Old 2nd February 2025, 16:41   #121

Re: Skoda Kylaq Review

Today I went to check out the Kylaq in person and had mixed emotions on the car. This was in Chennai at the Nandanam branch, around 3pm. The staff inside were not bothered of my entry and had to be reminded by the watchman that a buyer had come. Sad state of affairs still at many Skoda dealerships !

About the car, from the minute I stepped in, it was a cocoon of solidity and class. The Prestige variant has a lovely leather seat fabric and the electronic seat adjustment buttons have a solid touch response. The steering wheel is leather stitched and the two spoke wheel is quite lovely. The seats are quite bucket-like and was perfect for my average 5'8 build. Folks with more than average build and 5'10 height are going to find the seats inadequate. The Kylaq certainly uses better material than the Kushaq and it shows in the dashboard, the door trims, the roof, etc though it is still scratch plastics at most places.

Coming to the back seats, they are quite comfy as the recline angle is great for long rides and the seat has the same bucket shape here too that makes you sit IN the seat and not ON it. The main grouse here is the leg space that is just adequate and gives a bit of a cramped feeling. Folks below 5'6 should be fine but still it is not even at the levels of a Brezza which is considered decent for a sub-4m SUV. The roof is scooped a bit which is a relief in the back but the knee room space issue is a major deterrent.

Next is the bootspace, which is brilliant for this cateogry and is remarkable since it is bigger than its cousin the Kushaq which was standing next to it. With the parcel tray, it could be around 360-380Lts which is very usable for weekend trips and airport runs. But i feel that they could have liberated a bit more knee room at the expense of the bootspace and that could been a better compromise for people to overlook.

In comparison with the Kushaq that was nearby, I quickly hopped in the back seat and the knee room was excellent. The car feels more roomy but the interior material quality is a bit below the Kylaq. Despite this, I would surely recommend the Kushaq over the Kylaq for those who prioritize cabin space and have relatively larger build family members. The Kylaq makes sense only for a nuclear family where the grandparents do not join the kids in the back Or is perfect for bachelors who love driving.

This was only my in-car experience and does not include a test drive of the same. Hope this helps those who are planning for this car.
Rman88 is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 2nd February 2025, 21:10   #122

Hello everybody, Bumped into the Skoda Kylaq today at Ozhar, seems like it was a company car or a Media car, the former being the more likely. The car looked great from the front. Interestingly this unit didn't have the black strip on the bootlide (not sure how I feel about it). This was the Classic variant and I must say at 7.89 this feels like a solid option.

Skoda Kylaq Review-img20250202wa0020.jpg
The five cube LED Drls didn't look bad

Skoda Kylaq Review-img20250202wa0028.jpg

Skoda Kylaq Review-img20250202wa0026.jpg

Skoda Kylaq Review-img20250202wa0024.jpg
Ayu8648 is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 2nd February 2025, 21:32   #123

I’ve noticed that if you walk into a Skoda showroom without an online request, Skoda India isn’t aware of your visit, leaving you dependent on the showroom staff.

When I requested a test drive in person, the salesperson kept delaying. However, when I submitted a request via the Skoda website, I received proper follow-ups. Interestingly, because I rated my experience 3 out of 5, it was automatically treated as a complaint, prompting calls from the supervisor and Skoda customer care to ensure my request was fulfilled.

Lesson learned: For any request (test drives, information, accessories, or service pack) I’ll always create an online trail by submitting a request through the website.

In my experience, PPS Skoda provided good service, and Raja Skoda was also good. However, Kia stands ahead right from the security guard to the salesperson, their attentiveness, warm welcome, and showroom ambiance create an atmosphere of trust for someone coming to give them ₹15 lakh.

Customer service is no rocket science, yet so many Auto dealer's struggle at it is just bewildering . Even Big basket delivering 500-rupee products does it better than these guys.

Last edited by BSASLR : 2nd February 2025 at 21:35.
BSASLR is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 2nd February 2025, 21:55   #124

Originally Posted by Ayu8648 View Post
Hello everybody, Bumped into the Skoda Kylaq today at Ozhar, seems like it was a company car or a Media car, the former being the more likely. The car looked great from the front. Interestingly this unit didn't have the black strip on the bootlide (not sure how I feel about it). This was the Classic variant and I must say at 7.89 this feels like a solid option.
@Ayu8648 I think this is the first ever photo of the base Classic variant of Kylaq. It seems to be a complete looker for a base variant. Kindly post any photos of the interiors if you have shot them. Also I see it stands next to Nexon. How was Kylaq looking in comparison with Nexon in real life.
VishJ is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 2nd February 2025, 22:45   #125

Originally Posted by VishJ View Post
@Ayu8648 I think this is the first ever photo of the base Classic variant of Kylaq. It seems to be a complete looker for a base variant. Kindly post any photos of the interiors if you have shot them. Also I see it stands next to Nexon. How was Kylaq looking in comparison with Nexon in real life.
Hey VishJ, unfortunately I didn't take any photos of the interiors, now that I think of it I should have taken a few.

The Kylaq was looking equally sized as the nexon, it definitely looks like the car of its segment. I dont know why people were worried about the car being perceived as a car below its segment, to me atleast it looked like a proper compact Suv comparable to a Sonet, Venue, Nexon etc. Also don't forget, this was the Classic variant, I am pretty sure if you'd put the Prestige instead, the car would've looked even cooler as compared to the Nexon.

I really wish this car brings in sales for Skoda, it does have that potential.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 3rd February 2025 at 02:14. Reason: Spacing and formatting
Ayu8648 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2025, 01:04   #126

The rear end of the vehicle gives the impression of a hatchback. The small lights plus the extensive cladding in rear, reduce the apparent size of the rear by a lot. Overall, there is way too much cladding (read cost cutting). Except for the front grill and hood lines, there is nothing to write home about the Kylaq's design. Calling it a poor man's German would be followed with.. is it even German?

Better to go for the sedan sisters.
Old 3rd February 2025, 10:07   #127

Any idea whether the classic variant has rear AC vents ? If not, I think it would solve the middle person legroom issue to an extent. When I saw the Prestige variant at Mahavir Skoda Hyderabad, the main issue I felt was the lack of legroom for the middle person.
Old 3rd February 2025, 11:55   #128

Originally Posted by s2K_scorpioN View Post
Overall, there is way too much cladding (read cost cutting).
Curious to know, how does cladding amounts to cost cutting? Usually cladding results in extra cost.
Old 3rd February 2025, 12:28   #129

Originally Posted by Guna View Post
Curious to know, how does cladding amounts to cost cutting? Usually cladding results in extra cost.
I believe it is cheaper for the manufacturer. Raw material-wise, manufacturing-wise, paint-wise (read no paint required). If they upsell cladding as a desired component on a car to the buyer, they're just blowing hot air. If they charge you more for the same, don't fall for it.
Old 3rd February 2025, 13:41   #130

I believe it is cheaper for the manufacturer. Raw material-wise, manufacturing-wise, paint-wise (read no paint required). If they upsell cladding as a desired component on a car to the buyer, they're just blowing hot air. If they charge you more for the same, don't fall for it.
But i think even the portion below the claddings are usually painted right? May not have the precise finishing for manufacturers looking to cut cost, but it's usually upto the same level as the rest of the body.
Old 3rd February 2025, 14:32   #131

I believe it is cheaper for the manufacturer. Raw material-wise, manufacturing-wise, paint-wise (read no paint required).
Side claddings are extra and add to the cost. Not sure if the front and rear black part of the bumper. Even they are painted but with matt black.
Guna is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2025, 15:03   #132

Hey guys I am confused between the Kylaq and the I20 Nline N8 DCT. Have test driven both but still confused
Here are some of the queries
1. How much is the actual difference between both having same cc and direct injection, the Hyundai TGDI felt a rougher than the Skoda TSI one?
2. The DCT of Hyundai might give better mileage but reliability is a concern, while the Torque converter on Kylaq won't that great a mileage.
3. How much difference would there be in body roll on corners for Kylaq (got a short test drive couldn't test it out much)
4. Both Signatures plus and N8 DCT are priced almost same, in Kylaq I get more ground clearance but the I20 has more features ( Leather seats, paddle shifters, fog lamps, Bose speakers, Electrochrome mirror etc)
5. Have good experience with Hyundai ASS with my current i20 elite, Skoda service I have heard issues.

Usage is mostly weekend drives and trips, in city I use my car sparingly that might after getting an automatic current usage is 75 highway 25 city.

Old 3rd February 2025, 15:08   #133

Originally Posted by Guna View Post
Side claddings are extra and add to the cost. Not sure if the front and rear black part of the bumper. Even they are painted but with matt black.
By cladding, i mean the replaced front and rear bumpers and the side skirts. They've replaced metal components with plastic ones. I do not mean the aftermarket cladding you can get for additional protection. I am implying that by replacing metal parts with plastic, they are cutting costs.

Originally Posted by kedar3223 View Post
But i think even the portion below the claddings are usually painted right?
By cladding I mean the dumper itself. In the case of the Kylaq the bumpers themselves seem to be the same material of plastic cladding.
s2K_scorpioN is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2025, 16:18   #134

By cladding, i mean the replaced front and rear bumpers and the side skirts. They've replaced metal components with plastic ones. I do not mean the aftermarket cladding you can get for additional protection. I am implying that by replacing metal parts with plastic, they are cutting costs.
All modern cars have plastic bumpers with some metal brackets inside. Just that they are painted with body colour. In this case they are left black. I don't think there is any cost cutting.
Guna is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2025, 22:28   #135

Originally Posted by Suifuto View Post
Any idea whether the classic variant has rear AC vents ? If not, I think it would solve the middle person legroom issue to an extent. When I saw the Prestige variant at Mahavir Skoda Hyderabad, the main issue I felt was the lack of legroom for the middle person.
The Classic variant does not seem to have the center arm-rest / rear A/C vent section, thereby giving it more legroom.
Check out this crude GIF of the rear seating between the Classic vs Signature variant i created from the images on their website.

Skoda Kylaq Review-kylaqclassicvssignature.gif
commodore is offline   (2) Thanks