Old 28th May 2024, 10:10   #10111

Re: Mahindra XUV700 Review

Originally Posted by sunilsoft View Post
In short, the answer is NO. I have an AX5 Diesel AT and have explored every possible route. I managed to get the navigation buttons to work on the cruise control panel, but activating the cruise control requires accessing the BCM programming software, which Mahindra doesn't even provide to its dealers. So, even if you manage the wiring and steering controls, you won’t be able to activate it.

However, you can install Nexcruise, a plug-and-play cruise control system. I've been using it for over a year without any issues. Note: I am not affiliated with Nexcruise. You can find videos of it on YouTube.
Thanks for the information Sunil. In fact when we booked the vehicle, AX5 P AT also had the rear flowing indicator thing, which was omitted by the time we got our car. Sucks that Mahindra gave Cruise Control initially, stopped in between and once again added it back for the same variant in 2024
Old 29th May 2024, 09:31   #10112

Originally Posted by IvanBiv View Post
Last couple of fills have been the XP95 from IOCL and I have noticed an improved FE for sure. At least by a Kmpl on the MID and TankFull method being very close to the MID values. SO within the city and peak traffic conditions, am getting around 7 kmpl.
Today we took the Black Panther on the Highway for a longish drive...Filled the tank on the way at a COCO with XP95. Well, while the numbers would be a very optimistic one (With driven Kms less than 50 after filling up), it certainly gives some confidence to all those with the P AT versions, of the capability of this engine.
Hello Ivan,
Glad to read that you were getting some good FE numbers.
It is been quite a while, kindly update your journey with XP95 if you are continuing to fill it with the same.
Old 29th May 2024, 21:46   #10113

Originally Posted by rudra_shiv View Post
Hello Ivan,
Glad to read that you were getting some good FE numbers.
It is been quite a while, kindly update your journey with XP95 if you are continuing to fill it with the same.
Hi rudra_shiv. That's an affirmative. Been regularly using XP95. FE numbers in city ranging at around 8 and on highways at approx 10-11 based on driving. No complaints with the fuel.
Odo currently at around 14.5K
IvanBiv is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th May 2024, 09:56   #10114

Originally Posted by IvanBiv View Post
Hi rudra_shiv. That's an affirmative. Been regularly using XP95. FE numbers in city ranging at around 8 and on highways at approx 10-11 based on driving. No complaints with the fuel.
Odo currently at around 14.5K
Well great to know Ivan. So it is safe to assume you get a ~5-10% increase in FE numbers?

Btw. have you tried Speed93? if yes, how good was it.
rudra_shiv is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th May 2024, 13:29   #10115

Originally Posted by Nsm1809 View Post
The variant sits below the normal AX5 but is getting push start/stop button which is missing in the normal AX5.
AX5 does have push start/stop. AX5 S is pretty much AX3 with a sun roof, push start/stop and a 2nd row map lamp. Nothing more.

I went for a AX5 DSL MT 7 STR variant. Eagerly awaiting delivery.
I love the vehicle, ride quality, power pickup everything. Only feeler is the hard plastic all around in AX5. However, AX5 I feel is still the best deal of all the variants. It has everything you need. Seat covers and mild cosmetics can makeup for the rest

For me Sunroof was the least of my priorities, but there is no option. The reason for going with AX5 is mainly the Alloys, LED headlamps with sequential indicators, reverse camera, latest gen stability control and most important the curtain airbags. You cannot install air bags from outside.

Also the MX variant has 114kW @3750 r/min 360 Nm @ 1500-2800 r/min 6 MT DIESEL
Compared to AX5 and AX7 which has:
136kW @3500 r/min 420 Nm @ 1600-2800 r/min (MT)
136kW @3500 r/min 450 Nm @ 1750-2800 r/min (AT)

Last edited by HillMan : 30th May 2024 at 13:53.
Old 30th May 2024, 13:31   #10116

Originally Posted by sunilsoft View Post
No the normal ax5 is also updated and will now come with push button start
The dealer has confirmed the presence of Push Button start in the newly manufactured ones, and the prices of the normal AX5 variant have also decreased by approx 50K.
I took the delivery of April manufactured Ax5 on 24th May.
Old 30th May 2024, 14:35   #10117

Well great to know Ivan. So it is safe to assume you get a ~5-10% increase in FE numbers?

Btw. have you tried Speed93? if yes, how good was it.
Sticking to IOCL or Shell (Normal)...The latter is decent as well.
IvanBiv is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th May 2024, 20:25   #10118
bbv

Hello Bhpians,

I have been following Harrier since before its launch and was happy with the news of its facelift last year, but now when the time has come for me to buy one for myself, I started test-driving and comparing it with other cars. I have primarily been comparing it against XUV 700 and leaning now in favour of XUV700. I have summarized my observations (primarily ergonomics related) related to these two cars in a post on another thread: here (2023 Tata Harrier Facelift Review)

Do you think those observations are valid or I overrated certain things in XUV based on your experience?
bbv is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th May 2024, 21:09   #10119

Originally Posted by bbv View Post
Hello Bhpians,

I have been following Harrier since before its launch and was happy with the news of its facelift last year, but now when the time has come for me to buy one for myself, I started test-driving and comparing it with other cars. I have primarily been comparing it against XUV 700 and leaning now in favour of XUV700. I have summarized my observations (primarily ergonomics related) related to these two cars in a post on another thread: here (2023 Tata Harrier Facelift Review)

Do you think those observations are valid or I overrated certain things in XUV based on your experience?
Hello brother,

Just want to understand your requirements in detail, before we can share our opinion about the choice.
1. 5 Seater vs. 7 Seater? What's your pick?
2. MT vs. AT?
3. How frequently do you travel on highways?
4. How frequently do you travel in the city?
5. City vs. Highway driving percentage?
6. ASC availability & their expertise in your area?
7. Is the Petrol option considered?
8. Your yearly running?

If you require an MT, I suggest you go with XUV700 blindfolded. Harrier's clutch is very heavy and has a long travel which is often tiresome to drive with a cherry on top of a notchy gearbox. XUV700 has a very decent steering+clutch+gearbox combo that works like a charm. You will get a CAR feel in 700 than the feeling of SUV due to its ease of maneuverability.

To me, XUV has better highway-ride manners than Harrier Twins. But the slow-speed rides under 40kmph are not as good as the Harrier twins (+ plus the suspension noise in bad roads, but it is bothersome only if the roads are terrible).

Overall, 700 has a good fit and finish and has a slightly better reliability quotient than TATA, ASCs are a hit or a miss. But Mahindra is surely improving in this area. TATA is almost terrible everywhere and gets worse if the car itself has some issues due to QC.

I went thru the same path (even though my heart was already bouncing to get a Mahindra home), I did not feel Harrier Twins half as good as 700 in 2022 and ended up getting an XUV700 home.

To answer your queries in the post:
Few features that I may miss, if I choose Xuv over harrier:
- Electrically controlled passenger seat - This is not needed at all, until unless your co-passenger is 6' +
- Rear AC vents on B pillar - Well, it does help to cool cabin in Harrier twins lil better than XUV.
- Full screen 360 and blind spot (side) camera views - It is available in AX7L
- More charging port options, including a 12v front (extra) and back option, 2nd row USB-A. - This is surely a miss. AX7L has two USB As in front and one USB C in the Second Row. To get the extender to the front, you can use a USB extender to take it to the front.
- Electric tailgate - Is it needed? It may be good for now, but when it ages it will create tons of issues.
- more? - Harrier twins second-row seats are not bolstered as 700 and offer lesser under-thigh support. XUV takes a win here too.

Not sure if you have TD'ed with a full house. Try it with 5 people in both cars with different age groups, and seek their feedback on comfort as well.
rudra_shiv is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 31st May 2024, 11:10   #10120

Originally Posted by HillMan View Post
AX5 does have push start/stop. AX5 S is pretty much AX3 with a sun roof, push start/stop and a 2nd row map lamp. Nothing more.

I went for a AX5 DSL MT 7 STR variant. Eagerly awaiting delivery.
I love the vehicle, ride quality, power pickup everything. Only feeler is the hard plastic all around in AX5. However, AX5 I feel is still the best deal of all the variants. It has everything you need. Seat covers and mild cosmetics can makeup for the rest
Yes, Ax5 is definetly the go to variant now, been driving it since last week and i do not miss any major features other than push button start and a charging port for front seats and what's the ex showroom price quoted for AX5 7 Str Diesel ?
As for mine was quoted 19.29 lacs but the new price i think is 18.79.
Dealer has given me the new invoice and i am awaiting a refund of 50k.
Old 31st May 2024, 15:37   #10121
bbv

Hello brother,

Just want to understand your requirements in detail, before we can share our opinion about the choice.
1. 5 Seater vs. 7 Seater? What's your pick?
2. MT vs. AT?
3. How frequently do you travel on highways?
4. How frequently do you travel in the city?
5. City vs. Highway driving percentage?
6. ASC availability & their expertise in your area?
7. Is the Petrol option considered?
8. Your yearly running?
1. My requirement is only a 5 seater, and that's why I was always interested in Harrier, but not Safari. But, in the same price bracket, (as per my view) I am getting a better car, which happens to be 7-seater (for higher variants). So, I am OK with it.
2. AT
3. Travel on Highways - In Bangalore, I rather try to avoid taking car out unless it is a highway travel.
4. Relativeluy less in city
5. Highway vs city drive percentage will be 70/30
6. In Bangalore, I guess the ASC availability and their expertise will be as good as anywhere.
7. No, I always considered diesel. I currently have a diesel car, so not averse to diesel. Also, my original consideration Harrier was always in diesel and even in this, the mileage-wise diesel is better (with minor price difference).

I went thru the same path (even though my heart was already bouncing to get a Mahindra home), I did not feel Harrier Twins half as good as 700 in 2022 and ended up getting an XUV700 home.
Mine is exactly opposite (heart bouncing for Harrier for a very long time) but may end up making the same decision, primarily due to ergonomical issues and lacking seat comfort, I mentioned in my other post. Also, I did see that for many Harrier or Safari vehicles, either TD ones or even display ones, the 'I' from the badging was missing, giving bad impressions on the quality.

For XUV700, I find the AX7 variant features not so useful, so either stick to AX5 or go for AX7L. I might go for L variant.
bbv is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st May 2024, 16:40   #10122

Originally Posted by bbv View Post
1. My requirement is only a 5 seater, and that's why I was always interested in Harrier, but not Safari. But, in the same price bracket, (as per my view) I am getting a better car, which happens to be 7-seater (for higher variants). So, I am OK with it.
2. AT
3. Travel on Highways - In Bangalore, I rather try to avoid taking car out unless it is a highway travel.
4. Relativeluy less in city
5. Highway vs city drive percentage will be 70/30
6. In Bangalore, I guess the ASC availability and their expertise will be as good as anywhere.
7. No, I always considered diesel. I currently have a diesel car, so not averse to diesel. Also, my original consideration Harrier was always in diesel and even in this, the mileage-wise diesel is better (with minor price difference).

Mine is exactly opposite (heart bouncing for Harrier for a very long time) but may end up making the same decision, primarily due to ergonomical issues and lacking seat comfort, I mentioned in my other post. Also, I did see that for many Harrier or Safari vehicles, either TD ones or even display ones, the 'I' from the badging was missing, giving bad impressions on the quality.

For XUV700, I find the AX7 variant features not so useful, so either stick to AX5 or go for AX7L. I might go for L variant.
Do take a TD to decide.

If it is AT, both the cars behave very well, but XUV puts some more power that you can enjoy on the highways. Both engines are decent enough to keep up triple-digit speeds.

Ride quality-wise, 700 excels in high-speed ride quality (it is better >40kmph) and Harrier is slightly better in slow speeds under 40kmph.

Fit & finish-wise, 700 is better than Harrier in my PoV. But is pure luck & our fate which vehicle we end up with.

Both have their positives & negatives in their own way.

If you are leaning on XUV, I suggest driving home the AX7L D/P AT.

Do take a TD with family, cheers, and happy + safe motoring. Post us once you book/get your beast delivered.
rudra_shiv is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st May 2024, 20:58   #10123

The prices of the normal AX5 variant have also decreased by approx 50K.
As for mine was quoted 19.29 lacs but the new price i think is 18.79.
Dealer has given me the new invoice and i am awaiting a refund of 50k.

Are you sure of this? AX5 D M 7 seater price was 18.79 ex-showroom last month too AFAIK

AX5 Select D AT 7 Str is 18,99,000 while AX5 D AT 7 Str is 20,39,000.

The Rs 1.4 lakh extra for AX5 gets you:
1 LED front lights with sequential indicators
2 fog lamps
3 cruise control
4 reverse parking camera
5 alloys
6 curtain airbags
7 steering mounted MID controls

Auto variants get the same electronic stability control and drive modes.

Apart from curtain airbags and cruise control, the rest are an easy aftermarket fitment for under 1 lakh.

IMHO, the Select variant is much better VFM.
Old 31st May 2024, 21:59   #10124

Originally Posted by naru80 View Post
Are you sure of this? AX5 D M 7 seater price was 18.79 ex-showroom last month too AFAIK

Quotation Date was 02.05.24 with price 19.29
And the delivery date was 24.5.2024, so i think the price changed in month of May.
Old 1st June 2024, 13:30   #10125

The 10k km update (A late Post)
Hello to all the esteemed members of the community, it’s been long since I posted an update of my beast. Well since I tend to travel a lot credits to the nature of my business, I clocked in the 10k mark within 6 months of me getting the beast out of the showroom. Well there weren’t any hiccups with the car I faced but I suffered from the Regen issue were I had to stop the car in front of my clients office and had to wait for around 40 min till it got completed. And I further noticed as well that if the fuel economy suddenly starts getting dropped then that is also a sign of the DPF getting choked and within a few minutes I had the Regen lights on. The first time the lights came on for me was at the 9k km mark and I was driving in the congested city of Kanpur where the car wasn’t able to breath properly and have a good one stretch of non-stop run(as told by the SR).Mahindra XUV700 Review-whatsapp-image-20240424-1.56.32-pm.jpeg
Soon I came back to Lucknow and visited the service center and the said that nothing further is required as the Regen must have burned away the particles which were blocking the DPF. All was sailing smooth until I was on a short work trip to Gorakhpur and was returning back to Lucknow when the lights went on again and this time no option to do a forced Regen showed which meant I had to visit the service center again. I did and to my surprise they said that the entire DPF is choked and it has to be replaced even though that was the first time I got the lights again after the 9k hiccup in Kanpur and I had driven it hardly after that and was close to the 10k mark. So I left my car at the center to get it changed as it was under the warranty and I didn’t had to shed an money for it and as well as to get the 10k servicing also done.
With the engine oil and filters getting changed, nothing much of a big issue was there and I roughly paid around 6k INR for the servicing which felt like too good to be true after replacing it with Renault duster which usually costed around 15-20k INR for a mere general servicing. Been pretty satisfied with the car till now, no issue, just some software glitches still there sometimes rest the drive and all is everything perfect.
Carguy1503 is offline   (5) Thanks