Old 18th February 2020, 20:29   #511

Re: Kia Seltos : Official Review

As per my post above I went and checked my car yesterday and clicked some pics while not paying much attention towards the tyres. While checking the pics I can see Kumho Brand tyres. Has anyone else got them in their HTK or HTK+? If yes then how is the performance?
Old 19th February 2020, 00:17   #512

Originally Posted by psbali View Post
As per my post above I went and checked my car yesterday and clicked some pics while not paying much attention towards the tyres. While checking the pics I can see Kumho Brand tyres. Has anyone else got them in their HTK or HTK+? If yes then how is the performance?
I guess all of the 16' tyres are Kumho only. Same is in mine HTK+ diesel. I haven't heard or seen any other brand for 16' Seltos tyres. Although nothing much to complain but comfort is average.
gupta_chd is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th February 2020, 06:16   #513

I am almost about to book seltos GTX variant. GTX doesn't come with bose speakers. Did anyone try upgrading speakers in Seltos?
Since I am seeing a lot of comments on tyre upgrade, what would be the best choice for tyre upgrade?
Old 19th February 2020, 08:34   #514

Originally Posted by devil_klm View Post
I am almost about to book seltos GTX variant. GTX doesn't come with bose speakers. Did anyone try upgrading speakers in Seltos?
Since I am seeing a lot of comments on tyre upgrade, what would be the best choice for tyre upgrade?
Why don't you try Michelin or Yokohama. The Michelins are silent and offer superior grip quality. The Yokohamas on the other hand are not extremely silent but have a stronger sidewall and last longer.

Last edited by Sreesh1009 : 19th February 2020 at 08:56.
Sreesh1009 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th February 2020, 09:44   #515

Originally Posted by psbali View Post
I have those my Seltos diesel. After covering 6k kms over varied roads, I can say that the tyres are abuse friendly. On the other hand, they are loud and provide average grip during acceleration, braking and cornering.

Originally Posted by gupta_chd View Post
I guess all of the 16' tyres are Kumho only. Same is in mine HTK+ diesel. I haven't heard or seen any other brand for 16' Seltos tyres. Although nothing much to complain but comfort is average.
I have seen few HTK and HTK+ at the service center, running on Goodyear Assurance 16" tyres. Since I saw multiple cars with those tyres, I am assuming those are OEM fits and not swapped post delivery.

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
Can any Seltos owner guide me please? A relative urgently wants to know the width of a Seltos including the folded ORVMs. I have the 'normal' width of 1800 mm from the brochures etc, but is that the widest point of a Seltos, i.e. factoring in the folded ORVMs?
Even after the mirrors are folded, they remain the widest point of the car. That said, the rear wheel arch also protrudes out of the body and needs some attention while parking. Hope it helps!

Last edited by ashis89 : 19th February 2020 at 09:49.
ashis89 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th February 2020, 14:15   #516

I took the delivery of Seltos HTX AT 3 days back and was hearing rattling noise over uneven roads. Was not sure it was the rear parcel tray. Visited the service station today and it was the tray only. They have applied a fix( basically a 2 cm foam lining on both supports of the tray).

Just a heads up if you want to avoid this visit/ trouble , ask the showroom to fix it before delivery. The issue is present on all models with rear parcel tray, SA said. (Mine is end Jan manufactured)

Michelin PS4 was in my mind and have heard pretty good reviews about it, but I dropped the idea after driving around a bit. The goodyears are decent and the road noise is minimal. If you want you can go for PS4.

Last edited by k2max6 : 19th February 2020 at 14:41.
k2max6 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th February 2020, 18:34   #517

I am having a problem here. Can someone please help to solve it? I have booked Kia Seltos diesel automatic in September 2019 and yesterday the dealer called me and said the vehicle is ready. The problem is with the insurance. Kia is quoting 47000 rupees for b2b insurance and my insurance agency is quoting 28000 for same insurance. So I decided to go for out of showroom insurance. But the dealer is insisting that I should take insurance from them, and otherwise they will not issue me the vehicle. What to do?

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 20th February 2020 at 00:33. Reason: Please do a spelling and grammar check before submission.
argee9 is offline   Received Infraction
Old 19th February 2020, 19:06   #518

Originally Posted by argee9 View Post

I am having a problem here. Can someone please help to solve it? I have booked Kia Seltos diesel automatic in September 2019 and yesterday the dealer called me and said the vehicle is ready. The problem is with the insurance. Kia is quoting 47000 rupees for b2b insurance and my insurance agency is quoting 28000 for same insurance. So I decided to go for out of showroom insurance. But the dealer is insisting that I should take insurance from them, and otherwise they will not issue me the vehicle. What to do?
Put your foot down and purchase your insurance from wherever you want!.

In fact only third party insurance is mandatory. If a customer does not want to purchase any other type of insurance (comprehensive, b2b or the other add ons), he/she can do that as well from any source. This has nothing to do with the dealer.

Show them the quotes from others and ask the dealer to match them. It all depends on how you speak! All the best!

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 20th February 2020 at 00:34. Reason: Quoted post edited. Thanks.
Old 19th February 2020, 19:36   #519

Booked since sept? I cannot wait for so long. Dont have that kind of patience.

Maybe they are taking advantage of the fact that you have waited for so long and won't cancel.

My dealer said that KIA is not allowing insurance from outside and that buying it from dealership is mandatory. I asked them to send me an official communication for the same and told them that forcing insurance on me is illegal as per Irda. They asked me for the best quote I got and I gave them the Tata Aig quote for 29k I got from policy bazaar.

They didnt match it but offered the same insurance from Tata Aig for 34k which has similar features like kia insurance.

I didn't push any further as I am not buying the standard kit and the dealership helped me out with the allotment quickly. In Pune at least dealers are not forcing handling charges etc. So I dont mind the 5k mark up.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 20th February 2020 at 00:34. Reason: Quoted post edited. Thanks.
Old 19th February 2020, 19:51   #520

Anyone checked the price of UVO connect after free subscription? My sales executive doesn't have an idea. I am not seeing it online as well. I can see for USA Kia cars that it's around 200$ per month.

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 19th February 2020 at 21:05. Reason: Typos.
Old 19th February 2020, 20:20   #521

The problem is with the insurance. Kia is quoting 47000 rupees for b2b insurance and my insurance agency is quoting 28000 for same insurance. What to do?
I recently took the delivery of Seltos HTX IVT and I couldn’t find much difference in pricing.
Are you sure everything is included in 28k?
- Zero Dep
- Tyre Protection
- Key Replacement with Locks ( Upto 75k)
- Engine Protect/ Hydrostatic Lock
- Consumables Cover
- Return to Invoice
- Rim Safegaurd
- Accident Shield Per Passenger (7.5 Lakh)

Anyone checked the price of UVO connect after free subscription? My sales executive doesn't have an idea. I am not seeing it online as well. I can see for USA Kia cars that it's around 200$ per month.
IMO It won’t be so expensive here in India. I expect a max of 3k per month ( even this is on the higher side) . 98% People would drop the subscription if its over this. The 2% would be 1.5% t-bhpians and 0.5% others.

Also a major difference between offering UVO in India and abroad is the call centre charges which are nowhere close. The running cost here is very low. Rest is the cost of cloud.
IOT is getting cheaper by the day.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 20th February 2020 at 00:36. Reason: Typo
k2max6 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th February 2020, 08:54   #522

This what my dealer told me at first too, You dont need to compulsory take insurance by the dealer. When the car was allocated to me I told my sales advisor I would be taking my own insurance and if he can match the price I would take it from him. I got a quote for 27k for zero dep insurance from one of the portals and they came down to 30k, To save the hassle of providing them docs and coordinating with them, I took insurance via them at 30k.

So just put your foot down, speak to the manager there, ask him where it is written that I have to take insurance from you?
Old 20th February 2020, 09:14   #523

Originally Posted by k2max6 View Post
I recently took the delivery of Seltos HTX IVT and
IMO It won’t be so expensive here in India. I expect a max of 3k per month ( even this is on the higher side) . 98% People would drop the subscription if its over this. The 2% would be 1.5% t-bhpians and 0.5% others.
Also a major difference between offering UVO in India and abroad is the call centre charges which are nowhere close. The running cost here is very low. Rest is the cost of cloud.
IOT is getting cheaper by the day.

Aha I think even if it is 3k per month most of the people will drop it. It has to be much cheaper similar to cellular tariff then
Old 20th February 2020, 15:35   #524

Engine replacement in 20 days? Is this the first such issue?

They will Never Buy KIA CAR Again | Engine Change in Just 20 Days of New Seltos GTX+ India Pushkar Gupta s/o Mr. Praveen Kumar Gupta got delivery of their Kia Seltos gtx+ 6MT Petrol on 25th October 2019 from Prayagraj (ALLAHABAD). What happened with them after 24 days, know in this video.

Last edited by wheelguy : 20th February 2020 at 15:37.
wheelguy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th February 2020, 17:12   #525

Imagine the state of things if any Tata car like Harrier had this sort of problem. The thread would have been flooded with negativities only overlooking the virtues.Every car has its share of niggles and positivities. Seltos is very good car , no doubts about this, but some time should be given to see its virtues and niggles and then only should it be praised to the sky or treat it disdainfully.
Sandeep500 is offline   (4) Thanks