526,458 views Search this Thread
Old 24th April 2023, 20:40   #151

Re: Maruti Fronx Review

Originally Posted by princely_pauper View Post
[*]Charge Rs 500 per cancellation[*]Get 39,000 * Rs 500 = Rs 1.95 crores ![/list]
Boom, easy money!
Just to clarify - there are no cancellation charges.
SedateGuy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th April 2023, 20:45   #152

Originally Posted by SedateGuy View Post
Just to clarify - there are no cancellation charges.
Thanks for the update. Saw on the Jimny thread that there was a 500 Rs cancellation charge. Good that they've not kept it on the Fronx.
princely_pauper is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th April 2023, 20:56   #153

I would have still gone ahead with the booking of Alpha AT if there is a published good safety rating. Given that is an unknown, spending 16L (assuming it would come to that in BLR) looks not so attractive to me. Maybe I should stretch the budget and consider safer options.
Old 24th April 2023, 21:33   #154

Originally Posted by princely_pauper View Post
Thanks for the update. Saw on the Jimny thread that there was a 500 Rs cancellation charge. Good that they've not kept it on the Fronx.
I don't know about Jimny, but in Fronx you won't be charged cancelation fees if you pre-booked before price revelation and canceled anytime including after price revelation. But if you book now (after price revelation) and then do a cancelation, you will be charged Rs 500 cancelation charge.
Old 24th April 2023, 21:38   #155

In July 2021, I got my Ertiga Zxi+ at 11.4 Lakhs OTR Pune. Cars are getting really costlier now. Looking at the prices of all the cars in 2023, I think I got a steal deal not so long back. Not to mention I am really happy seeing the prices of new cars in 2023.

Interestingly, if I want to sell my Ertiga now, I will get almost same price which I paid 20 months back for my car!
aniketi is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 24th April 2023, 21:43   #156

Sonet Diesel IMT/AT looks so much VFM seeing the Fronx pricing.
Sankar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th April 2023, 21:47   #157

Maruti Suzuki Fronx launch - Press Release

Maruti Fronx Review-smartselect_20230424214510_drive.jpg

Maruti Fronx Review-smartselect_20230424214520_drive.jpg

Maruti Fronx Review-smartselect_20230424214528_drive.jpg

Maruti Fronx Review-smartselect_20230424214544_drive.jpg
Venkatesh is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th April 2023, 21:55   #158

What makes the pricing hard to stomach is that, here in Chennai, you can have a Baleno Alpha AGS for a little less than 11.5L but you have to shell a good 4.5L more if you wanted an engine with a bit more power and a smoother gearshift. For what is a similar car with similar interiors and similar feature set.

I guess we will be another cancellation case as it seems illogical to buy the fronx turbo.
clementj is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 24th April 2023, 22:55   #159

Over optimistic pricing. Was looking at this as an option for my sister. But Magnite looks like a much better VFM with proven safety rating.
PS: Zeta AT vs Alpha AT has 1.1 lakh premium just for
a) UV cut glass
b) Cruise control
c) 360 degree view camera
d) Heads up display & slightly bigger screen. Clearly Maruti is being greedy here. But they have one clear advantage though over competitors. Much reliable Auto paired with a Turbo engine. In comparison,
1. Nexon(AMT)
2. XUV(AMT)
3. Sonet/Venue(DCT - Reliability concerns).
Only Nissan/Renault has similar setup albeit a CVT which is pretty good as well. But Maruti has a much higher brand recall compared to Renault/Nissan, whose confused and hesitant approach to Indian market is not winning any confidence in new car buyers after Ford/GM.
vegitakarthik is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th April 2023, 23:35   #160

The pricing is along the expected lines, and I think that the Fronx is well priced for what it offers.

1. It's much more stylish, and modern looking than the Brezza
2. The 1.0 turbo has more punch than the 1.5 L NA engine on the Brezza in the useful rev-range (2000-3000 RPM)
3. The OTR cost differential between the two top variants are significant enough to make someone want to think about the Fronx.

Fronx AT beats opposition thus:

1. Magnite and Kiger = through better quality materials
2. XUV 300 and Nexon = better gearbox
3. Sonet and Venue turbo petrols = more reliable gearbox (DCT/IMT VS TC)

We certainly could've got better cars at the price 4 years back. But, inflection, taxes, and emission regulations have conspired to ensure that cars are dearer.

Last edited by buzzy_boy : 24th April 2023 at 23:38.
buzzy_boy is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 24th April 2023, 23:49   #161

The Boosterjet is not a fully localised engine as per my understanding at least not on the level of the K12 or K15 engines and the volumes are low. In such a situation, the engine prices are bound to be high. Should the customer care why it is expensive? That's a different issue. I strictly belong to the "there is no replacement for displacement" Camp and abhor Turbo engines. So, I would not be caught ever in one.

As the Autocar image shows, Suzuki has no intention to be compared with Kiger and Magnite. Their target are the crossover SUV cousins Nexon and Sonet/Venue. And it is pretty competitively priced and equipped accordingly. Of course there are some plus and minus features all around. The Brezza or XUV300 are much more expensive to be comparable (Starting price difference of 80k minimum)

In terms of safety, I heard from some sources that Fronx and Brezza would be close in terms of the GNCAP star ratings. I have no evidence to believe if it is so but Fronx would be one step above the Baleno in my opinion looking at the Kerb weights and vehicle positioning. Although, I am sure GNCAP has no time to test the same as they would be busy retesting the smaller cars of Suzuki .

I would look at the upcoming Nexon facelift before passing any verdict on Fronx. As of today, Fronx is more VFM on paper than Nexon if we ignore the existence of Nexon EVs. We cannot compare safety ratings, as both vehicles are untested as per updated GNCAP norms. My guess would be both cars would be 4 star rated as of today.
Carma2017 is online now   (8) Thanks
Old 25th April 2023, 08:24   #162

Originally Posted by vegitakarthik View Post
Over optimistic pricing. Was looking at this as an option for my sister. But Magnite looks like a much better VFM with proven safety rating.
Magnite's build quality is poor as heck, you'll start hearing rattles in no time. Not to mention the pathetic state of Nissan and their after sales/support. Just head over to the magnite thread to read. I'm someone who had actively considered Magnite/Kiger but the state of their showrooms/support made me instantly drop it. I need peace of mind over anything else, ultimately.

Fronx is a decent option but overpriced. Brezza will surely cannibalize into its sales.
epiccross is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 25th April 2023, 08:34   #163

I have booked Zeta AT with price expectation of 11L-11.25L ex showroom. Now I don't want to pay 80k extra just for turbo (Which I don't require/want at all.) Here are my options.

1. Fronx Delta+ AMT: loose imp features like Driver seat height adjustment and Rear ac vent. extra airbags.

2. Baleno Zeta AMT: has all the features I want except high GC.

3. Brezza VXI AT: Has all the necessary features minus rear wiper, LED head light, DRL. Can install Rear camera so that is not a problem. Waiting period can be a problem too. I can't wait more than a month. I think I've made a mistake by not booking other cars along with Fronx.

What is the best option according to you? I am looking to keep the car for at least 7-8 years.
Old 25th April 2023, 08:53   #164

Originally Posted by TaurusSHO View Post
It is absolutely disgusting how carmakers these days get away with pricing like these.
Will be interesting to see how this performs in the market but this is pure greed from Maruti’s end.
Absolutely true! The greed is enormous and they are pushing the price boundaries.
SJ1211 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th April 2023, 08:58   #165

Atrocious pricing for what is essentially ''Baleno +". Fronx's pricing makes Baleno looks super VFM even the Brezza seems to be priced well now.

Interesting point to note about Maruti's interior & feature composition - They developed one set of touchscreen, 360 deg camera & HUD with the same dashboard layout and has plonked in all of its products ranging from a 9 lakh baleno to 12 lakh Fronx, 15 lakh Brezza & 22 lakh Grand Vitara!!! - Just play with the customer's money!!!!!

22 lakh GV owner has same set of features as the 9 lakh Baleno! wow Maruti job well done. Looks like the customer is stupid afterall.
SJ1211 is offline   (2) Thanks