the car'. For me, one primary reason for going for a seven seater instead of 5, is because of child seat taking up permanent middle row real estate.

Without isofix on a 40lac car , now one has to lash the child seat to the car using seat belts like cavemen.

Last edited by vigneshkumar31 : 18th June 2019 at 11:10.
vigneshkumar31 is offline   (6) Thanks