Old 17th August 2024, 11:39   #10621

Re: Mahindra XUV700 Review

Please dont skip PDI. Mahindra cars are known for paint chips and panel gap inconsistencies. Zekardo guy himself was showing few pics of XUVs whose PDI he had done and had a lot of panel gaps and paint chippings. Even in my case, the bonnet seemed to have been adjusted - maybe at the stockyard or by the dealer. These are minor issues, but helps get peace of mind. Plus paint consistencies
mentalmaxout is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th August 2024, 12:07   #10622

Originally Posted by CarML View Post
XUV700 - Midnight Black vs Everest White

I am planning to buy the XUV700 AX7L P AT, and contemplating between the most popular colors - Midnight Black and Everest White. They both look great in flesh. No wonder these two are the highest selling colors for this car. Midnight Black was my first preference, but am now in a confused state.
  1. I was considering PPF, but have a mixed feeling after reading through various posts on the forum. At 1.2 lakh plus for a good quality PPF, it seems to be a huge burden to the pocket since I have already stretched beyond my budget to opt for the luxury pack variant. I am not convinced with the ROI of PPF coating (based on various discussions/threads). Hence, I don't intend to do any additional coating for the car.
  2. Car will be parked indoors when not in use. Plan to keep the car for 10+ years. Weekly cleaning to be done by the apartment car wash guy, plus occasional wash/wax at a professional as needed.
  3. Not too concerned about which color car will have better resale value. All I want is that the color should hold up decently for 10+ years.
  4. Based on the above factors, I think midnight black might get more swirl marks and lose some shine over a long period of time. White may age more gracefully.

Can I still buy midnight black color and use it without any coating?
  • Looking for inputs from fellow members on this topic.
  • People who have bought midnight black color in 2021/2022 - Although it is just 2 to 3 years - Have you noticed any degradation in appearance/shine/finish of the paint?
I was in a similar dilemma and went with White
Reasons
- PPF costing 1+ lakh - same as you - not convinced about ROI. plus if the car has an accident / or bumper gets smashed, that part will again need to bget a PPF done. Additionally, effect of PPF wears off after a few years

- Dark colours attract more heat

- Darker colours are a pain to maintain. A darker shade with even a little bit of dust kind of takes away from its charm

Remember all this love and care bordering on minor OCD for the new car usually lasts till the first scratch, which in cities like Mumbai or any other metros are inevitable. Plus its an SUV, bound to get beaten and dirty

Just my thoughts. No offence to anyone
mentalmaxout is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th August 2024, 14:42   #10623

Originally Posted by kgt.v8 View Post
Mahindra showcased Burnt Sienna on Thar Roxx and the color nice in real life. I hope you get yours by September.
It looks too similar to Mystic Copper. Doesn't it?

I initially booked Burnt Sienna too, but since have moved to Everest White.
XUV700 in my eyes looks better in lighter shades.
Old 17th August 2024, 16:46   #10624

Hi everyone, I need help. One of my friend have lost his XUV 700 car key and has informed the Mahindra dealership. He has registered an FIR and placed an order for a new key through the dealership. Please advise if anything else needs to be done related to insurance or changing the locks? According to Mahindra, they will order a new key and connect it to the car. Please advise.
Old 17th August 2024, 21:31   #10625

Originally Posted by Sandegov View Post
Summary:
Model : Mahindra XUV 700 AX7 AWD

Hi Sandgov,

I have booked a XUV700 AX7 AWD and expecting delivery in a week or two.

I think I will not miss the 360 Camera, but would have appreciated a Front Camera/Parking Sensor because of the tall bonnet height.

Any suggestion for this?

How does the Lane Keep Assists work? It is camera based. Right?
Old 17th August 2024, 23:34   #10626

Originally Posted by rroy92 View Post
Hi Sandgov,

I have booked a XUV700 AX7 AWD and expecting delivery in a week or two.

I think I will not miss the 360 Camera, but would have appreciated a Front Camera/Parking Sensor because of the tall bonnet height.

Any suggestion for this?

How does the Lane Keep Assists work? It is camera based. Right?
Thank you for taking me back in time

Honestly if you ask me - after 2 years of owning this variant I would strongly suggest you to go ahead and spend that little extra and get the L variant. Its a no brainer - its a very small amount when you spread it over your ownership period but the features you get will be used day in day out.

List of things I miss the most in the order of importance:
-Electric door handles,the manual ones are a mess and you end up constantly explaining to folks how to use it and they will also keep searching for it in the night! Driving with one handle popped out becomes common.
-Steering adjust for reach
-360 camera, such a nifty feature when in tight places

Lane keep assist works flawlessly - you can have it set to off, warning only (audio alert+steering vibration) or assist (vehicle will give steering inputs to keep it in lane). I have it set on warning from day one and love it.

On the front camera/sensor - I am not a big fan of aftermarket products and would avoid getting anything fitted like these.

Last edited by Sandegov : 17th August 2024 at 23:38.
Sandegov is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th August 2024, 00:55   #10627

XUV700 - Midnight Black vs Everest White
Can I still buy midnight black color and use it without any coating?
I have Midnight Black and let me tell you, it's a dust magnet for sure. We have a full-time driver that cleans all our vehicles everyday and by the end of the day it would have attracted the fresh dust already and this is after being parked inside the apartment not even on the roadside.

I did a lot of research about PPF just like you before purchasing this and other vehicle (the other one is fully black too) and I concluded with NOT going for it as it felt like those typical phone cover scams / gimmick. Besides, it didn't make any economical sense to burn so much upfront for a future protection.

The biggest flaw in this is, the moment one accident happens, your PPF is now useless and that entire portion has to be repainted anyway and now if you're going to add PPF again, you end up paying painting cost + new PPF cost. So you're basically paying heavy for protection from normal wear and tear/minor scratches that shouldn't really bother you in general anyway.

My vehicle met with an accident last year (keep in mind, you drive safely and think you'd never meet with an accident but the other person's negligence could end up causing an accident too which is what happened in our case, something that isn't in our control) and obviously we ended up having repainting done at the Mahindra's SC bodyshop. That just confirmed my theory in practical the fact that PPF would've been a total waste.

Every few weeks after an outskirts trip, I get the vehicle cleaned deeply at a third-party car Spa and it costs me no more than 600 and every few months a nice polishing done and when these things happen, the vehicle comes out so sparkling like it's just out of the factory freshly minted, the spa folks have various packages which include removing minor scratches too and it actually makes a difference and it hardly costs some 3k.

Now compare a few thousand every now and then to a PPF and you'll understand how pointless it is.

I may go for PPF only for a super car just to keep its shine all year long and to flex it but otherwise after my personal experience, I'm unlikely to go for PPF for all other vehicles.

Going for a lighter color could be a better idea but just for the sake of dust issues, I don't think its worth sacrificing the likeness and attraction towards a particular color, what is the point of giving up just because it would require maintenance and then live with a car which you may have compromised for? makes no sense, maintenance can be done by hiring folks / getting it washed at professional places
Smartomotive is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 18th August 2024, 14:01   #10628

Only heart-breaking sight in the car is... yes, the FE. It stood at 4.3 KMPL, probably due to the aggressive driving for short duration.
Just get the Diesel.

4.3kmpl with Petrol at 105rs per liter is unacceptable. Its super car levels of efficiency.
Old 18th August 2024, 23:22   #10629

Hi friends!

My 1st review of the problems faced in my XUV700 AX7L manual diesel, bought in August 2022. Mainly service issues of the 1 dealer at Ajmer. The dealer workshop is 20 kms away from my home in Ajmer, and my driver normally stays with the car at the workshop. 43000 km driven, all highway, maybe 2000 kms citys. All services at dealer.

This vehicle has had niggling problems from the 1st day. I will list some, may list them a bit haphazardly.

1. I have been complaining of vibration and side tyre wear for last 2 services. They would just do alignment (un-needed) and say please try for some days. This time I sent the car after just 2500 km of the service. Now they are saying that all the 4 tyres have uneven wear, please replace. The tread material is less than 50% worn, as per the cross line in tyres. Why they tried to fob us off till now without any solution is unacceptable.

I told them please give me in writing that nothing is wrong with the car itself, and if a similar problem occurs with the new tyres, they will bear the cost of the tyres. I will not let them touch or repair any part of the suspension, axle or wheel bearings etc. for at least a year. They are not ready to commit. This seems to be major avoidance by Mahindra.

2. A permanent problem is their recalls for update patches. They are absolutely careless about this. They never inform us, and even at the workshop, when the car has been serviced routinely, they always wake up to these recalls at 5.30 pm. Twice they have asked that I leave the car with them overnight. I send my driver always, they have no pick and drop. This is absolutely irresponsible. This time there was a patch on some panel in the front gate. Same thing happened, I got wild. They completed the patch immediately.

I feel Mahindra and it's dealers have expanded too fast. There is a huge lag in their service quality and commitments. I have many other somewhat minor problems to recount, but these should give a general idea.
MRSTONES is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th August 2024, 14:30   #10630

Originally Posted by thefifthd View Post
Oh that’s interesting. I booked Burnt Sienna (AWD diesel) last month in Bangalore after multiple dealers gave me a 6 week - 2 month timeline. I contacted my dealer earlier this week, and they said that production has begun and July bookings will be allotted most likely by end of this month. Now I don’t know which statement is true. If it is going to delayed much beyond that, I’m almost ready to change the color and go with Napoli black.
heyplease let me know if you got any deal/discounts beyond the 2lac OEM discount.

I checked with both India and Anant on the new color availability and they have been saying could be 2 month wait, not sure if its true or just trying to get existing stock out.
supertinu is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th August 2024, 16:35   #10631

Originally Posted by supertinu View Post
heyplease let me know if you got any deal/discounts beyond the 2lac OEM discount.

I checked with both India and Anant on the new color availability and they have been saying could be 2 month wait, not sure if its true or just trying to get existing stock out.
I didn't find any additional discount anywhere, esp. for the new color. Only negotiation points are insurance amount (or we can buy outside) and some discount on accessories.

The uncertainty and the wait times on the new color worries me. All the dealers I had contacted in early July had told me 6 weeks - 2 months wait time. It's already been over a month of my booking and there is still no line of sight. If I dont get clarity in the next two weeks, I am switching to a different color.
thefifthd is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th August 2024, 21:34   #10632

Originally Posted by Sandegov View Post
-Electric door handles,the manual ones are a mess and you end up constantly explaining to folks how to use it and they will also keep searching for it in the night! Driving with one handle popped out becomes common.

https://boodmo.com/catalog/part-hand...h_v4-58175065/

https://boodmo.com/catalog/part-hand...h_v2-58175052/

0114DW601391N

0114DW601071N

I wonder if the wiring harness is already present to add these.
rroy92 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th August 2024, 00:49   #10633

Visited a few showrooms in Bangalore over the weekend with varying experiences.

First, went to the India Garage showroom near Palace cross. Staff were polite and courteous but they didn't have the XUV 700 on display in the showroom! Had to go down to the basement where they were prepping a few cars for delivery to check out the different models. It was quite dark and could barely make out the colors. Also, didn't feel comfortable opening cars which were meant for delivery. Told them we needed some time to decide and left.

Next, we went to Sireesh Auto in Rajajinagar. Stood there for a good 15 minutes but no one bothered to ask what car we were looking for. All the sales agents seemed busy. They did have the XUV 700 in the showroom but quite a few families seemed to be sitting in/milling about the car. Took the pricelist from the stand and left without speaking with anyone.

Lastly, we went to Anant Cars in Mysore Road. They had quite a few customers waiting for delivery but we were immediately welcomed by a sales associate. Took us to a table and asked us about what we were looking for. After we informed them that we planned to get the AX7 Diesel, they arranged for a test drive at our home within an hour. The sales associate then took us to the display car and described all the features in detail and answered all our queries. They told us to head for home and that the car would be waiting for us when we got there.

Have attached the rate list for the car and also the accessories price list below.

How much discount can we expect on the accessories? The dealer said the amount for the accessories can be finalized only after car is allotted. He also said there may be a slight increase in accessory prices in September.
Mahindra XUV700 Review-long-image-08202024-00.44.jpg  

Mahindra XUV700 Review-accessories1.jpg  

Mahindra XUV700 Review-accessories.jpg  

Old 20th August 2024, 11:04   #10634

Saw an article on HT Auto about a further price cut between 20K to 70K on XUV700 models.
HillMan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th August 2024, 12:04   #10635

Originally Posted by HillMan View Post
Saw an article on HT Auto about a further price cut between 20K to 70K on XUV700 models.
AX5 Diesel AT 7 seater ex-showroom price was reduced to ₹20.39 lakh since 1st-June. I guess this was not marketed as much as Mahindra wanted and some AX5 variants are lying around with few takers since big price cut on AX7 variants since July

Attached is price list from Automotive Mahindra in Hyderabad. This was new price list which came into effect from 1st-June-2024
Mahindra XUV700 Review-screenshot-20240820-115425.png
If someone is looking for 7 seater automatic which is less than ₹20lakh ex-showroom to avoid paying higher road tax, then AX5 AT is a decent variant to pick. Personally I feel after buying AX5 it needs to go to after market accessory shop to at least add auto folding ORVM, seat cover upgrades and adding soft touch materials on door arm rest and center console arm rest