Old 30th August 2011, 20:47   #1861

re: Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)

Originally Posted by Aroy View Post
Seems to be reasonably priced. Now if they have an option of AC + HT also, it would take the cake.
6+4.75~11L
You find that reasonable?
what on earth costs 4.75L on that thar?
it can be probably modded to look like the same for approximately 1L in open market.

Last edited by akshay4587 : 30th August 2011 at 20:48.
Old 30th August 2011, 20:59   #1862

Originally Posted by cpbopanna View Post
One of the available options @ Mahindra Customization for a cool INR 4.75 Lakhs + base Thar CRDe !!
Umm.. from a purpose point of view, I wouldn't spend 4.75L for oodles of chrome, those seats, bull bars (illegal?) and HT (?) tyres. The only thing 'I' find worthy is the winch.
Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
6+4.75~11L
Umm... does one get a base Thar CRDe for 6L On road? Whats the on-road price in B'lore?. ~8lacs?
it can be probably modded to look like the same for approximately 1L in open market.
+1. But, why would someone want chrome roll cage?
Old 30th August 2011, 21:04   #1863

Guys, Dig this??
One of the available options @ Mahindra Customization for a cool INR 4.75 Lakhs + base Thar CRDe !!
11 lakhs to get that look for the THAR CRDe!!

does it include AC?
Old 30th August 2011, 22:20   #1864

Following is the full text of the mail:

Dear Sir,
The much desired & aspired Thar CRDe has finally arrived. Now you can go through the extreme off – road terrain like driving on tarmac. Enjoy the open top and reach out to the skies.

About the Concept:

"Thar Adventure" Concept can be built on any of the Thar variants. The Thar is available in 2 variants – the Thar CRDe and the Thar DI. Further, the Thar CRDe is available only in the 4WD variant. While the Thar DI is available in 2WD and the 4WD variants. Thar CRDe is powered by the NEF CRDe 105hp engine with power steering while the Thar DI is powered by the 63hp DI engine and is without power steering.

Request you to kindly note the attachment for the images of the "Thar Adventure" Concept.

We would also like to invite you to kindly visit our Customization Website - main for more details on Customized Concepts from the Mahindra Stable.

You would need to purchase a Thar CRDe from your local Dealer and post registration would need to send the vehicle to us in Mumbai in order to customize it to the "Thar Adventure" Concept.

Concepts from the Mahindra Customization stable are also available to Customers who already are proud owners of Mahindra vehicles. The Customized component would remain the same for these vehicles as well. We would only need to run a check on the condition of the vehicle as regards the bodyline and the mechanicals & the necessary upgrades for refurbishing would be at an extra cost.

(the alloy wheels shown in the images is only for demo and is not available for sale)

Request you to kindly note the detailed menu of the “Thar Adventure” Concept – Open Top Version:

Exteriors:
• Custom built front bull bar
• Bull bar mounted auxiliary lamps
• Modified front grill verticals with mesh
• Inset head lamps
• Modified front fenders with inset indicator lamps
• Restyled wheel arches with allen head studs
• Styled side scoops with mesh
• Side guards with checkered plate step in
• Modified rear bumper
• Twin pipe exhaust tail ends in Stainless Steel
• Triple pipe roll cage
• Styled tail lamp bezel
• LED tail lamp arrangement
• Custom paint job
• Window-line blackening
• Front & rear mud flaps
• Drop down windscreen assembly
• Bonnet supports for windscreen
• Bonnet catch for windscreen

Interiors:
• Color coded interiors
• Upholstery in leather combination
• Custom built center console
• Leather wrapped interiors
• Restyled dash garnish with storage zones
• 1DIN MP3 player with USB port
• Front 6” round component speakers
• Rear 6”X 9”oval speakers
• 4 channel amplifier
• Front speaker box
• Rear speaker box on tail gate
• Carpet & mats
• Removal of driver & co-driver doors
• Removal of “B” pillar
• Pipe section door frame in powder coated black
• Roll cage for windscreen
• Driver & co-driver rally type seats
• 2nd row front facing rally type seats
• Floor pan modification to house all four seats
• Seat belts
• Canopy arrangement

Concept
Thar Adventure - Open Top Variant
Base Vehicle: Thar - All Variants
Total Cost (Rs.) 4,00,000/-
Composition Tax @ 8% (VAT) (Rs.) 32,000/-
Service Tax @ 10.3% (Rs.) 41,200/-
Grand Total (Rs.) 4,73,200/-

The following are optional and are not included in the above package. Hence, the following will be at an additional cost:
o Winch
o Alloy wheels
o Tyres
o A/C
o Hard Top
o Soft Top

Request you to kindly note the following:
· Customer registers & insures the Thar CRDe (any version) from the Local Dealership
Customer would pay a DD favouring M/s. NBS International Ltd, Mumbai for the Customization component as per the cost mentioned above
The Customer needs to send the registered & insured vehicle to the following address for the Customization to be carried out :

J.S. Nanda
Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd, Customization Studio
Unit No.9, Steel - Made Industrial Estate
Near Marol Fire Brigade, Marol
Andheri – East, Mumbai - 59

The Customization process would take approximately 45 to 60 working days from the time we receive the base vehicle at Customization Workshop, Andheri, Mumbai
· Post Customization, the Customized vehicle will be sent back to the AO / Dealership for final delivery to the Customer
· Pricing does not include the movement of the registered & insured vehicle to and fro from the Customer / Dealer Location Any incidence during the transit would be borne by the Customer
· Pricing does not include the transit insurance of the same. This is to be borne by the Customer
· Transportation, insurance & parking of the vehicle is at vehicle Owners risk
· There is no technical change in the vehicle - hence, the same vehicle warranty would stand
· Customization has been done to the effect of only aesthetic changes and we will provide a 6 month manufacturing warranty for the same
· All concepts are hand crafted and may vary from variant to variant
· Customized Mahindra vehicles are not recommended for any kind of competitive sport or rally or endurance trials or tests of any kind
· Customization on base vehicle is performed only as per Customers instructions & confirmations to do so. All RTO permissions to be obtained by the Customer
· Customization is dependent on skilled workers, specific materials, etc & hence, time line may go beyond the specified date due to unforeseen circumstances
Looking forward to provide you with the best of services & make you a proud owner of our Customized Concepts

Thanking you,

With Warm Regards,

Yours Truly,

J.S. Nanda
DGM - Customization (Marketing)

Originally Posted by Parm View Post
11 lakhs to get that look for the THAR CRDe!!

does it include AC?

I wonder why many essential 'accessories' are not part of the original Thar!!
Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-thar1.jpg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-thar2.jpg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-thar3.jpg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-thar4.jpg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-thar5.jpg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-thar6.jpg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-thar7.jpg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-thar8.jpg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-thar9.jpg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-thar10.jpg  

Last edited by Samurai : 31st August 2011 at 10:58. Reason: please don't reveal mobile numbers from personal emails
Old 30th August 2011, 22:36   #1865

Any pics of the hard top they are providing?
heard that they were charging 3.5L for Hard top and AC
akshay4587 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th August 2011, 22:46   #1866

Any pics of the hard top they are providing?
heard that they were charging 3.5L for Hard top and AC
I've got pictures, but they have already been posted on the thread.
And yes, the price is right, INR 3.5 Lakhs
Old 31st August 2011, 00:50   #1867
AVR

After seeing the "Adventure" pics am quite sure MM stands for Mayapuri & Moga because those are the only places which came up with such jeeps so far!
AVR is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 31st August 2011, 02:56   #1868

Following is the full text of the mail:

Dear Sir,
The much desired & aspired Thar CRDe has finally arrived. Now you can go through the extreme off – road terrain like driving on tarmac. Enjoy the open top and reach out to the skies.
=================

I wonder why many essential 'accessories' are not part of the original Thar!!
cosmetic changes at that price!

MM customization is a big joke by MM played on the customers who want their vehicle to look like MM (mayapuri & moga) creations!

anyway what stops a Thar owner to convert his/her vehicle to a better looking vehicle than what MM customzation has show!

im glad the photos are out and Thar owners would not destroy their vehicles by sending them to Nanda ji and Gang!

Last edited by Jaggu : 31st August 2011 at 10:36. Reason: Please avoid Quoting entire large post. Thanks
Old 31st August 2011, 10:34   #1869

When I commented on the price, I assumed that all the components in the picture were there for 4.75L - Winch, Seats, Alloys, Tyres etc. Without these the price is way too much. What they are offering, is as many have said "Mayapuri" treatment. What most of us want is a Trail Worthy Vehicle, not all this bling. If you go by their prices it will overtake the 4x4 Scorpio without adding much value (exception : mechanical 4x4 instead of electrical actuation)

As many have modified Geeps in general and Thar in particular, it would be in the interest of the community if the price generally charged for following mods is known

. Roll cage(s)
. Alloys
. Maxis Tyres
. Underbody protection - engine, GB & diffs, Rock Sliders etc
. Differential Locks
. Chequered plates
. Front and Rear Bull Bars
. Rally Seats
. Rally Lights with mounts
. AC
. Hard Top

I may have missed a lot of other items, please feel free to add to the list. The idea is to share the costs involved in modifying vehicles to a level where they can be called "Life Style Vehicle" in contrast to the current "Plantation/Estate Vehicle"
Old 31st August 2011, 11:45   #1870

Almost all items included in the customization package are bling items. And you lose the doors too. This is just a rich boy's toy. Serious Jeepers have to tend for themselves, as usual.
Old 2nd September 2011, 01:15   #1871

Originally Posted by Aroy View Post
When I commented on the price, I assumed that all the components in the picture were there for 4.75L - Winch, Seats, Alloys, Tyres etc. Without these the price is way too much. What they are offering, is as many have said "Mayapuri" treatment. What most of us want is a Trail Worthy Vehicle, not all this bling. If you go by their prices it will overtake the 4x4 Scorpio without adding much value (exception : mechanical 4x4 instead of electrical actuation)

As many have modified Geeps in general and Thar in particular, it would be in the interest of the community if the price generally charged for following mods is known

. Roll cage(s)
. Alloys
. Maxis Tyres
. Underbody protection - engine, GB & diffs, Rock Sliders etc
. Differential Locks
. Chequered plates
. Front and Rear Bull Bars
. Rally Seats
. Rally Lights with mounts
. AC
. Hard Top

I may have missed a lot of other items, please feel free to add to the list. The idea is to share the costs involved in modifying vehicles to a level where they can be called "Life Style Vehicle" in contrast to the current "Plantation/Estate Vehicle"
Im sure Rally Raj Kapoor OR Apana Amanpreet can do most of the stuff mentioned here!

here is link to another customization company based in delhi/gurgaon. they look pretty impressive!

BIMBRA INDUSTRIES

they have done some good work for the Indian Army. they use Aluminum
FRP,Stainless Steel, rubber, Plastic and PU for customization.
Old 2nd September 2011, 06:27   #1872

One thing Guaranteed - Mahindra Customization = B L I N G B L I N G
Old 2nd September 2011, 08:14   #1873

Originally Posted by Parm View Post
Im sure Rally Raj Kapoor OR Apana Amanpreet can do most of the stuff mentioned here!

here is link to another customization company based in delhi/gurgaon. they look pretty impressive!

BIMBRA INDUSTRIES

they have done some good work for the Indian Army. they use Aluminum
FRP,Stainless Steel, rubber, Plastic and PU for customization.

Dear Parm,

Have you seen their work?

I just browsed through the link you put up and they show bestop hardtops in their products gallery. Do they really stock these or are they replicas for our MMs?
Old 2nd September 2011, 13:14   #1874

Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
Dear Parm,

Have you seen their work?

I just browsed through the link you put up and they show bestop hardtops in their products gallery. Do they really stock these or are they replicas for our MMs?
i had done a Sumo's interior around 10 years ago, when they were small shop, now they have moved onto the bigger league.

the photos of bestops are for illustration purpose ONLY! dont expect the same products from them.

yes they do make replicas for MM JEEPS and MG Gypsys.

one can take their own photos of anything you want them to make for you.
Old 2nd September 2011, 13:20   #1875

The mail I recieved on enquiring about a hard top, and some WIP pics that were sent.

Dear Sir,
Request you to kindly note the raw images of the hard top. These images are raw and unpainted. This would just give you a rough idea on how it would look.

The Hard Top (HT) is in FRP and is non removable in nature. The front portion sits between the windscreen and the “B” pillar and the rear portion is from the “B” pillar to the rear end of the vehicle. The HT is double skinned with the space frame sandwiched in between the inner shell and the outer shell. The sides have sliding glasses and the rear door carries a fixed glass. The “D” pillar has LED tail lamp arrangement. The rear door has a spare wheel cover which also carries the number plate and aux brake light

The Hard Top will include:
· HT assembly driver portion
· HT assembly passenger portion
· Inner skinning
· Space frame
· A/C assembly
· LED lamps
· LED lamp bezel
· Rear door assembly
· Sliding glasses
· Fixed glass
· Central locking
· Power windows
· Spare wheel cover with aux brake lamp

The total cost of the above mentioned hard top arrangement will cost Rs. 2,50,000/- + 12.5% tax = Rs. 2,81,250/-

Thanking you,

With Warm Regards,

Yours Truly,

J.S. Nanda
DGM - Customization (Marketing)
Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-frt1.jpg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-rr1.jpg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-rr2.jpg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-rr3.jpg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-rr4.jpg  

Last edited by Rehaan : 6th September 2011 at 15:05. Reason: Removing formatting tags