Old 10th February 2021, 13:50   #1186

Re: Mahindra Thar : Official Review

Hello everyone. Wanted a quick advice from everyone, especially Thar owners. I am considering the Automatic Petrol Thar. Mainly to be used by my Wife in the city. Since this is our third car, thought it would be a good option for my wife since she can use it on the terrible Bangalore Roads with no tension. But just wanted to check how safe or easy to use the Thar is with infants in the car with car seats? Has anyone had a personal experience with such a use case?

I know thar is mainly bought for off-roading, but I personally would want it mainly for city use and the occasional off-roading experience but the only issue is with having a baby onboard.

Would love any comments on this.

Thank you.
Old 10th February 2021, 14:26   #1187

^^ Two doors and child seats do not go very well.

It is not recommended to install baby seats in the front seats because the airbag is there, it is not recommended to install baby seats in the rear seats because there is no door for access.
Kosfactor is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 10th February 2021, 17:04   #1188

Yes that was my thoughts exactly. But thought ill put it across and see if there is some silver lining possible to get the thar. Lol.
Old 10th February 2021, 20:50   #1189

Thar forums on other platforms have updates on people getting their petrol MTs delivered this week. Booking dates of early Oct 2020.

Any updates from members here?
Old 10th February 2021, 21:53   #1190

Originally Posted by sachinjoseph View Post
I am considering the Automatic Petrol Thar. Mainly to be used by my Wife in the city. Since this is our third car, thought it would be a good option for my wife since she can use it on the terrible Bangalore Roads with no tension.
[...]
I know thar is mainly bought for off-roading, but I personally would want it mainly for city use and the occasional off-roading experience but the only issue is with having a baby onboard.

Would love any comments on this.
Disable the passenger side airbag and put the child seat there, up front. Since it is your 3rd car, and it is "only" child safety in a city car under discussion, it's a choice that can still be safely made. (Allowing us to disregard for a bit that, some very reliable, manufacturer-backed studies show that even with the airbag off, you shouldn't put child seats up front - normally, I discourage anyone from using a child seat up front even with the passenger airbag disabled)

My favourite drivetrain for this car is the Petrol AT too. If you can live with a Mahindra (that too such a newly developed Mahindra), go for it without a second thought IMO.

Last edited by Mu009 : 10th February 2021 at 21:57. Reason: Additions
Mu009 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 10th February 2021, 23:32   #1191

@sachinjoseph just saw on Instagram for your reference.
Mahindra Thar : Official Review-b19d747e64fa47918f5d6745c0bdede4.jpeg

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 11th February 2021 at 00:12. Reason: you > your.
braveheart_77 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th February 2021, 00:50   #1192

The Thar was delivered to me in November and it is the LX Diesel HT MT version. So, after having driven the Thar for more than 5000 kms across highways and North Sikkim in Winters, I was able to explore almost all the features that it comes with. So, I decided to put forward my views compiled together in 2 videos on my Youtube handle.

Firstly, my views keeping the following points on my mind:
1. Comfort (Highway, Offroad, Parents, 5 persons etc)
2.​ Mileage ( 2H 4H 4L )
3.​ Fuel Tank Range
4.​ Audio
5.​ Cabin Noise

And, then I listed the issues with solutions that I found. Many of the issues are definitely common and most of you would be aware of the same:
1. AFE Error
2. Completely Wrong AFE & Solution
3. Android Auto Connectivity & Solution
4. Horn Issue
5. Low Fuel Warning Issue
6. IRVM Issue & Solution (Thanks to ph03n!x for the solution)
Originally Posted by ph03n!x View Post
I'm waiting for the DDPAI Mola E3
for
7. Glovebox Issue & Solution
8. Boot space Issue & Solutions
9. Cold Starting Issue & Solution
10. Thar Underbody Issue & Solution
11. Hardtop Leaking Issue
12. Bonnet Issue

OneLivingLife is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 11th February 2021, 15:10   #1193

Originally Posted by Slipstream11 View Post
Thar forums on other platforms have updates on people getting their petrol MTs delivered this week. Booking dates of early Oct 2020.

Any updates from members here?
Which other forums bro? Please guide as I too would like to be a part of these.

I too have booked a P MT on 8th Oct but no delivery update for me
Old 11th February 2021, 15:25   #1194

Originally Posted by pariyadav View Post
I too have booked a P MT on 8th Oct but no delivery update for me
Your wait is now completed 120 days or apprx 4 months, which was the original timeline of delivery for those who booked in Oct 2020 and which the shameless buggers at Mahindra diluted by allotting vehicles out-of-turn to all and sundry who showed a leg or an arm or used their influence for getting a 'hot' commodity that was making news. Those promised 4 months delivery in Oct booking priority where thus royally shafted and their booking line went for a toss.

Now even if they get a vehicle it will be with a hollow cutout for head unit or a missing ECU and missing what not or they may well have to wait for another 4 months now. Well played Mahindra. Maybe those whom you allotted out-of-turn can make those procesing chips for you.
lurker is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th February 2021, 17:31   #1195

Originally Posted by Rajiv0909 View Post
My solution (or jugaad) to the flying bonnet problem.
Just saw a video in which the guy is saying Mahindra has come out with new bonnet locks and has been put in his Thar. You may want to check this with your dealer. The hook does not look very different in the pictures though.

Alternator was also replaced it seems, without any particular reason being told to the customer.
Sankar is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 11th February 2021, 19:05   #1196

Originally Posted by Sankar View Post
Just saw a video in which the guy is saying Mahindra has come out with new bonnet locks and has been put in his Thar. You may want to check this with your dealer. The hook does not look very different in the pictures though.

https://www.Youtube.com/watch?v=7hV4shWQFv4

Alternator was also replaced it seems, without any particular reason being told to the customer.
That's true. I got mine replaced today. so it doesn't need the jugged anymore.
Old 11th February 2021, 20:42   #1197

Originally Posted by Sankar View Post
Just saw a video in which the guy is saying Mahindra has come out with new bonnet locks and has been put in his Thar. You may want to check this with your dealer. The hook does not look very different in the pictures though
Here is another picture of the mentioned hood latch that is now replacing the old latches. Comparative pictures though are not available.

Atleast, M&M is quickly rectifying issues than turning a blind eye to them.
Mahindra Thar : Official Review-img20210211wa0030.jpg  

pariyadav is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 11th February 2021, 22:28   #1198

Originally Posted by Rajiv0909 View Post
That's true. I got mine replaced today. so it doesn't need the jugged anymore.
Here is another picture of the mentioned hood latch that is now replacing the old latches. Comparative pictures though are not available.

Atleast, M&M is quickly rectifying issues than turning a blind eye to them.
to M&M

As a prospective Thar buyer I like it that they are ironing out all the initial issues. Only reason why I didn't buy the previous Thar was that it didn't have an AT which is a requirement. Otherwise it is the kind of vehicle that I like as an ex-biker.
Sankar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th February 2021, 12:03   #1199

At least, M&M is quickly rectifying issues than turning a blind eye to them.
Are they doing a recall to replace the latches. I think they should, it seems to be a major risk that needs to be addressed ASAP.
Old 12th February 2021, 12:08   #1200

This is for anyone, who wants to check if their Thar is in the recall list - https://auto.mahindra.com/service-action

Enter last 8 digits of your VIN