Old 25th September 2024, 16:05   #631

Re: Mahindra Thar Roxx Review

Mahindra Thar Roxx 4x4 prices revealed, starts at Rs 18.79 lakh.

Mahindra Thar Roxx Review-20240925_163306.jpg

- Thar Roxx 4x4 variants priced Rs 1.8-2 lakh higher than 4x2 variants

- 4x4 gets only 175hp diesel engine

- 4x4 available with three trims of Thar Roxx
Mahindra Thar Roxx Review-smartselect_20240925160453_chrome.jpg

Last edited by Venkatesh : 25th September 2024 at 16:34.
Venkatesh is offline   (41) Thanks
Old 25th September 2024, 16:20   #632

Infractions: 0/2 (9)

Originally Posted by Venkatesh View Post

Attachment 2659431

In my opinion this is very fair pricing and will hit about 28 on road in Bangalore. I remember surmising as much on some thread here a year and more ago when all those test mules were buzzing around the country and being spotted here and there.
This is now a rather tough choice as I had suggested in an earlier post on this thread, for most people in the market who are thinking of the Roxx and the Scorpio N.
I will try to make it easy.
If one wants a relatively anonymous ‘sleeper’ of a family grand tourer then buy the Scorpio N top Spec Diesel 2WD.
If one is more swayed by the appearance and form factor then go for the Roxx top spec Diesel 2WD.
95% of the users do not need 4WD and there is no need to lug all that heavy extra hardware around.

Last edited by GTO : 26th September 2024 at 09:26. Reason: Removing off-topic discussion
shankar.balan is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 25th September 2024, 18:35   #633

Originally Posted by Globetrotter_91 View Post
Hello fellow BHPians.

1. Though I drive sedately, not pushing my car above 100kmph but with so much torque on offer and with 2L engine pleading to be pushed, there might be occurrences where I will succumb to the inner urge inside me (yes, I have been watching Ken Block Gymkhana my entire life, and I am a fanboy). Considering that I’ll try to behave 90% of times I step into this beast, how much fuel efficiency can I expect from this 2L Gasoline AT machine?
1. I have a 3Door Thar AT Petrol CT for the last 3 years and I've done around 35K (12K/year) on it so i can throw a few numbers around for reference.

In city driving I rarely get more than 8 KMPL and highway drives (CHD-DEL) a couple of times gave me around 12-13 KMPL. The Roxx has the same engine, higher state of tune and more weight, so probably expect 6 KMPL in the city and maybe 10 KMPL on highways. I had done a rough estimate that if you drive 10-12K/year, the petrol fuel costs is about 50K more than the diesel variant. However, the diesel does have it's additional service/maintenance costs.

Buying a diesel vehicle comes with it's own set of issues, so I am staying away from any diesel vehicles.

Additional question for all the existing 3 door Thar owners, how many of you are upgrading? And have you solicited quotes from dealers/online platforms?

For reference, I bought mine exactly 3 years ago and paid 16.5L On Road in CHD. I did spend another 1.5 ish L on accessories so about 18L total. The same Thar now is about 18.5L on road in Chd, but with a 1.5 L dealer discount, it's roughly 17L on road in CHD.

With 17 L on road price and maybe a 35% depreciation in 3 years, is maybe 11L a decent number to expect from a resale perspective? A Petrol 4X4 with Convertible Top is still an outlier and you don't get that option in the Roxx.

I'm still not convinced if I want to upgrade since it's a 2nd/3rd recreation vehicle in our garage perfect for hill runs and the convertible option was the number one reason why I bought it. Plus i'm sure the Roxx will come with it's own set of teething issues, given the amount of tech they've added.

So maybe better to wait a few months-year? What do you guys think?

TIA
Cavityavenger is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 25th September 2024, 18:57   #634
sgm

I have a basic doubt here. If one doesn't go for 4x4, how does a 4x2 RWD Roxx perform better in a tricky situation compared to a FWD vehicle, say a Creta? The modes (mud,sand etc) which changes the ESP/TC etc can help to a very good extent but does it really help when a low-ratio scenario is required ? In this case, wont a RWD alone vehicle be very similar to a FWD vehicle? Won’t an AWD vehicle like XUV700 AWD perform better compared to a 4x2 Roxx ? If 4x4 is not needed, why not go for AWD or just FWD CUVs which give better on-road manners and FE?

Feedback from short test drive:
Took a short test drive today. There are tons of reviews available on various features, so I was trying to check how comfortable the vehicle is for me as that purely depends on the individual's body frame type. I'm about 186cm tall and I'm used to and love driving low slung cars. I couldn’t really figure out a comfortable driving position. I really missed the reach adjustment of steering when I moved the driver seat back to keep my legs in a comfortable position. I guess I have to get used to sitting so high. Though even at the lowest seating position, I could clearly see the corners, my knee was in a wired angle without proper under thigh support, so increased the seating height to have a better seating position.

I’m really impressed with the NVH levels. At idle and low speeds, the vehicle is more silent than my C-class, no shame in saying this. Well done Mahindra The outside noise heard is more than what I was hoping for but this is not a sore point. I will be taking a longer test drive to check more on the seating. I found the body roll to be fine compared to what I felt in Jimny. I noticed the BOF “jiggle” over a concrete surface, it was bouncing a lot. I guess a more passengers and enough luggage should reduce the bouncing on hard surface and this should be decent long cruiser.

I really liked the car except for the following which can affect tall driver like me for long drives
Driver seat under thigh support & lumbar support
Steering reach
Will try to get a longer test driver before taking a plunge

Last edited by GTO : 26th September 2024 at 09:27. Reason: Removing quoted post which has been edited
sgm is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 25th September 2024, 20:47   #635

Below are the premiums for 4X4 over equivalent 2WD by variant:

MX5 MT - 1.8 lakhs
AX5L AT - 2 lakhs
AX7L MT - 2 Lakhs
AX7L AT - 2 lakhs

So, they have been more or less consistent and priced the 4X4 variants 2 lakhs above the respective 2WD variants.

In the case of the 3 door Thar, the Diesel 4WD is 2.7 lakhs more than the Diesel 2WD, but the 4WD gets a bigger motor compared to the 2WD, so this is an unfair comparison. In the case of the petrol Thar 3-Door LX Auto, the premium for 4WD is 2.5 lakhs!

In the case of ScoprioN, the Diesel Z8 AWD AT costs 2.25 lakhs more than the equivalent 2WD. As the Thar's 4X4 system is more sophisticated with electronic differential locks and other gizmos., the price premium seems more than justified in the Thar for the 4WD.

In the case of the XUV700, the top end AX7L AWD models cost just 1 lakh more than 2WD (AX7L D AWD AT versus AX7L D 2WD AT) and 1.2 lakhs more in the case of AX7. I know the AWD mechanism is much simpler and cheaper as compared to that in the Thar.

All in all very fair pricing premium for the 4X4s as compared to the 2WD variants. But this does not mean the overall price proposition of the top end models is great, Imagine spending 28 lakhs on-road for a 5 seater SUV which still has a lot of rough edges in the interiors and does not quite feel like a car on the 30 lakh league in terms of interior quality.
84.monsoon is online now   (15) Thanks
Old 25th September 2024, 21:03   #636

Originally Posted by 84.monsoon View Post
All in all very fair pricing premium for the 4X4s as compared to the 2WD variants. But this does not mean the overall price proposition of the top end models is great, Imagine spending 28 lakhs on-road for a 5 seater SUV which still has a lot of rough edges in the interiors and does not quite feel like a car on the 30 lakh league in terms of interior quality.
Perfectly summarised the reason for my confusion on going ahead with Roxx. In absolute terms pricing is good but when you start comparing it to what you can get at the same price is where the dilemma between everyday comfort and convenience vs rare 4wd usage lies
Bluebird_7 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th September 2024, 22:04   #637

Attachment 2659431
Finally, the prices are out for 4x4 variants.
If anyone has final onroad price list then please share.

And as per above prices,
Bangalore onroad prices will reach(approx.)
MX5 MT : 24L
AX7L MT : 26.5L
AX7L AT : 28.5L
+ Additional 50-60k for basic accessories and Ext.warranty, which are not finalized yet.

Though the incremental 2 Lakh over 2wd looks decent, the overall onroad prices feels a bit on the higher side, especially for high road tax paying states.

But irrespective of speculations, ROXX will surely sell well.
DLC5005 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th September 2024, 01:19   #638

Mahindra Thar Roxx 4x4 prices revealed,

- 4x4 gets only 175hp diesel engine

- 4x4 available with three trims of Thar Roxx
4x4 Manual gets only 150 BHP and 330 Nm Torque Why the lower power and torque figures for MT I wonder.

4x4 AT gets a more decent 172 BHP and 370 Nm Torque. But MT will be more fun to drive for sure.

Based on multiple owner's reviews of Scorpio N, the diesel AT gives between 8 to 11 kmpl and the MT can give between 14 to 18 kmpl.
So its not just 1-2 kmpl mileage difference between MT and AT in the SN, but significantly more.
TCs are convenient but horribly inefficient in stop and go traffic.

Is it fair to expect a similar significant mileage of MT over AT in the Roxx as well I wonder.

Whatever HK speakers they have put on the doors in the AX7L, it shouldn't have been that difficult a design challenge to provide a decent 1 liter bottle space on all the doors. Its a must have for outstation trips.
That tiny bottle holder space on the doors in the top variant is of no practical use.

Last edited by for_cars1 : 26th September 2024 at 01:30.
for_cars1 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th September 2024, 07:46   #639

Have been following this thread since launch and there is something that's bothering me. I know I haven't seen it in person yet. However, let the rant begin.

- The 3 Door is looking far more proportionate and menacing now

- The 5 door, when looked from the side looks weird, just not proportionate.

- The kink over the rear door in the 5 door is r-e-a-l-l-y annoying

- Less said about the front grill, the better

- Alloys looks too loud for a rugged off-roader (the reason by Pratap is cringe worthy)

- Almost 30 Lakhs for the top spec is no less money. They should've taken this opportunity to create a standalone design for 5 door Thar ( Sorry, I just cannot use the work "Roxx" in 2024 )

- Their engineering prowess is world class, but the design is just lacking in multiple levels. You don't do "jugaad" designing on a INR 3 Million vehicle. ( Case in point - Grills, rear door handles, the Kink to bypass Jeep's copyright, Split rear window to name a few)

- Biggest gripe & I hate Mahindra for doing this. NO true blue off-road variant (minus ADAS, white upholstery, panoramic sunroof)

End of rant. I still know, we have a blockbuster from Mahindra. Yet, they missed a chance here to give birth to a Global product.
Sk8r is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 26th September 2024, 08:51   #640

Originally Posted by Sk8r View Post

- Their engineering prowess is world class, but the design is just lacking in multiple levels. You don't do "jugaad" designing on a INR 3 Million vehicle. ( Case in point - Grills, rear door handles, the Kink to bypass Jeep's copyright, Split rear window to name a few)

End of rant. I still know, we have a blockbuster from Mahindra. Yet, they missed a chance here to give birth to a Global product.
For getting world class designs, they need to hire proper designers from USA, Period! Americans knows a thing or two when it comes to designing butch looking SUV's and even Europeans and Japanese comes only second to them in this field.

So Mahindra, please listen. If you need world class products to become a true global manufacturer, don't depend on crazy idiotic designers like Pratap Bose. Hire someone with a global expertise and experience. Don't be that patriotic in the design field. My two cents.
highwaypatrol is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 26th September 2024, 09:07   #641

Kudos to Mahindra once again for delivering a competent and promising product, and pricing it well too.

I got an opportunity to checkout the Thar Roxx quickly at Sireesh Mahindra Showroom near Silkboard, Bengaluru. The vehicle was surrounded with prospect buyers so did not get a chance to click any pics. Enough said about the vehicle's looks etc so I would keep it quick -
- Vehicle looks really imposing and right on your face - pictures do not do justice
- some really cool and new colors
- Replacing the Roxx moniker with aftermarket "Armada" is possible
- Grill indeed looks weird
- Headlights are unique and match well with the vehicle's personality
- Space is decent in both the rows as well as in the boot
- High seating + comfortable ride (from what I have heard) is a strong positive

Coming to the pricing - The Roxx 4x4 AX7L Diesel variant is priced well in my opinion.
My rationale is based on benchmarking Roxx AX7L Diesel 4x4 against Xuv700 AX7L Diesel AWD.

Roxx gets almost all the important features present in the XUV700. Additionally the Roxx also gets 4x4 hardware. Roxx undercutting the XUV700 by 3.5L is justifiable by -
- shorter footprint
- absence of the 3rd row seats
- smallar screens and some electronics
- no knee-airbags etc
Zinda is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 26th September 2024, 11:08   #642

The MX-5, 4x4 Diesel MT variant will in all probability work out to around Rs 20-21 lakh on road across most major Indian cities.

You get a fairly loaded vehicle with all the four wheel drive aggregates in place including the important Electronic Diff Lock, (EDL) and BLD (Brake Locking Differential). You mainly lose out on the ADAS suite, the bit gimmicky skid steer function for the rear wheel and other bits and bobs related to luxury in-cabin appointments.

Yes, two million plus rupees is a lot of money. Possibly at a couple of lakhs less this 4x4 variant would have made more sense. But when one sees comparable two wheel drive models priced at around similar levels, one has to give Mahindra credit where its due. Mahindra has done a fantastic job with respect to powertrain integration, NVH and in-cabin refinement.

For someone who is a serious tourer, with family in tow, and is looking at a vehicle which can offer additional tractive capabilities under occassional demanding environments, a person who is looking at a one car garage; this variant makes a strong case for itself.
arjab is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th September 2024, 11:31   #643

Originally Posted by sgm View Post
I have a basic doubt here. If one doesn't go for 4x4, how does a 4x2 RWD Roxx perform better in a tricky situation compared to a FWD vehicle, say a Creta? The modes (mud,sand etc) which changes the ESP/TC etc can help to a very good extent but does it really help when a low-ratio scenario is required ? In this case, wont a RWD alone vehicle be very similar to a FWD vehicle? Won’t an AWD vehicle like XUV700 AWD perform better compared to a 4x2 Roxx ? If 4x4 is not needed, why not go for AWD or just FWD CUVs which give better on-road manners and FE?
A 4x2 RWD Thar will any day be better than the FWD Creta.
It's not just the 4x4 hardware that affects performance in sticky situations. Ground clearance, wheel articulation, engine power, gear ratios etc. all play a role in helping a car get out of tricky spots. So a RWD Thar is more adept than a FWD Creta at going "off-road".

In my Jimny, I have had quite a few occasions in which the 4x2 was more than enough to get out of trouble. Only in some areas did I need to engage the 4x4.

Now the comparison between a RWD and an AWD is far more complicated. If I had to pick, I will probably get an AWD but that doesn't mean that the AWD will always be better than a RWD. In some cases, they might just perform the same. It all depends on how bad the situation really is.
veedub89 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 26th September 2024, 11:39   #644

Mahindra Thar Roxx Review-smartselect_20240925160453_chrome.jpg

Looking at these prices, the only question that comes to my mind - M&M, when are you launching the MX5 4X4 AT?!

There are many prospective buyers who need a basic no-frills 4X4 AT & the MX5 fills that requirement beautifully!

In fact in my opinion, M&M should offer 4X4 AT on the base MX3 too! The adavantage for the buyer being:-
- Lower purchase point
- Black fabric seats. Easier to maintain
- Comes with steel wheels. Owners can choose between a wider selection of alloys.
- Lesser electronics,lesser headaches

Powertrain

Last edited by powertrain : 26th September 2024 at 11:47.
powertrain is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 26th September 2024, 12:06   #645

Originally Posted by Bluebird_7 View Post

I for one am utterly confused.
Hence I looked at XUV700 AX7L D AT AWD which is priced at 25.0 L ex-showroom. Looking at inventory situation I guess I will be able to get decent discount over this reduced price which puts it more or less in price range of Roxx while being more comfortable, better equipped, advantage of 7 seats plus a mature product with mostly sorted niggles. This had my head spinning between Roxx and XUV700 AWD and I am totally confused.
I have the XUV700 AX7 AWD version as my primary vehicle. I am considering the ROXX 4x4 as my 2nd vehicle. It is not a replacement for my XUV700 but a different usecase of offroading desires. if i had to own only one, i would go with the XUV700. This is a very practical answer i can give you. Hope this helps.
originalamit is online now   (3) Thanks