![]() | #166 |
BHPian Join Date: Dec 2019 Location: Kolkata
| ![]() Will 200 mm ground clearance be enhanced through a different suspension set up ( suspension lift ) for AWD option ? Otherwise 200 mm is only good enough for mild soft roading. Further is there any information on approach and break over angle - does not look promising from serious off-roading point of view OR will there be redesigned bumpers for AWD option? Also i am not sure how many ADAS features will work for eg traffic sign recognition ? Not sure whether high beam assist will limit itself from just switching on and off high beam based on whether the speed is 80 - then it’s not ADAS. |
![]() |
|
![]() | #167 |
BANNED Join Date: May 2020 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() |
![]() |
![]() | #168 | ||
Senior - BHPian ![]() | ![]() Quote:
What I don't get is M&M's less than quarter-hearted approach in provisioning ambient light inside a premium car. They put in a small strip around the roof panel, which houses the lights and sunroof controls, but not on the 4 doors and dashboard. Like how much extra would that have costed? Btw, the button (indicated by the arrow) needs to be pressed for that light blue/ purple ambient light to be lit. Source: Shifting-Gears interior review of the XUV7OO, on YouTube. ![]() But here's a clever little feature or engineering that Mahindra has done. To ensure the SOS button is not pressed inadvertently, they've designed it as a pop-out switch and the button to press, is on the inside. Smart! Source: Gagan Choudhary's XUV7OO review on YouTube, at 25:55. ![]() Quote:
I would imagine, in city driving without being aggressive with the accelerator, between 9-11 kpl. Highways if within the 100-120 cruising rev range, perhaps 12-14. At least, these are the assumptions I'm making. -------- Here are some of the things I've noticed are missing or are a mix of 'like to have' and 'need to have' features, in the AX7 (top of the line variant). - No ventilated seats (beaten about so many times now, but so pertinent). - IRVM has a manual flip behind it for dimming. ![]() - No mirror behind the driver's sun visor. Another ~300 rupees, M&M? - No ambient lighting, even in the option pack. Kids love it and this is a family vehicle. - Middle bench seats not on rails - no forward and rear movement possible. BIG MISS, in my opinion.. Could have made the 3rd row of seats more usable for anyone above 5"5 in height. - Being a large family SUV, middle row passengers could have been given the comfort of a plastic tray on the rear of the front seats, like what Hyundai did with the Alcazar. Another 1000-1500 bucks wouldn't have hurt anyone buying the SUV. My biggest conundrum right now is if I should just go ahead with the AX7 at launch price and hope everything turns out well (80% confident it would) OR if I should wait 2 years for another AX8/ AX9 variant with ventilated seats, middle row sliding bench, etc., without even having a clue if such a variant might even be launched in the future. When prices would definitely be considerably dearer, than at launch. ![]() Last edited by k_ajay : 19th August 2021 at 00:28. Reason: Adding detail about the SOS button | ||
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #169 | |
BHPian ![]() | ![]() Quote:
Also this is not new tech, it’s just new in mass market cars in India. So I don’t think there will be many niggles around it as the company who made the module is pretty solid. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #170 | |
BANNED Join Date: Jul 2021 Location: Nowhere
| ![]() Quote:
Huh?!? Pray, tell me more. Now you have all my attention, and I'm all ears. I thought the dimensions that were released were for the 7 seater variants, I mean the demo cars were 7-seater variants. Why would they release dimensions of a different car, and media drive a different one. Also, if I'm reading correctly, does this mean the 5 seat variant will be shorter in length that the 7 seat one? That sounds, IMHO, counter-productive. It is contrary to the impression that I had, which led me to believe that the 5 seaters will be nothing but 7-seater with the rear seats removed. Or will there be an XUV700 plus, with an Innova like boot, and therefore a Volvo B11R rivalling length? | |
![]() |
![]() | #171 | |
BHPian Join Date: Jul 2021 Location: Chennai
| ![]() Quote:
+1 Last edited by Geta : 19th August 2021 at 04:38. | |
![]() |
![]() | #172 | |
BHPian Join Date: Feb 2021 Location: Nahan (HP)
| ![]() Quote:
I am now dropping the plan myself for a used Toyota Fortuner. I'll see whenever it is available in showrooms (Himachal/Chandigarh) and want to drive both Petrol and Diesel. Might go for Petrol, gives extra piece of mind as wont have to worry about cold starts in early mornings and also the DPF Filter. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #173 | |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | ![]() Quote:
Dimensions will remain exactly the same. Just that there will be a small premium charged for the extra row of seats, over the 5-seater variant prices we have right now. Also, Mahindra is following Kia's example - an XUV7OO for every customer. Hence there will be offerings galore across the range. The idea is to pull most SUV buyers willing to pay 10 lakhs and above into their showrooms. Don't be surprised if the top-end 185PS AX7 AT AWD comes in near, or just a smidge above, the 20 lakh ex-showroom mark. With optional packs at their disposal, Mahindra can price the 7OO very competitively now. But remember, these will be introductory prices. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #174 | |
BHPian | ![]() Quote:
I have budget of 40-50Lacs but most likely will go in for AX7 and save some money. But I am going to wait at least till Jan 2022. Last time I bought TUV300 AMT right when it was launched, it had its initial issues and more but in the end turned out to be ok. I am still using TUV as primary vehicle and going to continue till XUV700 gets over its teething problems. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #175 |
BHPian Join Date: Apr 2021 Location: Guwahati
| ![]() Saw Faisal Khan's review. He mentioned that Ventilated Seats will be offered. Let's see. Fingers crossed. |
![]() |
![]() | #176 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Oct 2018 Location: bangalore
| ![]() Quote:
| |
![]() | ![]() |
|
![]() | #177 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Sep 2009 Location: Pune
Infractions: 0/1 (5) | ![]() I think there was a question about approach angle in one of the posts, please check below review. It has a few slides on the approach angle details. I found this review useful for practical aspects of Petrol AT in start stop traffic, using manual override, how it holds on to specific gears in manual mode etc. I was tempted to sell my hardly used BRV and join the bandwagon of booking without test drive. However, it seems third row is REALLY cramped and not very usable. I get the impression that knee room in third row is lesser than my BRV. Also, third row recline lever is located on the back which would be practically unusable. After recline there is hardly any boot space left. In my BRV third row has decent knee room, recline is very useful and there is decent boot space even after recline so not sure now :( I would wait for the test drive to check in person and then decide. Last edited by ScorpWarp : 19th August 2021 at 09:21. Reason: Corrected spelling mistake |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #178 | |
BANNED Join Date: Jan 2021 Location: New Delhi
Infractions: 0/1 (5) | ![]() Quote:
In this video of AWD variant, it always looks like (to me at-least) that car is too low to the ground and could use another 3-4 cm of ground clearance. Maybe it is because the tyres are really tight-fitting in the wheel well with close to no space for articulation even with 2 passengers on board. Anyways, seems like this will be a soft-roader with some capability to handle slush/snow if required. Approach and departure angle (break-over angle is too low anyway by the looks of it) will further limit any off the road adventures that people may have in mind. Maybe this was a trade-off made by Mahindra for better on-road behaviour. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #179 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Oct 2020 Location: Transferable
| ![]() Does the XUV7OO have drive modes (Eco, City, Sport)? I didn't find it mentioned in the review. |
![]() |
![]() | #180 | ||
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Feb 2005 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() Quote:
FundaG Last edited by fundagenie : 19th August 2021 at 09:47. | ||
![]() |
![]() |