Old 9th September 2022, 08:49   #916

Re: 2021 Toyota Fortuner Legender & Facelift Review

I faced such high handedness by Pioneer Toyota Chandigarh as well. I was persuaded to change variant/color etc. wanted the variant of my choice then they were delivering vehicles to people who had made the booking after me. After a debate over the phone, the lady sales manager blocked my number. I wanted an honest enquiry into the matter as i felt like i wasn't treated properly but all escalations amounted to nothing. In the end I requested for my refund of booking amount and booked my vehicle elsewhere.

Also the myth of Toyota reliability was shattered for me as various components of front suspension were changed under warranty. The car is with me but no love is lost with brand Toyota. The owners manual states that there are speed sensing door locks and follow me home headlamps features but it is not true. It seems like Toyota omitted these features all the while increasing the price.

Mine is the facelifted 2021 Innova Crysta.

MOD NOTE : Please give a space after a punctuation mark.
Thank you!.
2021 Toyota Fortuner Legender & Facelift Review-screenshot_20220909084811_gmail.jpg  

Last edited by Sheel : 9th September 2022 at 09:41. Reason: Mod note attached.
Encyclopedic is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th September 2022, 15:41   #917

Originally Posted by srameshdelhi View Post
I have bought in the past many Suzukis, Ford, GM, Renault, Honda that too for a lesser value car, but never experienced this type of behaviour from company. Despite being a customer that spends 45+ Lakhs to buy a Toyota, the way Toyota or its dealers treat you leaves a lot to be desired, to be polite in making that statement.
I think your experience with other brands/dealers must have been in distant past (at least 4-5 years ago). What you faced with Toyota is the norm these days. In past few months, I visited Jeep, Toyota, Skoda and MG dealers looking for cars north of 40L. None of them had a brochure, display cars or a test drive vehicle except for Jeep which had a display vehicle as well as a test drive vehicle. Brochures are a thing of past. Except for Jeep, none of the salesmen had any clue of what they were selling. Entire experience was grade A desi at every single showroom and borderline arrogant. There was no sense of luxury about anything. And guess what, it's been more than two months since I have booked Gloster, I am yet to see the car in person or get a test drive.
Old 9th September 2022, 16:05   #918

1. They take you for granted that you come to their showroom which sells the best car in the country and therefore, there is no brochure, display car or a trained sales person required to attend to a customer. You walk into an empty showroom with 1-2 staff sitting and checking their respective mobile phones and an Urban cruiser and Hylex on display.
Sorry to know the experience but I can totally relate to this. I visited 2 dealerships here in Chandigarh/Mohali back in Feb/march when I was looking to change my car. I was looking for Innova Crysta ZX petrol. The treatment I received at both the dealerships made me change my mind to not go for Toyota despite all the reputation and respect for their hassle free and reliable cars.

But finally it was for good as I tried for Kodiaq next and because of no availability in 2022, test drove Octavia next (completely different segment and different machines but that is another topic) and fell in love with it. Luckily L&K in Graphite Grey was available with the dealership and got it delivered within a week.
Old 9th September 2022, 16:12   #919

Update -
Have left the vehicle with Uttam Toyota today.
It was quite clear from their reaction that this is the common issue they are facing with many cars.
'Injector Kit' needs to be changed under the warranty.

SOP is quite clear on this, the first time any customer comes with DPF Full alarm, they educate about the DPF system, clean the DPF tank and release the vehicle.

If the problem reoccurs, then change the 'Injector Kit' as confirmed by couple of posts in this thread also.

There were 2 more vehicles with the same issue lying in the workshop, waiting for parts to arrive.
Mine was the third one and SA told me he has just received a phone call from some other customer who has clocked some 3500 kms and faced the same issue. He was also told to come to the service center.

So, Toyota is aware of the issue and now many 2022 manufactured vehicles are also poring in for parts replacement.

Let's hope the issue is not repeated after replacement.

Should take 3-4 days for approval and installation of the 'Kit'
Kaydee55 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th September 2022, 16:22   #920

Yesterday, 08-09-22, my Team-bhp post appeared in Google Pop-op to many who follows car threads and also in Facebook. I got many calls from friends after reading the purchase experience I posted. Today a team of 5 people from Galaxy Toyota visited me home and apologised for my bad experience.

I still have 4 issues to be resolved with them as below:

1. MIRACAST is not working with my Iphone.
2. TOYOTA SmartDeviceLink is not downloading any app
3. Accessory - Front & Rear Under Run still not arrived
4. Complaint on Door light (interior) is not answered by Toyota.

Now after one month they are telling me MIRACAST is not compatable with IOS and TOYOTA SmartDeviceLink is not meant for Indian market. This is no where written in manual nor they were aware (SA has been trying for the past 1 month to make them work). I asked them to give it in writing. They said that they will check with TKM before doing so. Any idea the above is true? If so, why is not mentioned in manual?

Regarding 3 & 4, they are cutting a sorry face and blaming TKM for the delay.

I don't know how Toyota got the good reputation of customer service when they can't even get the basics right. It is one month since my mails remain unanswered by TOYOTA on 1 & 2.
srameshdelhi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th September 2022, 16:27   #921

Yesterday, 08-09-22, my Team-bhp post appeared in Google Pop-op to many who follows car threads and also in Facebook. I got many calls from friends after reading the purchase experience I posted. Today a team of 5 people from Galaxy Toyota visited me home and apologised for my bad experience.

Now after one month they are telling me MIRACAST is not compatable with IOS and TOYOTA SmartDeviceLink is not meant for Indian market. This is no where written in manual nor they were aware (SA has been trying for the past 1 month to make them work). I asked them to give it in writing. They said that they will check with TKM before doing so. Any idea the above is true? If so, why is not mentioned in manual?

Regarding 3 & 4, they are cutting a sorry face and blaming TKM for the delay.

I don't know how Toyota got the good reputation of customer service when they can't even get the basics right. It is one month since my mails remain unanswered by TOYOTA on 1 & 2.
I confirm MIRACAST does not work with IOS - I have an apple and a samsung as I keep two phones

I have also brought a 4x4 AT last week and my iphone does not work with Miracast - however Apple car play ( wired ) works flawlessly. Not a deal breaker for me.

Smardevice link also is a useless software - does not work for me but am not surprised as I have an Innova as well.

3 & 4 I cannot comment.

My suggestion -don't let these minor things irk your experience of owning such a desired SUV and one that is pretty hot in demand. Enjoy the ride and the overall experience. You shall not be disappointed.
Old 9th September 2022, 17:00   #922

Originally Posted by vkochar View Post
I confirm MIRACAST does not work with IOS - I have an apple and a samsung as I keep two phones

I have also brought a 4x4 AT last week and my iphone does not work with Miracast - however Apple car play ( wired ) works flawlessly. Not a deal breaker for me.

Smardevice link also is a useless software - does not work for me but am not surprised as I have an Innova as well.

3 & 4 I cannot comment.

My suggestion -don't let these minor things irk your experience of owning such a desired SUV and one that is pretty hot in demand. Enjoy the ride and the overall experience. You shall not be disappointed.
Ofcourse we are matured individuals and don't take these things to the heart and sulk! At the end of the day, a Car is a Car, not Life!

The diasppointment is due to attitude. And to me it looks like, TOYOTA is out to kill the product, like they did to Corolla and Etios and Qualis. They have the experience of shooting themselves.
Old 9th September 2022, 18:54   #923
Kln

Ofcourse we are matured individuals and don't take these things to the heart and sulk! At the end of the day, a Car is a Car, not Life!

The diasppointment is due to attitude. And to me it looks like, TOYOTA is out to kill the product, like they did to Corolla and Etios and Qualis. They have the experience of shooting themselves.
Thank you for holding Toyota accountable. The fact that these are genuine issues is clear by the fact that Toyota dealers came to your home to apologize! Many a times, us Indians are so used to chalta hai attitude that we don't bother rocking the boat and convince ourselves to make peace with such stuff. It is wrong. And a wrong must be righted. Especially one worth more than 40 lakhs!
Old 10th September 2022, 01:15   #924

You can not expect Toyota to come up with detailed manual for Miracast, SmartDeviceLink, CarPlay, Android Auto simply because they are 3rd party features/apps. If Toyota has to specifically mention Miracast doesn't support iOS then you can also expect them to mention that Android Auto doesn't support iPhone or that OnePlus doesn't support CarPlay. It's upto consumers to find out what those 3rd party tools can and can not do. Honestly I think you are blowing things out of proportion regarding these 2 points otherwise people will soon start blaming automakers for not mentioning that CarPlay doesn't play movies.

Both Miracast and SmartDeviceLink are not Toyota specific modules. They are universal softwares supported by a community/alliance which Toyota is part of. Problem with SmartDeviceLink is that Apps are not supported in India and Toyota has no control over it. If you change the country in your iPhone app, it will show new apps specific to that country which by the way are useless for us. What Miracast and SmartDeviceLink can and can not do is not upto Toyota, it's upto their respective communities to support specific OS or apps. Also, I do not quite understand why you need SmartDeviceLink when you have CarPlay, the app catalog of SmartDeviceLink is universally pathetic when compared to Android Auto/CarPlay.

Regarding the accessories not yet installed, dealerships must be dying to get them because of the margins they make on it. Trust me if they don't have it then it's mostly because they are unable to procure one but they should set the expectations right and not make you wait for one.

Last edited by Technic90 : 10th September 2022 at 01:19.
Technic90 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th September 2022, 04:56   #925

Originally Posted by Technic90 View Post
Both Miracast and SmartDeviceLink are not Toyota specific modules. They are universal softwares supported by a community/alliance which Toyota is part of. Problem with SmartDeviceLink is that Apps are not supported in India and Toyota has no control over it. If you change the country in your iPhone app, it will show new apps specific to that country which by the way are useless for us. What Miracast and SmartDeviceLink can and can not do is not upto Toyota, it's upto their respective communities to support specific OS or apps. Also, I do not quite understand why you need SmartDeviceLink when you have CarPlay, the app catalog of SmartDeviceLink is universally pathetic when compared to Android Auto/CarPlay.
If SAs know about MIRACAST and SmartDeviceLink and told me while giving demo, issue wouldn’t have arisen. Or atleast after I wrote, had Toyota replied, it would have sufficed. SAs kept on trying endlessly to make them work. What am I supposed to believe?

Last edited by Aditya : 11th September 2022 at 18:21. Reason: Quoted text trimmed
srameshdelhi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th September 2022, 15:09   #926

After my post went viral, Galaxy Toyota indeed got in touch with me and a team of 5 people visited my home and apologized.

They have promised to take my feedback positively and work on improving so that in the future no customer will have to face these issues again.

I appreciate and accept their coming back on this matter and wish to close this once and for all. There have been many calls from fellow BHPians talking to me about this. Thanks for your support.

Let's put this to rest and move ahead for having responded positively on this matter and I am giving that credit to Team Toyota along with Galaxy Toyota.

Hope to enjoy driving the beast (Fortuner) leaving this behind.
srameshdelhi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th September 2022, 15:09   #927
R_R

Booked a Fortuner petrol AT, in Sparkling Black (though we may go with Silver Metallic if it’s available sooner). I would have preferred a Fortuner 4x4, but NCR rules makes diesel a financially unviable option for me. Delivery is expected latest by November, but hopefully sooner.

Apologies for this very long post, but it might help some in the same boat as I was; others hopefully might enjoy the story of a car nerd’s travails.

Fortuner was never in contention when I began my search for a car to replace my 2008 Suzuki Grand Vitara, which I have to very sadly give up now because of the aforementioned idiotic NCR rules. In the thirteen year (almost) that I’ve had it, it has taken me both through the Spiti valley and to Leh from Gurgaon. Honestly, none of the current crop are a patch on the Grand Vitara.

My requirement was for a car that I could take on all kinds of bad roads, but I don’t do any off-roading. I didn’t initially consider the Fortuner because it didn’t come in petrol 4x4 version. My choices were the Hyundai Tucson, VW Tiguan and Skoda Kodiaq, all of which had petrol 4x4. I waited until Hyundai released the Tucson, but Hyundai decided to bring in only diesel 4x4, which immediately ruled it out of contention. Skoda decided to jack up the price of the Kodiaq, so that was also ruled out since I was already well over my original budget of 30-32 Lakhs. That left the Tiguan.

I did like the Tiguan a lot. But I need to keep the car for the full 15 years that NCR rules permit, and I wasn’t sure the Tiguan is such a long-term car. I didn’t want to worry every time I took a long drive to the hills that I might face some trouble on the way. The lack of a full-sized spare was an additional headache, especially given that the Tiguan came with a tyre size that isn’t easily available in India, and there was also no option to change to All-Terrain treads because I couldn’t find any in that size. The 55 profile sidewalls are potentially problematic on bad roads. I briefly even reconsidered the Kodiaq because I thought the unusable third row could be folded and provide extra space to carry an additional full-sized spare, but the Kodiaq price hike ruled it out.

I did enjoy the Tiguan in the two test drives I took, but also found a few additional minor quibbles. It seemed a bit smaller than my Grand Vitara when sitting in the front seat. Odd, because the external dimensions are very similar, give or take. The seating was also slightly lower than in the Grand Vitara. The ground clearance, while probably adequate, was also less than the Grand Vitara. The retractable ceiling for the panoramic sunroof was thin, light and flimsy. These are quibbles, of course, because the Tiguan is also suave and sophisticated, and it had the added advantage of a terrific and powerful engine and a smooth gearbox. It wasn’t an easy choice to give up on the Tiguan.

Now, to the Fortuner petrol. I took two test drives, one of which was a very long one for ninety minutes. I was worried about the heft, the power, body-roll etc, and just my general comfort with the vehicle, its interiors etc. I am almost 6ft, and the vehicle’s height was still surprising. The seat was a bit lower to the floor than I would have liked, but it was OK if I set it to the highest level. The acceleration was a bit laboured, understandably, but once it got going I found it surprisingly swift and nimble. I was able to manage a long, crowded street without any problem, aided by the fact that bikers and autos showed some deference to the behemoth, something I never experienced in the Grand Vitara. One has to be a bit gentle on the accelerator pedal to avoid startling the beast into a mad rush, but this should be easy to get used to.

The interiors. Hmmmm. It is missing two key things that was on my original ‘wanted’ list: a panoramic sunroof and memory setting for the driver seat. I do enjoy opening at least the inner covering on sunroofs to enjoy the night sky, in the cars I have been driven in which have the feature. The memory setting is also a big miss, because it is so useful when there are multiple drivers, as Fortuners usually do. But neither were deal-breakers, though the latter is especially disappointing. And the MID screen: really poor on such an expensive car, especially compared to the Tiguan’s glorious one, which is probably the best in the business.

But the good points: for all the complaints about the Fortuner’s interiors, it actually has most of the features that the Tiguan has and a few that it doesn’t. For example, the Fortuner gets powered passenger seat, which is missing in the Tiguan. The Fortuner gets ventilated front seats, more appropriate than the Tiguan’s heated ones. The leather quality in both is OK cars. An 8-inch entertainment unit in both but though the graphics seem a bit worse on the Fortuner, it gets physical shortcut buttons, which I prefer.

As an aside, the Fortuner’s unit seems like the RAV-4's unit, does anyone know if it’s the same?

Both Fortuner and Tiguan get plug-in Android Auto and Apple Carplay, not wireless. Neither get wireless charging either. Two-zone climate control in the Fortuner, but plenty of air in the back, as compared to the Tiguan’s three-zone unit—a draw, though the Fortuner’s A/C is supposed to be better. Auto up-down windows on all windows in both, as well as electric tailgates. Definitely the look of some switches and other bits on the Fortuner is poor, without question. But the biggest reason for the perception of poor interiors in the Fortuner, in my view, is one of aesthetics rather than availability, of function over form. I fully Toyota could have spent a bit more time making the interiors ‘look’ better, even if it provides most of what is expected.

Though it’s not ideal because it’s a 4x2, the Fortuner’s excellent ground clearance, water wading depth, and underbody protection hopefully makes it adequate for the bad roads that I might come across. These features also make it a better, if much costlier, choice than the Innova, to anticipate one question. I have to wait and see how the Fortuner performs in the hills, but there was no way to check this at this point. Ultimately, this hopefully gives me a good if not perfect replacement for my Grand Vitara, which once again highlights what poor choices we have in this segment. Now the wait begins.
R_R is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 10th September 2022, 15:58   #928

Originally Posted by R_R View Post
Though it’s not ideal because it’s a 4x2, the Fortuner’s excellent ground clearance, water wading depth, and underbody protection hopefully makes it adequate for the bad roads that I might come across. These features also make it a better, if much costlier, choice than the Innova, to anticipate one question. I have to wait and see how the Fortuner performs in the hills, but there was no way to check this at this point.
Excellent synopsis, R_R and congratulations on owning a very underrated car.

I have done 17k kms in the last 1 year, and all i can say is do not worry about performance in the mountains, let alone hills. Few months back, I took my entire family, along with my 4 legged baby to Spiti in the petrol Fortuner AT without it breaking a sweat! DPF- what is that? Kalpa, Nako, Kaza, Chicham, Hikkim, Komic, Langza all done and dusted in that trip.

Oh, and in between, i also have also toured Rajasthan, Gujarat, Orissa etc which were truthfully, a walk in the park types for the gentle giant.
achyutaghosh is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 10th September 2022, 16:06   #929

Originally Posted by R_R View Post
Booked a Fortuner petrol AT, in Sparkling Black (though we may go with Silver Metallic if it’s available sooner). I would have preferred a Fortuner 4x4, but NCR rules makes diesel a financially unviable option for me. Delivery is expected latest by November, but hopefully sooner.
Congrats for the booking! I had similar dilemma in choosing a petrol fortuner as a replacement for my yeti 4x4. And after many considerations, the choice of a fortuner petrol was no brainer, as I too keep my car for long as the rule allows and that warrants a low maintenance, reliable one. I have a question though regarding the test drives - which dealers did you take the test drives? As far as I remember, no test drives car exists for petrol fortuner in 2 dealers in Noida and one in south Delhi.
iTNerd is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th September 2022, 16:35   #930
R_R

Originally Posted by achyutaghosh View Post
Few months back, I took my entire family, along with my 4 legged baby to Spiti in the petrol Fortuner AT without it breaking a sweat! DPF- what is that? Kalpa, Nako, Kaza, Chicham, Hikkim, Komic, Langza all done and dusted in that trip.
Thanks! I have been reading your posts, as one of the few petrol Fortuner owners here! This is very good to know!

Originally Posted by iTNerd View Post
Congrats for the booking! I had similar dilemma in choosing a petrol fortuner as a replacement for my yeti 4x4. And after many considerations, the choice of a fortuner petrol was no brainer, as I too keep my car for long as the rule allows and that warrants a low maintenance, reliable one. I have a question though regarding the test drives - which dealers did you take the test drives? As far as I remember, no test drives car exists for petrol fortuner in 2 dealers in Noida and one in south Delhi.
Thanks! I got test drives from both MGF Toyota in Gurgaon (Golf Course road) and Galaxy Toyota in Chattarpur. Galaxy Toyota's Fortuner was pre-lift AT, while MGF had a facelifted Fortuner petrol AT but prior to the additional changes Toyota made in September 2021, such as dual-zone climate control. I booked with MGF Toyota. DM me if you want contact details.
R_R is offline   (1) Thanks