Old 11th July 2021, 20:47   #1081

Re: 2020 Tata Harrier Automatic : Official Review

Originally Posted by rpm View Post
Please allow me to be the spoilsport who (hopefully) puts an end to your quandary. As you have highlighted that safety is paramount, I'd suggest that you go over these posts once, since they come from a generally reliable source (you may look at BHPian ram87pune's posts from before to verify that claim). Also, I recommend reading them in the order they are posted below.
In that case Jeep Compass will also go out of the list . RHS Jeep is not crash tested and the engine component intruding to driver cabin is an issue as both are using the same engine.

Last edited by greyhound82 : 11th July 2021 at 20:55.
greyhound82 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 11th July 2021, 21:18   #1082

Originally Posted by Rollingwheels26 View Post

Harrier fan boy in a quandry:

It has been a faithful trusty steed that has served us well over the last 3 years over 18000 km of trips across various terrains. But since last few months there has been an itch to upgrade to something more....'meaty'.
I think you have the following options:
1. Buy the Harrier with a mindset that it will have niggles, but you don't mind getting them fixed and enjoy the experience that it has to offer. Go for AT, you will not regret it.
2. Spend a few lakhs more and consider cars like Compass or Tucson. If you plan to keep it for many years to come, you will enjoy the premium ownership experience.
3. Consider a pre-worshipped car from the next segment. Hope you have seen this advice already -
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/buyin...-car-less.html (ARTICLE: The Beauty of Lateral Upgrades (Getting MORE CAR for LESS $$$))
4. Your Grand i10 is just 3 years old with 18K KM on the odo. Isn't she too young to part with? Just wait for a few weeks for your "upgrade itch" to pass . Link to wise man's words -
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/ownin...rade-swap.html (ARTICLE: YOUR 5 year old car : Keep, Upgrade or Swap?)

Best of luck with making an important life decision!
CarML is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th July 2021, 21:25   #1083

Why oh why Tata couldnt you create a reliable car ? Was it too much to ask ? Hike the price by a lakh but make something more sorted. Damn you for doing this to me :(
Let me give you some honest feedback on Tata's after sales service.
In our family & immediate extended family, we are using four Tata's, (Vista diesel, Nano, Nexon petrol, Tiago petrol), one 1st gen Swift petrol, one i20 diesel(previous gen).
The cars are driven, used and abused by various driver's as well as owner drivers. And we get all the vehicle's serviced regularly at their recommended service intervals from their respective authorised service stations. Based on this the reliability ranking is as follows:
1. Swift 1st gen: 135,000 Kms & counting. Not a single breakdown ever. It was also used as a rally car twice.
2. Vista diesel: 165,000 kms in 12 years. No breakdowns. Niggles yes.
3. Nano: 40,000 kms. 5 years. No breakdowns. It has done multiple Chennai - Kolkata trips.
4. i20 diesel: 5 years. 45,000kms. 2 breakdowns. Injector pump failure & alternator failure.
5. Nexon: 10,000 kms. About to complete two years. No breakdowns.
6. Tiago: 9000 kms. Two years. One breakdown. Starter motor auto switch gone bust.

Trick to maintaining Tata's. Strike up a good rapport with your Tata service station General Manager or Works Manager, as these guys change jobs less compared to Service Advisors, who all seem to flit in and out as the spring breeze. Once you have a "friend" at your TML service station, things will move fast and well. Also servicing costs of Tata vehicles are at par with Maruti and in some cases cheaper.

Maruti servicing is almost a robotic affair. What is written in their process note, they'll follow. In terms of diagnostic abilities, honestly speaking, I don't find their intellect to be extraordinary at all.

Hyundai service is most average. Below average diagnostic abilities, lengthy wait times and expensive repair bills. Surely they are not the benchmark.

To sum it up, I feel you'll be none the worse for wear if you buy a Tata. Buy it, drive it, love it and and it'll be your loyal puppy.

End of the day an automobile is a mechanical object and things can go wrong with any car at any point of time. Didn't someone recently write in this forum about the latest Volkswagen 1-litre TSi having failed? Then there are numerous stories about premium cars who all have proved to be a nightmare to own and maintain.

Focus on the positives. And the rest will slot in place. It's not that alarming after all.

Happy driving!

Last edited by arjab : 11th July 2021 at 21:28.
arjab is offline   (24) Thanks
Old 12th July 2021, 04:08   #1084

@Rollingwheels26, have you considered the Volkswagen Tiguan? The 5-seater is about to be reintroduced any day and looks extremely promising. I’m a huge fan of the understated styling on VW cars and the Tiguan seems like a very competent, well kitted mid-size SUV. I’ve been eyeing it for over a year and hope it gets here soon enough!
Old 12th July 2021, 07:57   #1085

If you can live with the limitations of the ground clearance of the Honda City, I'd pick it over any of your other options. Honda has a track record of reliability which is as good as Toyota in India. While some of their cars might skimp on features, the build & mechanicals are robust. No Brio owner will complain about part failures (vs i10s steering columns in a few years), although he may complain about the cheap interiors.

Honda city has a reputation over 20 years and I don't think you can do anything wrong by choosing it. If you must have a big car, get a pre-owned Innova or even a Hexa. I've heard good reviews about a friend's high-mileage Hexa.
landcruiser123 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 12th July 2021, 10:29   #1086

Dear Fellow BHPians I have been trying to solve a quandary for the last few .....
I would like you to check out the Innova Crysta Zx, if you are not hooked on SUVs. It is reliable, powerful and comfortable. There are many horror stories including one of my friends, where the Harrier started giving troubles after 8 months of ownership.
Old 12th July 2021, 10:32   #1087

[b][u]
Would appreciate inputs from all and sundry since I am at my wits end since the last one week as to what car to decide upon and unable to think of anything else !
My few cents as follows to confuse even more (or probably influence you to decide on one)

1. Tata cars are very very reliable. How many 1st gen safari's and 1st gen sumos, 1st indicas can you see on the roads today compared to skoda's, maruti's, hyundai's, etc. This simply proves itself.
2. The build quality of Tata is totally (100%) transformed. If you remove the tata badge and launch it in the market, you will definitely call it other brands.
3. Fit and finish - This is definitely a bargain. However not a show stopper. Tata definitely needs to improve this department.
4. After-sales service - Tata has significantly improved and is miles ahead compared to 5/10 years back. Of course, it still needs to improve.
5. For driving in the city of B'lore - I strongly advise you recommend to you consider an automatic.
6. Harrier's strongest YES factor is its 6-speed torque-converter auto. Even Hyundai has not able to get this combination right.
7. No brand and no model is free from criticism, niggles, breakdowns - let alone luxury brands like Merc, BMW, Audi, Porsche.
8. Harrier is significantly expensive then the Korean siblings and Kushaq. It still lacks quite a few features like LED lights, ventilated seats, wireless charging, purifier, rear disc brakes, etc. Well, Harrier is not chosen for its features. It's no brainer to choose Harrier for its strengths.

Strengths - Build, Space, Engine, Performance, Ride and Handling (for its size), Mileage, Looks, Auto Gear Box, Safety
Weakness - After-sales service, Fit and Finish, Features, No Petrol option, Small niggles, Infotainment, Refinement,
Subjective - Size, Mileage

My recommendation - based on your full story, you SHOULD go for it. However, I suggest you go for automatic since B'lore traffic is a total nightmare unless you are very specific about manual.

Last edited by BlackPearl : 12th July 2021 at 15:46. Reason: Trimmed the post within quotes for better readability. Thanks.
Livnletcarsliv is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th July 2021, 11:31   #1088

I think we are fighting a losing battle to convince you otherwise! (not buy a harrier), since you are already sold on it, not on objective terms though.

In matters of the head versus the heart, unless Vitamin M is the main issue, it pays to go with your heart. Make sure you have parked enough moolah for those known niggles and be mentally prepared for the coming agonies(hopefully small and irrelevant in the long run). Once you have prepared mentally and financially, go ahead and enjoy your new Harrier! ��

Last edited by Neo18 : 12th July 2021 at 11:32. Reason: Spelling/Grammar
Neo18 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th July 2021, 11:44   #1089

With respect to safety proof is in the pudding. I will not trust a car is 4* or 5* just because another car from its stable scored high marks.

Let me remind you on Tata Harrier one of the BHPian had posted inside news that Harrier was scoring 2* owing to engine protrusion in the driver foot well. I don't believe it is sorter else Tata would have come out with a rating by now.

I drive a Nexon and the service is average. Though the car itself has been robust and reliable few bits of the service is lacking. As long as it is a routine job or a well know issue it will be taken care. Anything out of the ordinary and you will feel wanting a lot.

Personally I would not plonk 24L on a Tata just yet. Nexon is the max I am willing to risk since this is an old platform and most of the issues have been sorted.

Rest its your money your choice.
aniyo is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th July 2021, 12:28   #1090

Originally Posted by aniyo View Post
With respect to safety proof is in the pudding. I will not trust a car is 4* or 5* just because another car from its stable scored high marks.

Let me remind you on Tata Harrier one of the BHPian had posted inside news that Harrier was scoring 2* owing to engine protrusion in the driver foot well. I don't believe it is sorter else Tata would have come out with a rating by now.
What are the choices ?
Other than Kia Seltos not a single car selling in the range 20 - 25 lakhs are crash tested for India. Be it Jeep, Tucson, Innova. It is really sad customer have no information and to completely depend on manufacturer's mercy while plonking 25 lakhs
Best sector is the 10- 20 lakhs range with with XUV300, Nexon, Brezza came out with flying colours on safety front. XUV300 is the best choice be it safety, interiors and features

Last edited by greyhound82 : 12th July 2021 at 12:31.
greyhound82 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th July 2021, 14:11   #1091

Would appreciate inputs from all and sundry since I am at my wits end since the last one week as to what car to decide upon and unable to think of anything else !

Thanks in advance
RollingWheels26
I have driven the Harrier, and while the seating position is good and the overall build quality is of a completely new level (considering Tata's very poor fit and finish in the past) - there are two major problems with the Harrier - a) very buggy HU/Infotainment module; b) the engine noise at higher revs - it ends up sounding like a lorry.

I have owned Skodas in the past, and my suggestion would be that you seriously check out the new Kushaq. Drive, safety, cornering, engine performance, engine tone, overall reliability, safety all are at a whole other level.
Old 12th July 2021, 19:09   #1092

I went to Tata showroom to book a harrier in April but ended up booking safari adventure persona coz of EPB and rear disc and black alloys. But driving a 7 seater on Mumbai roads is no easy task and the probability of using all 7 seats was close to 0. So I cancelled the Safari booking and booked Kushaq 1.5 DSG. I test drove the Kushaq and it was fantastic. Very good steering feedback, excellent cornering but there was no road presence and only 2 airbags (unbelievable stuff) on top model automatic. Then last weekend I went to Malshej Ghat in my 6 YO Honda city and saw 10-15 harriers (What are the odds !!) on the way. I realised that I love harrier more than I thought initially. I knew I would repent my decision of buying Kushaq every time I see a harrier on the road. So I cancelled my Kushaq booking and booked DT red xza+ variant of harrier. I would suggest everyone to go with your heart. You can’t go much wrong with any car in this price bracket. Prepare for the worst but don’t be pessimistic.
Does anyone know when the harrier facelift is expected ? I expect tata to include EPB, rear disc, TPMS in the next facelift along with a new petrol engine.
curiousnewbie is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 12th July 2021, 19:23   #1093

Was the King of reliability - Innova Crysta considered at all? It would not leave you too embarrassed I think, in terms of presence, space, reliability or that 2.4L monster of an engine!

If it must be a Harrier, I would bet my money on the low end version being most niggle free(befriend an expert Tata mechanic and have him with you while doing PDI)
Arjun Bharadwaj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th July 2021, 09:53   #1094

I'd say no car is ever perfect and will never be no matter how technologically advanced the car maker is or the car is. What kind of compromise you prefer to live with matters.
Ex: If you like the Harrier so much, go for it and the occasional niggles might bug you for a few days in a year, and you might enjoy driving for the remaining 350 days in the year.

Or if you are fine with the bells and whistles but willing to compromise on the core structural quality and safety of the car, that's your choice again!

Choose your compromise you're ready to live with wisely

One important tip, no matter which brand it is, maintain a good relationship with the service advisor and the service head(if possible even technicians) and that'll go a long way in maintaining your car in good shape and a peaceful ownership experience.
Old 13th July 2021, 10:17   #1095

Originally Posted by curiousnewbie View Post
I went to Tata showroom to book a harrier in April but ended up booking safari adventure persona coz of EPB and rear disc and black alloys. But driving a 7 seater on Mumbai roads is no easy task and the probability of using all 7 seats was close to 0. So I cancelled the Safari booking and booked Kushaq 1.5 DSG. I test drove the Kushaq and it was fantastic. Very good steering feedback, excellent cornering but there was no road presence and only 2 airbags (unbelievable stuff) on top model automatic. Then last weekend I went to Malshej Ghat in my 6 YO Honda city and saw 10-15 harriers (What are the odds !!) on the way. I realised that I love harrier more than I thought initially. I knew I would repent my decision of buying Kushaq every time I see a harrier on the road. So I cancelled my Kushaq booking and booked DT red xza+ variant of harrier. I would suggest everyone to go with your heart. You can’t go much wrong with any car in this price bracket. Prepare for the worst but don’t be pessimistic.
Does anyone know when the harrier facelift is expected ? I expect tata to include EPB, rear disc, TPMS in the next facelift along with a new petrol engine.
I find myself in the same quandary of choosing between harrier and safari. Safari looks to be bigger than harrier but actually its just 2.5 inches longer than harrier . I would choose safari over harrier probably only because of EPB, rear disc, TPMS , practical use of boot space when needed , reclining 2nd row seats etc. All these with approx 1.5-2 lacs difference on road prices between the two.
dsingh70 is offline   (2) Thanks