Register

Old 17th March 2024, 21:15   #2071
sbm

Re: Skoda Slavia Review

Hi guys, I am posting this query for a friend of mine. He recently took a test drive of the Slavia 1.5 MT, and he really liked the car. The AC was a little weak, but he is ready to adjust to that given that the car is solid in almost all other aspects. Now, the dealer is offering him around a 1.5 lakh discount on the 2023-manufactured Ambition variant. They have 3 cars in stock; one is white (July 23, manufactured), and the other two are carbon steel (March 23, and May 23, manufactured). The on-road price for Ambition 1.5 MT is coming around 16 lakhs after discount.
Should he go for these old stock cars? I have my apprehensions and have duly warned him against buying unsold old stock cars, but then, Slavia 1.5MT or DSG is not a very fast-selling car in this region (Dhanbad, Jharkhand), so maybe they genuinely were not able to sell the cars, and that's why they have old stock, like they are telling us. What do you guys think?

Were there any particular issues with cars manufactured during that period that needed to be considered?

Also, was the infotainment system 8 inches or 10 inches in the Ambition variant, and at what time, March or July 23?

Last edited by sbm : 17th March 2024 at 21:16.
Old 17th March 2024, 21:19   #2072

Originally Posted by sbm View Post
They have 3 cars in stock; one is white (July 23, manufactured), and the other two are carbon steel (March 23, and May 23, manufactured).
On the particular Mar23 stock, please do not consider it as it's OBD1 stock. OBD2 cars came in around April 2023 IIRC.

Also, push for more discounts if you end up finalising this. 2L+ is what I would aim at.

Good luck!
lightfootdriver is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th March 2024, 21:25   #2073
sbm

Originally Posted by lightfootdriver View Post
On the particular Mar23 stock, please do not consider it as it's OBD1 stock. OBD2 cars came in around April 2023 IIRC.

Also, push for more discounts if you end up finalising this. 2L+ is what I would aim at.

Good luck!
The sales guys said that these are all OBD2 cars. Is there any way to verify whether it is OBD1 or 2.
sbm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th March 2024, 01:15   #2074

Originally Posted by lightfootdriver View Post
On the particular Mar23 stock, please do not consider it as it's OBD1 stock.
Good luck!
Is there any way to verify whether it is OBD1 or 2?
- Since March 2023, OBD-II cars have been in production.
- You can verify if a car is OBD-II compliant by checking the fuel cap; it should have "E20" written on it.
MotorDev is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 18th March 2024, 14:30   #2075

Originally Posted by Vipin Kumar View Post
Rs. 6497/- sounds good for the service! Is it without the service package?

Also, is it for 1.0L or 1.5L TSI?
Hi, mine is a 1.5TSI DSG. I did not buy the SMP.

They have 3 cars in stock; one is white (July 23, manufactured), and the other two are carbon steel (March 23, and May 23, manufactured). The on-road price for Ambition 1.5 MT is coming around 16 lakhs after discount.
Should he go for these old stock cars?
Hi sbm,

I think I can answer a few questions you have posted as I own a 2023 Ambition 1.5TSI March manufactured OBD2 Slavia.

1. Verifying BS6.2/OBD2 compliant car?

A: Open the fuel cap and see if the sticker on the lid mentions E20. OBD1 cars will have only E5 & E10 mentioned, while OBD2 cars will have E20 mentioned in addition to the above.

Skoda Slavia Review-photooutput.jpeg

2. Is it okay to buy a car that has been sitting for a long time?

A: This depends on a few factors before making the decision, where was the car parked?, what is the odometer reading?, Are all the shipping protection covers still there in the car?, Is there any sign of rodent damage in the engine bay? and finally was there any major natural disaster in the recent past like flooding etc., and whether the area where the car is was inundated or otherwise. Based on this you should make a decision and not reject a car just because it was not manufactured yesterday.

My Slavia is a March 2023 manufactured car that I bought in September 2023. Ask you friend to keep the newest car(July 2023) as the top priority.

3. Were there any issues ?

A: OBD2 cars had much lesser problems that OBD1 Slavias. Most notably it was the Driver side one touch up/down feature malfunctioning and the brake pads in the 1.5TSI screeching under very mild braking. From what I have seen online the clutch on the manual can have a problem but it seems to be restricted and also there seems to a warranty fix for the same for particular cars.

4. 8inch system or 10inch in 2023 Ambition variant?

A: 2023 Ambition variants from March came with the 8 inch system, I have the same one in my car as well. It is a good system with the only deficiency being wireless Android auto/Apple carplay. This can be fixed using after market dongles like carlinkit 5.0.

Lastly I would say your friend can consider buying a 2023 Slavia and the ambition is an extremely value for money variant. Only thing I would suggest is squeeze the dealer for more discounts as I got a better 1.7 lakh discount way back in August 2023 for the same car.

Last edited by Shanksta : 18th March 2024 at 14:40. Reason: Adding picture
Shanksta is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th March 2024, 12:22   #2076

Hi guys, I am posting this query for a friend of mine. He recently took a test drive of the Slavia 1.5 MT, and he really liked the car. The AC was a little weak, but he is ready to adjust to that given that the car is solid in almost all other aspects. Now, the dealer is offering him around a 1.5 lakh discount on the 2023-manufactured Ambition variant. They have 3 cars in stock; one is white (July 23, manufactured), and the other two are carbon steel (March 23, and May 23, manufactured). The on-road price for Ambition 1.5 MT is coming around 16 lakhs after discount.
Should he go for these old stock cars? I have my apprehensions and have duly warned him against buying unsold old stock cars, but then, Slavia 1.5MT or DSG is not a very fast-selling car in this region (Dhanbad, Jharkhand), so maybe they genuinely were not able to sell the cars, and that's why they have old stock, like they are telling us. What do you guys think?

Were there any particular issues with cars manufactured during that period that needed to be considered?

Also, was the infotainment system 8 inches or 10 inches in the Ambition variant, and at what time, March or July 23?
Please go ahead and get amazing discount asap. Ambition will come with 8 inch infotainment. I purchased vin 23 december manufactured vehicle and it got delivered on 6th March. No need to worry go ahead and try to get SMP and extended warranty complimentary if possible.

I got 1L discount in bangalore when I booked in mid Feb, as it was limited edition Deep Black Pearl color and only one in Bangalore at that point so I couldn't negotiate hard.
Bazooka1989 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd March 2024, 09:33   #2077

Hello Bhpians,
My Slavia 1.5DSG is a Year Old and 15000KM run and just returned from the SC after the first service. The service was super smooth and the vehicle smoother once back. But since past few days I am noticing a wierd Jerk when the car accelerates in D2. Doesn't happen always, but happens frequently. The only question that pops in the mind is whether DSG is the issue here. Any Suggestions would be welcome
Thank you
Old 23rd March 2024, 10:13   #2078

Originally Posted by navinkamath4657 View Post
Hello Bhpians,
I am noticing a wierd Jerk when the car accelerates in D2. Doesn't happen always, but happens frequently. The only question that pops in the mind is whether DSG is the issue here.
Thank you

Yes, sometimes the DSG gearbox can feel jerky at low speeds, but it's not a big issue. In my case, it's even worse. Sometimes, at low speeds, the gearbox shifts from D2 to D1, and then back to D2, which feels really jerky, like when a manual car stalls. This happens when we accelerate hard in D1 and D2. You can avoid this by gently accelerating at speeds below 30, and then everything works fine.

Last edited by MotorDev : 23rd March 2024 at 10:14.
MotorDev is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd March 2024, 11:26   #2079

Originally Posted by MotorDev View Post

Yes, sometimes the DSG gearbox can feel jerky at low speeds, but it's not a big issue. In my case, it's even worse. Sometimes, at low speeds, the gearbox shifts from D2 to D1, and then back to D2, which feels really jerky, like when a manual car stalls. This happens when we accelerate hard in D1 and D2. You can avoid this by gently accelerating at speeds below 30, and then everything works fine.
Hello Sir,
Thank you for the reply.
I have known the jerkiness of the dsg in lower speeds at lower gears. But this one is a new onset jerk and happens only in D2 as the engine is in between 1400-2000 rpm. It comes as a single jerk and then smoothens out.. worried if it's more than the regular DSG jerk
navinkamath4657 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd March 2024, 12:12   #2080

Hello Sir,
Thank you for the reply.
I have known the jerkiness of the dsg in lower speeds at lower gears. But this one is a new onset jerk and happens only in D2 as the engine is in between 1400-2000 rpm. It comes as a single jerk and then smoothens out.. worried if it's more than the regular DSG jerk
Hi navinkamath,

The jerk you are experiencing here might be the engine switching between the Eco-mode (deactivating 2 cylinders) and normal mode (all 4 cylinders firing).

This transition is mostly smooth but at lower speeds it can sometimes be felt as a good strong jerk. The rpm you have mentioned also points to this fact. It has happens in my Slavia as well. Nothing to worry about.
Shanksta is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd March 2024, 13:05   #2081

Originally Posted by Shanksta View Post
Hi navinkamath,

The jerk you are experiencing here might be the engine switching between the Eco-mode (deactivating 2 cylinders) and normal mode (all 4 cylinders firing).

This transition is mostly smooth but at lower speeds it can sometimes be felt as a good strong jerk. The rpm you have mentioned also points to this fact. It has happens in my Slavia as well. Nothing to worry about.
Hello Sir.
I doubt it is the ECO transition.. it happens in the acceleration mode. And just in D2 around the RPM I mentioned.. I hope its something trivial
Keeping fingers crossed
Old 23rd March 2024, 14:43   #2082

This one is a new onset jerk and happens only in D2 as the engine is in between 1400-2000 rpm. It comes as a single jerk and then smoothens out.. worried if it's more than the regular DSG jerk
Oh! Yes, I've experienced this too, but it only happened once in my car. I still think it's just the typical nature of the DSG gearbox. Try using a light foot on D1, D2, and D3. I believe this should make it smoother. Also, just check the tyre pressure once.
MotorDev is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd March 2024, 18:52   #2083

Originally Posted by MotorDev View Post
Oh! Yes, I've experienced this too, but it only happened once in my car. I still think it's just the typical nature of the DSG gearbox. Try using a light foot on D1, D2, and D3. I believe this should make it smoother. Also, just check the tyre pressure once.
Thank you sir. I will do it.. hopefully it's not the DSG. Not heard of any Issues in DSG with slavia.. so I am hopeful
navinkamath4657 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th March 2024, 18:49   #2084

Skoda is offering discounts upto 2-3 lacs on Kushaq and Slavia on their 24th anniversary-
Skoda Slavia Review-img_1303.png  

Old 24th March 2024, 19:04   #2085
sbm

Originally Posted by sachin_cs View Post
Skoda is offering discounts upto 2-3 lacs on Kushaq and Slavia on their 24th anniversary-
Can anyone please point out the differences between MY2024 and MY2023 Slavia Ambition? Both cars have 2023 VIN.

Last edited by sbm : 24th March 2024 at 19:05.