Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Official New Car Reviews

Search this Thread
Old 22nd August 2021, 02:28   #346
BHPian

Re: Mahindra XUV700 Review

Quote:
Originally Posted by wadewilson View Post

I do have a few questions about the engine which is used in the XUV 5OO since it also powers the XUV 7OO. I'll list them for clarity's sake:
  1. Is the engine robust and would it be last long if maintained properly? The reason I'm asking is because I'm completely new to the Mahindra ecosystem.
  2. Is the engine loud enough to be heard inside the cabin even when driven sedately? Though a few reviewers of the XUV 7OO did mention that the engine noise didn't seep much into the cabin.
  3. How much mileage are you getting on your steed? The reason I ask is because the XUV 7OO's figures haven't been outed yet (I think) and having the XUV's real mileage would enable me to make a calculated guess.

[EDITED] - Just remembered something, there were numerous reports of rusting in XUV 5OO, I hope your car is doing fine?
Hey, Wadewilson. My dad and my uncle were among those who were able to get their hands on the XUV when it was launched in 2011. The XUV legacy was passed onto me around 2014 Autumn so I have few years of ownership experience to share.

First of all, a much appreciated thanks to RavenAvi who has been such a gem in this thread with all the new information and prompt responses.

So coming to the points:

1. The engine is one of the best I've driven and believe me, I've driven a lot, both here in India and UK. Although I've faced a lot of niggles with almost everything, Engine and transmission have aged beautifully and with proper maintenance and service, I see no problems happening. Recently drove the 2018 facelift and I have to say, this XUV brand has aged like wine. So if maintained properly, this is one of the best engines south of 20 lakhs.