Old 28th April 2011, 14:59   #1546

re: Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)

Forget the overpriced Thar which has no guarantee of a "niggle free" future - Go out and buy yourself a 2008-2009 model secondhand Scorpio VLX 4WD at around 9 lacs and save 2 lacs for the Diesel and maintenance expenses which you will incur normally over the next 5-6 years or so.

Else go to the second hand marketplace and buy a middle aged Gypsy or MM540 for a couple of lacs and fuel your off roading fantasies.

Put the remaining 9 lacs into a nice comfy regular road car and do your regular commute in peace, comfort and quietude.

You wont regret it.

Originally Posted by Vishal Rajan View Post
The Thar now costs Rs 7.2 lacs on road and the ac fitment from NBS is Rs 80K.
3lacs Min to do up the vehicle. Gets u To a 11 lacs .
Old 28th April 2011, 15:17   #1547

Forget the overpriced Thar which has no guarantee of a "niggle free" future - Go out and buy yourself a 2008-2009 model secondhand Scorpio VLX 4WD at around 9 lacs and save 2 lacs for the Diesel and maintenance expenses which you will incur normally over the next 5-6 years or so.

Else go to the second hand marketplace and buy a middle aged Gypsy or MM540 for a couple of lacs and fuel your off roading fantasies.

Put the remaining 9 lacs into a nice comfy regular road car and do your regular commute in peace, comfort and quietude.

You wont regret it.
Your total cost approaches that of a Scorpio after you get every thing that the Scorpio has into the Thar. I would much rather have the Scorpio. At least it is a Known Devil.
Old 30th April 2011, 20:52   #1548

Had occasion to drop into a dealership and look at the Thar up close for the first time. The MOST irritating feature in the vehicle is the left offset steering wheel - and the sticker on the windshield!
Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-20110429-thar-accessories.jpg
Go out and buy yourself a 2008-2009 model secondhand Scorpio VLX 4WD...
IIRC the Scorpio mHawk 4wd assembly line started on 01 August 2009. I booked mine on 5 August 2009.
Old 30th April 2011, 21:50   #1549

Originally Posted by SS-Traveller View Post
IIRC the Scorpio mHawk 4wd assembly line started on 01 August 2009. I booked mine on 5 August 2009.
OT- Dada, assembly line for 2WD Scorpio and 4WD Scorpio are the same, even Xylo 2WD / 4WD are rolled from this same line.

Spike
SPIKE ARRESTOR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th April 2011, 22:00   #1550

Originally Posted by SPIKE ARRESTOR View Post
...assembly line for 2WD Scorpio and 4WD Scorpio are the same, even Xylo 2WD / 4WD are rolled from this same line.
Yes - what I meant was, that was probably the date Scorpio mHawk 4wd's started being assembled - could you confirm on that please? - so there can't be any Scorpio mHawk VLX 4wd's made in 2008. Read my previous post as
IIRC the Scorpio mHawk 4wd assembly/mass manufacturing started on 01 August 2009.

Last edited by SS-Traveller : 30th April 2011 at 22:02.
Old 30th April 2011, 22:40   #1551
AWD

Summer has set in North & temps are touching 40 degrees already. I can't even think of a vehicle without an A.C. in such extreme conditions & specially so in an ~8L vehicle. Thar is totally out of the list of things now.

Btw, are Xylo 4x4's coming to the showrooms nearby anytime soon?

Last edited by AWD : 30th April 2011 at 22:41.
Old 30th April 2011, 23:00   #1552

Originally Posted by SS-Traveller View Post
Yes - what I meant was, that was probably the date Scorpio mHawk 4wd's started being assembled - could you confirm on that please? - so there can't be any Scorpio mHawk VLX 4wd's made in 2008. Read my previous post as-IIRC the Scorpio mHawk 4wd assembly/mass manufacturing started on 01 August 2009.
Dada, you are absolutely correct, well almost. The starting time for this model is July 2009 beginning from VIN No. 92Gxxx88 onwards.

Spike

Mods- please move to appropriate thread if required.

Last edited by SPIKE ARRESTOR : 30th April 2011 at 23:02.
Old 2nd May 2011, 15:46   #1553

I got a call from India Garage on Friday that a few Thars are available in Stock, including the rocky beige color that I have ordered.

So I went in on Saturday - and checked out the Thar and also had a detailed discussion with the accessory person. I checked for the AC and the accessory person clearly told me that they had tried to fit an AC but due to lack of space for some pulley they did not succeed - and that the installation remains an R&D project. I asked about the AC kit and he told me that he has no indication of the same being supplied soon - and also mentioned that they have written several letters to M&M for the AC kit.

On the price - I was told approx. 48K, based on the AC installation in Bolero.

Well, I have decided to wait until at least the AC kit is available and I get some confidence that the dealers have installed it on a few vehicles without issues.

Meanwhile if M&M launches a factory fitted AC soon -that will be best!

Also the gear lock - the U-type one - under 2k, the person was not sure if that could be installed in the Thar due to the 4WD level. And that required drilling 4 holes in body.
I was wondering if someone has installed a gear lock on a Jeep with 4WD lever. I have searched the forum- couldn't find anything. If someone can point out how it can be done..that will be much appreciated.

Meanwhile - while I was there - I met a gentleman who was taking the delivery of a Red Thar..he had some nice alloys on that..While I was leaving - he was still trying to get the horn fixed - for some reason it wasn't working.
Old 2nd May 2011, 16:09   #1554

@carrot_eater your post highlights why an "AC ready" vehicle is not same as an AC vehicle. The Delerships have no idea what R&D intends, and are trying hit and trial operations inspite of clear instructions.
So its time M&M launched a factory fitted AC in the Thar, and put rest to all the troubles the buyers are going through.
Old 2nd May 2011, 16:40   #1555

^^ Would CMVR(or whatever governing this) allow AC in a soft top body? What if some buyer goes to consumer court claiming AC is not effective?

My Cousin owns a MM550 refurbished in Dabwali, the Jeep's AC is quite effective with a nice custom made multi-layer soft top. Pics next time i visit him, previous pics gone with my broken memory card.
Old 2nd May 2011, 17:34   #1556

Mercedes sells some real high end(1 crore and above) vehicles in India which are soft tops, yet come with AC and heater. I suppose it is understood, if you want to use the AC, you need to close the top
Old 2nd May 2011, 17:45   #1557

A friend of mine to had done up his MM540 and fitted an a/c in it. It was quite effective.

The best thing about the MM540 was that at the end of the day it was a solid vehicle (with metal bumpers!!) which could be repaired quite inexpensively, unlike a more expensive vehicle like a Scorpio. So you drive it in traffic and scrape one of those maddening autos, the heart break is not as much as having the same experience with a Scorpio. But if its a nicely restored MM or a Willy's, then the same does not apply.
Old 2nd May 2011, 18:37   #1558

if you scrape the mad autos, its the auto which will get a hefty dent rather than the MM540 bumpers or side steps. autowallahs give half feet gap for a scorpio but a full 2 feet gap for the MM540, personally seen in my experience.
shekaran is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd May 2011, 22:48   #1559

Since the interior design of the Thar is borrowed from Bolero, can anyone tell me if the beige variant of the bolero's interior can be fixed in Thar as well ?
Old 3rd May 2011, 07:32   #1560

Originally Posted by Torque View Post
Since the interior design of the Thar is borrowed from Bolero, can anyone tell me if the beige variant of the bolero's interior can be fixed in Thar as well ?
Yes you can if the dealer provides you one