Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Official New Car Reviews

Search this Thread
Old 27th October 2021, 13:52   #2446

Re: Mahindra Thar : Official Review

Quote:
Originally Posted by ph03n!x View Post
@PriyanshSpeaks, @Ketan - I hope you are not confusing the last digits of the VIN with the serial number of the Thar
====
. The 1798 will keep increasing with each Thar manufactured, but the VIN will not correlate with this, will depend on the rest of the VIN, that is, the month and year plus the unique ID (among other things).
I’m a little new to this, so I can’t really make the difference out. I’ll post my VIN details as I got in the same format below. You can pls verify and see if it’s a confusion.

Eng YFM4K52161
CH MA1UJ4YF7M2F10835
Old 27th October 2021, 14:14   #2447
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
@PriyanshSpeaks, @Ketan - I hope you are not confusing the last digits of the VIN with the serial number of the Thar.

The serial number - which is the sequence number of the vehicle - has no relationship to the VIN's last 6 digit.

In my case, the VIN had a sequence of 44xxx as the last 6 digits. But my serial number is 001798. The 1798 will keep increasing with each Thar manufactured, but the VIN will not correlate with this, will depend on the rest of the VIN, that is, the month and year plus the unique ID (among other things).
Thanks, looking at the last 5 digit on your VIN, it seems it's not the serial number. However, I was referring to this article where Spike confirmed that in case of M&M the last 5 digits would represent vehicle serial number. My assumption on that was wrong in that case.

https://www.team-bhp.com/advice/find...facture-vin#p4

My ASM called me after I reported this to some M&M officials.