Old 30th December 2024, 22:04   #11281

Re: Mahindra XUV700 Review

Originally Posted by Deepesh Goel View Post
Hello People,

Continuing with XUV700 accessories queries, I am eagerly awaiting the delivery of my vehicle and have a couple of questions:

The dealer mentioned that side foot steps help prevent scratches from other vehicles. Do side foot steps genuinely help in keeping vehicles, especially bikers and auto-rickshaws, at a safe distance and protect the car from scratches?

What about the rear bumper steel/iron guard? Does it provide any practical benefits? Considering the OEM guard is priced at ₹6,000, is it worth the investment?

Looking forward to your insights!
Driving in Mumbai traffic, I feel the steps do protect a little from side scratches in traffic as bikes and autos can’t get too close. I was using aftermarket steps but the oem ones protrude out even more, I feel. Problem is, I found out the hard way that one’s innate judgement about the width of the car won’t take the step into account. It doesn’t show up on the side mirror as well, so in a tight turn, for example, you could end up brushing it against something. In my case, I was in Jaisalmer a few days ago and destroyed my left side step against a low wall that wasn’t visible during a tight turn. My fault, of course, so if you feel you’re ok on that front (I did for a good 14 months!), go ahead. It’s useful especially for ladies and senior citizens.
sumobom4 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th December 2024, 23:50   #11282

Originally Posted by sumobom4 View Post
Driving in Mumbai traffic, I feel the steps do protect a little from side scratches in traffic as bikes and autos can’t get too close. I was using aftermarket steps but the oem ones protrude out even more, I feel. Problem is, I found out the hard way that one’s innate judgement about the width of the car won’t take the step into account. It doesn’t show up on the side mirror as well, so in a tight turn, for example, you could end up brushing it against something. In my case, I was in Jaisalmer a few days ago and destroyed my left side step against a low wall that wasn’t visible during a tight turn. My fault, of course, so if you feel you’re ok on that front (I did for a good 14 months!), go ahead. It’s useful especially for ladies and senior citizens.

I checked online, and the width of the side step is ~ 5.5 inches. From the pics seen online, it does protrude out and beyond the line of the tyres ever so slightly. But, I get what you are saying when in tight corners or turns, there is quite a possibility of brushing/scratching objects. God forbid if you are trying to park on a weekend in Viviana Mall or Korum Mall in a tight spot
Old 31st December 2024, 11:25   #11283

Originally Posted by thumpmeister View Post
I checked online, and the width of the side step is ~ 5.5 inches. From the pics seen online, it does protrude out and beyond the line of the tyres ever so slightly. But, I get what you are saying when in tight corners or turns, there is quite a possibility of brushing/scratching objects. God forbid if you are trying to park on a weekend in Viviana Mall or Korum Mall in a tight spot
Ha ha yes, those pillars in the basement parking can be deceptive in the limited space.
Old 31st December 2024, 11:39   #11284

Disclaimer: Mahindra invited Team-BHP for the XUV700 test-drive. They covered all the travel expenses for this driving event.
Neat and Crisp review. All the propositions explained very well.

Last edited by Axe77 : 1st January 2025 at 19:19. Reason: Fixed broken quote tag
Old 1st January 2025, 17:48   #11285

Hello Owners - I have booked a XUV 700 Diesel AT AX7L on 30th Dec. Did a quick PDI of the assigned vehicle at the yard before making full payment and will be doing the full PDI at the showroom next week, taking delivery after 14th Jan. The VIN indicates that it is manufactured in Dec 2024, some of the stickers show dates of 19th / 20th Dec. Tyres have the code 4824 indicating manufacture in 48th week (25th November - 1st December 2024). Found Yard PDI sheet in the car with 25th Dec, leading me to believe that the car was unloaded around that time at the dealer yard.

I understand that it comes with an in-built DVR, SD card needs to be added additionally (not part of the car). Wanted to understand from current owners on:
  1. Does it translate to having a Front / Back Dashcam installed
  2. How is the quality of recording
  3. What is the maximum capacity / type SD card that's supported. Will need to buy a card so wanted to know the specifications

Last edited by GJ01 : 1st January 2025 at 18:04. Reason: minor edits
Old 2nd January 2025, 10:28   #11286

Originally Posted by GJ01 View Post
I understand that it comes with an in-built DVR, SD card needs to be added additionally (not part of the car). Wanted to understand from current owners on:
  3. What is the maximum capacity / type SD card that's supported. Will need to buy a card so wanted to know the specifications
The DVR that comes with XUV 700 does not continuously record the video. So its not equivalent to having a dashcam. It has own logic on when to record the video and it splits the recording into smaller files like any other DVR does. The recording quality is average at best.
Note that the DVR supports only 32GB SD card. You may not be able to install higher sized cards.
maverick9888 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2025, 11:51   #11287

Sharing this long pending Adrenox/MID issue here just in case anyone has a suggestion. I am taking my car for the 3rd year service and hoping some inputs from here can help to get a resolution.

When I leave the vehicle unlocked, like when filling petrol, the Adrenox/MID system resets and comes back on after a multi-minute delay and with errors very often. This happens about 100% times if leave the vehicle unlocked for about 10min, and often for even shorter instances.

Symptoms are
  • Two loud dup—dup sounds from right side speakers
  • MID going to trip info screen irrespective of the last/favorite screen.
  • Screen taking 2-3 minutes to come on; sometimes requiring multiple minutes ON/OFF cycle
  • Errors like HSA warning on the screen
  • ADAS settings like smart pilot assist switching OFF
  • ADAS not displaying set speed. While I can adjust cruise speed, set speed will not be displayed next to the active ADAS icon or it incorrectly shows 220kmph.
Also attaching a screenshot of DTC error codes I see; B100B being most frequent.

Mahindra XUV700 Review-whatsapp-image-20241228-12.54.11-pm.jpeg

So far, the suggestion from ASC has been to update AdrenoX, which obviously hasn't helped. I have shared this details with the CoTek, Service Manager and the customer care. Thanks in advance for any suggestions to get this issue resolved.
Old 2nd January 2025, 14:21   #11288

Originally Posted by thumpmeister View Post
So, after much deliberation and indecision/confusion on the Make and Variant to go for, we (partner & me) have finally plonked the booking amount on the AX7 L D AT 2WD variant. The colour of choice is Midnight Black.

I stay in Thane and most of the typical usage would be 80/20 in favour of highway/city.

Need suggestions on the accessories to go for this baby. Whether should go for the ones offered by Mahindra/Dealership or go via 3rd party shops in Auto market in MMR. Am looking for practical accessories and must have and not to deck up the vehicle by adding on extra weight.

Looking forward to the suggestions from XUV 700 brothers/sisters out here who have tried and tested the accessories. Thank you in advance.
Hi. I too have booked my XUV 700 AX 7L - Diesel AT 2WD. Have planned to fit the accessories from outside. I stay in Navi Mumbai and there are good shops at Vashi. Sidestep/curtains/ceramic/PPF are something which are good to have for the car. What is slightly worrying me is the issues many are posting regarding the vehicle.

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 3rd January 2025 at 21:41. Reason: typos
Old 2nd January 2025, 16:16   #11289

Originally Posted by GJ01 View Post
Originally Posted by maverick9888 View Post
The DVR that comes with XUV 700 does not continuously record the video. So its not equivalent to having a dashcam. It has own logic on when to record the video and it splits the recording into smaller files like any other DVR does. The recording quality is average at best.
Note that the DVR supports only 32GB SD card. You may not be able to install higher sized cards.
It does continuous recording from the time when the engine is turned on. The recordings are split into different files to have shorter length recordings, but it is continuous.
The videos are saved in general folder and will be overwritten cyclically to keep the latest recordings. In certain situations (when it detects some emergency like crash or during AEB) the recording will be saved in Emergency folder. This folder will not be overwritten. You can also move videos from General to Emergency if you don't want certain videos to be deleted.

It is better than having a front and back camera as it records from the sides as well (360 degrees). I was saved from a road rage situation due to the side cameras as the recording clearly showed what had happened. If it were for just the front and back camera, then I doubt anything from the side would have been recorded and I wouldn't have been able to de-escalate the issue.

The quality is pretty good during day time and average during nights, but does its job. But the frame rate could have been better.

The biggest draw back is accessing the videos. You can see a composite on the infotainment screen but there is no easy way to access the SD card or transfer it to your phone or usb drive.
amahale is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2025, 16:48   #11290

Originally Posted by Deepesh Goel View Post
The dealer mentioned that side foot steps help prevent scratches from other vehicles. Do side foot steps genuinely help in keeping vehicles, especially bikers and auto-rickshaws, at a safe distance and protect the car from scratches?
It absolutely does not protect from bikers as the bike handles project far more than any side step can. It is just a sales tactic from the dealer.
Also contrary to popular belief, it does not help older people to get in more easily. It is helpful for shorter people like children. The step width is smaller than the average adults feet (both length and width), so it is not comfortable or convenient to use it as a proper step for adults but works well for kids.

The OEM side step according to me is more aesthetic than the after market ones.
I have the OEM side steps in mine and I would recommend you go for it but do know of it's shortcomings.

What about the rear bumper steel/iron guard? Does it provide any practical benefits? Considering the OEM guard is priced at ₹6,000, is it worth the investment?

Looking forward to your insights!
I would not recommend it although I see 90% of cars having it. I personally don't want to risk the passengers safety to save the back of the car which anyways is mostly covered under insurance. The rear guard is not covered under insurance.

Hope this helps.
amahale is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2025, 22:39   #11291

Originally Posted by amahale View Post
Also contrary to popular belief, it does not help older people to get in more easily. It is helpful for shorter people like children. The step width is smaller than the average adults feet (both length and width), so it is not comfortable or convenient to use it as a proper step for adults but works well for kids.
I fully agree with this based on my experience with a relative's XU700.

Originally Posted by amahale View Post
I would not recommend it although I see 90% of cars having it. I personally don't want to risk the passengers safety to save the back of the car which anyways is mostly covered under insurance. The rear guard is not covered under insurance.
In addition to the point that you mentioned, doesn't fitment of the crash guard type of accessory also reduce the safety/effectiveness of the crash structure since the energy from a rear impact can bypass the tailgate and propagate directly to the mounting point (of the crash guard type accessory) underneath the body?
Old 3rd January 2025, 12:39   #11292

Hi team, I have given my 7 month old AX7-L Diesel AT for the 2nd free service which is at 10k kms, and I have companied about the ineffectiveness of the brakes at high speeds. Upon inspection, the service team recommended changing the front brake pads since they are almost 80% worn-out, and claimed that the typical life of the brake pads in ATs is about 12k kms.

Is this expected?

Last edited by libranof1987 : 3rd January 2025 at 13:44. Reason: Poorly composed post; kindly proof-read before submitting.
MathanK is offline   Received Infraction
Old 3rd January 2025, 16:51   #11293

Originally Posted by MathanK View Post
Hi team, I have given my 7 month old AX7-L Diesel AT for the 2nd free service which is at 10k kms, and I have companied about the ineffectiveness of the brakes at high speeds. Upon inspection, the service team recommended changing the front brake pads since they are almost 80% worn-out, and claimed that the typical life of the brake pads in ATs is about 12k kms.

Is this expected?
My service center has a different take on it. My car has completed 17k kms but had completed 1 year since last service, so got the 20k service done in the last days of November. The car is still on its original brake pads. My service center guys say that "aapke brake pads toh bahaut ache chal rahe hai". Otherwise, they told me that they even had to change them at 10k kms for some cars. So maybe, it's all about the way you drive and where you drive(City or Highway).
Mr_Slowly is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd January 2025, 20:43   #11294

I had booked the AX7L D AT 2 WD from on of the dealers at a negotiated price with the said dealer not budging and lowering the price. I am getting a December '24 make. I have paid booking amount of Rs. 21,000 + Rs. 79,000 to lock the December '24 price list. Delivery will be immediate as per my desired date.

Now, today I got a quote which is Rs. 23,000 lesser than the quote from the above dealer, but it is a November '24 make. If I cancel the 1st booking, I will have to forego only Rs. 2,100. Delivery will be immediate as per my desired date.

I request the forum's advise on whether it is worth saving Rs. 23,000 for a Car which is a month older.
Old 4th January 2025, 03:08   #11295

A Mini Rant on the Manual IRVM. Please bear with me.

I know this has been mentioned across various forums multiple times but I have to let my frustration out after a jarring night drive with this.

I don't know if it's a cost cutting measure or a design issue but Mahindra deserves flak for this shocking omission. Coming from a 2014 Verna which had the Auto IRVM, this is my first time experiencing glare issues at night and it really bugs me.

Even the manual ones are no good, actually worse than our humble WagonR's. I have to use them in "glare" mode even at night because when using anti-glare, if the vehicle behind is nearby or is on a high beam at a couple cars' length, it's fine but otherwise I end up getting only the view of the middle row seats than the view behind due to the angle. Thus, when on highway, I rather keep them on glare mode and face the wraith of the high beams (or toggle in middle of drive) at times and switch to anti-glare in a traffic situation with cars closeby.

I am absolutely fine with no ambient lights, fine with no powered tailgates, to an extent even fine with no powered passenger seats (shouldn't have been the case given the price point) but manual IRVM!? At this pricepoint!? Icks me a lot

Finally, as a request, any suggestions for a good quality aftermarket Auto IRVM that doesn't voids warranty/hampers the wiring of the vehicle? Went through some possible solutions online but having trust issues with them

Last edited by HSR21 : 4th January 2025 at 03:13.
HSR21 is offline   (1) Thanks