Team-BHP - Toyota Etios : Test Drive & Review

-   Official New Car Reviews (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/)
-   -   Toyota Etios : Test Drive & Review (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/93914-toyota-etios-test-drive-review-62.html)

I also own a 5.5 yr, 70K kms run petrol Etios and the ownership experience still continues to be the best. My etios has been to places like Ladakh and has been a trusted companion throughout.

Recently along with the 70k service I got the front suspension overhaul, Clutch Overhaul, Brake Disc Machining and Brake pad replacement done. The cost was 14k which I think is quite reasonable.

Recently I have upgraded to XUV 500 Automatic, but the sheer driving pleasure and comfort of my etios is still unmatched and plasters a smile on my face.

Originally Posted by heman_369 (Post 4051570)
Recently along with the 70k service I got the front suspension overhaul, Clutch Overhaul, Brake Disc Machining and Brake pad replacement done. The cost was 14k which I think is quite reasonable.

Recently I have upgraded to XUV 500 Automatic, but the sheer driving pleasure and comfort of my etios is still unmatched and plasters a smile on my face.

Could you please post the bill or the split up of the expense ? This will help us have a clear cut idea about the spare part price and labour for such a work.

Many of us have not touched the clutch till date and hence this will be a very useful info. :D
for eg:-, I've covered 1,10,000 kms on my Etios Diesel till date without doing any work on the clutch.

Hello All,

(This query is on behalf of my friend, who's contemplating a purchase)

2011 - Toyota Etios V (Petrol) - 39000 km odo reading - mechanically sound, well maintained interiors (art leather seat covers) - minor scratches here & there on the body.
It is being quoted for 4L by Toyota certified.
(min. 1 year warranty on engine & transmission, with 2 free services included)

Toyota guys, will service the car before they deliver.

Things included in the pre-delivery service -

brake pads replacement
oil change
touch up work to cover body scratches, "Foam replacement @ driver footwell "
There is a strange looking hole in the carpet & foam padding in the driver side footwell. The service manager committed a "block" will be cut & replaced in the foam area & the mat will be replaced.
MID panel/console replacement(???)
The back-light of the MID cluster does not work. Odo reading & spedometer & other gauges are fine.
The service manager claims that the entire front panel/console would need to be replaced to solve this problem! (that will cost around 23K INR)
It will push the standing price of the car by at least 15-20K INR
It is said to involve informing the RTO about the ODO reading reset to "0"km after the panel replacement.
----

Now the question:

Is the MID backlight really something that cannot be addressed without the whole console replacement!?
If we leave the backlight problem unattended, are any other problems expected with the console/MID?

What do you guys (Etios seniors) recommend?

Ace.

Originally Posted by amalji (Post 4051597)
for eg:-, I've covered 1,10,000 kms on my Etios Diesel till date without doing any work on the clutch.

That's quite something. The service centre guys have advised against a replacement or you have not felt the need?

Originally Posted by sibot (Post 4055796)
That's quite something. The service centre guys have advised against a replacement or you have not felt the need?

Never felt the need because never did it show any symptom of clutch wear
Never have a service center guy suggested a clutch work as well.

PS: I rarely use half clutch. I always try to be on the right gears instead. If at all, it demands crawling, I try to engage shortly and disengage clutch instead of crawling at half clutch position. For the same reason, I've never had to replace my clutch on a 1,20,000 kms run Maruti Zen or a 1,10,000 kms run Maruti Esteem. :)

Updated Etios Platinum launched.

http://www.autocarindia.com/auto-new...ed-402982.aspx

Originally Posted by amalji (Post 4055843)
Never felt the need because never did it show any symptom of clutch wear
Never have a service center guy suggested a clutch work as well.

PS: I rarely use half clutch. I always try to be on the right gears instead. If at all, it demands crawling, I try to engage shortly and disengage clutch instead of crawling at half clutch position. For the same reason, I've never had to replace my clutch on a 1,20,000 kms run Maruti Zen or a 1,10,000 kms run Maruti Esteem. :)

I frequently use 'half-clutch' in the first gear and i acquired this 'bad driving' habit while learning and now i am unable to get rid of this habit!
Having said that, even with my driving style, I have not changed the clutch with 70000+kms in my ODO. Also, yet to replace the brake pads (as per 70k kms service report, still 3.5mm left).

Originally Posted by Durango Dude (Post 4055968)

These are the specific changes ( other than the cosmetic ones )
  1. New speedo meter ( Looks aesthetically better than any of the previous generations ). But, Toyota should have bought the same digital odo meter given for Brazil.
  2. New central locking button. ( I really don't know what the use is when you can do the same with the driver side lock )
  3. ABS & EBD becomes standard. ( That's a welcome move. Thumps up to Toyota )
  4. The center rear passenger now gets a 3 point seat belt ( Another welcome move from Toyota )
  5. Rear arm rest ( Good move )
  6. Removable center passenger headrest ( Good one )
  7. Child seat locks ( Very good initiative ). Might improve the crash test star rating results for Child
  8. Rear seat made foldable ( Along with the humongous 595 liter boot, this increase its practicality several folds. Good one, Toyota )
  9. Electronically Foldable ORVMs ( More of a gimmick than utility )

The biggest miss again is the lack of automatic transmission. Why do Toyota have to be so stubborn in not releasing that when they already have one for Brazil ? :(

Overall, I liked the additions for what Etios stands for ( Practicality, Comfort, Utility and dependability ). Thankfully, they did not concentrate on gimmicks.

Originally Posted by amalji (Post 4056160)

The biggest miss again is the lack of automatic transmission. Why do Toyota have to be so stubborn in not releasing that when they already have one for Brazil ?

To me it appears to be due to a firm No from Toyota. They seem to control product design totally, no say for TKM.

Nikhil

And because of the center arm rest, the boot space seems to have slightly decreased from 595 liters to 592 liters.

Car buying decisions are so tough!

I think its best to decide on what one wants to spend and then decide the car.

My father, 66, wants to own a good car. He drives <200kms a month but he would still like to own a good car. A retired govt employee, he wants to keep it within 10L for sure. Preferably 7-8lakhs but ok to stretch for a good car.

Why am i posting this on a Etios thread? Because whatever car i read about, i come back to Etios everytime. It is good in every way. So i come back to read this thread again and again and wonder if he should simply go and buy the latest Etios and be done with it.

So, its questions time...!! here goes -

Dear Mr GTO - Would you prefer the Etios (petrol or diesel aside) over your Sunny workhourse? This question will help decide between the two Japs. do consider the new Platinum version when answering.

Q2) In the Etios bracket, I see Ertiga, i20, ecosport, Amaze and brezza as decent options. (note i have taken only Japs/korean for awesome after sales wala experience) I know these cars are different from one another etc etc..but he is looking for a GOOD car that has quality, good driving pleasure (he is quite the driver), space and a little pampering with features etc wont be a bad idea. So what are your thoughts?

I will post this on other threads as well. I know this is a typical 'which car' post and i can read a lot of info elsewhere on teambhp regarding this but i also wanted to do the traditional 'which car' post so as to feel more like a part of team bhp (ha ha ha).

NOW to the MORE 'close to my hear' question... among the JAPS which second hand car will you suggest (lateral upgrade) within 7-10 lakh budget? I know i can get Corolla, accord, CRV etc . Good idea to go for >3year old car? I want help with a good adviser/ mechanic in chandigarh who can help Dad buy a clean second hand JAP from sector 7 sunday market. People from CHD please help

Thanks for reading ! :)

Originally Posted by sjain2054 (Post 4057642)
Would you prefer the Etios (petrol or diesel aside) over your Sunny workhourse?

Certainly.
Nissan service centres can never match Toyotas service centers. For that reason alone, I would pick the etios considering your requirements.

he is looking for a GOOD car that has quality, good driving pleasure (he is quite the driver), space and a little pampering with features etc wont be a bad idea. So what are your thoughts?
Buy a Baleno/ Jazz automatic for convenience, features and decent road manners.

Originally Posted by driverace (Post 4055631)
2011 - Toyota Etios V (Petrol) - 39000 km odo reading [indent] strange looking hole in the carpet & foam padding in the driver side footwell[indent][indent]The back-light of the MID cluster does not work.

I am no Etios senior but have , in the last 3 months , understood the first edition of the Etios quite well.

My recommendation is to stay away from the 2011 example.

Go for a 2013 example.

For 4 lacs , your friend can land an excellent 2008 Camry or a 2009 Altis.Why settle for an Etios?

My father, 66, wants to own a good car. He drives <200kms a month but he would still like to own a good car.
Dear Mr GTO - Would you prefer the Etios (petrol or diesel aside) over your Sunny workhourse?

a GOOD car that has quality, good driving pleasure (he is quite the driver), space and a little pampering with features etc wont be a bad idea. So what are your thoughts?

Get him a new car.

If you think the Etios is good enough for the feel good factor - I am not saying it is, or it isn't, these are subjective things - why not a Liva? Why carry a boot around all the time?

My father, 66, wants to own a good car. He drives <200kms a month but he would still like to own a good car.

Dear Mr GTO - Would you prefer the Etios (petrol or diesel aside)

With that kind of running, it's a no-brainer. Go with the petrol. Excellent torque, slick gearshift & very enjoyable dynamics. The Etios corners f-l-a-t!

Originally Posted by Sawyer (Post 4076020)
If you think the Etios is good enough for the feel good factor - I am not saying it is, or it isn't, these are subjective things - why not a Liva?

Engine, engine, engine. The Etios' 1.5L is excellent, the Liva's 1.2L is lame.