Old 9th October 2020, 17:29   #481

re: Kia Sonet : Official Review

Originally Posted by Behemoth View Post
Thanks for the correction.. I was confused about the HTX.
The HTX variant though is good value for money and at 9.99 lacs for the IMT as well as 1.5D Manual variants, should find a lot of buyers. Are you finally going ahead with your booking - would be great to see some ownership threads of the Sonet on TBHP.
Any other TBHP members who have taken delivery of their Sonet yet?
Yup, I did go ahead with the booking. Kia intervened and things moved. I want to finalise everything and then certainly will post about the whole saga. There are n number of gaps in the way kia is working things out, maybe the way other mfgs work too. Hopefully will have rest of my buying process smooth. The upside for me has been my sales executive working with me for the purchase rather than against.
Old 10th October 2020, 10:21   #482

Hello everyone,

I had a query, is ESC, HAC, VSM, Brake assist, Traction control, multi drive modes available only in 7DCT, and NOT in HTK+ Diesel AT ?

Attaching the Screenshot of Kia Brochure for reference.

Kia Sonet : Official Review-sonet-htk.png  

Old 10th October 2020, 11:33   #483

Originally Posted by smileline View Post
Hello everyone,

I had a query, is ESC, HAC, VSM, Brake assist, Traction control, multi drive modes available only in 7DCT, and NOT in HTK+ Diesel AT ?

Yup you've got that right. It's on DCT only.
Old 10th October 2020, 11:40   #484

Originally Posted by smileline View Post
Hello everyone,

Yes. All those you mentioned are only available in DCT Petrol.
I understand you only get SPORTS mode in drive modes.
When you TD drive only in sports mode as you are looking for htk+ Diesel AT.
Coming to hill-assist, Somebody on the forum said on an incline the D AT didn’t roll back, during their TD. Check that out too.
Traction Control in a FWD is a feature of little practicality.
ESC will be missed.
Old 10th October 2020, 20:26   #485

Can we get an indication (from any of the mods) on when TBhp review of the Sonet can be expected?
Old 10th October 2020, 23:08   #486

I've had a real long and exciting day!

We've got our baby elephant home today. Will be putting up the initial impressions soon. (If I can stay home )
Kia Sonet : Official Review-img_20201010_184414.jpg  

bhansali_hardik is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 11th October 2020, 00:21   #487

Originally Posted by bhansali_hardik View Post
We've got our baby elephant home today. Will be putting up the initial impressions soon. (If I can stay home )
Hearty congratulations
Is this an HTX? 1.0L or 1.5L? In how many days have you received the vehicle? Were you managed get any accessories free of cost from the dealer?
Old 11th October 2020, 00:23   #488

Congrats Hardik! This will be the first ownership review of the Sonet. Looking forward to it.

Happy Motoring.
Old 11th October 2020, 07:03   #489

Heartiest congratulations on your new car!!

Eagerly waiting for your ownership report - to be one of the first ones.
Col Mehta is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 11th October 2020, 09:07   #490

Congrats Hardik! It is a special feeling to have one of the first cars of a newly launched car on the road. Be prepared for a lot of Attention!
Look forward to your ownership thread!
Behemoth is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th October 2020, 09:21   #491

Many Congratulations Hardik! Wishing you countless happy miles with her.

Two three queries:

1. How much days/weeks was the waiting period for you?
2. Did you finally opt for tyre change and what tyres did you get from factory?
3. Considering the car is already having lots of features, what accessories did you buy from dealership (more specifically floor mat types)?
Old 11th October 2020, 11:18   #492

Thank You tBHP Mods for letting me be a non-silent member of the tBHP family. After almost a decade of silent lurking in these threads I can finally share a word two with tBHP.

I took delivery of my GTX+ D6AT Intense Red on 3rd Oct 2020 from JSP Kia Marthahalli. Had pre-Booked the same on 23rd Aug 2020 through KIA website. Regarding delivery date, the sales excec was not ready to commit any dates even after prices were announces for the GTX+ AT models. Then after a couple of days he asked me to finalise color etc. He promised me delivery by within the week if payements were done throught NEFT/RTGS etc (non cheque methods). I asked him to arrange for a PDI before invoicing the insurange and registration documents etc. PDI went smooth, no issues noted. Got the velhicle on promised date of 3rd Oct 2020.

Kia Sonet : Official Review-img_20201011_110842__01.jpg

Observations at the time of delivery:
  1. It was pouring cats and dogs in Bengaluru at the time of delivery. The baby elephant was right at home the moment we took it out of the showrrom, covered in mud and slush and all .
  2. The type pressure set at the time of delivery was 43psi, recommneded is 33 psi for nominal load. I realised this only after the car started wobling over those series of bumbs where you can speed through.
  3. Car had run 64kms on ODO. The stock yard was near NICE road and they had to drive it to ORR marthahalli. Distance to empty was about 80km.

Did a Bengaluru to Chennai Road trip and got a FE figure of ~20kmpl for the trip. Sonet is very planted and relaxed at high speeds (was doing 100kmph at 2000rpm). FE figure for City Bumper to Bumper traffic came out around ~12kmpl. I am yet to test FE by T/T method, these figures are from MID

Kia Sonet : Official Review-img_20201010_112339.jpg
Saitama is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 11th October 2020, 12:55   #493

Originally Posted by Saitama View Post
I took delivery of my GTX+ D6AT Intense Red.
Ah! There you go. The cream variant of the Sonet line-up.

Many congratulations buddy! Sweet ride there.

Looking forward to your ownership review.

Did a Bengaluru to Chennai Road trip and got a FE figure of ~20kmpl for the trip. Sonet is very planted and relaxed at high speeds (was doing 100kmph at 2000rpm). FE figure for City Bumper to Bumper traffic came out around ~12kmpl. I am yet to test FE by T/T method, these figures are from MID
These are some seriously good efficiency figures for a 1.5L Diesel AT!
I had also seen the same on the Insta story of Sirish, from evo India; wherein he showed a picture of full tank range of a 1000 kms!!

Wish you blissful miles ahead.
ashvek3141 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th October 2020, 16:12   #494

I took delivery of my GTX+ D6AT Intense Red on 3rd Oct 2020 from JSP Kia
Congratulations! This variant is the one that I have my eyes on in the coming future. Can you please elaborate more on the driving experience - in terms of power, accelerations, ride quality on bad roads, gearshift quality, engine noise and refinement etc?

I have done only a short test drive, and would be happy to know in more detail actual owners on the D-AT driving characteristics. Look forward to hearing from you on the above.
arindambasu13 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th October 2020, 17:32   #495

Originally Posted by BKB999 View Post
Hearty congratulations
Is this an HTX? 1.0L or 1.5L? In how many days have you received the vehicle? Were you managed get any accessories free of cost from the dealer?
Thanks! I got in a couple of weeks, but would've been just under a week. If not for the dealer acting a bully! No, don't expect even fuel coupons.

Originally Posted by ashvek3141 View Post
Congrats Hardik! This will be the first ownership review of the Sonet. Looking forward to it.

Happy Motoring.

Originally Posted by Col Mehta View Post
Heartiest congratulations on your new car!!

Eagerly waiting for your ownership report - to be one of the first ones.

Originally Posted by Behemoth View Post
Congrats Hardik! It is a special feeling to have one of the first cars of a newly launched car on the road. Be prepared for a lot of Attention!
Look forward to your ownership thread!
Thanks, yup have been under the watchful eyes of people. Have been asked questions but a few already!

Originally Posted by PaddleShifter View Post
Many Congratulations Hardik! Wishing you countless happy miles with her.

Two three queries:

1. How much days/weeks was the waiting period for you?
2. Did you finally opt for tyre change and what tyres did you get from factory?
3. Considering the car is already having lots of features, what accessories did you buy from dealership (more specifically floor mat types)?
I did not have a waiting period at all! The dealer has a white in stock for htx imt. I transferred booking amount and got it blocked. Took the rest of my negotiations post that.

Tyre swap is on the cards, eyeing at continental mc5 swap with my other car and for MRF from factory. To be honest, it sucks! It's too hard.

Wanted mud flaps carpet mats and sill guard! Guess what they did not have anything in stock at all. So these are the only 3 which I'll be looking at.

The steel wheels look hideous for a 10lakh rupee car, but they're much better than the ones I saw on the base variant. I might actually not swap the wheels for a year! They're growing on me already.
bhansali_hardik is offline   (2) Thanks