Old 24th February 2023, 22:19   #976

Re: Toyota Urban Cruiser Hyryder Review

Originally Posted by drsachin View Post
I have done 300kms till now , so here is my initial review.

Pros

Cons

1. AC: The summers have just started and ac feels barely adequate. Contrary to popular belief i think it's not because of the mosquito net shade but it's actually due to the Pano sunroof. It almost becomes a glass house due to big sunroof with heat entrapped beneath it.
The one and only reason is the thin mosquito net like headliner. There are many cars with Panoramic sunroof. Harrier, Safari, Compass. They have well built good quality headliner. There is no issues with the interiors heating up unless one opens the headliner for a clear view during a hot day.

Had Suzuki/Toyota taken care of this fact especially in country like India then the issue would never have had cropped up. I believe the Suzuki has similar quality even in cars in Europe but those countries are much cooler.

Suzuki/Toyota has to come up either with a solution or we have to wait for next iterations to have a better headliner.

Heard that Toyota/Suzuki is working on some accessories. Lets see.

Last edited by nibedk : 24th February 2023 at 22:31. Reason: Correction
nibedk is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 24th February 2023, 22:39   #977

Originally Posted by nibedk View Post
They have well built good quality headliner. There is no issues with the interiors heating up unless one opens the headliner for a clear view during a hot day.
They better come up with solution soon.

I think even newly launched Hector facelift also has the same Mosquito net headliner.
Old 24th February 2023, 23:19   #978

Few Questions

1. My dealer Espirit noida was handing over spare headlight bulbs together with the vehicle while taking delivery to some of the buyers but it was not provided to me. On questioning i was told, Toyota provides spare bulbs for variants with halogen Projectors and not LED projectors. Just wanted to confirm this fact from others.

2. Regarding vehicle operations. What's the ideal practice for idlling at redlights? With automatics the best practice I believe is to put on N with parking brake. But as per the online manual the hybrid battery doesn't charge if put on N mode. So this can potentially discharge hybrid battery completely with AC on.

3. I had been activating Android Auto voice search for various functions such as GMAPS and music search through the app itself on the touch panel. Sometimes the Android auto suggests me to use the voice search button on the steering wheel itself. But i couldn't find a way to associate the voice search button on steering wheel with Android auto, it instead activates voice search of the Touch screen and not Android auto. Did anyone find a way to associate Android Auto voice search through steering mounted control?.

4. While receiving calls through the steering mounted controls. I have to pull the call button twice or sometimes thrice. Is it the same with everyone or mine is broken?.
drsachin is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th February 2023, 12:30   #979

Re: Toyota Urban Cruiser Hyryder Review (UPDATE)

[*]Headlight is ok but the horn is a totally disappointment. You probably cannot change the headlight for brighter projector LED’s (150 + watts, 7000K + white light) since the bulbs are all sealed & non-detachable.

MODIFICATIONS Done:

Got Sun-film (Llamar Brand-USA Made, Platinum series. Blocks 70% of heat, yet is transparent) on front and back windshields and well as all windows and sunshade. Pls note that the OEM glass is already tinted sufficiently as per standards.

Hi - Was this done at the showroom? If not, can you please let us know where you got it done?

Threw away the cheapest Minda OEM horns and got dual (4 nos) of the Hella Chrome Twin Tone horns installed, using vishnu horn wiring kit along with ADDITIONAL super-insulated wires with harness. The most-experienced and only specialised auto-electrician who does this niche-task in Blr, without even touching any of the original wiring (to maintain Warranty) is near Mathikere. Will ping back details to anyone interested with address/location. [/i][/quote]

Please pass on the details of the Mathikere auto-electrician.

Any tips on must-have accessories?

anushuks is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th February 2023, 15:23   #980

Hyryder or Seltos

Looking to upgrade from Grand i10.
Budget around 16 lakhs OTR.

Went to Lanson Toyoto showroom on ECR today to enquire about the S AT Neodrive variant.Being a Sunday only one sales person was available.No crowd.
But the S variant was not there.Only a G variant was available in cave black colour.

Me and wife liked the vehicle.Being on the wrong side of 60,the automatic being a torque converter appealed to me the most.The next thing I wanted to check was the back seat comfort.One major complaint in this vehicle I often hear on social media and wad in TeamBHP is the back seat head room.
I am a tad above 5'10" and in shoes I am stand nearly 6 feet.But I found the head room very adequate.The back seat did not give us any claustrophobic effect.The interior in the front was passable.Not able to avoid the feel that we were inside a Maruti.Driver side switches could have been really improved.Bonnet was clearly visible from the driver seat.Boot space was decent.It was obvious that the front doors were stronger than the back ones.A few taps on both the doors will make you aware of this.Realky don't know why these sort of compromises are being made by the manufacturers.

I asked about adding alloys, changing the halogen to LED,fixing a 360 degree camera and changing to a bigger display.He advised not to go for a bigger display and the OEM one is adequate.Other things he readily agreed and quoted the below prices.
1.Alloys-16k/per wheel(I felt this was on a higher side)
2.Changing to LED headlights-10k.
3.360 degree camera-20 to 25k.(Does this cost this much in after market too?)
4.Bigger display-25 to 35k.(whew!).
Waiting period quoted was 3 to 5 months.
May test drive it in a few days.

Then we visited Capital Kia in Adyar.Wanted to have a look at the HTk Plus IMT variant.
In this vehicle I felt the roof being nearer to my head from the driving position.This is the second time I am having a look at the Seltos.We felt the room for 3 persons was slightly more than the Hyryder.But here the sales person said they won't change the halogen to LED and said the OEM headlights are enough.But in the market report the biggest complaint is the inadequate light throw in the HTk variant.The vehicle already has alloy wheels.

Both the vehicles will have good road presence.

When comparing the above vehicles in these particular variants these are the points to be noted.

Hyryder.

17 inch wheels(But no alloys).
Safety rating is expected to be at least 4 stars.
Torque Converter Auto.
Being an hybrid,will give more mileage than Seltos.
GC is 210mm.
All disc brakes.
Dealer says a few accessories can be upgraded at the showroom itself.
Wearing Toyota badge.(Though its a Maruti in disguise )
Default warranty for 3 years or one lakh kms.
Extended Warranty for 31k-5 years or 2 lakh kms.
From third service,we have to shell out 4 to 5 k.

Seltos HTk Plus IMT.
Alloy wheel(R16 compared to R17in UC.)
6 air bags.(Only two in UC)
Sun Roof(Not in UC)
All disc brakes.
Bigger display.
Being an IMT, more control?
Can wait for the arrival of facelift this year.
Default warranty-3 years with unlimited kms.

I read a lot that this has an unstable shell.(Told by GNCAP?).That's a concern.
Having said that,I am a sedate driver and most of my driving will be within Chennai.Even on highway I may not reach more than 90.

I am leaving India by April and will be back only in September.
I want to part with my much loved Grand i10 before leaving.
So when I come back I can't afgord to wait to get a car home.Given up two wheeler riding and a vehicle is must in the household.So before leaving i want to book a car,so that I can take delivery once I come back.

It is going to be a toss up between the above two.Will be immensely great full for any suggestions between the above two or any other car.Mostly this may be the last car I may be buying.

Wanted go for either Kushaq or VW Virtus.(Seeing great reviews for Virtus).Kushaq AT is beyond my budget.As far as Virtus is concerned ingress and egress is a major concern for a person like me,who isn't getting any younger.

TIA.
Toyota Urban Cruiser Hyryder Review-img20230226103446.jpg  

Toyota Urban Cruiser Hyryder Review-img20230226103455.jpg  

Toyota Urban Cruiser Hyryder Review-img20230226103506.jpg  

Sricar is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 26th February 2023, 15:48   #981

Originally Posted by OpenRoads View Post
Questions: You were looking at a 6 seater(XL6) however looked at 5 seater car (GV) and ready to buy/book one. Why? What made you look for a long car in the first place? Did you check out Kia Carens as well. If a 5 seater car is something you like why did you see only GV and not Creta/Seltos/Kushak..
Thanks a lot for your reply and sorry for the late response.Since a long term travel is on the anvil,a little busy in shopping and all.

Had a look at XL6 since my wife has a fancy for 6 seater.With a child seat in between the second row captain seats,this can be converted to a 7 seater.Well sort off.Her reasoning is when the families of our children visit us,a bigger car will be comfortable.
When the sales person showed us the GV I felt it was a little more sturdy than the XL6.He also said GV may score 4 star safety rating.
I wanted go for Kushaq AT.But it is beyond my budget.Caren's starting level auto is also way beyond my reach.
Now it is a toss up between GV/Hyryder or Seltos.
Will be parting with my current car before leaving.So will be in need of one once I arrive back.That's why I wanted to book one to avoid the waiting period.
Old 27th February 2023, 06:09   #982

Originally Posted by Sricar View Post

Hyryder or Seltos

1.Alloys-16k/per wheel(I felt this was on a higher side)
2.Changing to LED headlights-10k.
3.360 degree camera-20 to 25k.(Does this cost this much in after market too?)
4.Bigger display-25 to 35k.(whew!).
Waiting period quoted was 3 to 5 months.
May test drive it in a few days.

Will be immensely great full for any suggestions between the above two or any other car.Mostly this may be the last car I may be buying.
TIA.
Alloys are definitely expensive, should not be more than 10-12k outside. Being a maruti base, alloys should be easily available in the market.

360 camera is a tricky part. I did my market research before buying my Hyryder. Blockbuster bbt601 6GB , 128GB storage 9inch display with 360 camera is available in Delhi karol bagh for around 30K+ Additional 2.5K for fitment.
I am a little surprised that the dealer offered 360 camera which is not available as official accessory with Hyryder/GV , so in all possibility he is offering an aftermarket camera only. In the aftermarket 360 camera alone is also available at some places(12-15k) but it's more of a Jugaad thing. Integrating this 360 camera with OEM system is difficult and controlling various camera angles is also tricky.
Toyota/Maruti are also not providing the OEM 9inch display ( Used in G/V variant) as a separate accessory so if you upgrade 9inch , in most probability the dealer is offering an aftermarket display only.

Now regarding Seltos vs Grand Vitara/Hyryder

The only area where I feel Seltos is ahead is slightly more powerful engine and better build quality.
TC gearbox from Aisin is way ahead of iMT which is not a proper automatic. Manual control is present even in TC using paddle shifters.
Regarding safety i always consider crash testing rating and structural stability ahead of Airbags. Kia is providing 6 Airbags in almost all cars since it know all it's cars have failed crash worthiness so using a psychological fix that it's cars now comes with 6 Airbags.
Hyryder suspension is way ahead of Seltos.
Sunroof only has novelty factor specially in India.

Last edited by drsachin : 27th February 2023 at 06:14.
Old 27th February 2023, 08:11   #983

The only area where I feel Seltos is ahead is slightly more powerful engine and better build quality.
Their biggest advantage is the cabin, which looks and feels a lot more premium. There is much more space on offer, width and shoulder room is more and the seats are far better. Also, the elephant in the room, boot space. Creta/Seltos have a much more practical boot.
TC gearbox from Aisin is way ahead of iMT which is not a proper automatic. Manual control is present even in TC using paddle shifters.
iMT never had any pretentious ideas of being an automatic of any kind. It has the word manual right in the middle. It is just a clutchless manual, and that’s that. It is, however, a very practical, simple, convenient and cost effective upgrade to a full manual.

Hyryder suspension is way ahead of Seltos.
True. Hyryder’s suspension is perhaps its single biggest ace. Creta is good too, but this is just better.
Shreyans_Jain is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 27th February 2023, 09:55   #984

Originally Posted by Shreyans_Jain View Post
Their biggest advantage is the cabin, which looks and feels a lot more premium. There is much more space on offer, width and shoulder room is more and the seats are far better. Also, the elephant in the room, boot space. Creta/Seltos have a much more practical boot.
It's true specially the back seat where Hyryder/GV feels crumpish if 3 persons are seated. The central Axle hump and center console is intrusive making 3rd person seating impractical. Creta/Seltos is slightly better but they too are just ok .3rd person seating in CSUVs is never too great if someone compares with sedans.
Seating comfort is subjective. Creta/Seltos have better under thigh support, Hyryder has better Cushioning every where.
Creta/Seltos has more premium dashboard and steering in top Variants.

Hyryder/GV neohybrid has more boot space than creta/Seltos. It's the strong hybrid where Hyryder/GV has less space.

Last edited by drsachin : 27th February 2023 at 09:59.
Old 27th February 2023, 11:03   #985

The sunroof/Moonroof in Hyryder opens slightly after the net sheet is withdrawn. It's not absolutely closed. I wish there was a way to keep it totally closed with just light traveling inside the cabin. Is it the same with all Hyryders/GVs and other cars with Panoramic sunroof?
It seems like a Manufacturing defect or a poor implementation
Old 28th February 2023, 07:12   #986

Thanks a lot for your inputs drsachin.
For my old bones, the suspension of the vehicle and ride comfort are most important.Hyryder is expected to score 4 star safety rating too.So I am leaning towards Hyryder.
Thanks again.
Old 5th March 2023, 23:55   #987

Is it the same with all Hyryders/GVs and other cars with Panoramic sunroof?
I have not experienced this with my ride. Better get it checked out during first service.

Last edited by Ajay_the_Don : 5th March 2023 at 23:55. Reason: Typo
Ajay_the_Don is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th March 2023, 11:21   #988

7. Some rattle sounds from rear seat. I really don't know where it's coming
The sound is probably coming from the seat belt clips that are tapping on the plastic side walls. You can reposition them or attach them into their slots.

Another reason is that the number plate may be vibrating and touching with the trunk. Try to lightly bend it towards yourself (outside) to fix it. It'll also sometimes rattle with the plate frame on.

Other reason may be that the rear doors need to be closed again a bit harder.
In the trunk the floor board jumps around is bad condition but it's a blunt sound.
tjsi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th March 2023, 12:15   #989

There were two sounds from the rear

First one is precisely the one you mentioned, the seat belt clips touching against plastic. Which is now gone after repositioning.
The 2nd one which I noticed since the car was out of showroom and more irritating, seems either from the rear seats, or boot. It's not exactly rattles. It's seems like rubbing of two Leatherite surfaces against each other. It's sounds like. "Chi- Chi".
I have not removed rear seat plastic seats completely , so will check after removing them...
Old 6th March 2023, 21:31   #990

In October, I took the Hyryder AWD for a small off-road drive. I have shared the report here-

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/offic...ml#post5427753 (Toyota Urban Cruiser Hyryder Review)

Yesterday we had a Duster owners meet at the same place and managed to test my Duster AWD over there.

This was my take after driving the Hyryder-
Originally Posted by Samba View Post
In the video below, the obstacle was crossed with the ESP on & 4wd lock. The Duster AWD can cross this at a slower pace due to it's short gearing and better low-end torque.
Attaching the video, where I have put the performance of both the cars back to back-

Both were driven with 4wd lock & ESp on & as I said earlier, the Duster could be driven at a much slower pace due to it's shorter 1st gear and much better low end torque from the diesel engine.

The articulation of both the cars are similar. It will be difficult to say which will fare better. But if we consider the approach angle, break-over angle and the departure angle, Duster should score better. The proper skid-plates of the Duster do help.

Toyota Urban Cruiser Hyryder Review-desktop.jpg

At the end of the day, my conclusion is, if anyone is looking to buy the Hyryder or the Grand Vitara for touring, do consider the AWD, it definitely helps in slush and snow. That is what one will encounter most during touring. Bad roads can be tackled by any car having a good ground clearance.
And let us leave the OTRs and rock climbing for the suvs with proper low range gearbox!

Last edited by Samba : 6th March 2023 at 21:43.
Samba is offline   (5) Thanks