Old 27th June 2023, 14:57   #2761

Re: Kia Seltos : Official Review

We are considering the Seltos as a replacement for our S-Cross 1.6 which is in its 7th year. Should we go for the 1.5 AT now or wait for the facelift with the 1.5 turbo petrol engine? How reliable is the DSG unit on Kia/Hyundai cars in this range? The 1.5 litre turbo petrol is far more appealing than the 1.5 NA unit.
zv777 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th June 2023, 17:25   #2762

Infractions: 0/2 (19)

Originally Posted by zv777 View Post
We are considering the Seltos as a replacement for our S-Cross 1.6 which is in its 7th year. Should we go for the 1.5 AT now or wait for the facelift with the 1.5 turbo petrol engine? How reliable is the DSG unit on Kia/Hyundai cars in this range? The 1.5 litre turbo petrol is far more appealing than the 1.5 NA unit.
A worthy choice indeed, if you are not worried about the extra money you would have to spend on the facelift, the facelift would be way better in terms of features. The 1.5 DSG is an excellent engine with a good gearbox, if you want to check out the performance, do take a test drive of the Carens or Alcazar, although the Seltos is a different car in terms of dimensions, you can get a feel of the engine's performance and gearshifts.

In the case of the current Naturally aspirated 1.5 Petrol CVT, you save a whole lot of money, considering you get 1.83 lakhs benefits on it at the minimum, you can even get the fully loaded GTX+ trim, for a little more than the on-road price of the HTX, But in the case of the facelift, you would have to shell out a lot more money.

In our case, we booked the fully loaded variant of the Seltos facelift, the dealership informed us that once the variant details arrive, they will convert our booking, and we will be the first one to receive the car in Thrissur. Till then they have given us an option if required to opt for the current Seltos at reduced prices, but it's the facelift that entices us.
bijims is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 28th June 2023, 09:28   #2763

Planning to upgrade Seltos ‘GT Petrol’ tyres. From 215 to 235. Has anyone done the same and what are the pros and cons. Any recommendation on which brand, and size. Is AT better? Is there a drastic chang ein FE, and by how many km’s.
Tjv777 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th June 2023, 13:48   #2764

Originally Posted by zv777 View Post
Depends on your budget and driving conditions. If you are on tight budget or mostly driving within city, IVT would be just fine and you can stay clear of potential DSG /DCT issues which can arise due to stop go traffic.

If you are looking for spirited highway drives and budget permitting then turbo DSG it is.

Last edited by Aviator_guy : 28th June 2023 at 13:49.
Aviator_guy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th July 2023, 19:10   #2765

I am currently in the process of booking a new Seltos and would highly appreciate it if someone could kindly provide me with a K-Code (https://www.kia.com/in/buy/k-code.html) for priority delivery. Thank you in advance.
Old 14th July 2023, 17:36   #2766

Originally Posted by Tjv777 View Post
Any recommendation on which brand, and size.
There is some information on this (Kia Seltos - Tyre & wheel upgrade thread) thread on 235/55/R17.

I'm curious, how many kms have you done before the upgrade?
Old 15th July 2023, 13:19   #2767

During my annual service centre visit, SA was telling that they recommend replacing battery after 2 years and he was quoting ~9.5k for replacement. Just wanted to check with fellow owners, how long the stock battery has lasted before you went for replacement, esp GTX variant. ? Did you get it done from service centre or from battery dealers?
mankuthimma is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th July 2023, 14:38   #2768

Originally Posted by mankuthimma View Post

During my annual service centre visit, SA was telling that they recommend replacing battery after 2 years and he was quoting ~9.5k for replacement. Just wanted to check with fellow owners, how long the stock battery has lasted before you went for replacement, esp GTX variant. ? Did you get it done from service centre or from battery dealers?
Mine is a lower variant HTK+ but running on the OE battery. Car is 45 months old.
ashis89 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th July 2023, 17:50   #2769

Get the battery checked out with a third party battery service guys.
The battery in my Seltos degraded in less than 10 months, due to corrosive air near my residence (been having battery issues on all my cars)
Depends on the usage and air quality where you stay.
Do check and maintain the water levels in the battery.
neofromcapone is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 19th July 2023, 11:37   #2770

Originally Posted by peakyblinder7 View Post
I am currently in the process of booking a new Seltos and would highly appreciate it if someone could kindly provide me with a K-Code (https://www.kia.com/in/buy/k-code.html) for priority delivery. Thank you in advance.
I would like to help you. Is it ok to post the code here?
Old 23rd July 2023, 21:38   #2771

Originally Posted by Stribog View Post
100% recommend it.

The default city mode for me now is P1 (with P2 being the max torque / power) and for highways I have tried driving it in stock and I just can't.

More than the power boost, the torque bump improves drivability in the city and makes it really peppy in the highways.

Go for it.
Hey Stribog, Do you still have the dieseltronic on your seltos? What is your long term review? I got it installed recently and after 300kms of city drive i got a DPF error. Wondering if it could be due to dieseltronic or something else.
Old 25th July 2023, 19:27   #2772

I am planning to address the issue of harsh ride in my 2019 Seltos gtx dct + by changing the shock absorbers from the latest seltos parts bin (I remember reading somewhere that the ride in the latest iteration of Seltos is much better)

Request inputs if any of the fellow Seltos owners have got it done.
Old 25th July 2023, 20:25   #2773

Originally Posted by mankuthimma View Post

Hi, I have Seltos Diesel GTX+, bought in Oct 2020. Battery works just fine. (Fingers Crossed). Best option is to get your battery checked outside.
akash3185 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th July 2023, 20:36   #2774
avk

Originally Posted by avk View Post
Update: They are going to replace the steering motor. The SA said they have got an upgraded version of the same. And also would be an issue that can affect <5% of the cars. The sound coming from my steering was very feeble and was noticeable while turning at crawling speed in a noise less space like the basement.
So keep an ear out for any difference in sound coming from your steering while turning and get it checked at an ASS.
My car is Sept'20 make.
Quoting my post as the motor is going to be replaced again in my Seltos. During the last service in Sept'22, I had mentioned a feeble sound coming from it to my SA and it was not replaced at that time as it was too feeble to be recorded in order to process replacement under warranty. And SA advised to go for replacement once the sound dB gets higher.

In the last few days the sound had become more prominent and took it to the ASC today. The ASC has ordered the part for replacement which is expected to come before Aug 15. Noticeably, while checking the previous history, during the last service, the SA had noted my concern about the feeble sound coming out of the motor.
Old 27th July 2023, 15:12   #2775

Originally Posted by avk View Post
Quoting my post as the motor is going to be replaced again in my Seltos.
====
the SA had noted my concern about the feeble sound coming out of the motor.
I have a 2021 March manufactured Seltos and I had the same feeble noise when turning the steering wheel at slow speeds. It was noticeable in my Parking area where it is relatively silent. I took it to the ASC and got it replaced immediately. It took 2 days for the process and was told that its now fitted with a new steering motor and shaft.