Old 20th September 2020, 23:07   #76

Re: Hyundai Creta : Official Review

Originally Posted by theAutomaniac View Post
Came across this on Rushlane Crashlane Facebook Group.

A Hyundai Creta broke down within 16 kms of running
This warrants a separate thread,(if indeed true). Is Hyundai taking a leaf out of skoda dealers on how to torture customers, so much for the hassle free ownership.

SideView is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 20th September 2020, 23:18   #77

Originally Posted by deepakdograbhp View Post
Exactly the problem for 5-5" guy like me upgrading from a hatchback.
Same here . My height is 5.6” and upgraded from a hatchback to Tata Harrier . You will easily get used to it within 2-3 days . Any how front parking sensors are good . Hope it won’t void the warranty if you don’t splice the wires .
Old 21st September 2020, 07:39   #78

After a long tiring day at work, went for a short drive with wife. This was a Saturday night drive with very few vehicles in outer ring road, Bangalore.

Drove for sometime at around 50Kmph and noticed that the mileage shot up considerably. Thought of using the opportunity to achieve the maximum possible mileage, for the sake of science .

Maintained a speed of 40-50kmph throughout our drive and we outdid even the ARAI standard test conditions to achieve an astonishing 24.2Kmpl for a 25km round trip. All in comfort mode. Eco mode is for another day.

Hyundai Creta : Official Review-img_20200919_221331_2.jpg

PS: This is an impractical test scenario. I doubt if anyone would be able to maintain a low speed of around 50kmph consistently on an open highway to achieve these kind of mileage figures. I did not go beyond 50kmph since I was tired and we did not have any destination in our mind. Please do not consider this stat for your 'buying' decision.

Also noticed a feature in the inbuilt maps where it can detect and warn you if you are going beyond the speed limit for the road. Unfortunately, the speed limit for Bangalore Outer ring road is 40kmph (Isn't that too low. Noticed the signboard near Marathahalli bridge too, so the Nav was correct). Audible warnings were triggered once we crossed 40kmph, but these were kind of persistent warnings and we had to disable the same in settings.
Some thoughts on the same:
1. It is nice to have the feature to automatically detect the speed limit of the road you are currently on.
2. Would have preferred a single Chime instead of persistent warning.
3. Disabling the same in settings meant - no more visual signage for the speed limit in the Nav as well. Would love to see the speed limit in the Nav screen or the MID without having to go through persistent chimes. Will dig deeper in to this.

While on the topic of chimes and warnings, the 80Kmph warning chime triggers correctly at 80 always. But I do hear the same sometimes at random speeds beyond 80, but well within 120Kmph. Like at 90 or 100kmph, out of the blue, just the single chime at odd random speeds. Had read something similar in Seltos thread, looks like it is the same case here too.

Going for first free service (more like inspection from what I understand) this week. To be done within 2 months or 1200 - 1500Kms as per manual.

Last edited by srikanthmadhava : 21st September 2020 at 07:59.
srikanthmadhava is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st September 2020, 08:19   #79

Originally Posted by greyhound82 View Post
Same here . My height is 5.6” and upgraded from a hatchback to Tata Harrier . You will easily get used to it within 2-3 days . Any how front parking sensors are good . Hope it won’t void the warranty if you don’t splice the wires .
Exactly the problem for 5-5" guy like me upgrading from a hatchback.

Any BHPian has got this done in aftermarket, particularly in Delhi NCR? Hope this won't void the warranty.
I think the problem is generic and not related to height. I'm 6" and face the same issue. While front visibility seems fine to me in countryside area where I'm currently, I'm sure a front camera or parking sensor will be must in city traffic, especially on long duration traffic lights to avoid hitting small children accidently.

On the other hand, it could be that all 3 of us graduated from hatchbacks and hence, were used to low slung, all round visibility. How do Scorpio / TUV / Toyota fortuner owners manage front visibility in city traffic ? I think those cars should be having even more front visibility issues.
Old 21st September 2020, 08:23   #80

Originally Posted by srikanthmadhava View Post
Also noticed a feature in the inbuilt maps where it can detect and warn you if you are going beyond the speed limit for the road. Unfortunately, the speed limit for Bangalore Outer ring road is 40kmph (Isn't that too low. Noticed the signboard near Marathahalli bridge too, so the Nav was correct). Audible warnings were triggered once we crossed 40kmph, but these were kind of persistent warnings and we had to disable the same in settings.
Some thoughts on the same:
1. It is nice to have the feature to automatically detect the speed limit of the road you are currently on.
2. Would have preferred a single Chime instead of persistent warning.
3. Disabling the same in settings meant - no more visual signage for the speed limit in the Nav as well. Would love to see the speed limit in the Nav screen or the MID without having to go through persistent chimes. Will dig deeper in to this.
Congrats on your Creta!

The feature you mentioned above was also present in the previous Creta albeit after a Software Upgrade for the HU, wasn't there before. The GPS is pretty precise in speed limits and picks up the right speed accurately where ever speed limits are mentioned.

Regarding point 2; I have the option of reducing the volume of the chime from the map screen itself, so sometimes when I let my driver drive I keep the volume high so that at no time does he overspeed and when I drive I keep it at the minimum (I can completely switch off the chimes but still display the different speed limits). I feel this is more effective than say the speed warning at 80kmph and 120kmph.

Does the navigation system in the 2020 Creta also have the 'Curve Ahead' warning in it?

Last edited by CEF_Beasts : 21st September 2020 at 08:24.
CEF_Beasts is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st September 2020, 11:47   #81

Love what Hyundai and Kia duo is doing in the Indian market. Full steam ahead with the small and mid size SUV's with hatches following behind. Reasonably priced as well.

I have been reading how this groups Turbo engines and automatic gearboxes are not as smooth as the TSI's and Automatics/DSG's of the VW Group. That may be true but some focus should also be given to the reliability (trouble free) and long lasting nature of Koreans. Being a Skoda owner for past 9 years and having owned, Fords, Marutis and Hyundais, I can safely say, as smooth as the VW's are, they are riddled with part failures (Fuel pump, Water pump, Sensors, ECM etc) and almost none of the DSG's can cross a troublefree 7 years of use. Since I have spent half my life in the service center (exaggerating here) and all of my savings in the past few years (not exaggerating), I have met a good number of people who have gone through the same experience, we are friends now because we met so much at the service centers.

I don't know where reliability and longevity fits in the reviews, but maybe it should be included. That said, we frankly don't know how reliable these new Hyundai drivetrains, powertrains are, they are also new in the hands of consumers. Time will tell, but we can take a small guess looking at Hyundai's history in India.
abhi1309 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 21st September 2020, 17:48   #82

I had pre-booked the Creta. Came really close to finalizing the deal. But, backed off at the last moment. I think the Creta is overpriced for what it offers (and not by a small margin). Given the popularity of this car, it seems I am among the very few (if not the only one) who think that it is highly overpriced. I cancelled my pre-booking. My wait for the right car continues.
ashlil is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st September 2020, 18:01   #83

Originally Posted by ashlil View Post
I had pre-booked the Creta. Came really close to finalizing the deal. But, backed off at the last moment. I think the Creta is overpriced for what it offers (and not by a small margin). Given the popularity of this car, it seems I am among the very few (if not the only one) who think that it is highly overpriced. I cancelled my pre-booking. My wait for the right car continues.
What are your requirements for a right car? Based on this post I was about to recommend the Kia Sonet which has pretty much everything the Seltos/Creta get except that it's 1 foot shorter. But your post on the Sonet thread leads me to believe you think that car is overpriced as well.
~21 L on the road for the top-end automatic variant is acceptable IMHO. The Creta has carved out a place for itself in the Indian market and it's expected that they would try and capitalise on it.
noopster is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 21st September 2020, 19:05   #84

I have posted a thread on my plan to buy a crossover/SUV in the What Car sub group. I had initially dismissed the Creta, given that it wasn't available for a test drive or even a visual demo (of the desired variant). But recently I came across the opportunity to test drive and take a good look at the Creta SXO diesel (albeit a short drive). I have put the Creta back in the contention.
fhdowntheline is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd September 2020, 11:15   #85

I fail to understand that why, why and why are people not linking the design and that too in huge numbers, i am the odd one out, but so is my wife, my parents and my friends and cousins, whenever I talk to them; they all are in awe of how different and amazing this car looks.

Went in to Hyundai for a test drive of Aura for my cousin is when I first saw this car, sat inside the cabin and fell in love. Took pictures and showed my wife, and she was also instantly in love with it, probably the first time she has shown interest in a car of the million times i bore her with my discussions. We both share and drive a Volvo S60 2015 and Glanza CVT 2019, we would ideally want to replace the Glanza with Creta but the Volvo's age is 5.5 years and it being a Diesel will only last another 3 years before i have to sell it out of state.

Car decisions for me have never been easier and looks like I have invited another dilemma in my life. Will I will be able to dilute the experience of owning a Volvo with this one(likely not) or shell out more and sell a perfect city driving, no hastle Glanza is what time will tell me. Had it been the non-Covid period I would have instantly sold the Glanza and followed my heart but irrespective we both have jobs in hand during the covid the uncertainites this has brought in has made me a little more watchful for another year.

Cheers for a great review, will read again when i decide to take the plunge.
M.Dua is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd September 2020, 11:43   #86

Originally Posted by M.Dua View Post
I fail to understand that why, why and why are people not linking the design and that too in huge numbers, i am the odd one out, but so is my wife, my parents and my friends and cousins, whenever I talk to them; they all are in awe of how different and amazing this car looks.
Do you really think Creta is at the top of the sales chart without people not liking its styling?

Its not a utility vehicle where looks can be ignored while making a decision. For a segment of 15-20 lakhs styling does matter. Controversial or not, people are liking its unconventional styling and street presence. That inspite of having the near equivalent Seltos doing real good numbers.
Turbokick is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd September 2020, 13:17   #87

I recently got a test drive of the creta DCT. I found that the gearbox fumbles a bit in low rpm heavy throttle situations. In city at low speeds when I needed a sudden overtake, I felt the car went to a very low gear, engine started crying and took some time to build speed. It felt like a torque converter. I observed the same with the seltos DCT.

It is possible that I was expecting a bit too much from the DCT gearbox. As many have observed it's not as good as the Vw DSG. It is also possible that one has to adapt to the car a bit which I could not in the short test drive.

Have others made similar observations?

Interestingly I also test drove the duster turbo CVT and a similar maneuver was much smoother in this car. But then again I was not expecting much from the CVT and it surprised me with the response. So it could be more of a perception issue.
Old 22nd September 2020, 14:10   #88

Originally Posted by NT56 View Post
I recently got a test drive of the creta DCT. I found that the gearbox fumbles a bit in low rpm heavy throttle situations. In city at low speeds when I needed a sudden overtake, I felt the car went to a very low gear, engine started crying and took some time to build speed. It felt like a torque converter. I observed the same with the seltos DCT.

It is possible that I was expecting a bit too much from the DCT gearbox. As many have observed it's not as good as the Vw DSG. It is also possible that one has to adapt to the car a bit which I could not in the short test drive.

Have others made similar observations?
I test drove the Creta last sunday and was quite impressed with the response of the gearbox in the comfort mode and the sports mode. There is a slight lag when there is a sudden push of the pedal when the car is in comfort mode but thats manageable according to me. But when u try the same thing with the car in Eco mode, then you will definitely feel that you are driving a CVT.
It all boils down to the rpms when the turbo kicks in
VW DSG - 1250
Hy/Kia - 1650-1700
Compass Petrol DDCT -2250-2400

Of all my test drives, I felt hyundai/Kia DCT gearbox quite good and should keep most of the intermediate enthusiasts happen with a smile while doing those quick overtakes on the highways. And for the rest of the population the creature comforts will do the needful.
D'Ro@dSt@r is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd September 2020, 19:26   #89

Originally Posted by M.Dua View Post
Precisely my thought!! My wife has been conveniently telling me that her inputs can be on two fronts - car's aesthetics and color. Creta passed the test pretty easily

May be the reason is couple of cars we have spotted were black in color which looks good (to say the least).
Old 23rd September 2020, 16:06   #90

Precisely my thought!! My wife has been conveniently telling me that her inputs can be on two fronts - car's aesthetics and color. Creta passed the test pretty easily

May be the reason is couple of cars we have spotted were black in color which looks good (to say the least).
We loved the polar white dual tone, all colours look exceptionally well but the Red Muleberry with the White C-pillar looks well blended, but as of now, the dilemma is not of the colour of the car :-D, its about when to do it, really wish the pandemic is done with the fair share of damage it had on everyone's life and life resumes at full throttle again.

Until then Team BHP & the expert reviews to keep us hooked and engaged.

Cheers!!
M.Dua is offline   (1) Thanks