Old 13th February 2025, 14:08   #3286

Re: 2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review

Similar behaviour in my GTX+ DAT. I guess it’s a normal when parked on a slope.
Old 13th February 2025, 14:22   #3287

Originally Posted by BhayanaV View Post
Same behavior in my IVT, seems it is normal when moved to P on a slope.
I am not sure if it is normal. To me it really seems a bit out of normal. A couple of times I feared that if I had applied a bit more force, I might break something.

Is this specific and limited to Seltos or does it also happen in other automatic models of Kia/Hyundai/others?
GTX+ is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th February 2025, 14:22   #3288

Originally Posted by GTX+ View Post
Have observed a strange issue in my Oct 2023 FL Seltos GTX+.

The load goes on to the Parking (P) pin when you do this on a slope.
One should always (try to) press the brake pedal > put car in N> pull handbrake> leave brake pedal > weight shifts to handbrake > press brake pedal again and shift to P.

This process is mechanically empathetic; many of my friends have never used the handbrake but their cars are fine so who knows

Last edited by Turbanator : 13th February 2025 at 14:35. Reason: Quoted post trimmed.
rayjaycleoful is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 13th February 2025, 14:29   #3289

Originally Posted by rayjaycleoful View Post
The load goes on to the Parking (P) pin when you do this on a slope.
One should always (try to) press the brake pedal > put car in N> pull handbrake> leave brake pedal > weight shifts to handbrake > press brake pedal again and shift to P.

This process is mechanically empathetic; many of my friends have never used the handbrake but their cars are fine so who knows
Thank you. Will try these steps next time I park on a slope.
Old 13th February 2025, 17:34   #3290

Hi all, my Seltos GTX+ was due for its 1 year service, and I was noticing significant fogging inside the headlights along with slight yellow tint. Highlighted this issue to the service advisor and grumbled about paying 22+ lakhs for an inferior product. He took away my feedback and after discussing with Kia, agreed to get the headlights replaced under warranty. Did not create any fuss. Expecting to get a call from him in the next 10-12 days once the new headlights arrive. I was not expecting this process to be so smooth but seems Kia has finally acknowledged manufacturing issues with these headlights.
PS: Casually asked about the price of a new one, was quoted over INR 40k
adidube is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th February 2025, 21:16   #3291

Originally Posted by GTX+ View Post
Have observed a strange issue in my Oct 2023 FL Seltos GTX+.

It happens only when the car is parked, front up, on an incline/ramp, even if not a steep one, but those moderate slopes outside a building. Do not face it when the car is parked on level surface. The issue is that when I try to move the gear from P to R, it does not move normally. I have to apply extra force and then it moves with a noticeable jerk, as if it was stuck. I have experienced this now for almost 8-9 times, so surely is not a one off case.

What can be the reason for this? Anyone else has experienced it? Since its not impacting the running of my car or the performance, I am not going to the service center just yet, but will raise it during the next service. But if the members think there might be some serious underlying issue, I will get it checked ASAP.

Kindly adivce. Thanks in advance.
In our i20 (DCT) and Seltos FL 2024 (DCT), we have made a practice to apply parking brake first and then move to P. Reason, based on what I’ve experienced and then read: without engaging parking brake, if you put the vehicle in P from Neutral/any other gear, the stress point of the vehicle moves to the P Gear, has the responsibility of bearing the vehicle’s load, therefore the load falling onto the transmission system instead of the parking brake.

I don’t know if I’ve made much sense above, it’s generally easier to explain this in person. Though, I conducted an experiment on a nearly flat surface to confirm this difference (and I could feel the difference).

Move the vehicle from Reverse/Drive gear to N, and then:
  1. Press the Brake pedal, engage the parking brake, release the brake pedal. Engagement of the Parking Brake is felt. Thereafter, move the vehicle from N to P. You should not feel the weight shifting at all as it is held by the brake already. the stress point moves to the parking brake.
  2. Press the Brake pedal, don’t engage the parking brake. Then, move the vehicle from N to P. You should feel the weight shifting(again, a very slight jerk, stress point moves to the Parking Gear)

I hope I’ve made some sense, if so, please do try it. If not, please share, I will try to re simplify.

While I have applied this to a DCT, I think the above should be applicable to every Automatic/Automated Transmission System out there.

Last edited by SixPistons : 13th February 2025 at 21:27.
SixPistons is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 13th February 2025, 22:46   #3292

Originally Posted by Raghav07 View Post
Is the HTK+ the only model offering Turbo IMT Engine-Gearbox combo? Can someone confirm?
I was checking for MY24 stock with some dealers and got this confirmation that iMT is discontinued on all diesel variants. iMT is solely available in one variant across the lineup on HTK+ Turbo petrol now. Kia is going to lose some Seltos sales to Creta due to this reshuffle again in less than 3 months.

Kia India has no clue what to do to boost Seltos sales. Seltos had right engine and all gear box combinations when it was launched in 2019 and now the feature spread and engine+gearbox combinations are nothing great for people to select. In addition Kia is the only company which has been increasing their prices by 6k every 3-4 months. Mid variants of Seltos do not feel VFM any more even though they get some more soft touch points as compared to Creta mid variants.
kgt.v8 is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 14th February 2025, 09:46   #3293

Originally Posted by kgt.v8 View Post
I was checking for MY24 stock with some dealers and got this confirmation that iMT is discontinued on all diesel variants. iMT is solely available in one variant across the lineup on HTK+ Turbo petrol now..
Thanks for the confirmation. Diesel iMT was quite frugal but due to low sales got discontinued. Wish it was still on sale.

At launch, Kia had a GTK variant, which was like a HTK+ but with the turbo petrol and LED lights, and was manual only. Maybe they can reintroduce that instead of the pointless HTK+ variant. Just a suggestion. It can compete with Creta N Line N8.

Kia needs more variants with turbo petrol to compete with Creta which has 3(including N Line).
Old 15th February 2025, 10:30   #3294

Originally Posted by SixPistons View Post

Move the vehicle from Reverse/Drive gear to N, and then:
  1. Press the Brake pedal, engage the parking brake, release the brake pedal. Engagement of the Parking Brake is felt. Thereafter, move the vehicle from N to P. You should not feel the weight shifting at all as it is held by the brake already. the stress point moves to the parking brake.
I follow this diligently in my IVT while parking and it's a steep slope for me. Shift to N, press the brake pedal, pull up the handbrake , release the brake pedal, shift to P. And while reversing down, I press the brakes, shift to N, release the handbrakes, let the car come down on it's own and move to R only when I need the sensors to kick in.
Old 15th February 2025, 10:56   #3295

Originally Posted by SixPistons View Post
[*] Press the Brake pedal, engage the parking brake, release the brake pedal. Engagement of the Parking Brake is felt. Thereafter, move the vehicle from N to P. You should not feel the weight shifting at all as it is held by the brake already. the stress point moves to the parking brake.
I follow this practice of pulling the EPB before slotting into P. But I didn't see the need to press the brake pedal for this, except when the vehicle is on a steep incline.
Old 15th February 2025, 11:13   #3296

Agreed. The brake pedal is mainly because I am in Delhi and generally most places I end up parking on the road side or narrow lanes are places having slight incline or low margin of space wherever parked.

So it’s a habit now.

Last edited by SixPistons : 15th February 2025 at 11:14.
Old 15th February 2025, 21:36   #3297

I had test driven diesel iMT Seltos last year. There was no lag in city bumper to bumper traffic. I got to test the car by stopping midway on 15 degree incline. Hill hold worked well, the car did not roll back and with slight throttle the Seltos moved forward without any drama. The dealerships do not have Petrol iMT for test drive and I’m getting some offer on petrol iMT.

Does anyone here own Petrol iMT and can provide any feedback on drivability within city as well as highways with Petrol iMT?
Is it worth buying car that is about 8 months old and could have been used as display car?
Old 16th February 2025, 15:21   #3298

Originally Posted by kgt.v8 View Post

Does anyone here own Petrol iMT and can provide any feedback on drivability within city as well as highways with Petrol iMT?
Is it worth buying car that is about 8 months old and could have been used as display car?
Hi kgt.v8, I drive a 1.5L T-GDI 6-speed iMT petrol Seltos, and it’s been an absolute joy to drive. I've racked up over 20k KM with zero issues in 12 months of ownership. The iMT makes city driving a breeze, giving you the automatic convenience without losing that manual feel. On the highway, the turbo kicks in nicely, and overtakes are smooth—seriously, it’s fun!

As for buying an 8-month-old display car, I’d say it depends on how it was used. If it was just sitting in the showroom, then it should be fine, but if it was a test-drive car, I'd be cautious. One thing I’d recommend is getting the ASC to drain and replace the iMT actuator fluid before you even think about test-driving it.

I had a bit of an issue with the ASC myself. They completely missed changing the iMT actuator fluid, which is supposed to be replaced every 20k KM. The Service Manager at KIA ASC tried to argue with me that it didn’t need replacing until 120k KM, which is just wrong. I ended up having to make them read the owner’s manual of the Seltos iMT before they finally agreed to change the fluid. The craziest part? They were totally clueless about the type and quantity of fluid required. They couldn't drain old fluid from the reservoir. They actually told me that KIA hadn’t informed them about it.

I feel bad for other iMT owners, man. It’s pretty clear that the KIA ASCs are negligent and completely uninformed about the cars they’re servicing. They couldn’t even drain the actuator fluid properly and refill it in an orderly manner. Honestly, it's kind of scary thinking about how many people might face issues down the road because of this kind of negligence.

Last edited by @ppy.tbhp : 16th February 2025 at 15:26.
@ppy.tbhp is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 17th February 2025, 10:10   #3299

This query is for 1.5 MT Petrol N/A.

Is there some kind of hill hold feature that gets activated during the press of clutch - engaging the first gear - releasing the clutch?

If not, then why do I get a feel of auto hold when doing the above step on not so flat surface?
Old 18th February 2025, 14:32   #3300

Hello everyone,

An update on my GTX+ Turbo Petrol DCT after driving almost 16,000km in 16 months. My mileage share has changed slightly to around 70-30, highway-city, from the last update (almost 90-10):

Overall feedback:
- Continues to be really smooth and powerful to drive. In the city, it's always on fully automatic mode while on highways its mostly manual with me changing the gear with the paddle shifters. Thoroughly enjoy driving it.
- Did an ECU update about 1,000km back and I didn't notice any considerable change in the mileage or in the performance.

Observations and tasks:
- Before the update, I did notice that the engine would rev up to about 2-2.1k rpm and stay there for about a second, before changing from 2nd to 3rd. This is continuing even after the update. With a light foot the engine noise is pronounced but under a medium to heavy foot, it's not that noticeable
- The engine oil has become quite dark and viscous, and I wanted them to change it, paid of course. The SA says that this is normal but I'm not sure how Kia has managed to design a turbo engine that runs 10,000km on mineral oil efficiently, especially in our conditions. He says that we should trust the service manual and not risk doing our own service events.
- I've noticed a rattling/slight clattering sound on the lower RHS of the steering column/dashboard whenever the vehicle goes through a pothole or over a bump. Checked everything possible but still unable to identify it.
- Got an air purifier error; the light dimming control is blinking red; most likely a filter replacement warning. Will have to change this on my way past the dealer.
- Wheel rotation/alignment/balancing needed since it's been over 5,000km since the change. Hopefully the alignment issue gets sorted out.

Hoping the vehicle continues its smooth and reliable operation.

Last edited by qr20de : 18th February 2025 at 14:33. Reason: Missed content