Old 28th August 2023, 16:22   #466

Re: 2023 Kia Seltos Facelift Review

Originally Posted by VigneshMC View Post
I used mobile number to try to login to this , but it says number not registered
Well, in that case, you might have to contact your SA to see what's happening. It took around 72 hours before I could login. But as I mentioned earlier, don't worry too much as you aren't really missing out on anything. The dashboard is pretty useless.

Originally Posted by Mr Anderson View Post
Went for a PDI of my Xline 6AT.
Unrofunatley I won't be getting the car so soon because I refused to buy the exorbitantly priced insurance from them.
What third-party insurance are you planning to go with?
Have you done the calculations on how much are you saving?
Have you considered meeting the insurance guy at the dealer and ask if he has any other options with lower charges? Understand what add-ons are they providing and see if you can get rid of unwanted ones to bring down the cost.

Last edited by Sufficient_shop : 28th August 2023 at 16:27. Reason: multi quote
Sufficient_shop is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th August 2023, 16:42   #467

Originally Posted by Sufficient_shop View Post
Well, in that case, you might have to contact your SA to see what's happening. It took around 72 hours before I could login. But as I mentioned earlier, don't worry too much as you aren't really missing out on anything. The dashboard is pretty useless.

What third-party insurance are you planning to go with?
Have you done the calculations on how much are you saving?
Have you considered meeting the insurance guy at the dealer and ask if he has any other options with lower charges? Understand what add-ons are they providing and see if you can get rid of unwanted ones to bring down the cost.

A very close friend owns his own insurance company. We get all our insurances done form him. The exact cover as given by kia costs 30000 less if I get it done through him. The only drawback would be no cashless service but I am ok with that because we get priority reimbursement the next day or after two days. It makes no sense to get robbed by 30000 more.

Last edited by Mr Anderson : 28th August 2023 at 16:55.
Mr Anderson is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th August 2023, 16:58   #468

Originally Posted by shamanth View Post
Finally got the Seltos GT Diesel Automatic delivered today at KIA JSP BLR. Upgrading from Nexon AMT diesel, it’s a pretty non-jerky smooth drive. Lot of features and ADAS features to explore.
Congratulations Shamanth on the Black beauty. Cant wait to hear your ownership experience

Originally Posted by ujwalp01 View Post
My dealer (Epitome Yelahanka) had clearly mentioned that insurance, accessories, MCP are completely my personal choice and not compulsory.
Dealers in Mumbai are making it compulsory to buy all of this from them. Good to see it not happening elsewhere

Last edited by libranof1987 : 28th August 2023 at 17:12. Reason: Merging back-to-back posts. Kindly use the Edit/Quote+ functionality to quote multiple posts.
ssoni.1411 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th August 2023, 17:59   #469

Went for a PDI of my Xline 6AT.
====
Don't blame us if you don't get the car because the availability is very limited blaah blaah blaah. What do you guys think?
Unless you need the car urgently, you should wait for 22 Sep.

There is a possibility that Kia may not allot you the car on 22 Sep (which I believe is a tentative date), but even in a pessimistic scenario, you should get your car by October end.

But, nearer to 22 September, you can start following up with Kia India via email unless you hear positive news about your delivery by then.
skywalker18 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th August 2023, 02:47   #470

Originally Posted by gauravpoddar View Post
Oh, that's why you got it early. I booked a GtX+ diesel with a K code from Celica in sector 5- they have been a little casual.

Have fun driving- Also do share experience driving with the Yoko tyres. Did you get them upgraded also from Eastern KIA only or some tyre shop?

Yeah you are right, i had booked at Celica KIA too. While booking they had Xline Diesel 6AT ready but since i wanted Petrol 7DCT they told me to wait for 20 days. But after 20 days no calls from them, so i told them to cancel my booking as i was getting my delivery from Eatern KIA. But strangely next day Celica KIA calls me & updates me that 7DCT is available and would i like to go ahead which i politely declined as i was getting delivery next day.

Since i have driven only 200kms and also i'm carefully babying the car till 1000kms as i want to do proper running in of the engine as per KIA Manual, by keeping RPM's less than 4k and varying the speed, hence it's too early to comment on anything but i do feel added grip and good braking on the YOKO'S than the test drive car which i had taken after booking. Also comfort has increased a bit but suspension is still a bit stiff which is good for handling & corners but bad roads and speed breakers are amplified inside cabin.
GT007 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th August 2023, 12:58   #471

Originally Posted by skywalker18 View Post
Unless you need the car urgently, you should wait for 22 Sep.

There is a possibility that Kia may not allot you the car on 22 Sep (which I believe is a tentative date), but even in a pessimistic scenario, you should get your car by October end.

But, nearer to 22 September, you can start following up with Kia India via email unless you hear positive news about your delivery by then.
Finally had to resort to "chacha vidhayak hai humare" (My Uncle is a legislator) to get them in line. One phone call and their tone changed completely. They offered me to get the insurance at discounted rate from them which even then was quite higher than the market rate.

But I chose settle on the middle ground and I am taking the delivery of the car today evening. Let's see how it goes.

Last edited by Axe77 : 8th September 2023 at 07:40. Reason: Minor typo. English translation included.
Mr Anderson is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 29th August 2023, 13:44   #472

They offered me to get the insurance at discounted rate from them which even then was quite higher than the market rate.
I was offered the same. On the dealer's insistence, I sat down with their insurance representative, who explained all the features and add-ons they would provide, which were the same as what the Acko agent offered (online). The guy also tried to intimidate me by saying that other insurance providers offer increasingly lower insurance claim amounts on 2nd and subsequent claims, which the Acko agent unequivocally refuted. Ultimately, I felt no point in going with the dealer-provided insurance. For me, the difference was about 40k, and the dealer's insurance was 74k.

Last edited by navin : 29th August 2023 at 15:54. Reason: typos
jazzy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th August 2023, 13:47   #473
1:1

Question to all owners.

Has kia dropped the Bose separate amplifier from list of features? It was placed under front passenger seat in the Original launch model of 2019.

When i was checking out the system realised it was not as loud as it is at say level 20 vs mine(2019 HTX+ model). When i asked the sales guy he said they have no idea about it.
Or may be its now hidden somewhere in the car and not visible as earlier.

Anyone has any idea on this?
1:1 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th August 2023, 14:58   #474

Originally Posted by jazzy View Post
I was offered the same. On the dealer's insistence, I sat down with their insurance representative, who explained all the features and add-ons they would provide, which were the same as what the Acko agent offered (online). The guy also tried to intimidate me by saying that other insurance providers offer increasingly lower insurance claim amounts on 2nd and subsequent claims, which the Acko agent unequivocally refuted. Ultimately, I felt no point in going with the dealer-provided insurance. For me, the difference was about 40k, and the dealer's insurance was 74k.

That is a huge difference. I paid 12k over the market rate after negotiating and the phone call.

When demand is high and supply is low, people tend to make money, and I've done the same in past as well. For example, I consoled myself thinking how hotels in Ahmedabad are charging 10 times more than their usual room rents for the night before the India-Pakistan World Cup game.

Last edited by navin : 29th August 2023 at 15:55. Reason: Minor typos in post as well as quoted post
Old 29th August 2023, 22:40   #475

They also insisted to take KIA care insurance from them and explained me the benefits and what can go wrong if i take insurance from outside, the same old stuff. Since i wanted ICICI Lombard as i'm happy with them from my previous cars and i took a quote directly from ICICI which was even higher than what KIA quoted but i too held my fort and played with KIA that i'm getting ICICI lombard with unlimited claims at only 55k and after much too & fro communication they came down to 61k for Kia Care with ICICI Lombard and i agreed upon. So i took KIA care with all benefits at 15k lesser price. Also no accessories was mandatory but since i took accessories worth 35k, i managed to waive of the fitting charges approx 2-3k and also successfully broke a deal to get half tank of petrol that is 25litres. So overall managed to get the car superquick along with savings worth 20k which i feel is the best possible deal seeing the current scenario.
GT007 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th August 2023, 07:19   #476

Kia should step in and instruct their dealers not to force ridiculous things like showroom insurance and 25,000 worth of accessories on customers! It is not a good look in the current competitive car market. Some of these showrooms are downright looting customers with expensive insurance and mandatory accessory packs. They should be at least willing to match outside insurance or get close to it. When I visited Epitome Kia (to check seltos for my friend) in Whitefield, they were okay with outside insurance and didn't insist on accessories.

The usual scare tactic they use to convince customers is a big, fat lie. I have used six different insurance companies in my six-year ownership of Polo and never had any issues claiming the insurance. My brother owns a Hyundai Verna of the previous generation, and he too never had issues with claims.

Don't relent on their demands and write a mail to Kia if they insist it's mandatory.
Old 30th August 2023, 10:13   #477

Any idea what's the ADAS tech used on Kia (and maybe Hyundai) cars? I know that Mahindra is using Intel's MobileEye ADAS on the XUV700 and had worked with Intel extensively to ensure ADAS works well for Indian road conditions.

I'm unable to find concrete information on what Kia is using for ADAS (L2) on the new Seltos. It 'might' be Aurora but they are more into autonomous solutions than plain ADAS. If anyone knows better, please let me know.
Old 30th August 2023, 10:28   #478

This question may belong to another forum but may be specific to this too. I bought a car seat to use with my new seltos, after going through other discussion forum on teambhp. Here is the link: https://www.amazon.in/gp/product/B08...0?ie=UTF8&th=1

I tried installing this in the rearward position but even after securing with isofix mounts, top tether and seat belt, the seat wasn't very stable and could move up-and-down and also rotate a bit (this is a rotating type of seat). Also, fixing using the seat belt in this position was a struggle as the belt had to be stretched with all the biceps/triceps and other muscles that I have, it barely managed to reach the seat belt buckle. I don't know if other cars have longer seat belts.

Now the question is, is there a better isofix, convertible, reclinable car seat available in the market which is sturdier in the rearward position? And yes, it should be within 15k budget.

Last edited by jazzy : 30th August 2023 at 10:37.
Old 30th August 2023, 12:08   #479

With each passing day, I am getting a feeling that this K Code booking hype was nothing but a scam in order to prevent potential buyers from getting something else. Nothing explains the fact that despite having put in a booking in June and having re-booked using the K Code on the 1st day when the bookings officially opened, I have not been allotted a car sighting production issues at Kia!

I am in dire need of a vehicle now and I am unable to make up my mind whether to ditch the Seltos given the uncertain waiting or jump ship to something else.
Old 30th August 2023, 12:28   #480

Originally Posted by SumitB View Post

I am in dire need of a vehicle now and I am unable to make up my mind whether to ditch the Seltos given the uncertain waiting or jump ship to something else.
I feel for you, honestly. Did you try emailing Kia India directly? Try doing that. And also the senior folks at the dealership.

My docket says 26th Nov as the expected date although I've been given verbal assurances of faster delivery. I don't think I should be expecting anything better.