Old 21st August 2021, 06:31   #301

Re: Mahindra XUV700 Review

Originally Posted by AMG Power View Post
Well done, Mahindra!
I holistically agree with your thoughts.

Moving on to the specs, I strongly feel, that though specs are critical but at the same time, the "feel" that you get once behind the wheels is the most critical part, citing examples here -

1) Had a 3 month Ertiga VDi, sat inside the Hexa and felt like palace on wheels, the deal on swapping the Ertiga was done and dusted on the TD itself.

2) Had no requirement for a new car, drove the Polo and got home the Polo Highline Plus MT 4 months back, felt like a very stable and hoot to drive vehicle, to hell with the space.

3) Was driving the Swift Vxi in 2011, a chance look at the Optra Magnum specs and the test drive just blew me off, had it in 2 months.

Coming to the 7OO, haven't seen the reviews on the Petrol MT, the specs are simply mind boggling at the price that it is being offered at, but then again you have the XUV 3OO which always had the bragging rights on specs, never set the roads on fire though.

Again, the specs are right there but do the 200 horses called out "feel" like 200 odd, or they are mere ponies. I would surely miss the sudden whoosh that the turbocharger delivers, it's insane.

None of the reviews thus far state that this thing shall set the roads on fire, performance is good but then again having a TSi in the garage makes me think if it's worth going for it, just because it's a sheer vfm product. Not debating on the SUV and Hatch sizing part here.

Last edited by Torquedo : 21st August 2021 at 06:33.
Torquedo is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st August 2021, 06:38   #302

Originally Posted by vjbox View Post
, but any run of the mill engine maker can produce such figures
Oh, really? I beg your pardon, but none of those run of the mill manufacturers have offered any 200PS vehicle for less than Rs 30 lacs till date.

Originally Posted by anb View Post
The comparison based on engine specification just because power output looks the same on paper is pointless. 320d is way faster than XUV 7OO with a much superior 8 speed ZF transmission which alone cost more than 60 % of the XUV 7OO’s price. 0 to 100 for BMW 320d is 6.9 seconds while that of XUV7OO is just over 10 seconds as per Autocar India. Surely there is no comparison between a sub 7 second car and 10+ seconds SUV.
The more reasonable comparison will be between BMWX3 diesel (190 PS) and XUV700 diesel (185PS). The X3 does 0-100 in 8.2 secs (screenshot attached) against Mahindra's 9.88 (vbox figures) secs. X3 costs about Rs 63 lacs ex showroom against XUV700 AX7 AT AWD which might cost about Rs 20-21 lacs ex showroom. Not a bad deal at all, I would say!
Mahindra XUV700 Review-screenshot_20210821060427_youtube.jpg  

Last edited by Geta : 21st August 2021 at 06:49.
Geta is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 21st August 2021, 07:33   #303

The comparison based on engine specification just because power output looks the same on paper is pointless. 320d is way faster than XUV 7OO with a much superior 8 speed ZF transmission which alone cost more than 60 % of the XUV 7OO’s price. 0 to 100 for BMW 320d is 6.9 seconds while that of XUV7OO is just over 10 seconds as per Autocar India. Surely there is no comparison between a sub 7 second car and 10+ seconds SUV.
I guess numerous sources have quoted a sub 10 second figure for both automatics. For manual it might be even lower.

Yeah I get the gist.
07CR is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 21st August 2021, 08:10   #304
anb

Originally Posted by 07CR View Post
I guess numerous sources have quoted a sub 10 second figure for both automatics. For manual it might be even lower.

Yeah I get the gist.
It was 10.34 in Autocar https://www.autocarindia.com/car-rev...t-drive-421676
Mahindra XUV700 Review-fa6a3111294c4b029c64bf64fe306589.jpeg  

anb is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st August 2021, 09:23   #305

I guess that's for Diesel AT? Some others have stated sub 10 second for both. Evo India. Anyways the variation is negligible and performance commendable!
07CR is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 21st August 2021, 09:46   #306

Originally Posted by Torquedo View Post
None of the reviews thus far state that this thing shall set the roads on fire.
In fact almost all YouTube reviews say exactly that. Even TBHP review says the same. Petrol AT does 0-100
in about 9.5 secs. Screenshot of TBHP review attached.
Mahindra XUV700 Review-screenshot_20210821090926_chrome.jpg  

Geta is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 21st August 2021, 10:16   #307

A sub 10 second to 100KPH in a large, heavy built SUV is commendable. evo India also has confirmed the same with the vbox for both diesel and petrol engines.

However, the heavy majority of potential buyers for XUV700 are not going to be excited or bothered about this headline figure. What they will see is an SUV that provides
1. Safety - With curtain airbags and an option of ADAS, claimed best-in-class torsional rigidity and blindspot/dashcam capabilities. This is an excellent buy for safety minded, nothing comes close to this even if you plonk in 5-8 big ones more.

2. Features - practical features like welcome driver seats, good storage across combined with that huge panoramic sunroof will entice the feature minded

3. Well equipped lower variants - The MX (not sure for how long it will be on the selling list) comes standard with a proper entertainment package, steering mounted controls and powered ORVM, and analog dials , many enthusiasts who want a performing SUV will go for this, so will cash strapped business men who were affected by pandemic.

However, all this depends if they can really deliver the vehicle in a reasonable timeframe. The chip shortage is here to say for atleast another year. It has set many people's heart racing, but it remains to be seen if it will swoop away the customers just yet!
Old 21st August 2021, 11:41   #308

Well done, Mahindra!
Well done Mahindra indeed. The pricing and features are definitely commendable.

Speaking as an ex-figo owner though, the performance is hardly impressive. Just over 10 seconds to 100 is hardly worth raving about at the 21lakh price point, is it? Just a short list of cars which are in the same ballpark or even faster than it :

Figo 1.5TDCI (starts at 7 lakhs?) 10.5 seconds
Polo 1.0 TSI AT/MT <10 seconds
Creta / Seltos 1.4 AT/MT <10 seconds

Yes, all these comparisons are exactly as useful as yours. A more useful comparison would be with the jeep compass, which I'll pick every single time over the XUV 700, if I'm even remotely interested in performance and handling

Last edited by GTO : 23rd August 2021 at 08:34. Reason: Quoted post deleted & member infracted, so trimming
d3mon is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 21st August 2021, 12:22   #309

Mod Note : Please do NOT use acronyms (e.g. ANHC, MS, T-Fort, Endy, JC) when referring to cars or their makers. You are ONLY permitted to use the full Make & Model name. This will make our content useful, searchable & easy-to-understand for experts & newbies alike.

Thanks for the support & understanding

Originally Posted by d3mon View Post
Speaking as an ex-figo owner though, the performance is hardly impressive. Just over 10 seconds to 100 is hardly worth raving about at the 21lakh price point, is it? Just a short list of cars which are in the same ballpark or even faster than it :

Screenshots attached. Btw, XUV700 0-100 acceleration time is 9.5 secs.

You can't have Creta with that 1.4 turbo engine (with the unreliable DCT) for below Rs. 16.83 lacs ex showroom. Doesn't XUV700 make a strong case for itself here too?

Yes, all these comparisons are exactly as useful as yours. A more useful comparison would be with the jeep compass, which I'll pick every single time over the XUV 700, if I'm even remotely interested in performance and handling
Mate, Being a ex ford owner, it would have made sense to compare the BS6 Endeavour with the XUV700, and XUV will trump the BS6 Endeavour both in terms of performance and VFM perspective.

You may choose to spend Rs 10 lacs more on Jeep Compass, it is your perspective. But many more buyers will prefer the other way round.

Mahindra XUV700 Review-screenshot_20210821120425_chrome.jpg  

Mahindra XUV700 Review-screenshot_20210821120017_chrome.jpg  

Mahindra XUV700 Review-screenshot_20210821115725_chrome.jpg  

Mahindra XUV700 Review-screenshot_20210821115701_chrome.jpg  

Last edited by GTO : 24th August 2021 at 07:47. Reason: Calm down, bud. You can make the same point without accusations
Geta is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 21st August 2021, 12:38   #310

Well done Mahindra indeed. The pricing and features are definitely commendable.

When we compare these vehicles, we also need to see the size of the vehicle, number of people it can accommodate, the price at which it's being offered, the tech that it offers, the places it can go, the space it offers etc. If you add all that up, you can see Xuv700 is a great package. It does 0-100 in less than 10 seconds, for a 7 seater car available under 15L OTR it's one hell of a great product.
911CarerraS is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st August 2021, 12:39   #311

Originally Posted by Geta View Post
Screenshots attached. Btw, XUV700 0-100 acceleration time is 9.5 secs.
Please read the figo review from autocar: https://www.autocarindia.com/car-rev...ad-test-398460
"100kph comes up in 10.5 seconds, which makes the Figo diesel quicker than all the mass segment diesel hatchbacks, bar none."

You can't have Creta with that 1.4 turbo engine (with the unreliable DCT) for below Rs. 16.83 lacs ex showroom. Doesn't XUV700 make a strong case for itself here too?
When did I say the Creta is cheaper or that the XUV700 doesn't make a strong case for itself? Of course it does, and it will sell in droves.
And BTW last I checked the 1.4 Turbo petrol was available in manual as well, without the DCT issues.

You may choose to spend Rs 10 lacs more on Jeep Compass, it is your perspective. But many more buyers will prefer the other way round.
Of course the XUV 700 will demolish the Compass in sales. When did I say otherwise?

Originally Posted by 911CarerraS View Post
When we compare these vehicles, we also need to see the size of the vehicle, number of people it can accommodate, the price at which it's being offered, the tech that it offers, the places it can go, the space it offers etc. If you add all that up, you can see Xuv700 is a great package. It does 0-100 in less than 10 seconds, for a 7 seater car available under 15L OTR it's one hell of a great product.
Yes, it is a hell of a product! However comparing it to hatchbacks / sedans if both wrong, which is what I implied in my post. And the right comparison is always with delivered performance. What good would horsepower ratings be if they didn't translate into real world acceleration performance? Also, the 200HP petrol XUV is in a rather weird spot - unless you really need a petrol (like many folks in NCR), I don't see why anyone would buy it over the diesel and live with the abysmal economy. Spending 10-12L just for fuel for 1L km of driving over the course of a vehicle's life is no joke for someone who paid 12L for the car to begin with.

Last edited by GTO : 24th August 2021 at 07:48. Reason: Quoted post edited, hence...
d3mon is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 21st August 2021, 12:54   #312

0-100 sounds good on paper but many other factors like weight, dynamics, safety are much more important. I have an Octavia 1.8 TSi which is quick but i feel much safer and confident in my Kodiaq when i try hard acceleration (it can now do 0-100 just under 10 sec after a remap). Also the real difference in power is observed at higher speeds (80-100+).
Old 21st August 2021, 14:20   #313

Spending 10-12L just for fuel for 1L km of driving over the course of a vehicle's life is no joke for someone who paid 12L for the car to begin with.
Where did you get this figure? Assuming a fuel efficiency of 6 kmpl, and an average prospective rate of Rs. 120 /L, The cost will come to 20 Lakhs.

One can only hope that the MX petrol MT is geared well and gives a fuel efficiency of 8-9 at least. Mahindra seems tight lipped about the FE figures.

Can buy a XUV MX petrol and drive a couple of years (@20 - 30 km/ day) for the same price as an XUV 500 top end.
Old 21st August 2021, 14:22   #314

Infractions: 0/1 (4)

BMW 320d

Power: 187.74 bhp
Torque: 400Nm

XUV 700

Power: 185 bhp
Torque: 420Nm

BMW 320d Price: 48.50 lakhs

XUV700 Price: 15 lakhs

iPhone 12 Pro

RAM: 6GB
Storage: 128GB
Battery: 2815mAh

Price: 1,19,900/-

iQOO 7

RAM: 12GB
Storage: 256GB
Battery: 4400 mAh

Price: 35,990/-

If you had to choose one of them for free, which one would you choose?

Last edited by CarNerd : 21st August 2021 at 14:32.
CarNerd is offline   (30) Thanks
Old 21st August 2021, 15:02   #315

Rendered in Midnight Black by Team SRK Designs:-

Mahindra XUV700 Review-mahindraxuv700blackeditionrender.jpg

Looks dope! I specially like the floating logo effect on the blackened grille.

Sirish Chandran of EVO India shares this:-

Ride & handling sets the new class standard. Torsional rigidity was benchmarked & is claimed to exceed the Skoda Kodiaq. Control-blade rear suspension gives better wheel control than older multi-link. Gen 2 Koni FSD dampers. Soaks in bumps, ripples and speed breakers very well while body roll is not exaggerated. Can even get a wee four-wheel-drift on skid pad before ESP intervenes. Tested it on 235/60 R18 MRF Wanderer ecotred Street tyres

Only real dynamic flaw is steering is too light, weighs up with speed but not enough. Only diesel gets Drive Mode selector (Zip, Zap, Zoom… not a fan of the nomenclature) and even in the sportiest setting its not weighty enough

197.2bhp, 380Nm 2-litre mStallion direct-injection turbo-petrol significantly upgraded over Thar. I tested it with VBOX
0-100kmph: 9.51s
0-160kmh: 25.89s
1/4 mile: 16.92s @ 135.5kmph
Top speed: 197.4kmph

2.2-litre mHawk diesel has less power, 182.5bhp, but more torque, 450Nm, and it is equally quick, torquey and effortless
0-100kmph: 9.88s
0-160kmh: 26.11s
1/4 mile: 17.17s @ 133.8kmp
Top speed: 191.8 kmph

AWD only on diesel-automatic. This is not for hardcore off-roading; more suited to slippery surfaces like ice and snow. Keeps it chugging along even with one wheel in the air. And makes the XUV an authentic SUV

Last edited by Aditya : 21st August 2021 at 19:33. Reason: As requested
RavenAvi is offline   (21) Thanks