Old 13th January 2025, 15:30   #3226
src

Brief Review of Petrol GTX+ 15000 Kms

Red GTX+ Petrol delivered on 29-May-24 and manufactured in May 2024 .
Driven 15470 Kms till now.
Fuel: 142,082.81 INR.
Accessories: 141,703 INR (includes major expenses of PPF, sunroof and front film & dashcam).
Service: 4,876 INR.
Maintenance: 7,550 INR (includes alignment/rotation, puncture, washing).

Good
  • Extremely nice to drive in relaxed way on highways.
  • Overtaking is a breeze under any situations.
  • Brakes are superb and stops without drama.
  • Parking with 360 Camera is a child's play now.
Not So Good
  • Mileage drops drastically over triple digit speeds.
  • Adaptive Cruise Control is irritating and I prefer normal Cruise Control.
  • Permanent Switch required to DEACTIVATE Auto Start Stop.
  • Some hard plastics here and there.
Bad
  • Headlights .
  • Rear Parcel Tray Noise.
  • Bangalore Service Centers.
Some shots from recent Goa & Dhanushkodi.

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-fuel.jpg

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-goa.jpeg

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-dhanushkodi.jpeg

Last edited by aah78 : 15th January 2025 at 00:05. Reason: Pictures inserted in-line. [LIST] added. Typos. Please review Announcement section for posting rules.
src is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 13th January 2025, 16:14   #3227

Re: Brief Review of Petrol GTX+ 15000 Kms

Note from Support: Please don't quote large posts entirely. Quote relevant sections only.

Originally Posted by src View Post
Red GTX+ Petrol delivered on 29-May-24 and manufactured in May 2024 .
src, thanks for your detailed post on your car. It really helps to hear about the real-life experience—the little things like how it handles on daily drives or long trips. Life’s a journey, and your insights made a big difference in understanding what to expect. Appreciate you sharing! I see you've listed a few "bads" about it, but I’ve got some solutions that could definitely help cut that list down! The noise is not due to rear parcel tray. Kia fixed it's parcel tray rattle issue in 2023 facelifted Seltos. After a lot of following up with the ASC, they did "jugaad" fixes in my Seltos 2023 and it went away .The noise is from the 60-40 seat backrest rollers moving on hard metal frame while driving the car. It's annoying and was driving me crazy when no one was sitting on the backseats. Turns out, the 40 seat backrest was causing most of it because it's lighter when empty. The service guys at ASC figured out that the rollers at the bottom of the backrest were rubbing against the metal when the rear seats where unoccupied, making that annoying noise while driving the car. They removed rear 60-40 seat backrests, taped the rollers with insulation tape, sprayed some WD-40 for smoother movement, and refitted it. It's a bit of a Jugaad but everything fits tightly now and it’s been totally quiet ever since! NVH levels are very good in Kia vehicles, and even a slight annoying unwanted noise from the interiors of the car is irritating most of times. Try this fix and ask your ASC to do it for you. I am sharing images for reference.

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-1-3.jpg

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-1-2.jpg

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-1-4.jpg

Seat backrest bottom rollers are taped a couple of rounds with insulation tape, greased and lubricated with WD-40, this makes them sit tight in the frame and the annoying noise is gone !!!

Last edited by aah78 : 15th January 2025 at 00:06. Reason: KIN - Kia. EDIT: See note.
@ppy.tbhp is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 14th January 2025, 09:36   #3228

Originally Posted by src View Post
Welcome GTlists to Team BHP.
Really feel sad and sorry to hear this.

Meanwhile who is this KIA ASS Dealer so that we are aware of them.
Try checking out from another ASS if it helps.
Another suggestion would be to check some FNG and asses the issues.

Even I also got a Seltos in last week of May'24 and has clocked over 15k and no problems yet till day.
Hi, src. I purchased the car at PPS KIA, Mysore Road and have been getting them serviced there ever since. Both the Mysore Road branch and Arvind Mills is owned by PPS and the experience remains on par between the two which is unsatisfactory. It might be worth noting that I am 24, which might be a reason for the SA's being so dismissive.

I owned a 2021 Hyundai i20 1.0T DCT before this and service at Pavan Hyundai was top notch. Had no complaints at all during the 3 years of my ownership. I went with KIA expecting a similar level of service as both of them happen to be sisters companies.

Are you aware of any good KIA Service centres in Bangalore?

Have you also noticed any clattering sound during upshifts or increased RPM for 40-60sec during startups? I don't just mean cold starts in the morning. I would have driven the car for 10km in the morning and I'd experience the same increased RPM if I were to start the car at noon.

Originally Posted by @ppy.tbhp View Post
hello GTlists_3131, I can’t tell you how much I relate to this. My experience has been pretty similar—the Kia ASC just seems to lack the technical knowledge and skill to properly diagnose or fix issues. They’re always in such a hurry to close things out that they end up brushing things under the rug instead of actually addressing the problems. It’s beyond frustrating, especially when all of us are buying brand-new cars and still facing these quality issues after paying upwards of 20 lakhs in India. For this price, you’d expect at least basic reliability and decent service when the vehicle is new and is covered in standard warranty, but it feels like we’re constantly fighting to get what should already be standard. I totally understand how draining this must be for you, especially with the repeated visits and the same issues resurfacing. Have you thought about escalating this to someone higher in Kia? Sometimes that’s the only way to get ASC to take things seriously. Those engine management errors with no clear explanation? That’s just unacceptable, especially when they’re so vague about what’s actually being done. My Seltos threw check engine light intermittently twice on the dash, It went away form the dash in couple of Kms of driving to reach ASC, I have visited ASC for this multiple times, they could never find any cause till date or fix anything that will prevent it from happening again in future. They run scans to check codes moved to history by the ECM and that "it happens sometimes and is normal," that's actually a concern. It might seem routine, but it usually points to an ongoing issue that hasn’t been fully fixed. It’s not just something to ignore—it needs further diagnosis to prevent bigger problems later. I’ve had my fair share of issues, too—everything from poorly diagnosed problems, incorrect data being recorded and displayed in Kia connect application with 'Engine management system abnormal' prompts intermittently throwing up without any real issues in car while driving, to repeat visits that just waste time and money. It’s mentally exhausting. I really hope you can escalate this to a regional service manager and Kia customer care. Sometimes pushing things to a higher level can make a difference.

Attachment 2712351

Attachment 2712350

Check engine light ON without any issues in Car while driving, It turns OFF automatically after 7 KM of normal driving !
We also own a T-Roc in the family which has a 1.5T engine mated to a 7DCT. I have faced no problems such as unwanted vibrations during each startup. KIA ASC dismissives these complains as normal when brought up. It doesn't make sense that I need to wait a min before driving off every time I start the car. We live in a tropical country where temp in Bangalore never drops below 13C. How is it considered a cold start when I am starting the car at 4pm in the evening after driving a good 10km in the morning and when the ambient temp is 29-32C?

From my understanding there are 3 types of engine oil in the market - Mineral, Semi-synthetic and fully synthetic. During my recent 10k km service I noticed that KIA uses a Servo Superior 0w20 oil. I was told by the SA that it wasn't fully synthetic which makes me believe that it's semi-synthetic.

Hyundai uses Shell Helix fully synthetic oil for their cars. Why is Kia using a sub par engine oil especially in a dusty environment with traffic conditions such as India?

Last edited by Aditya : 14th January 2025 at 16:44. Reason: Quoted post edited
GTlists_3131 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th January 2025, 11:08   #3229

Re: 2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review

Originally Posted by GTlists_3131 View Post
Have you also noticed any clattering sound during upshifts or increased RPM for 40-60sec during startups? I don't just mean cold starts in the morning. I would have driven the car for 10km in the morning and I'd experience the same increased RPM if I were to start the car at noon.
hello GTlists_3131, I’ve noticed something similar with my car too since the start of ownership—especially that weird clatter sound during cold starts or even after a short drive when starting again later. It's unusual noise, I’ve been wondering if it’s something with the the engine timing, turbo or maybe the ECU adjusting for temperature or something. I have enquired about this unusual noise to Kia ASC and Kia over numerous phone calls and several e-mails since the start, as usual they have no clue why it's there. Kia ASC always fools around that I have a BS VI Phase-2 1.5 L T-GDI engine and they have no similar PDI car to compare and see if this unusual noise is present in newer engines that comply with BS VI Phase-2 standards for emissions from the factory. I actually recorded an audio clip on my phone of my car’s cold start. Kindly listen to it with headphones and let me know if it sounds like the same clatter you’re talking about. Maybe we can figure this out together and get rid of this unusual noise since it's recurring now while driving as well.

Seltos BS VI P2 1.5 TGDI cold start clatter.zip

We also own a T-Roc in the family which has a 1.5T engine mated to a 7DCT. I have faced no problems such as unwanted vibrations during each startup. KIA ASC dismissives these complains as normal when brought up. It doesn't make sense that I need to wait a min before driving off every time I start the car. We live in a tropical country where temp in Bangalore never drops below 13C. How is it considered a cold start when I am starting the car at 4pm in the evening after driving a good 10km in the morning and when the ambient temp is 29-32C?
From my understanding there are 3 types of engine oil in the market - Mineral, Semi-synthetic and fully synthetic. During my recent 10k km service I noticed that KIA uses a Servo Superior 0w20 oil. I was told by the SA that it wasn't fully synthetic which makes me believe that it's semi-synthetic.
Hyundai uses Shell Helix fully synthetic oil for their cars. Why is Kia using a sub par engine oil especially in a dusty environment with traffic conditions such as India?
About the engine oil, it really feels like KIA is cutting corners to save costs by using semi-synthetic oil instead of fully synthetic. In driving conditions like ours, with all the dust and heavy traffic, fully synthetic oil would definitely perform better and protect the engine longer. The worst part is, we have to stick to whatever they specify in the service schedule so we don’t mess up the warranty. I’m honestly tempted to switch to fully synthetic oil myself next time, even if it’s an extra cost since I have a 1.5 L T-GDI engine. One thing I’ve realized, though, is that it’s good to let the engine warm up a bit during a cold start. It helps the oil circulate properly and ensures everything inside the engine is lubricated, especially for T-GDI engines like ours that really depend on good oil flow. Another thing I’ve started doing is not shutting off the engine immediately after stopping the car. Letting the turbo cool down a bit before turning it off helps keep the oil temperatures in check and is better for the engine’s long-term health. These little things really do make a difference for the life and performance of T-GDI engines. ECM tries to maintain oil flow and temperatures at all times so is it considered a cold start when you are starting the car at 4pm in the evening after driving a good 10km in the morning and when the ambient temp is 29-32C. This happens even later in the day after you’ve already driven 10 km. It has everything to do with the BSVI Phase 2 tuning in Kia’s T-GDI engines compared to your T-Roc’s older system. Still, that doesn’t justify them skimping on the oil quality!

Last edited by Aditya : 14th January 2025 at 16:44. Reason: KIN - Kia
Old 14th January 2025, 11:38   #3230

Originally Posted by @ppy.tbhp View Post
hello GTlists_3131, I’ve noticed something similar with my car too since the start of ownership—especially that weird clatter sound during cold starts or even after a short drive when starting again later. It's unusual noise, I’ve been wondering if it’s something with the the engine timing, turbo or maybe the ECU adjusting for temperature or something. I have enquired about this unusual noise to Kia ASC and Kia over numerous phone calls and several e-mails since the start, as usual they have no clue why it's there. Kia ASC always fools around that I have a BS VI Phase-2 1.5 L T-GDI engine and they have no similar PDI car to compare and see if this unusual noise is present in newer engines that comply with BS VI Phase-2 standards for emissions from the factory. I actually recorded an audio clip on my phone of my car’s cold start. Kindly listen to it with headphones and let me know if it sounds like the same clatter you’re talking about. Maybe we can figure this out together and get rid of this unusual noise since it's recurring now while driving as well.
The sound is similar to what I hear but it's only intermittent in mine. Attaching an audio file of the same here. It seems to come somewhere near the driver side footwell area in the engine bay. I have noticed this sound in a Verna 1.5Tgdi engine too.

I have been getting 5000km oil changes. I got my first oil change at 1000km. 2nd one at 5000km and now the third one at 10,000km as my usage falls into the Severe Driving conditions under the Owner's manual. I have been thinking of buying just the oil filter from Kia and getting the oil change done using Shell Helix 0w20 at an FNG. But I've already paid for the MCP.
File Type: zip Engine clatter.m4a.zip (60.0 KB, 10 views)

Last edited by Aditya : 14th January 2025 at 16:42. Reason: Quoted post edited
GTlists_3131 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th January 2025, 12:15   #3231

The sound is similar to what I hear but it's only intermittent in mine. Attaching an audio file of the same here. It seems to come somewhere near the driver side footwell area in the engine bay. I have noticed this sound in a Verna 1.5Tgdi engine too.

I have been getting 5000km oil changes. I got my first oil change at 1000km. 2nd one at 5000km and now the third one at 10,000km as my usage falls into the Severe Driving conditions under the Owner's manual. I have been thinking of buying just the oil filter from Kia and getting the oil change done using Shell Helix 0w20 at an FNG. But I've already paid for the MCP.
The sound is intermittent in mine while driving when the engine has reached it's optimum working temperature and is at a certain load condition. At idle cold start, it goes away in some time when rpms normalize and stay stable under 1000 mark. It seems to come from somewhere near the driver side footwell area in the engine bay in my car too. Kia ASC checked the turbo actuator which has some play with the fittings when engine is cold to touch. It's the same engine shared with Verna 1.5-TGDI. GTlists_3131, thanks for following up with the audio sample. Kia ASC has also recorded a video evidence of this unusual Nosie from my engine months back, no resolution has been provided till date. These unusual noises with random intermittent check engine light ON and OFF on dash automatically are really confusing and reflect on the poor quality control and quality assurance practices being followed by Kia and Kia ASC in India. Kia ASC always try to get rid of such issues by saying they have no similar PDI car to compare and check if this noise is present in new engines from the factory. They don't even take efforts to check see and do any sort of diagnosis apart from scanning for errors which was done only after i insisted and made them do it for my satisfaction as a vehicle owner.

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-om-oil.jpg

Seltos owners manual clearly states Semi-synthetic as NOT RECOMMENDED Please recheck Servo Superior 0w20 oil, if it wasn't fully synthetic.

Last edited by Aditya : 14th January 2025 at 16:41. Reason: KIN - Kia
@ppy.tbhp is online now   Received Infraction
Old 14th January 2025, 15:49   #3232

None of the garages (even big one's) in Pune were open to installing these. Meanwhile, I was in contact with Genome's distributor and explained him my situation. Just like other shops initially even he declined me saying they cannot install other lamps, either purchase the same from them and then install or install it from somewhere else.

Fortunately I was able to convince him and he shared me Genome's technician's number. He came and toiled for around 4-5 hours. Turns out it was an extremely tedious process. I was worried if all the ADAS/front parking sensors/Camera etc would work as intended, but the technician reassured me about it. Must say he was extremely skilled person, as he took enough precautions at each step, and did a fantastic job. Here are the results

Hello, I am also planning to install headlamp projector along with fog lamps projector which I already have with me. I request you to share me the genome's installer contact as I am worried that other garages won't be ready to install it. It's a genuine request as I am stuck in middle of what to do next???
Old 14th January 2025, 23:51   #3233

Originally Posted by asivan View Post
Looking at getting a HTK+ but was told by a dealer that this model is discontinued? Does anyone know if this is true? On a similar note, can anyone recommend a good dealer for Kia in Noida?
I would suggest to go for HTK (O) which is being recently launched, if you haven't booked/purchased the car.

Also, Check the prices from all KIA showroom in Noida & Ghaziabad and enquire online through the official KIA dealership website. This will give you advantage in getting the best price/discount/offers. They all will provide you with the best possible discount/offers if you will buy from them. This has worked for me.

Last edited by aah78 : 15th January 2025 at 00:02. Reason: Quote trimmed.
Old 15th January 2025, 04:23   #3234

It is advisable to continue scheduled service at the Kia ASC if your car is still under warranty. You may do oil change over and above regular service at FNG if you like but don't skip scheduled services.

Last edited by Aviator_guy : 15th January 2025 at 04:30.
Aviator_guy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th January 2025, 11:08   #3235

Does anyone know in 3rd Party PDI service provider in pune. Please let me know how was the service if availed any. Also, the KIA dealer is asking me to do complete payment before getting the PDI done, though he has also mentioned that RTO registration will only be done post PDI. Please advise.
Old 15th January 2025, 11:13   #3236

Three Months / 6000 kms Update

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20250115_084039.jpg

Our D AT Seltos Xline recently completed three months and 6k kms and it's been a good ownership experience. Here are a few observations:

1. Performance: The car is absolutely enjoyable to drive in all driving conditions. From b2b city traffic to highway runs, this engine-transmission combo just never disappoints. One of the great things about it how effortlessly and smoothly it performs at slow speeds with enough grunt for overtakes and quick maneuvers. Honestly, this engine transmission combo was never our first choice, but I couldn't be any happier after living with it for these many months and kms.

2. DPF: Perhaps a bigger deterrent for anyone considering a BS6 diesel. With our usage (a considerable amount of slow moving city traffic, occasional short distance drives, and then equal spirited highway drives), we are confident, and hopeful too, that we can keep things in check and doesn't let DPF become a problem. We have come across quite a few owners who have been driving a BS6 diesel for a long time without any DPF related issues, including a few dear members on the forum, and that gives us a lot of confidence. As a good practice, we do make sure that the car is driven on open roads more often, thankfully we don't have to make any extra efforts for it since our nature of work regularly takes us to open roads.

3. Comfort Level: This is one of the rare chinks in the car's armour. The suspensions are stiff and not as plush as our 2nd gen Creta. There are noticable vertical movements on rough patches/speed breakers etc even with less than recommended tyre pressure. Then the seats, both front and rear, aren't the most accommodating ones. Is it the angle/design/cushioning? Honestly, we don't know! But they are not as comfortable as other modern cars that we have owned in the recent past.

4. Fuel Efficiency: first thing first, we don't care too much about the fuel efficiency, as long as it's not very low. I'm happy to report though that even with our usage, the average efficiency hovers between 15 and 16 kmpl (in heavy traffic, it returns ~12 kmpl, in moderate city traffic, it returns ~ 16 kmpl, and on open roads where we drive at higher RPMs, it returns ~19 kmpl). Another thing that we recently discovered that the efficiency on the MID is ~1.25 kmpl higher than the tankful method. Consumed 40.28 litre diesel for 638.5 kms which is 15.85 kmpl while the MID shows 17.1 kmpl. Not surprised though as it's with most of the cars.

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20250104_115218.jpg

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20250104_114253.jpg

5. Paint maintenance: The black paint work, while it looks smashing when all clean and shiny, it can be a royal pain in the neck when it comes to its maintenance. But we knew what we were getting into when we decided on it. So far, we haven't done any PPF or coating. We have been maintaining it with regular dusting with the Jopasu car duster, and cleaning as needed at home (we make sure to use high quality microfiber clothes) and occasionally getting it washed and waxed at detailing stores. Has been working well (covered parking helps) but we can see swirl marks and minor scratches. A good quality PPF would help, but the idea of spending another lakh or so for it and having to replace it in ~5 year time bothers us. We would have done it had we purchased the Xline with the mattee paint though. One of the dear members had suggested the Turtle Ceramic Black Wax spray that we definitely want to try, it has some really good reviews and feedback.

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-screenshot_20250115_103205_amazon.jpg

https://amzn.in/d/98Rs3SE

6. ADAS: As reported earlier, the ADAS has worked brilliantly in all conditions except this one time when the car was being driven through dense fog and heavy dew, and suddenly the Lane Keep Assist got disabled temporarily with the following message (taken from the owners manual) flashing on the instrument cluster.

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-screenshot_20250104_084954_drive.jpg

Couldn't click any pictures on the MID as it went away in a few minutes before I could pull over. The car has been driven multiple times in similiar conditions, but this happened only once. Seems to be an expected behaviour in certain operational conditions.

The Seltos is not a perfect car, nothing in life is. But it does offer you a lot for your money - beautiful interiors and quality, excellent engine and transmission, reliability, a great feature list and ofcourse those sharp looks. There are some concerns wrt DRLs/lights and I really hope it doesn't turn into a major headache in the future after the warranty runs out. With our experience with Hyundai, which has been good for most part of it, hopefully Kia will be equally good and won't disappoint us.

A few random pictures:

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20250104_081521.jpg

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20250101_091910.jpg

2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review-20250104_090809.jpg
Col Mehta is offline   (24) Thanks
Old 15th January 2025, 11:21   #3237

Originally Posted by Col Mehta View Post
Three Months / 6000 kms Update

Attachment 2713291

Our D AT Seltos Xline recently completed three months and 6k kms and it's been a good ownership experience. Here are a few observations:
Good to hear some positive points on Seltos .

Your car is definitely a head turner, specially coz it's black.

About the suspension, what I have researched is basically with 18 inches tyres they have made it a bit stiff, with 17 inches it's somewhat on softer side but not as soft as creta for sure which I have experienced in my test drives.

Once again congratulations for the 6k milestone

Last edited by KarthikK : 15th January 2025 at 11:23. Reason: Trimming the quoted post to the relevant portions for better readability
Mayank07 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th January 2025, 02:31   #3238

Originally Posted by Mayank07 View Post
Does anyone know in 3rd Party PDI service provider in pune. Please let me know how was the service if availed any. Also, the KIA dealer is asking me to do complete payment before getting the PDI done, though he has also mentioned that RTO registration will only be done post PDI. Please advise.
Hey Mayank, You can try zekardo, I did my seltos's pdi through them. DO NOT do full payment before pdi. Just tell them you'll cancel your booking if they're denying.
Babayaga_g007 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th January 2025, 02:50   #3239

Nice, he’s trying to secure his funds before you assuring yourself a fair buy. Don’t give in. If he pushes for a payment, might be time to consider another dealer as well.
SixPistons is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 16th January 2025, 09:12   #3240

the KIA dealer is asking me to do complete payment before getting the PDI done, though he has also mentioned that RTO registration will only be done post PDI. Please advise.
Nope. Full payment should be on the VIN number after PDI of the car.

Are you getting any discounts?
naru80 is offline   (1) Thanks