Old 23rd January 2011, 18:15   #661

re: Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)

Originally Posted by eagle888 View Post
I have heard that sound, but nowhere as loud! It seems to come only whilst 4x4 low range is engaged. It concerned my 10 000km ago, but now it has gone. Maybe a new vehicle thing?...coming from the front wheels for sure.
It was heard during 4 low, 4 high and 2wd modes. Infact we switched the engine off and let her roll down and it was heard then as well.

What's suspicious is that the MM fellows are replying to queries on all other threads but are staying silent to this query? Why don't you give us an explanation fellas?

EDIT:

georgev: NO!

Last edited by Tejas@perioimpl : 23rd January 2011 at 18:18. Reason: answered georgev's question because it's apparent that he has definitely not gone through the entire thread!!!!!!!
Old 23rd January 2011, 18:29   #662

Checked with the dealers in Bangalore, they don't have any vehicle, there is one placed at the display for TD. How can we think of buying a 7 lac vehicle without a TD?
Old 24th January 2011, 08:22   #663

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
If you put ECU inside the glove box it will eat lot of space, better position would be under the dash some place away from easy access. Only the OBD connectors needs to be put at a place where access is good.
Thank you for the answer, sir.

Is there any Team-BHP member in India who has taken delivery of/ owns the Thar? If so, why are there no initial ownership reports?
Old 24th January 2011, 09:53   #664

I have a bit of news for folks who had mahindra customization in mind:

I just enquired about Hardtop + AC + Thar Adventure Interiors + Yokohoma Geolanders setup (No alloys) and I have got an estimate for Rs. 4L + Taxes. I have asked for an itemized estimate, but folks who were thinking about getting these done from Mahindra customization do take note. The full list of mods is below:

Exteriors:

·Hard top assembly – double skinned with space frame
·Tyres - Yokohoma

·Painting of hard top assembly

Interiors:

•Color coded interiors
•Upholstery in black leather
•Custom built center console with
1.bottle holder
2.storage zones
3.power window console
4.auxiliary power source
•Leather wrapped:
1.Steering wheel
2.Gear knobs
3.Dash grab handle
4.Gear lever boots
5.Instrument cluster cover in red leather
6.Center switch plate in red leather
7.Door trims in leather
•Styled map pockets on driver & co-driver door
•Mobile holders on driver & co-driver door
•Restyled dash garnish with storage zones
•Modified center switch plate
•Power windows
•A/C unit
•Inner lining for the hard top
•Roof lamps

Total Cost – Rs. 4,00,000/- + 12.5% tax as applicable would be extra (this is post registration and insurance & over and above the cost of the vehicle)

Last edited by Mpower : 24th January 2011 at 20:12. Reason: Removing [Font] tags, please avoid copy paste from external font editors. Also use Preview before Submitting new posts.
Old 24th January 2011, 10:48   #665

Originally Posted by SubuS View Post
Exteriors:
·Hard top assembly – double skinned with space frame
·Painting of hard top assembly
Interiors:
•Power windows (Maybe Not!)
•A/C unit
•Inner lining for the hard top
•Roof lamps
Me thinks that, for the vast majority of us, 4 Lacs+ would seem to be too much to plonk on only the aesthetic and comfort aspects of the vehicle.

Is it possible to get the break-up of how much they are asking for the ones that I have highlighted above? I think, that would be pretty much the minimum, that the majority would be willing to live with. Thanks for posting this though.
Old 24th January 2011, 10:52   #666

Some other set variants:

Kindly note the costs for the 2 sets:

Set -1:
-Hard top assembly with rear door & glasses
-A/C unit
-Inner lining for hard top
-Roof lamps
-Painting of hard top

The total cost for Set – 1 is Rs. 2,50,000 /- + 12.5% tax

Set – 2:
Exteriors:
-Tyres - Yokohoma
Interiors:
-Color coded interiors
-Upholstery in black leather
-Custom built center console with
1. bottle holder
2. storage zones
3. power window console
4. auxiliary power source
-Leather wrapped:
1. Steering wheel
2. Gear knobs
3. Dash grab handle
4. Gear lever boots
5. Instrument cluster cover in red leather
6. Center switch plate in red leather
7. Door trims in leather
-Styled map pockets on driver & co-driver door
-Mobile holders on driver & co-driver door
-Restyled dash garnish with storage zones
-Modified center switch plate
-Power windows
-A/C unit
-Canopy

The total cost for Set – 2 is Rs. 1,75,000 /- + 12.5% tax

@roy: I had asked for this set because this is what everyone would need for vehicle vehicle to become a true life-styler. (Still alloys are missing - so add another 25-30k). Do see my other post on the splits - the hard top alone looks a bit expensive for me. I would probably get it done outside and get only the 1.75L package + alloys.

Last edited by Jaggu : 24th January 2011 at 11:07. Reason: Back to back post, please EDIT the original post instead. Thanks
Old 24th January 2011, 10:59   #667

I have a bit of news for folks who had mahindra customization in mind:
============
Total Cost – Rs. 4,00,000/- + 12.5% tax as applicable would be extra (this is post registration and insurance & over and above the cost of the vehicle)

So M&M is finally offering HT and A/C on the thar? And any idea on the individual cost of the above mentioned components?

Last edited by Jaggu : 24th January 2011 at 11:08. Reason: Please avoid quoting entire large posts for short reply. Thanks
Old 24th January 2011, 11:29   #668

Some other set variants:
========================
@roy: I had asked for this set because this is what everyone would need for vehicle vehicle to become a true life-styler. (Still alloys are missing - so add another 25-30k). Do see my other post on the splits - the hard top alone looks a bit expensive for me. I would probably get it done outside and get only the 1.75L package + alloys.
Hmmmm. 2.5L+ for Set-1 is way too expensive, unless they propose to do something very Jazzy, which I don't suppose they can! Fully agree with you that Set-2 is a good option for the price.

Is it possible to get a quote only for the AC, on the CRDe version?

Last edited by Jaggu : 24th January 2011 at 11:51. Reason: Please avoid quoting entire large posts for short reply. Thanks
Old 24th January 2011, 12:10   #669

Originally Posted by JayD View Post
So M&M is finally offering HT and A/C on the thar? And any idea on the individual cost of the above mentioned components?
NOTE: This is M&M customization, if you want to nit pick. It means, the dealers / service engg. might not have much idea if there is a leak or so in the system (and I am sure you wouldn't want to ship the whole thing to mumbai just to fix a leak.

@Roy: I have had so many questions already - can you mail your questions to 'balwani.roma@mahindra.com'? This is the email i found using a quick google search and contacted them.
FWIW, it doesn't matter to me if they can fix only AC because of the above concern. They don't make any promises regarding the M&M serviceablity of the components. You should talk to them if that is a primary concern for you.
Old 24th January 2011, 12:24   #670

Originally Posted by roy_libran View Post
Me thinks that, for the vast majority of us, 4 Lacs+ would seem to be too much to plonk on only the aesthetic and comfort aspects of the vehicle.
They are going to throw in a free Reva too.

@Roy: I have had so many questions already - can you mail your questions to 'balwani.roma@mahindra.com'? This is the email i found using a quick google search and contacted them.
That can't be right. I've met that lady, she is VP/Head of corporate communication. You need to reach one Mr.J.S.Nanda for all the customization questions.
Old 24th January 2011, 12:40   #671

I would like to ask Mr. Behram Dhabhar as well as the test drivers Tejas and Mr. Khan.

About the Thar Adventure Concept.Was there a body lift in the vehicle?

How was it then that even though there were bigger tires there was a considerable difference in the front wheel and the front fender?
Old 24th January 2011, 12:42   #672

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
You need to reach one Mr.J.S.Nanda for all the customization questions.
Good ol' Nanda is still around? I was in touch with this gentleman in 2002. He offered me a Quadro (not sure how many of you remember that contraption) when I requested M&M to give me a brand new Classic off the assembly line
Old 24th January 2011, 13:06   #673

Actually it is indeed Nanda who finally spoke to me. His email is not public though and I don't want to be the person who outed it

mail balwani and it will get forwarded.
Old 24th January 2011, 13:51   #674

Some other set variants:

Kindly note the costs for the 2 sets:
The total cost for Set – 1 is Rs. 2,50,000 /- + 12.5% tax

The total cost for Set – 2 is Rs. 1,75,000 /- + 12.5% tax

(Still alloys are missing - so add another 25-30k).
I just enquired about Hardtop + AC + Thar Adventure Interiors + Yokohoma Geolanders setup (No alloys) and I have got an estimate for Rs. 4L + Taxes.
So basically speaking, to have a LIFESTYLE VEHICLE, one needs to pay anything from 8 -11 lacs ex- showroom plus Registration, Tax & Insurance? Whew! That's a lot of money! The Scorpio 4WD is not far off?
Old 24th January 2011, 15:51   #675

Originally Posted by navpreet318 View Post
About the Thar Adventure Concept.Was there a body lift in the vehicle?

How was it then that even though there were bigger tires there was a considerable difference in the front wheel and the front fender?
No - there is no body lift. M&M customization was very clear about the fact that they do ONLY aesthetic mods. When I asked about the picture, Nanda said it was ONLY an 1" lift due to the bigger wheel.