Old 27th January 2024, 06:30   #9661

Re: Mahindra XUV700 Review

So did anyone try getting the ventilated seats and memory ORVM fitted into the existing vehicles? Any insights?
Smartomotive is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th January 2024, 19:24   #9662

Petrol vs Diesel

I am sure this has been answered a few times but I am at my wits end now and need you guys to guide me

I have booked a Petrol AXL Automatic however some are asking me to consider diesel because of very low mileage. If I do it would be the 2WD. Difference between both models will be INR 1,10,000

Here are my reasons for considering Petrol

1. Max kms per year would 10,000 - 11,000
2. 90% drive would be highways
3. Car would be sitting idle for 3-4 weeks at a stretch if I am not travelling
4. Lower maintenance cost vs Diesel (I think)
5. Planning to keep car for 5-6 years

The Mahindra rep told me that Diesel these days dont need constant running.

Considering above should I stick to Petrol or move to Diesel. They are ready to give me a diesel as well without a new booking

Would Diesel not cause a problem if its not running for 4 weeks at a stretch ? Which car usually would have more demand 5 years from now when I plan to sell it off ? Diesel seems to be wearing off on its demand
Luvforcars is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th January 2024, 20:44   #9663

Originally Posted by Luvforcars View Post

Petrol vs Diesel

I am sure this has been answered a few times but I am at my wits end now and need you guys to guide me

I have booked a Petrol AXL Automatic however some are asking me to consider diesel because of very low mileage. If I do it would be the 2WD. Difference between both models will be INR 1,10,000

Considering above should I stick to Petrol or move to Diesel. They are ready to give me a diesel as well without a new booking

Would Diesel not cause a problem if its not running for 4 weeks at a stretch ? Which car usually would have more demand 5 years from now when I plan to sell it off ? Diesel seems to be wearing off on its demand
You are yourself convinced with Petrol, let me assure you once again ,it’s the right logical decision.
Old 27th January 2024, 21:00   #9664

Petrol vs Diesel

Usage of 10-11k km per year : Logic says Petrol. Currently the resale prospects of diesel look bleak after 5-6 years. However, the way EV and Hybrid are getting more attention with each passing day, it is difficult to predict petrol resale as well after 5-6 years, specially for SUVs. Having said that, if you have to take a decision then head says Petrol for the low usage you are going to have.

However, I'd advise you to not look at petrol bills once you take a logical decision. It is easy to feel bad at the fuel station every time you refill but always consider this post to remind you why you took this decision.

Someone I know only runs 3-4k km per year, that too primarily city driving. Of course, diesel does not makes sense for him from any angle. But he had driven diesel all his life and could not fathem paying high petrol price every time he would visit petrol bunk. Obviously the logic of petrol vs diesel resonated with him but as they say that old habits die hard. But thank God he listened to the logic part and went with petrol. Sometime we know the answer but mind vs head debate takes over.

Last edited by Aviator_guy : 27th January 2024 at 21:08.
Aviator_guy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th January 2024, 05:51   #9665

Petrol vs Diesel

If I was to buy this vehicle today, especially an AT variant. I would go for a Diesel one. I own a Petrol variant and having run almost 19k KM in about 20 months, I've easily burnt over 2.5-3L in fuel (I fill only in Shell which comes with a premium pricing even for normal Petrol).

Avg. I get in City is about 7.x and in highways probably not more than 9-10. It's an AT variant driven by my full-time driver. AC is always ON. Vehicle is 80% on the highways but the route we frequent has a mix of good and bad condition roads and is not consistent.

We can argue it comes down to the driving skills and people are able to get better mileage and we could further save opting to fuel at other stations than Shell but frankly, everyone's situation differs. You can't have consistency in driving and there are many external factors too that play a role and AT variants anyway won't yield much mileage than what we could achieve and this is all based on ODO which I think is not really accurate considering how much we have to keep refuelling every week.

Now looking at these numbers, the difference amount paid upfront for the Diesel variant makes much more sense than saving that and ending up paying every year more for Petrol.

Sure both have their pros/cons but if your usage is on the higher side and plan to get AT. Trust me, don't bother looking at Petrol unless it won't matter how much it gulps and you have alternate vehicles too.

We bought an EV recently and it's been a month, I can feel the difference in the savings vs XUV700 Petrol alas the upfront higher cost of owning an EV. The savings are translating into the EMIs for itself and I'm not even discussing the power/performance and other metrics. We've already planned to shift fully to another 7-str EV in near future and replace XUV700. This is again applicable if your usage is higher but if not, then you'll be on the losing end.

I hope this helps from a practical usage experience.

Last edited by Smartomotive : 28th January 2024 at 05:56.
Smartomotive is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 28th January 2024, 09:53   #9666

Originally Posted by Joy73US View Post
Put your vehicle key in key hole . Do Not Start vehicle. Then Press Enter Switch on Right side of your dashboard where you select options configurations on your driver screen dashboard.

While pressing this enter button for more than 5 seconds, move the key to ignition mode. It should resolve the issue.
Hi. I tried this too before reading your message,thanks to an YouTube video but it didn't work. So I called up the service engineer and he gave the solution.

Put the key in key hole. Do not start the engine. Double press the Enter switch in quick succession.

I did this and the notification is gone. May be each variant has a different method to erase the notification? Mine is AX5
Old 28th January 2024, 15:54   #9667

Has anyone faced this brake pedal shake issue in their XUV700? I would like to know if I can continue to drive and get this fixed in a month.
My XUV700 diesle MX is nearly 2 years old and ran only 14k Kms so far.

Old 29th January 2024, 09:11   #9668
sbm

Petrol vs Diesel

Since 90% of your running is on the highway, I would suggest you buy a diesel. You won't be facing any dpf clogged warnings as there will be ample time for the dpf to regenerate. Even with slightly higher maintenance, you'll be more satisfied with a diesel, as those massive gasoline bills will pinch you each time you refill.
sbm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th January 2024, 11:26   #9669

Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post
Mahindra lowers subscription charges for the AdrenoX app to Rs 2,499/- for one year.

Details :- https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-...ml#post5706932 (The Flights of Icarus | Our Mahindra XUV700 AX5 Diesel MT)
onnect.jpg]2564791[/ATTACH]
Thanks for sharing this . While I had decided not to renew the subscription, considering the new price, i renewed it yesterday. As of now the connectivity seems to be fine but will have to see the performance in highways.
Old 29th January 2024, 11:52   #9670

Originally Posted by Smartomotive View Post
If I was to buy this vehicle today, especially an AT variant.
=========

But if I dont drive for 3-4 weeks would that not cause a problem ?
Old 29th January 2024, 12:43   #9671

Originally Posted by Aarhot View Post
This 'cr'app app (pun intended ) is still not worth 2.5k for a year as I see it. Except to keep an eye on your car if it's in someone's hands...
Agree with you. Am not sure if Mahindra is actually planning or doing something to rectify this issue. eSIM doesn't work most of the time. Alexa is always in error mode.

Originally Posted by Aarhot View Post
This 'cr'app app (pun intended ) is still not worth 2.5k for a year as I see it.
Originally Posted by Smartomotive View Post
If I was to buy this vehicle today, especially an AT variant. I would go for a Diesel one.
====
Just sharing my experience on the fuel efficiency part. I have XUV 700 AX7 Diesel Automatic. In last 1.5 years, my vehicle has run ~15,000 KMs. Very recent road trip I made was in the last week of December - Hyderabad --> Hampi --> Chikmangalur --> Bengaluru --> Hyderabad. On Bengaluru to Hyderabad stretch, I was consciously paying close attention to my car's fuel efficiency. It achieved an impressive 19.5 kilometers per liter (and possibly even higher!). This is noteworthy considering I had a full car with 4 passengers and luggage, and I mainly kept my speed at 90 km/h or below, avoiding unnecessary overtaking. Within the city also, in Hyderabad's traffic, I manage to get an average of 11-12 km/hr. So I am kind of very happy with the Diesel variant.

Last edited by vb-saan : 29th January 2024 at 15:02. Reason: Back to back posts merged. Please use EDIT or QUOTE+ (multi-quote) button instead of typing one post after another. Thank you!
XUV_700_Owner is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 29th January 2024, 16:42   #9672
RVR

But if I dont drive for 3-4 weeks would that not cause a problem ?
Well, I own a AX7L AWD and use mostly for highway runs. There were times when the car hadn't moved an inch for 45 days straight. I have not faced any issues with the vehicle wrt battery drain or whatsoever. Brings a big smile on my face whenever I drive it.
RVR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th January 2024, 18:42   #9673

Petrol vs Diesel

I'll share my experience with diesel AX7L MT
I got my gajraj on 22Mar22 and odo stands at around 34k at present

Maximum fuel economy I could get on car MID was 23.8kmpl(yes its not a typo). It was Chittorgarh to kota and back trip with 20 % city driving. Unfortunately I couldn't check it via tankful method so I'm not sure how much was actual economy (as cars usually boast their fuel efficiency on screen)

My best tankful method calculations were:

1. Chittorgarh to Chandigarh with expressways and bumper to bumper on highways included (near Jaipur) : 19.85 kmpl (786km)

2. Chittorgarh to udaipur back to back two trips followed by 3-4 days city driving: 19.64 kmpl (826 km). This was around 30% city driving.

These trips were with 4people and full luggage.

3. Chittorgarh to Jaipur and back with two' days in Jaipur city: 19.4 kmpl (790 km). This trip was with six heavy adults, one German shepherd and luggage till brims.

I must tell you that I'm a sedate driver with constant 80kmph on highways and seldom touch brakes. But AC is always on.

So I don't think XUV 700 is second to any other car in terms of fuel.

10000-11000 km per year is a borderline case for diesel according to me. There's is another big factor which we sometimes ignore. Remember that your running (driving) usually increases once you have a good car.so you may end up doing 12-15000 km once you get 700. Then the petrol prices would surely hurt. Moreover, driving modes also help a bit.

Now about the positives of petrol., it's definitely silent and smooth without def worries. But the smile goes away everytime you go to petrol pump.
I believe that one should not have fuel cost on back of the mind while planning a long road trip and that puts slight inclination towards diesel. And no, diesel won't trouble you incase you don't drive it for 2,3 weeks as per my experience .

Diesel won't die easily even after 5-6 years is what I believe (just gut feeling)

So it's upto you what your priority rankings are.

Whatever you go for, you'll enjoy the drive for sure
sudanmohit is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 29th January 2024, 18:55   #9674

Originally Posted by sudanmohit View Post
I'll share my experience with diesel AX7L MT
I got my gajraj on 22Mar22 and odo stands at around 34k at present

Maximum fuel economy I could get on car MID was 23.8kmpl(yes its not a typo). It was Chittorgarh to kota and back trip with 20 % city driving. Unfortunately I couldn't check it via tankful method so I'm not sure how much was actual economy (as cars usually boast their fuel efficiency on screen)

My best tankful method calculations were:

1. Chittorgarh to Chandigarh with expressways and bumper to bumper on highways included (near Jaipur) : 19.85 kmpl (786km)

2. Chittorgarh to udaipur back to back two trips followed by 3-4 days city driving: 19.64 kmpl (826 km). This was around 30% city driving.

These trips were with 4people and full luggage.

3. Chittorgarh to Jaipur and back with two' days in Jaipur city: 19.4 kmpl (790 km). This trip was with six heavy adults, one German shepherd and luggage till brims.

I must tell you that I'm a sedate driver with constant 80kmph on highways and seldom touch brakes. But AC is always on.

So I don't think XUV 700 is second to any other car in terms of fuel.

10000-11000 km per year is a borderline case for diesel according to me. There's is another big factor which we sometimes ignore. Remember that your running (driving) usually increases once you have a good car.so you may end up doing 12-15000 km once you get 700. Then the petrol prices would surely hurt. Moreover, driving modes also help a bit.

Now about the positives of petrol., it's definitely silent and smooth without def worries. But the smile goes away everytime you go to petrol pump.
I believe that one should not have fuel cost on back of the mind while planning a long road trip and that puts slight inclination towards diesel. And no, diesel won't trouble you incase you don't drive it for 2,3 weeks as per my experience .

Diesel won't die easily even after 5-6 years is what I believe (just gut feeling)

So it's upto you what your priority rankings are.

Whatever you go for, you'll enjoy the drive for sure
Many thanks. That clears most of my doubts. Yours is a MT and mine will be an AT so the numbers will be slightly lower I guess

I would barely do off roading so I plan to stick with non AWD model which would also lower the cost of the XUV and make the decision more sensible.

Unless there can be a big positive to spend an extra 1.3 lacs it dose not make any sense to me

Enlighten me please
Luvforcars is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th January 2024, 21:06   #9675

Petrol vs Diesel

Will share just a couple of practical points ignoring all the spreadsheet calculations to justify petrol v/s diesel.

As a general rule, a diesel vehicle will deliver atleast 30% more fuel efficiency compared to its petrol counterpart cosidering all driving conditions at the cost of about 15% less Diesel cost per unit over Petrol. Maintenance aspect in modern diesels is not at all painstaking (Just once a year typically and about 20% more service cost comparted to the petrol variant)
So all in all, you will get about 40% fuel cost saving per kilometer using a diesel vehicle over its corresponding petol variant.

Another aspect to consider is petrol is a great choice when it comes to small and light cars in the A and B category. For heavier vehicles, the better(efficient) choice of fuel is Diesel.
The heavier a vehicle gets (for eg: SUV/MUV category), the worse mileage it will deliver if it is a petrol especially in frequent stop and go conditions. Diesel engines are far more resilient to fuel efficiency variations mainly due to their enormous torque at low rpm. For this reason, it makes little to no difference to mileage with AC or without AC in a diesel, but makes a substantial difference to mileage in a petrol vehicle.

At the end of the day, frequent stops to the fuel station does have a (negative) psychological impact (even though the owner may easily afford higher fuel costs). Lesser visits to the fuel pump also gives better motivation to take the vehicle and use it better.

Last edited by for_cars1 : 29th January 2024 at 21:24.
for_cars1 is offline   (16) Thanks