Old 16th October 2024, 18:55   #2956

Re: 2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review

Originally Posted by bharathdonti View Post
Looks like the product has been taken out from the website. Thank you for your help.
Old 18th October 2024, 23:16   #2957

Took a road trip (Delhi-Solan-Dehradun) with 4 adults and a fair amount of luggage. The drive included beautiful open roads, heavy city traffic, steep climbs, treacherous terrains with crator size potholes and stretches of under-construction roads. Throughout it all, the car performed great overall with the following traits:

1. Engine and gearbox performance: The car was primarily driven in the S and Sport modes. On open roads, it feels right at home. There is a strong grunt in the mid range and overtaking is a breeze. Post 3k RPM, the engine gets vocal, but doesn't sound crude. On hilly terrains and inclines, the low end torque comes handy and the TC gearbox downshifts as expected, not super quick, but adequately. In city traffic conditions, the engine gearbox is ever so seamless with no lag or jerk. That's one of the primary reasons why we chose this combo instead of turbo DCT. Overall, the performance is commendable, though not exceptional - a bit more power (though the torque is abundant) would have made the drive even more engaging.

Score:9/10

2. Ride quality and comfort: There is a lot being said about Seltos's ride quality and passenger comfort. Let me be super candid about it - it's not perfect as the suspension setup is stiff, particularly on bad roads in slow speeds where some vertical moments are felt (with 33-35psi). The segment leader Creta outperforms the Seltos in this department which offers far compliant ride quality and comfort. Having said that, the ride is very much acceptable at decent/high speed without much body roll.

Score: 7.5/10

3. Steering wheel response: The steering wheel has a decent weight which I initially didn't like that much. But as I have spent more time with it, I think it has grown on me. While I usually prefer a lighter setup, there is something about this steering wheel that makes the driving enjoyable, particularly on open roads.

Score: 8.5/10

4. Miscellaneous:

A) Found ISG to be super annoying. Didn't use it all during the entire trip. Never using it in the future either.

B) Headlights are bad, just as bad as the Creta.

C) The backlit switches are such a boon. Found them super useful.

D) The UV cut glasses make such a big difference. Wouldn't want to go back to regular glass after experiencing it.

E) Had kept the forward collision assistance on but experienced a heart-stopping emergency braking when an idiot on his bike suddenly cut in from the left. Turned it off immediately. Not sure if we would want to use it anytime soon.

F) The head-up display is quite useful as it displays some crucial information such as speed limit, ADAS features, inbuilt map guidance etc. Wish it showed Gmaps guidance too.

5. A few minor observations (Compared to our 2nd gen Creta):

The paddle shifters have a cheap, plasticy feel to them, unlike those on the Creta. Similarly, the speed alert at 80/120kmph doesn't sound as soothing as our Creta. It's actually borderline coarse, almost as if the speaker has gone bad. The gear lever on the parking mode has some play which doesn't feel very premium. Again, this isn't there on our Creta. Thankfully, the centre console is made of good quality plastic which doesn't creak. That's our biggest complaint with the Creta. However, we still prefer our Creta's centre console visually as it looks far more modern and futuristic. Image attached for reference:

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20220113_034150_20220113_034146_original.jpg

Seltos's console is great to look at too:

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20241006_141003.jpg

6. The car returned fuel efficiency of 15kmpl, which isn't bad for the kind of conditions, as mentioned above.

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20241017_181645.jpg

7. Also completed the first service at ~1k kms at RC Kia, Solan.

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20241017_104534.jpg

Had nothing much to report except the engine sound at certain RPMs which I posted earlier. Kia folks assured that it's normal, just as other dear members in the forum. Coincidentally, they had their TD car (a diesel MT) available and the SA was kind enough to offer us a quick test drive which also had the same sound. The service was a straight forward affair with a general checkup and DEF fluid top up of about 6 litres. No ECU update was available though. Good thing that the SA didn't push for any extras like coating etc. Overall, a good experience.

A few random pictures to conclude that the Seltos Black Xline with the stealthy looks is one of the most attractive compact SUVs on the market.

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20241017_153906.jpg

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20241017_154027.jpg

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20241017_153945.jpg

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20241017_154048.jpg
2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20241017_154117.jpg  

Last edited by Col Mehta : 18th October 2024 at 23:27. Reason: Typo
Col Mehta is offline   (31) Thanks
Old 20th October 2024, 23:35   #2958

This thing has been on my mind for quite a while. So I'm planning to get the seltos GTX+ variant but I'm really confused in the engine department. My running typically will be around 700-800 kms a month. While the diesel will give me better mileage, the future of it is uncertain. With petrol I see some users getting the overheating problem in the dct transmission. Please help me decide on which one I should go for as they cost the same.
TIA!
Old 21st October 2024, 01:40   #2959

Originally Posted by Babayaga_g007 View Post
This thing has been on my mind for quite a while. So I'm planning to get the seltos GTX+ variant but I'm really confused in the engine department. My running typically will be around 700-800 kms a month. While the diesel will give me better mileage, the future of it is uncertain. With petrol I see some users getting the overheating problem in the dct transmission. Please help me decide on which one I should go for as they cost the same.
TIA!
I’ve been running the Seltos Petrol for almost 9 months now, without second thoughts go for it. Decent mileage if you don't press the gas too hard. I am able to manage about 13KMPL in Delhi-NCR. Highways return about 15-16. My avg. run is about 60km a day. The turbo engine is powerful, you never feel any lack of power at any point. No complaints whatsoever. No DCT issues at all.

Hope this helps.

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 21st October 2024 at 05:20. Reason: milage > mileage
sudhir_nyc is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st October 2024, 05:10   #2960

TIA!
If you have a good amount of highway running, the Diesel would be fine, else there have been quite a few cases of DPF clogging and replacement required, so be aware of that, the DCT also has its fair share of issues like poor mileage and Transmission heating problems, The best option would be to avoid both and get the Naturally aspirated CVT, a simple engine-gearbox combo with none of these issues, albeit with lower power and torque. The Seltos, however, doesn't get the CVT in the top-trim, for that you would have to get its cousin the Creta, which has the SX(O) CVT available at 18.73 lakhs ex-showroom, a pretty good choice and worth considering too.

However if you are insistent on the Seltos, I feel the DCT should be your choice considering the hostile attitude of the government towards diesels and the stricter emission norms coming into play.

Last edited by yedukrishnan199 : 21st October 2024 at 05:12.
Old 21st October 2024, 12:54   #2961

TIA!
Buying a Diesel may not be needed for the 700/800 km in a month. In my 1 year of ownership of GTX+, I have gotten more than 14 KMPL every time, unless in a traffic jam. If you are on a highway and drive in a planned manner (only a few sudden accelerations), you can touch 20 KMPL, which I have always done on NE 4. This means the Annual Fuel Cost will be 8-10K higher for the petrol version. You would know if that is a substantial saving over the lifetime ownership cost compared to the upfront cost difference in the Diesel vs. Petrol versions.

Last edited by navin : 21st October 2024 at 12:58. Reason: typos
Old 21st October 2024, 13:05   #2962

Originally Posted by sudhir_nyc View Post
I’ve been running the Seltos Petrol for almost 9 months now, without second thoughts go for it. Decent mileage if you don't press the gas too hard. I am able to manage about 13KMPL in Delhi-NCR. Highways return about 15-16. My avg. run is about 60km a day. The turbo engine is powerful, you never feel any lack of power at any point. No complaints whatsoever. No DCT issues at all.

Hope this helps.
Hi Sudhir, thanks for your inputs. Those are great numbers for a turbo petrol, do you drive it in eco mode by any chance?

Originally Posted by yedukrishnan199 View Post
If you have a good amount of highway running, the Diesel would be fine, else there have been quite a few cases of DPF clogging and replacement required, so be aware of that, the DCT also has its fair share of issues like poor mileage and Transmission heating problems, The best option would be to avoid both and get the Naturally aspirated CVT, a simple engine-gearbox combo with none of these issues, albeit with lower power and torque. The Seltos, however, doesn't get the CVT in the top-trim, for that you would have to get its cousin the Creta, which has the SX(O) CVT available at 18.73 lakhs ex-showroom, a pretty good choice and worth considering too.

However if you are insistent on the Seltos, I feel the DCT should be your choice considering the hostile attitude of the government towards diesels and the stricter emission norms coming into play.
My Running will mostly be in the city, occasional out of town drives 1-2 times a month. You're right, the Seltos doesn't have the IVT in the top trims and I don't want to drop ADAS as a feature. Creta is a good option but SX (O) IVT will cost me more or less same as the GTX+ DCT with the discounts I'm getting on the Seltos. I think I'll go with the petrol. Thank you!

Originally Posted by Kxar07 View Post
Buying a Diesel may not be needed for the 700/800 km in a month.
I think 8-10k per year difference won't justify buying the diesel. I think I will go with the petrol.

Last edited by manson : 21st October 2024 at 13:43. Reason: Back to back posts.
Old 21st October 2024, 14:40   #2963

Sharing my 1st/1000 km service experience which happened in August as it was quite awful and the worst experience both in terms of customer service/experience and how they treat the cars in there.
I will just highlight four things that stood out to me:
1. At the end of the day I received my car with a noticeable dent on the front driver-side door.
2. SA kept the things I mentioned to work on pending till the 2nd day they kept the car for 2 days citing employee shortage and even after continuously reminding him in calls he kept ignoring all the things I mentioned to look after which was just rattling sound from the front seats and parcel tray and loose wires hanging below the engine guard.
These issues were not at all addressed and SA tried to deliver the car as it was and had the audacity to tell me to come the next day to fix the issues.
3. I saw them opening the bonnet to clean the air filter, one guy came and took the air filter to the side for cleaning and the other guy came and just started driving the car towards the bay without even putting the air filter or closing the bonnet just like that.
4. I received my car with incorrect tyre pressure it was around 40 at the front and 26 at the back, can’t they do this also properly?
Honestly, I have had a better service experience at VW/Mahiandra, I can’t even compare them with Maruti/Toyota.
At the end of the day, it just might be a bad service centre I have dealt with.
Old 21st October 2024, 15:26   #2964

TIA!
Please go through this thread before taking a plunge for Diesel. With ever increasing complexity and tightening environment norms, fuel cost alone should not be deciding factor in choosing it over petrol.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techn...ml#post5862467 (Kia Seltos DPF costs Rs. 1.57 lakhs to replace! Take proper care of your DPF)
Aviator_guy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st October 2024, 20:25   #2965

I drive a X - Line D AT with an ODO reading at 29500 kms. I hear a similar sound during heavy acceleration between 2500 - 3000 rpm. This sound is audible only when the car is in motion and can't be heard while in P or N. It started with loud ticking noise with some loss of power. I drove to the ASC (Shreenath KIA, Thane) to get it checked and after scanning they found an error code related to one of the fuel injectors and the code was cleared which reduced the sound considerably. On further inspection, Injector No. 4 was found to have a lot of back leak. The injector was replaced under warranty and the sound has reduced to a great extent but is still present.

I will be getting the other 3 injectors checked during the next service scheduled at 30000 kms.
Old 22nd October 2024, 15:08   #2966

Hi folks,

The inevitable happened. Encountered a Bengaluru auto driver coming from the wrong side of the road driving, like he's being chased by a horde of locusts (perfectly normal for this lot). In the course of taking avoiding action, I ended up scraping the rear left door on a concrete block that was jutting out on to the road. Pics for reference.
/rant

I believe Kia had an offer for Seltos purchased before Dec 31st 2023 wherein they'd repair a scratch free of cost within the first year. Now I know this is a whole lot more than just a scratch, but I'm wondering if some discount could be worked out in lieu of that offer. My 1yr/10k service is coming up soon and I'd love to know if anyone else has had any success in wrangling a deal from Kia. TIA!
2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-whatsapp-oct-22-image.jpeg  

Old 23rd October 2024, 10:19   #2967

Hi All
I have a Seltos GTX+ D AT driven for around 14K kms. I had topped up AdBlue in my car when my car was about to complete 10K kms. However, since then level of AdBlue in Instrument cluster hasn't moved at all. So, I was wondering whether anyone has any idea why it is not moving or something needs to be done to reset its level. I don't want to encounter a situation where AdBlue is nearing empty and I am out somewhere. Any help with this would be really helpful.

Thanks & Regards
Eragon
eragon92 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd October 2024, 10:52   #2968

Originally Posted by eragon92 View Post
Hi All
I have a Seltos GTX+ D AT driven for around 14K kms. I had topped up AdBlue in my car when my car was about to complete 10K kms. However, since then level of AdBlue in Instrument cluster hasn't moved at all. So, I was wondering whether anyone has any idea why it is not moving or something needs to be done to reset its level. I don't want to encounter a situation where AdBlue is nearing empty and I am out somewhere. Any help with this would be really helpful.

Thanks & Regards
Eragon
The same thing happened to me. I topped up AdBlu at 9,000km. I've run 23,000 km and the display shows more than half left. I do mostly highway drives so I assumed that might be the reason. I asked my SA. They told me that unless there is an error code, nothing can be done.
Old 23rd October 2024, 10:53   #2969

Originally Posted by blogslogger View Post
The same thing happened to me. I topped up AdBlu at 9,000km. I've run 23,000 km and the display shows more than half left. I do mostly highway drives so I assumed that might be the reason. I asked my SA. They told me that unless there is an error code, nothing can be done.
Thanks for responding. My problem is the level hasn't moved at all during the last 4k kms. If it was moving then it would have been fine I guess.
Old 23rd October 2024, 10:55   #2970

Originally Posted by eragon92 View Post
Thanks for responding. My problem is the level hasn't moved at all during the last 4k kms. If it was moving then it would have been fine I guess.
Mine hasn't moved for over 8500km. Until now, I thought my driving habits were spot on. . But there was a news snippet that said Seltos DPF system costs 1.7 lacs to replace. Maybe I have to push my SA for deeper diagnostics.