Old 23rd September 2021, 20:28   #451

Re: Volkswagen Polo 1.0L TSI : Official Review

I've a question on tyre pressure, the fuel lid says 32 F and 29 R for two person load and 35 F and 38 R for fully laden car. What should be my tyre pressure be, considering I've a mixed usage, 50% I will be driving with front passengers, 50% with at least 4 people. Should it be 32/29 or 35/38 or somewhere in between?
Old 24th September 2021, 10:19   #452

Originally Posted by PacmanBegins View Post
50% I will be driving with front passengers, 50% with at least 4 people. Should it be 32/29 or 35/38 or somewhere in between?
I believe 32PSI all around shall be good enough in most conditions on the 195/55/R16 size. That's the pressure I keep most of the times for mixed usage similar to what you have indicated.
igemini is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 27th September 2021, 13:32   #453

Originally Posted by igemini View Post
I believe 32PSI all around shall be good enough in most conditions on the 195/55/R16 size. That's the pressure I keep most of the times for mixed usage similar to what you have indicated.
Thank you, I recently had a puncture in one of my tyres, wanted to know how others are filling up their tyres for varying loads.
Old 30th September 2021, 12:35   #454

Has anyone here faced an EPC error? My Polo TSI AT is inching closer and closer to being regarded as a lemon. The VW diagnostics show electronic errors of all sorts.

This is on top of the BCM error I've already faced. At what point should I just consider booking my losses on my car?!

Second consecutive post because the edit button is over. I posted that while I was at the dealership.

So the service technician concluded the error was because the battery wasn't being charged properly, they reattached the terminal after sanding and told me it shouldn't happen again.

I, however, don't buy this. I have had this error before too, once. I let it go because it went away after restarting the car. That was before any fiddling was done with the battery, which had been working fine throughout lockdown.

Their insight has allowed me to deduce a couple of things. The EPC error preceded the BCM error I've faced. (BCM failure in new VW Polo 1.0 TSI AT | Painfully slow VW service & support)

The EPC error occurs because of low voltage. The low voltage results in the electronics going kaput. That also must've resulted in the BCM conking off (deducing this based on GTO's theead) (Low voltage situations & weak batteries | The bane of German cars)

The EPC error goes away after restarting because the battery gets charged sufficiently. The car was only run 3-4 days ago so it's not a case of the car lying idle for long periods of time. It used to not be run for over a week during the lockdown and I had zero issues.

So, to conclude, there is an unidentified leak from the battery of some sort that is causing this chain reaction and wrecking havoc on the electronics.

I'm not a technically adept person and the service technician did not seem interested in listening to my diagnosis. What should I do?

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 30th September 2021 at 14:54. Reason: Back to back posts merged.
RoadMonkey is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th September 2021, 15:18   #455

Originally Posted by RoadMonkey View Post
I'm not a technically adept person and the service technician did not seem interested in listening to my diagnosis. What should I do?
There is silent recall in dealerships about EPC error. I went for my 6 month/7500 km service today and they updated the software for epc module. Also there is another service bulletin for front suspension noise to which they are lubricating the strut mounts of the suspension.

Do let me know if they update your epc module. I’m finding the engine performance somewhat different after the update but can’t pinpoint anything.

Thank you

Last edited by suhaas307 : 30th September 2021 at 16:08. Reason: spacing for improved readability
MayurS is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 1st October 2021, 11:56   #456

Today installed the bonnet hood strut in my Polo Tsi. It costs around 2500 for everything. You can get the link for purchase of the ball studs and brackets in Bhpian Fluidicjoy’s review of his Polo.
Hydraulic strut is available at VW Service center for around 2600₹ or you can get it on Boodmo for 1700₹ via searching for Generic part number https://boodmo.com/catalog/part-1jm823359-28169352/

VW part number- 1J0823359D

Thank you
Volkswagen Polo 1.0L TSI : Official Review-96e0a609b109417a853c575c1b994eef.jpeg  

Old 1st October 2021, 12:48   #457

Originally Posted by RoadMonkey View Post

The EPC error goes away after restarting because the battery gets charged sufficiently. The car was only run 3-4 days ago so it's not a case of the car lying idle for long periods of time. It used to not be run for over a week during the lockdown and I had zero issues.

So, to conclude, there is an unidentified leak from the battery of some sort that is causing this chain reaction and wrecking havoc on the electronics.

This is alarming! Possibly appears to be a battery issue rather than an EPC issue. Did they check the battery health and provide you with the slip? Try and get a nearby garage or battery specialist to independently check it with a multimeter.
What error codes were you getting? You should ask them to replace the battery under warranty if this still persists.

Originally Posted by MayurS View Post
There is silent recall in dealerships about EPC error. I went for my 6 month/7500 km service today and they updated the software for epc module. Also there is another service bulletin for front suspension noise to which they are lubricating the strut mounts of the suspension.
Interesting - are you aware what changes are being made to the EPC module? I thought these issues in the Kushaq were limited to the fuel pump quality (which apparently is different from the ones used in Polo/Vento/Rapid since the engine tune is different in the Kushaq).
Old 1st October 2021, 13:00   #458

Originally Posted by MayurS View Post
Today installed the bonnet hood strut in my Polo Tsi. It costs around 2500 for everything. You can get the link for purchase of the ball studs and brackets in Bhpian Fluidicjoy’s review of his Polo.
Hydraulic strut is available at VW Service center for around 2600₹ or you can get it on Boodmo for 1700₹ via searching for Generic part number https://boodmo.com/catalog/part-1jm823359-28169352/

VW part number- 1J0823359D

Thank you
Originally Posted by Shreyas_H View Post
This is alarming! Possibly appears to be a battery issue rather than an EPC issue. Did they check the battery health and provide you with the slip? Try and get a nearby garage or battery specialist to independently check it with a multimeter.
What error codes were you getting? You should ask them to replace the battery under warranty if this still persists.

Interesting - are you aware what changes are being made to the EPC module? I thought these issues in the Kushaq were limited to the fuel pump quality (which apparently is different from the ones used in Polo/Vento/Rapid since the engine tune is different in the Kushaq).
They did not disclose anything to me but since I was there when they used ODIS to make some changes to module I saw that it was related to EPC LIGHT blinking in their bulletin. Technician changes some values in EPC and then re flashed the firmware.
MayurS is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th October 2021, 14:35   #459

Sapphire completed 7,000 kms and will be going in for 7,500 kms checkup this month. Got her cleaned last week.

Been filling XP95, she is giving 15-16 kmpl in NCR (On my commute to Ghaziabad/Delhi from Greater Noida) and throttle response is sharp. The extra 4 bucks is worth it. I have noticed that the vibrations from the 3-pot at idle is lesser on XP95.

Volkswagen Polo 1.0L TSI : Official Review-img_20210930_115556.jpg

Volkswagen Polo 1.0L TSI : Official Review-img_20210930_151957.jpg

Volkswagen Polo 1.0L TSI : Official Review-img_20210930_155731.jpg

Volkswagen Polo 1.0L TSI : Official Review-img_20211007_163732.jpg
sinharishi is online now   (13) Thanks
Old 8th October 2021, 14:42   #460

Originally Posted by sinharishi View Post

Been filling XP95, she is giving 15-16 kmpl in NCR (On my commute to Ghaziabad/Delhi from Greater Noida) and throttle response is sharp. The extra 4 bucks is worth it. I have noticed that the vibrations from the 3-pot at idle is lesser on XP95.
Make sure to ask for the ECU update mentioned in this thread above for a possible EPC error. Mine was updated on 1yr/15000 service done at 9.5k kms. Haven't had any issues after that.

I too have been filling it with XP95 for the last couple of thousand KMs and I've noticed a stark difference as well. The vibrations from idle also felt lower but my dad joked "that's because you need a justification to pay for the more expensive fuel".

The car just feels ever so slightly smoother, quieter and just better running on 95 octane it desires. Here's to many more happy miles to the both of us! I'm hopeful my Polo won't be needing month long waits in the workshop anymore.
RoadMonkey is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th October 2021, 14:55   #461

Originally Posted by sinharishi View Post
Sapphire completed 7,000 kms and will be going in for 7,500 kms checkup this month. Got her cleaned last week.

If I remember earlier posts correctly, my Lapiz Blue Polo was bought a couple of weeks after yours! 7000+ Kilometers in less than 4 months is a lot of mileage - almost 6 times mine

I'm also using XP95 exclusively and it does seem smoother. Do keep this thread updated on any ECU software updates that are done to your car in the upcoming check-up.
Shreyas_H is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th October 2021, 10:50   #462

A small mod update:
Installed the Audi A1 air intake box along with euro spec cold air intake. The original air filter box came without any TSi branding so started the search for it and found this. There is small but noticeable improvement in low end response due to cold air intake.
Volkswagen Polo 1.0L TSI : Official Review-c5bc8d3ea9d9471f97fd5da0d2ec11fc.jpeg  

Old 9th October 2021, 15:22   #463

A friend is interested in buying the VW Polo 1.0 Tsi, took the TD of the car in the last week of September 21, went to book the car again the first week of Oct, here he was informed that VW dealers in Bangalore are not accepting new bookings for VW polo, as they have got an official communication from VW India to not accept any new bookings.

and they are trying to clear the existing Display Vehicle and the TD vehicle, they are not not offering any discount on the Display vehicle. their TD vehicle has done about 3000 Kms and they are offering a discount of Rs 1 lakh on it.

is it worth purchasing the TD vehicle? is the discount offered on the TD vehicle fair or can more discount be expected?
also there is no news on how soon the Facelifted version will be available and there might be a significant hike in the price of the facelifted model. Kindly advice
Old 9th October 2021, 15:48   #464

Originally Posted by theautoman View Post
their TD vehicle has done about 3000 Kms and they are offering a discount of Rs 1 lakh on it.

is it worth purchasing the TD vehicle? is the discount offered on the TD vehicle fair or can more discount be expected?
also there is no news on how soon the Facelifted version will be available and there might be a significant hike in the price of the facelifted model. Kindly advice
I would stay away from a TD vehicle or at least push for another 50K discount.
Display vehicle without any discount may be better.
Is it confirmed that there is going to be a face-lifted version or is it just a speculation?
Old 9th October 2021, 16:28   #465

Originally Posted by Guna View Post

Is it confirmed that there is going to be a face-lifted version or is it just a speculation?
No, there is no official word or any sort of confirmation from the dealers, it is just speculation on my part as I cannot think of any other probable reason for them to refuse new bookings.

or could it be that Polo is completely taken off the Market?