Team-BHP - Mahindra XUV700 Review

-   Official New Car Reviews (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/)
-   -   Mahindra XUV700 Review (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/240680-mahindra-xuv700-review-465.html)

My name is Karthik and am new to team-bhp. This is my first post/thread in this forum. Thanks to team-bhp for approving my membership. Booked XUV700 at Anant Cars Marathahalli, Bangalore during September 1st Week. This thread helped a lot to make my decision and thanks to everyone. My Status is currently Order Under Planning and the tentative delivery date is Jan-2024. But SA is confident of getting it during September-October 2023 and if lucky might be preponed to July 2023 as well.
Soon will post my test drive journey and what made me to chose XUV700.

Originally Posted by Peri_patetic99 (Post 5214145)
You have made some good arguments, but I think that the awd variant needs more chips and due to the supply shortage right now they might be preferring to use those extra chips for other variants since demand is already high.

Also, I have definitely seen a few awd promo/review videos on youtube.

Hi lovely people,

I took possession of my BEAST, the AWD on July 31st and have run it for approx 2000 Kms so far (ONLY ), thanks to the annual Haridwar Circuit that I follow since a decade now.

Am planning a trip to Spiti / Leh / Ladakh and struggling to find a group of like minded AWD owners ( even non AWD Vehicles can do this, now with the Atal Tunnel and road conditions) and will post an update once I find company. The last time I did the Spiti Trip was Solo in my SX4 AT, and it was a great trip with no sweat, but now should be even more fun, that I will have her Highness and my Prince with me.

Will post an update on the AWD performance once this materializes.

Humble request, don't make me doubt my investment, also given the NCT Rules limiting my big 28 Ones to a 10 year life 🤣

Ps. Haven't yet posted my Delivery / Ownership experience so far, have already had some surprises, pleasant experience with the Service team. Hope it stays that way.

BTW, I'm from NCR!

My DEF/Adblue top-up experience

I drive XUV700 AX7L D AT AWD and have been following this thread very closely. Thank you everyone for the invaluable knowledge sharing on this forum.

My car has done 7550 km so far and I am enjoying the experience. The DEF level was showing 41% and I was planning a long trip before my 3rd service due at 10,000 kms so I started exploring DEF top-up.

Here is my experience -

Originally Posted by techdarshan (Post 5404052)
After the top-up, the dashboard showed DEF levels at 87%.

The tank capacity is 20 Ltrs, guage before filling showed 40% remaining, laptop said 8 Ltrs needed, you filled 10 Ltrs. The guage after filling still says 87%.

Does that mean the guage is inaccurate, or the scanner or something I am missing here?

Originally Posted by abirnale (Post 5404120)
The tank capacity is 20 Ltrs, guage before filling showed 40% remaining, laptop said 8 Ltrs needed, you filled 10 Ltrs. The guage after filling still says 87%.

Does that mean the guage is inaccurate, or the scanner or something I am missing here?

It seems accurate, let me clarify - guage before filling showed 39% indicating 8 ltrs DEF present in the tank and 12 ltrs more needed to filll the tank. I toped up with 10 ltrs, hence filling the tank to 18 ltrs (8 ltrs existing + 10 ltrs new) and as a result, the guage showing 87% which is pretty accurate.

Originally Posted by techdarshan (Post 5404130)
It seems accurate, let me clarify - guage before filling showed 39% indicating 8 ltrs DEF present in the tank and 12 ltrs more needed to filll the tank. I toped up with 10 ltrs, hence filling the tank to 18 ltrs (8 ltrs existing + 10 ltrs new) and as a result, the guage showing 87% which is pretty accurate.

Got it. 8ltrs present vs 8ltrs needed. The interpretation was wrong in my case. :coldsweat

Originally Posted by amahale (Post 5403672)
Onroad price for AX7L P AT increased by 46K :sadface

I have also been in touch with Anant Cars and was planning to book the AX7L P AT by end of year. It’s ludicrous that they have increased prices by half a lakh without any additional features. When BS6 Phase 2 kicks how much more do we expect? Is this Mahindra’s plan to cash in on demand? This kind of a hike is no joke. Although the Alcazar is not very similar to the XUV, I am now starting to lean towards it.

It this Rear Bumper Guard worth buying? Does a rear bumper make sense especially if a biker rams into the vehicle?

https://goldsun.in/product/ss-dx-grand-rear-bumper/

Mahindra XUV700 Review-innovacrystagrb50810.jpg

Hi Everyone

First post here, got a membership after lurking so much in these thread - I have booked an XUV 700 AX7L P AT on April 21 and currently the delivery date is around August 22, I have a few questions

1. Can we put a seat cover on the ivory colored seats, with a kid and me also being a bit clumsy not sure how long can it stay clean

2. What are some of the necessary accessories that I should get

Has there been any details about the AWD capabilities of the XUV700? Does it have brake-locking to prevent wheel-spinning (like the Thar, or even the AWD Grand Vitara now)?

Mahindra customer care as well as my dealer interactions have not been able to clarify this part. I have checked numerous videos myself and while its not 100% clear whats going on its clear that something is going on...

For example consider the start-stop wheelspin at 8:45: meaning either the traction control or some form of brake-locking is getting activated:
https://youtu.be/7JScdp5D5ZI?t=525

Just wish someone would just clarify it once and for all...

Originally Posted by skipper_52 (Post 5404291)
Hi Everyone

First post here, got a membership after lurking so much in these thread - I have booked an XUV 700 AX7L P AT on April 21 and currently the delivery date is around August 22, I have a few questions

1. Can we put a seat cover on the ivory colored seats, with a kid and me also being a bit clumsy not sure how long can it stay clean

2. What are some of the necessary accessories that I should get

Do you mean August 2022 or 2023?
On point 1, the L version has a seat air bag, so it is not advised to put any additional seat cover is what I understand.

Originally Posted by ramkalyan (Post 5404270)
It this Rear Bumper Guard worth buying? Does a rear bumper make sense especially if a biker rams into the vehicle?
[/ATTACH]

Yes, the Rear Bumper Guard is a good accessory to protect the rear bumper from dents & scratches. A lot of money gets saved from fixing these issues.

My car's rear bumper has always been dent-free, scratch-free when compared to front bumper.

Originally Posted by ramkalyan (Post 5404270)

Originally Posted by Bhupesh_2628 (Post 5404368)
Yes, the Rear Bumper Guard is a good accessory to protect the rear bumper from dents & scratches. A lot of money gets saved from fixing these issues.

Mates, Anything which takes an impact during a crash should be installed with much caution. It interferes with: All this would be even worse if in the front, I imagine.

Unless one has some special situations and needs, IMO it would be better to take the small expenses or eyesores due to a damaged bumper, than compromise significantly on important aspects of safety.

PS: The one in the picture seems like a metal one, which would significantly affect impact/energy transfer in a crash.

Originally Posted by Poitive (Post 5404415)
Mates, Anything which takes an impact during a crash should be installed with much caution. It interferes with

IMO, the 'rear' bumper guard wouldn't interfere with any of them as mentioned in the 4 bullet points. These all apply to front bumper guard which I wholeheartedly agree with you.

Originally Posted by Bhupesh_2628 (Post 5404433)
IMO, the 'rear' bumper guard wouldn't interfere with...

Mate, Agreed that between the two, on average the front would be more important, however the rear too has relevance. Writing further for you and also in general.Not sure if rear guards are allowed (front aren't), but surprisingly enough Mahindra sells them on their site! My strong suspicion is that they would not have been a part of their pedestrian safety and crash test samples.

It would be worth considering the tradeoff: one is, at least, potentially compromising with safety of a 5 star rated car. The gains would differ based on individual situations.