Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Official New Car Reviews
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 16th July 2014, 16:21   #3241
BHPian

Re: Volkswagen Polo : Test Drive & Review

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vik0728 View Post
Hey gsurya I am not an expert on this, but I can try answering your queries. In any case, please do wait for some expert opinion.

If I am right, any car with ECU can be remapped. It is just about reprogramming the maps loaded by the manufacturer, which ofcourse requires immense domain knowledge.

But an expert who can remap will upfront admit that the performance gains on a N.A (Naturally Aspirated) engines like Polo 1.2 MPi are less or negligible. Driveability will surely improve but nothing extravagent will ever happen.

Turbocharged engines, whether Petrol or Diesel, respond better to remaps.

OT - gsurya why don't you hold on till the Bolt with 1.2 Revtron engine is here. Anyday, a remap on this engine will be better than on a Polo 1.2 MPi.
Thanks, I am already considering the Zest 1.2 Revotron too.. but yes, as Bolt may weigh a 100 kgs less, it may be even more peppy than the Zest.

I am just weighing my options between the 'Driver' friendly petrol hatch/compact sedans : Zest/Bolt, New Polo, New Swift, Etios Cross 1.5P, Punto 1.4P.
Old 16th July 2014, 18:20   #3242
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsurya View Post
I would have very much liked to buy a VW Polo Manual 1.2 Tsi but sadly there is none forthcoming.

Can the VW Polo 1.2 Petrol ECU be remapped or other performance enhancements done after the warranty period? Anyone with experience / knowledge on this can help?
Simply put remapping a naturally aspirated engine will not yield any benefit. The gains would be negligible. Its only in turbo charged engines that you get 25%+ benefit.