Old 19th September 2024, 19:54   #31

Re: 2024 Hyundai Alcazar Facelift Review

Originally Posted by Aditya View Post

Hyundai Alcazar Facelift Cons

• 2nd row legroom is mediocre (captain seat variant). Compromises have been made to accommodate the 3rd row & boot
• 3rd row access is too difficult in the captain seat variant
• 3rd row seat is best suited to kids only. Not really a place for adults
• Competitors like the Carens, XUV700, Scorpio-N, Safari & Hector Plus offer more spacious cabins

You can download the Hyundai Alcazar brochure here - Attachment 2655757
Anyone looking for big car, these points are really heart breaking. Such a big car also not having enough space in second row as well is really disappointing. After paying so much, one will obviously expect it to offer decent 3rd row space so that kids can seat comfortably or adults can fit in for short drives. Not sure what went wrong here. In the looks department, Hyundai has done very good job but looking at these issues I guess it will struggle in market like previous model.

Last edited by KarthikK : 23rd September 2024 at 17:32. Reason: Removed formatting tags from quoted post
Old 19th September 2024, 21:14   #32

Why cant a 20L+ car have a simple request sensor for the passenger side? Who in the world started cutting this cost? Why don’t enough people care about it?

Having request sensor just for the driver doesn’t make sense at all. When you park kerbside you often have to drop something off or open the kerbside door and for that you need to pull out the key from the pocket. I get it if the car itself didn’t have the capability, but it has.

I think just a couple of years ago a lot of the cars in the segment used to have it. XUV500 had it, the XUV300 had it. BALENO has it!

Its a very simple feature. Not a deal breaker. But the absence of it is one of those mildly infuriating things that you to leave with. Like a lid that doesn’t perfectly close. Ugh.

Just boils my blood when I see such foolery.
krishnakumar is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th September 2024, 21:35   #33

Originally Posted by Nilesh5417 View Post
This is a nice crisp review! And not sure if its just me but the pictures included are really really good. Did something change in the review process when it comes to pictures?
Location, post-monsoon colours and some luck helps

No offence to the Alcazar, but the opposite view was even better

2024 Hyundai Alcazar Facelift Review-20240919_214606.jpg

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 19th September 2024 at 21:48.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 20th September 2024, 22:50   #34

Anyone who has booked the car received any confirmation on vehicle allotment? My SA is still not having any update but confirming on delivery during Navratri. As per SA, car normally takes approx 10 days to reach Gurgaon dealer yard from Chennai plant.
Old 21st September 2024, 10:25   #35

Yesterday evening I went to Capital Hyundai, Sect-63 Noida to check the new Alcazar. There was Signature edition 7S in the showroom and for driving 6S was available. As I am looking for Executive 7S Petrol variant so my observations will cover them mostly:
  1. Great length of the vehicle. Ok for city commutes, not too large, not too small.
  2. Futuristic style of front end and tail. Lights look good. Front grill looks good in person.
  3. Matt Grey color in showroom was catching lot of fingerprints. Hard to maintain.
  4. Driver Seat comfort was good. I am lean built so seat seemed big for my frame.
  5. All the features present in the Signature variant will wow the customers.
  6. About 7S variant 2nd and 3rd rows:
    1. 2nd row can accommodate 3 adults easily.
    2. Hump in the middle (above transmission tunnel) is less compared to first gen Creta which we rejected in 2016 due to this reason.
    3. Middle passenger in 2nd row will not feel very comfortable sitting there for long time because of the tunnel. Also, verified that there is no headrest for middle passenger which is very strange. So, middle passenger will have no place to rest the neck and head. Also, its very dangerous in case of any accident and will lead to severe whiplash. Hyundai has give 3 point seat belt for middle passenger but omitted the headrest.
    4. 2nd row is 60:40 split. Don't remember correctly but 2nd row 60% part can slide forward to make little more room for 3rd row.
    5. Ingress and egress to 3rd row is not very convenient. Wifey (5'3") was not comfortable sitting on 3rd row and immediately declared that it's for small kids like 6-7 years only.
    6. 2nd row had reclining feature which helps in relaxed seating and both the passengers sitting at sides will find it comfortable on long rides.
  7. Boot with 3rd row up is ok for two small trolley bags but when the 3rd row is down, there is large space. 3rd row is 50:50 split and it helps.
  8. During test drive, we got Petrol DCT and the engine was smooth. Drive was in city only and I rarely went above 40 kmph as office traffic was peaking. Still, I could hear the humm of engine turbo in the cabin.
  9. The screens are a distraction if you look at them. AC is automatic and mostly touch, so changing temperature, adjusting blower speed while driving is very tough.
  10. Wifey and I liked the visibility and impressed by the fit and finish of the cabin. Wifey also switched to 2nd row from front and found it comfortable while I was driving.

As we had time at hand, so we decided to take test drive of Creta as well. We got NA Manual Creta to drive. This is also one of the contender for me.
  1. By 5:30pm, the traffic got to its peak and it was almost bumper to bumper traffic with lots of wait time.
  2. We were in SX(O) variant and the 360 degree camera was a boon.
  3. In peak hour, I did notice strange issue. I was in 1st gear, maneuvering the car in traffic, preventing other cars, autos, bikes, etc. The brake suddenly became so hard that at one point I literally would have hit the car in front. It happened multiple times and I was scared. Is this the normal behavior of brakes in Creta/ Alcazar? I had to bring the car to neutral every time to release the brake and make it work. All this ended in 10 mins but by the end, I had lot of left knee pain. I asked SA to get the car serviced or checked properly for brakes as it has run only 8823km, so this type of issue is not natural.

Conclusions from the visit:
  1. Alcazar is stretched Creta (remember Nissan Sunny ad. this is Cretaaaa)
  2. Alcazar Executive variant is around 17 lac on road (ex showroom, RTO, TCS and Insurance only) which is almost same as Creta S(O) variant.
  3. At this price point, Alcazar misses on infotainment system whereas Creta has it, plus panoramic sunroof.
  4. Alcazar Executive model has rear camera but its feed is not visible anywhere. So, an infotainment system is a must. Accessories guy coated 50K as the kit contains rear camera, speakers and infotainment screen. No one is aware how to add just the infotainment screen as till date for Creta, everything came as a kit.
  5. Asked SA to call me if any Executive model comes to them for delivery. I want to check it before taking next step.
  6. SA was not aware of the features of Executive model as its just a week since launch and they did not have it in stock for training.
  7. Creta's driving experience was not pleasant and the brake issue and knee pain meant that I need to reconsider my options. I will ask SA for another test drive and will try to find a better seating position and then see what happens.
  8. All in all, both wifey and I were not so much impressed or wowed with both the cars but they are still the best value for our money.
  9. As per SA, if booked now, white color can be delivered in Navratras. Almost 25 bookings were made before launch at the dealership and there are 5 deliveries planned for 1st day of Navratri.

Some pictures from our yesterday's visit.

Looks almost Creta from these two angles
2024 Hyundai Alcazar Facelift Review-whatsapp-image-20240921-10.11.27-am.jpeg

2024 Hyundai Alcazar Facelift Review-whatsapp-image-20240921-10.11.29-am.jpeg

Boot size for reference when only one of the 3rd row is down
2024 Hyundai Alcazar Facelift Review-whatsapp-image-20240921-10.11.32-am-1.jpeg

Inside cabin, quite plush
2024 Hyundai Alcazar Facelift Review-whatsapp-image-20240921-10.11.32-am.jpeg

No middle passenger headrest
2024 Hyundai Alcazar Facelift Review-whatsapp-image-20240921-10.11.36-am.jpeg
GauRanVid is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st September 2024, 11:01   #36

Originally Posted by aniketi View Post
Anyone looking for big car, these points are really heart breaking. Such a big car also not having enough space in second row as well is really disappointing.
Alcazar is not a big car. It is about 4500 mm odd.

If you want a spacious 6 or 7-seater you have to look at the Crysta, Hycross or Carnival. All of which have that extra real estate (all have length 4750 mm and above) to fit that 3rd row with room to spare. Anything below is a compromised 3rd row car, and essentially a 4+2 or 5+2 seater (depending on the number of 3-point seat belts).

I am a current owner of a 2022 Alcazar. All my family members at 5'1" and below fit in the 3rd row. My 15 year old has sat in the 3rd row on 800 km long hauls.

Apart from the obvious upfront cost advantage, the dimensions are livable for a daily driver.

Lastly, you buy the car for your family needs, not with some arbitrary expectation. This is why the likes of Ertiga, Carens, Alcazar have their own niche alongside the likes of Innova and Carnival.
narayans80 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st September 2024, 12:50   #37

Originally Posted by narayans80 View Post
Alcazar is not a big car. It is about 4500 mm odd.

If you want a spacious 6 or 7-seater you have to look at the Crysta, Hycross or Carnival. All of which have that extra real estate (all have length 4750 mm and above) to fit that 3rd row with room to spare. Anything below is a compromised 3rd row car, and essentially a 4+2 or 5+2 seater (depending on the number of 3-point seat belts).

I am a current owner of a 2022 Alcazar. All my family members at 5'1" and below fit in the 3rd row. My 15 year old has sat in the 3rd row on 800 km long hauls.

Apart from the obvious upfront cost advantage, the dimensions are livable for a daily driver.

Lastly, you buy the car for your family needs, not with some arbitrary expectation. This is why the likes of Ertiga, Carens, Alcazar have their own niche alongside the likes of Innova and Carnival.
Don't agree here. I have new Ertiga with me and it's very spacious for first 2 rows. Even third row has sufficient space for kids to seat comfortably. And it is less than 4500 in length.
Old 21st September 2024, 19:18   #38

A query for current owners. If the third row seat is half down, do you get a net or something to stop luggage on the folded seat from bouncing around ?

Old 22nd September 2024, 21:26   #39

Is the air purifier missing in the facelift version? I cant spot in the pictures. I did a TD of 6S petrol but, failed to notice.

Thank you.
Old 22nd September 2024, 23:29   #40

Originally Posted by suryakamal View Post
Is the air purifier missing in the facelift version? I cant spot in the pictures. I did a TD of 6S petrol but, failed to notice.

Thank you.
That is integrated in the dashboard behind the display now. You can browse through settings to access it.
Old 23rd September 2024, 07:47   #41

Originally Posted by suryakamal View Post

Thank you.
I was told by salesperson that Air purifier is now integrated somewhere in the front AC and as mentioned by @Passiontoexplore. The benefit of integrated air purifier is that you now get a slidable armrest.
kgt.v8 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 11:48   #42

I accompanied my daughter and son-in-law to a Hyundai showroom at Bellandur to take a look at the new Alcazar.

They only had a 6 seater DCT petrol in the showroom, but no TD vehicle of the new model. We were all pretty impressed with the interiors. But the biggest shock was that the diesel auto version does not have a sunroof! And to add fuel to the fire, the review here says there is not even a spare tire! To make matters worse, the 7 seater version does not get the additional under-thigh pullout that the 6 seater has.

They are in a dilemma now. In case they opt for the petrol verion, they are not sure of how the DCT petrol will work in Bangalore's infamous traffic. And also the FE figures.

Can anyone clarify if the latest turbo petrol with DCT under the Hyundai stable continues to have heating issues in thick traffic? If yes, then they might have to look at the XUV 700 instead, though it will cost a few lakhs more.

Last edited by vnabhi : 23rd September 2024 at 11:49.
vnabhi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 17:13   #43

Originally Posted by vnabhi View Post
I accompanied my daughter and son-in-law to a Hyundai showroom at Bellandur to take a look at the new Alcazar.

They only had a 6 seater DCT petrol in the showroom, but no TD vehicle of the new model. We were all pretty impressed with the interiors. But the biggest shock was that the diesel auto version does not have a sunroof! And to add fuel to the fire, the review here says there is not even a spare tire! To make matters worse, the 7 seater version does not get the additional under-thigh pullout that the 6 seater has.

They are in a dilemma now. In case they opt for the petrol verion, they are not sure of how the DCT petrol will work in Bangalore's infamous traffic. And also the FE figures.

Can anyone clarify if the latest turbo petrol with DCT under the Hyundai stable continues to have heating issues in thick traffic? If yes, then they might have to look at the XUV 700 instead, though it will cost a few lakhs more.

I was able to do a short testdrive (4KM) of Facelifted Alcazar 7 seater DCT, last week, at Hyundai Trident Electronic City showroom. DCT Gear Shift (both up and down) were smooth and unnoticeable even in B2B traffic that I drove in. I have requested for a longer stretch testdrive which they agreed to get even a better feel of DCT turbo. I am yet to schedule same.

Compared to facelifted version, seat cushioning is greatly enhanced. Middle row seated 3 adults with utmost comfort and AC feedback was also positive from middle row occupants.

Even I have same concern on DCT heating in B2B traffic condition. Advisor assigned to me was knowledgeable and informed that to mitigate this concern to some extent Hyundai have finetuned actuator response during traffic condition to avoid heating issues. This improved DCT is available since facelifted Creta as per him. If any expert can shed more light on DCT technology improvement, if any, will help.

Originally Posted by kgt.v8 View Post
I was told by salesperson that Air purifier is now integrated somewhere in the front AC and as mentioned by @Passiontoexplore. The benefit of integrated air purifier is that you now get a slidable armrest.
Salesperson told me that, to the best of his knowledge, air purifier is removed and an anti bacterial coating is applied to the AC filter to keep cabin germs free. However, even he was not 100% sure of air purifier presence.

Last edited by KarthikK : 23rd September 2024 at 17:32. Reason: Please use the EDIT or QUOTE+ (multi-quote) button instead of typing one post after another on the same thread. Thanks!
rohitkm is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 18:09   #44

We went to check our Seltos Xline at the dealer's stockyard and happened to visit a nearby Hyundai showroom where we took a short (~10 kms) TD of 1.5 turbo DCT and came out not-so-impressed. Here are a few observations:

1. If the same engine transmission combo feels laggy and jerky during slow moving traffic on the Creta/Seltos, it felt anemic on the heavier Alcazar at low RPMs. You really need to put your foot down (literally) to gain momentum, but it catches up with others once it crosses 3-4k RPM. The performance on open roads is good, but it's the slow speed/low RPM drivability which is a MAJOR turn off. I'm not entirely sure if this has to do with the engine as it has plenty of power. The real issue seems to be with the DCT gearbox which appears to be conservatively tuned to prevent potential overheating and premature failure.

2. The center console does creak and takes away all the premiumness which the cabin offers otherwise. There is definitely something wrong with Hyundai for not fixing this issue. On the other hand, the cabin looks stunning with the tan and navy blue interior theme. It feels airy, accommodating and spacious which is a USP of both Creta and Alcazar. The likes of Seltos with all black interior looks smaller and lower segment than this (which is the case anyway). Hyundai - just fix that goddamn low grade console and add more soft touches in the cabin and this could easily be the best interior in the segment!

3. Found the ride quality quite good even when the TPMS showed 40 plus. The steering felt light in low speeds (which we love) and gained weight as the speed increased. No complaints there.

Overall, this car is not for you if you drive within slow city traffic conditions. It will make you go nuts with that slow and jerky DCT response.
Col Mehta is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 25th September 2024, 21:48   #45

Continuing my pursuit of a new car and most probably it will be Alcazar Executive Petrol edition, I got a call from Capital Hyundai, Sector 63, Noida SA (Mr. Deepak) on Monday that the variant has arrived at their stockyard and I can go and check the vehicle in person before taking any decision.

This gesture by him was a big difference against Mahindra dealers who never called and even by some other Hyundai dealers whom I visited or called to enquire about the Executive variant. The relationship like these go a long way in ensuring the customer is happy and takes well informed decisions rather than pestering him with unwanted calls asking for booking.

Anyways, I went to their stockyard today. The stockyard is located behind Botanical Garden Metro Station in the basement of multi-level car parking. The yard is shared between Honda and Hyundai dealerships which have showrooms adjacent to each other in Sect-63, Noida.

Below are some of the key observations which were not cleared in my last visit to showroom:
  1. I adjusted the driver position, 2nd row seat by sliding 60% part to sit comfortably behind the driver seat and then moved to last row. And I can safely say that I was able to sit easily and comfortably there. I am 5'7" in height.
  2. I then adjusted the co-passenger seat similarly, 2nd row seat by sliding remaining 40% part and then moved to last row. This time the back rest of 2nd row was a bit straight and I was able to sit comfortably.
  3. This concludes for me that 3rd row is usable if three persons of my height sit back to back.
  4. This variant does not have any Infotainment system, this I was aware off but I verified that there are no speakers as well. So, a trip to Karol Bagh is a must for getting installed Creta's infotainment system (Android or Blaupunkt) and 6 speakers (2 in each door and 2 in 3rd row). I am only scared with how after market dealers rip the door plastics from inside and leave the wires untied.
  5. Also, confirmed that this variant does come with a rear camera and its feed will be visible in the infotainment system, once installed. Not sure why Hyundai gave the camera and not infotainment system.
  6. There is a missing USB-A port in center console below AC controls and a dummy slot is left. Whereas it is present in higher variants. Why Hyundai? How much cost would you would have saved
  7. Tan color of facelifted variant is a lighter shade compared to last one and looks better compared to white ones in new Creta or dark brown in last Alcazar.
  8. Presence of White Ambient light was a surprise for me as my daughter wanted to have it.
  9. Headlight throw looked bad even in quad configuration. To me it seemed that the lights are located at the end of front bumper and slightly focusing outwards rather than straight. Anyways will see how they perform if I am able to get a test drive in evening and then take decision on upgrading.
  10. Connected lights at front and rear does give it a distinct look and I liked them.
  11. Presence of Cruise Control in base variant is a welcome addition and I would need to learn how to use it. (I come from Duster 85PS )
  12. Presence of ample storage spaces and bottle holders in the car is a welcome change for someone again coming from Duster.
  13. Alcazar is compliant to E20 petrol as the sticker says on the fuel lid.

All in all, whatever I wanted from my second car, Alcazar has it all and is the best value for my money as on date. After taking confirmation from family members, I hope to make the booking during Navratras.

Some shots from my today's visit. Please ignore poor camera quality as it was quite dark in the basement parking:

Missing speakers under the grill
2024 Hyundai Alcazar Facelift Review-missing-speaker.jpeg

2nd row AC is a welcome addition for me. As well as 3rd row AC.
2024 Hyundai Alcazar Facelift Review-2nd-row-ac.jpeg

Look at the E20 sticker in blue at the inside of fuel flap
2024 Hyundai Alcazar Facelift Review-e20.jpeg

Missing Infotainment System. Creta's one should be a straight fit.
2024 Hyundai Alcazar Facelift Review-infotainment.jpeg

Look at the right slot beside 12v socket below AC control
2024 Hyundai Alcazar Facelift Review-dummy-slot.jpeg

Left Side 3rd siting position. Knees were high but not touching the 2nd row
2024 Hyundai Alcazar Facelift Review-3rd-row_left_2.jpeg

2024 Hyundai Alcazar Facelift Review-3rd-row_left_1.jpeg

Look at the beam going outwards rather than spreading both left, centre and right
2024 Hyundai Alcazar Facelift Review-headlights_2.jpeg

2024 Hyundai Alcazar Facelift Review-headlights.jpeg

Ambient Light above glove box in the recess for holding mobile phone
2024 Hyundai Alcazar Facelift Review-ambient-light.jpeg

Not a protruding Rear camera. Hard to detect unless you look closely
2024 Hyundai Alcazar Facelift Review-camera.jpeg

Right Side 3rd siting position. Knees were high but not touching the 2nd row
2024 Hyundai Alcazar Facelift Review-3rd-row_2.jpeg

2024 Hyundai Alcazar Facelift Review-3rd-row_1.jpeg
GauRanVid is offline   (4) Thanks