Old 13th November 2017, 18:09   #3661

re: Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)

Originally Posted by KkVaidya View Post
The main reason for changing the tires was to reduce the burden on axle/ bearings and reduce tire noise. Also they were set on negative offset rims so the ride was not as good as it came from the factory. I also changed to OE rims which has resulted in complete change in driving dynamics.
AFAIK THAR CRDe comes with 6.5Jx16 alloys with inset offset of 40mm and 235 size tyres are widest possible size to fit.

was the size and offset of your upgraded rims?

Don't the tyre noise depends on type of tyre rather than size?
Old 15th November 2017, 10:18   #3662

Originally Posted by (Alok) View Post
AFAIK THAR CRDe comes with 6.5Jx16 alloys with inset offset of 40mm and 235 size tyres are widest possible size to fit.

was the size and offset of your upgraded rims?

Don't the tyre noise depends on type of tyre rather than size?
Frankly I don't know what was the exact specification of the alloy wheels. On the tires, AT tires are a bit noisy then HT tires but width also plays a significant role as the contact patch increases. I had AT tires which are noisier then HT and they were wider then needed so the noise was intruding after 70kmph.
Old 8th December 2017, 11:10   #3663

Mahindra Thar likely to get new 6 speed manual transmission.
Source: https://motoroctane.com/news/97167-m...d-transmission
Old 8th December 2017, 15:01   #3664

Originally Posted by Fulcrum View Post
Mahindra Thar likely to get new 6 speed manual transmission.
Source: https://motoroctane.com/news/97167-m...d-transmission
I dont know why they would change the transmission to 6 speed and increase cost!
The crash norms may force Mahindra to do some cosmetic and chassis changes. The source also quoted Thar with the new 140bhp Mhawk which would definitely be more juicy but I doubt it would happen as it is a major engineering change. The engine needs to be moved forward which I was told by late Mr Behram Dhabhar is very difficult.
Old 10th December 2017, 18:47   #3665

Dear All,
I am new to this website and this is my first post. I am planning to buy a second hand Mahindra Thar CRDE 4X4. I am attaching herewith the pics of the vehicle as well. The vehicle has run 37,000 Km. and is customized as well. Please guide me as to what all things should i look to ensure that the Thar that I am buying does not turns out to be a nightmare for me
Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-whatsapp-image-20171210-13.54.15-1.jpeg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-whatsapp-image-20171210-13.54.11.jpeg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-whatsapp-image-20171210-13.54.14.jpeg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-whatsapp-image-20171210-13.54.15.jpeg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-whatsapp-image-20171210-13.54.16.jpeg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-whatsapp-image-20171210-13.54.17.jpeg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-whatsapp-image-20171210-13.54.18.jpeg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-whatsapp-image-20171210-13.54.19.jpeg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-whatsapp-image-20171210-13.54.20-1.jpeg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-whatsapp-image-20171210-13.54.20.jpeg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-whatsapp-image-20171210-15.50.59.jpeg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-whatsapp-image-20171210-15.51.02.jpeg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-whatsapp-image-20171210-15.51.03.jpeg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-whatsapp-image-20171210-15.51.05.jpeg  

ShubhGo1987 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 10th December 2017, 20:21   #3666

Welcome to the Forum!

I am planning to buy a second hand Mahindra Thar CRDE 4X4
This looks like a Pavement Princess

What do you want to do with this Thar? If you want a city poser, then this should serve your purpose, looks reasonably good appearance vise. Now if you can ascertain, if this interior is recent or has been since long then you can surely get a basic idea of mechanicals. In case of recent change of interiors which looks like the case given the mileage and overall condition of beige upholstery, it will be best to get it checked from Mahindra dealership or some independent Garage who does repairs of such SUV.

Can you share how much is asking price so that other members can suggest you from a price perspective as well.

Last edited by Turbanator : 10th December 2017 at 20:23.
Turbanator is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th December 2017, 12:40   #3667

Originally Posted by ShubhGo1987 View Post
I am buying does not turns out to be a nightmare for me
The interior insulation seems to be done nice but the seats look too much puffed up. This will spoil the ergonomics and you will not enjoy long drives.
Also the handling would be messed up seeing the offset wheels and tires. Drive one vehicle which is shod with OE size tires and wheels and then compare yourself before you plunge.
Old 12th December 2017, 06:24   #3668

Welcome to the Forum!
Thank you Sir, its an honour to be a member of this esteemed group

This looks like a Pavement Princess

This looks like a Pavement Princess What do you want to do with this Thar?
Hi, i plan to use this vehicle for my city drives which is approx. 40 km/day average as well as my monthly highway drives which would be with my girlfriend.

If you want a city poser, then this should serve your purpose, looks reasonably good appearance vise.
I have the same feeling that its a good city poser. I wont be indulging in any serious off roading except driving sometimes on sand around Diu or may be a 2 day forest outing.

Now if you can ascertain, if this interior is recent or has been since long then you can surely get a basic idea of mechanicals. In case of recent change of interiors which looks like the case given the mileage and overall condition of beige upholstery, it will be best to get it checked from Mahindra dealership or some independent Garage who does repairs of such SUV.
Thanks for the info I am going to do the same

Can you share how much is asking price so that other members can suggest you from a price perspective as well.
Well, the asking price is Rs.8.5 Lakhs, the owner says he spent Rs.11.5 Lakhs in total

The interior insulation seems to be done nice but the seats look too much puffed up. This will spoil the ergonomics and you will not enjoy long drives.
Well Sir, firstly thank you for taking out time to go through my post and posting a reply. I missed out this point in my initial review of car, but yes, i feel you are right, but the car is just meeting my expectations right now. Hence, i will get it a little changed subsequently. Today buying a new Thar pulls you back by Rs.9.76 Lakhs and getting a hard top and other configurations that the original owner has done would set me back by another 2 lakhs at least. Hence, thinking to go ahead as of now and then make whatever changes are required over the period

Also the handling would be messed up seeing the offset wheels and tires. Drive one vehicle which is shod with OE size tires and wheels and then compare yourself before you plunge.
I am a illiterate about the handling on offset wheels, but still, will do a test drive with the dealership (which i have also done earlier) to gauge the difference correctly, thanks.

Last edited by ampere : 12th December 2017 at 07:08. Reason: Back to back posts merged
ShubhGo1987 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th January 2018, 22:55   #3669

Hello Folks,

I am facing unusual sound with my 2015 facelifted vehicle.

When I engage 4H and release clutch in 1st gear, I get thak, thak, thak sound similar to the sound when wood starts breaking or a bamboo movement to the wind. I don't know if it's just in 1st as we won't be able to hear in 2nd.

Has anyone faced this?

Last edited by aithalsandy : 6th January 2018 at 22:57.
Old 5th March 2018, 16:21   #3670

A well-dressed Thar never fails to turn my head. Stood & ogled at this beauty for 5 minutes before moving on.

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-20180305-15.57.38.jpg

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-20180305-15.57.27.jpg

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-20180305-15.57.561.jpg
GTO is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 18th March 2018, 12:42   #3671

Originally Posted by himadrimondal View Post
After you open the headlight case from the front, there will be three screws with springs, two on each side and one below the headlight. Press the headlight with your hand in the direction you choose to adjust and tighten the screws.
I can locate only 2 scews on the sides for adjustment (on the backside) They are single blade screws inside a metal casing. Turning them clockwise or anti-clockwise is not helping. Do i have to press and hold the headlight from the outside and tighten them? Also how to adjust the beam vertically?
Old 9th May 2018, 22:49   #3672

Hello BHPians,

I am having a query regarding the tuner mass assembly mounted on Thar CRDe Transfer case. Please refer pic for details.

Could anyone let me know what’s the reason for using the mass damper; whether its for reducing windup vibrations or is it for given for any specific failure mode?

The same is mounted on 4WD transfer case through 4 bolts, which are screwed on 4 lugs protruding out. During a recent drive I noticed some abnormal rattling noise and checked the underbody and found that two of these lugs have been broken. This probably would have happened during a river crossing last monsoon, where my vehicle got stuck and was towed by a Gypsy.

The ASS people refused to replace the transfer case housing as the same T/F case comes as a KD part and whole assembly need to be replaced which would cost around 80K Rs.

Another option is to get the transfer case assembly out of the vehicle and getting the lugs welded at a local aluminium welding shop.

Experts please suggest.

Sourabh
Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-screen-shot-20180509-9.56.42-pm.png  

Sanzen is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th May 2018, 09:41   #3673

Originally Posted by Sanzen View Post

The ASS people refused to replace the transfer case housing as the same T/F case comes as a KD part and whole assembly need to be replaced which would cost around 80K Rs.
I suggest you approach Mahindra helpline and get a word of confirmation from them. Even if this is part of the whole assembly, the CAN sell it as a spare but only if you escalate the matter.
Old 10th May 2018, 13:19   #3674

I suggest you approach Mahindra helpline and get a word of confirmation from them. Even if this is part of the whole assembly, the CAN sell it as a spare but only if you escalate the matter.
Thanks Sir, for your suggestion. I have checked the same with their spare parts division, & they had told me that the same is not available separately, even the same part was not available in the installation drawing. I shall try escalating the matter once again.
Things would have been easier if BD sir was here. M&M response & aftermarket support is quite pathetic.
Old 11th May 2018, 09:17   #3675

Hello Tharians,

I had a rough time yesterday, just wanted to check if this a common experience.

I had encountered heavy rain and wind in western ghats (around Shimoga) yesterday. The cabin was full with heavy mist. Full blown ac and demist did not help at all, constat wiping with clothes was also not useful. I had to stop the vehicle for nearly an hour.

Further pain - standard wiper blades were useless as it leaves some water at every wipe, splitting the oncoming light and the visibility in dark was really bad.