Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 28th December 2013, 13:23   #256

Re: Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".

Originally Posted by sushil_n79 View Post
One more good news is my cousin staying in mumbai has requested me to restore his scooter also for him after seeing my restoration.
Sushil: Good to see updates on your scooter! And congrats for getting another restoration project! A Mumbai scooter will be a good challenge. All the very best and do start another thread when you begin the project.

You have been guilty of keeping your scooter under cover for a very long time! Time to pay up! How about a ride to Gandipet on Sunday, 5th January 2014. Let's make the best use of the present Hyderabad weather.

Regards and Keep Revving,

Rahul Waghmare.
Old 1st January 2014, 15:38   #257

Re: Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".

Hi Everyone

I would like to take this opportunity to wish all my friends and well wishers at team bhp a very happy new year.

HI Rahul bhai

Thanks for the valuable posts yes we can plan a trip to gandipet and enjoy the nature of course it would also be a good opportunity for your camera to capture from beautiful picture aur kya pata meri babe ki kismat phir chamak jaaye aapke photo session ke baad. sounds like a kingfisher calender photo shoot huh ?

Thanks and Regards
Sushil Narayanan
sushil_n79 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th January 2014, 00:05   #258

Hi All

Hope this finds you in the best of health and spirits. I had been planning to undertake the polishing of the scooter for a long time. In-fact this had been pending since the last service and due to some reason or the other the same was getting delayed. So I was thinking of the scooter and polish it today but while was observing the engine area noticed something unusual which got me distracted from my intention of polishing the scooter
My mechanic after restoration had put the old connection box without the cover and although the same was functioning perfectly it has lots of dust which I assume may not be good for the wiring loom and connectors especially when exposed to dust and other environmental elements when the vehicle is in use.

Please refer to the images for further clarification.
Image Source: www.scootershop.com ,www.teambhp.com and http://www.scooterhelp.com/electrics/pages/VBB.150

I was surprised at the differences on the shape and type of the two connector boxes but was reassured that there was no difference and will not make any difference. However I just wanted to reconfirm if I can change the connection box or will it make any difference?
Tried the internet to study a few wiring diagrams but could not comprehend much Request the experts to please help in the same

I will be uploading all the pictures of the same once the same is done for the benefit of others soon.

Sushil Narayanan
Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-19.jpg  

Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-old-model.jpg  

Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-new-.jpg  

Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-new-model.jpg  

Old 7th January 2014, 12:20   #259

You can buy a new connection box at shops like Scooter Palace at Ramkote. Just ensure that the number of screws in the new box are the same as the old one. Best option would be to carry the old box with you.
Scarlet_Rider is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th January 2014, 21:23   #260

Originally Posted by Scarlet_Rider View Post
You can buy a new connection box at shops like Scooter Palace at Ramkote. Just ensure that the number of screws in the new box are the same as the old one. Best option would be to carry the old box with you.

Hi Rahul bhai

Thanks for the inputs I already purchased the connector box as the old one was unavailable i bought the one with 5 screws . Infact today observed the connections it appears that it will work out. keeping fingers crossed . I shall try the same soon.

Moreover I was finally able to do three things today,
1. start the scooter and take it out of parking without any issues.
2. clean the scooter with a dry cloth and with Colin as wanted to get rid of surface dust.
3. Polish the scooter fully.
Infact after cleaning the scooter the shine came back the element of polish just smoothened the surface . I am glad to say that it still feels like I am touching a Glass.
Enclosed Pictures of complete operation done today.

The first set of 5 Pictures are after cleaning the scooter , . enjoy folks
Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-img_20140107_171427.jpg  

Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-img_20140107_171442.jpg  

Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-img_20140107_171503.jpg  

Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-img_20140107_171517.jpg  

Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-img_20140107_171719.jpg  

Old 7th January 2014, 21:34   #261

The next set of pictures while polishing
Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-img_20140107_172130.jpg  

Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-img_20140107_172137.jpg  

Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-img_20140107_172144.jpg  

Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-img_20140107_172151.jpg  

Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-img_20140107_173751.jpg  

Old 7th January 2014, 22:17   #262

And Finally the final pictures after polishing I especially loved the headlight console the shine and finish which is as smooth as glass. Its really surprising to see the shine even after 2.5 years of restoration I only hope she stays like that forever (Request moderators to excuse me for back to back posts as the image size was big wanted to ensure that it does not exceed the 3 mb limit per post ,so posted in three seperate posts)

Thanks and Regards

Sushil Narayanan
Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-img_20140107_173759.jpg  

Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-img_20140107_173806.jpg  

Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-img_20140107_173815.jpg  

Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-img_20140107_173827.jpg  

Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-img_20140107_173835.jpg  

Last edited by sushil_n79 : 7th January 2014 at 22:19.
Old 9th January 2014, 15:59   #263

I already purchased the connector box as the old one was unavailable i bought the one with 5 screws.
The box will serve the purpose. Just refer to the wiring diagram in Bajaj 150 user manual that I had given you.

Clean the scooter with a dry cloth and with Colin as wanted to get rid of surface dust.
Be careful and avoid using Colin on the body paint. I had a bad experience with stains of Colin mixed with dust on our refrigerator. This will happen if you spray Colin directly on the painted surface. Hence be careful and avoid using Colin. Use a good auto shampoo instead to wash the scooter. Finally shine it up with the good old Waxpol.
Old 12th January 2014, 23:03   #264

Be careful and avoid using Colin on the body paint. I had a bad experience with stains of Colin mixed with dust on our refrigerator. This will happen if you spray Colin directly on the painted surface.
Hence be careful and avoid using Colin. Use a good auto shampoo instead to wash the scooter. Finally shine it up with the good old Waxpol.
Hi brother

Thanks for enlightening me on the same shall keep the same in mind.

Some more recent pictures of the scooter in the open area jhope you enjoy request feedback from others as well.

Sushil Narayanan
Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-img_20140111_105244_1.jpg  

Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-img_20140111_105309.jpg  

Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-img_20140111_105327.jpg  

Last edited by moralfibre : 13th January 2014 at 14:20. Reason: Fixing quote tag
Old 24th January 2014, 20:57   #265

Hi Sushil, scooter looks fresh and great. let's us meet up along with Rahul sometime. It's been long time we all drove together.
Old 24th January 2014, 21:24   #266

Hi Bala Bhai

Thanks for the compliments brother. Yes we can meet up and go for a drive may be sometime soon. Hope things are fine at your end.

Sushil
Old 31st January 2014, 13:02   #267

Sushil, words cant explain my joy after seeing this thread. Can't understand how I was aloof of this thread.First things first, the restoration is flawless. As a matter of fact, I also own 150. I shall tell the story some time later. But as of now, i am posting a few pictures of her's for your reference and valuable advice. Moreover, I would like you to guide me through the oil change process, if you dont mind.

Waiting for your reply, I remain.
Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-dsc_0051.1.jpg  

Petrodky is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th February 2014, 21:32   #268

Hi Petrodky.

Thanks for dropping a few valuable lines on the thread and Thanks for the appreciation. Yes this project has been and is still very close to me which is what would be visible, I hope both on the thread and on the results front. However it would not have been possible without the support from all my fellow bhpians and their guided support.

Its nice to see your scooter which is of the same make i.e bajaj150 the reincarnated version of vespa150 the two tone colour combination does create a vintage sort of look which was very common in those days and its surprising to know that the same trend is returning in the year 2014.

I would request to to share your story as well as I am eager to know that as every masterpiece has a story to tell and the vintage scooters in itself was one of those as is evidently visible from their build quality as they were built to last which is proved till even today.

I will guide you in totality of the oil change procedure including details of which oil to use with the images as I have the scanned copy of the original owners manual. thanks to my friend and fellow bhpian scarlet rider for the same.

In the meantime please do not hesitate to let me know if you need further information.

Thanks and Regards

Sushil Narayanan
Old 26th February 2014, 08:31   #269

Hi all
Good morning
I have been away from this thread for a long time but last weekend something extra ordinary happened which rekindled my enthusiasm of using my scooter again so by need of the hour my scooter will be used as a daily workhorse again for the next few weeks.
I happen to meet an elderly person retired from BHEL named Shri Narsingh Rao who happened to be a proud owner of his newly restored 1972bajaj150. What amazed the most that it looked just like vespa150 except for the logo set and the headlight unit.
Mr Rao was kind enough to share his story and told me bow with great difficulty he got the scooter from someone on Delhi. It was a nice feeling for me to meet him as it felt nostalgic meeting someone from the same place where my father used to work. The only difference was location he was in Bhel Hyderabad and my father was in the Bhel Bhopal division. I have taken his contact details and requested him to participate in case we have any vintage rally in Hyderabad.
Presenting his pictures with his scooter

Thanks and regards
Sushil Narayanan
Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-1393383589527.jpg  

Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-1393383744138.jpg  

Restoration and The Untold story of Our Prized Possession "The 1974 Bajaj 150".-1393383767723.jpg  

Last edited by FlyingSpur : 28th February 2014 at 10:35. Reason: Merging into one post to maintain continuity
sushil_n79 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 3rd March 2014, 11:50   #270

Hello Scooterheads,
I am wandering through the dictionaries to find words appropriate to express my feelings after watching a man as old as Mr. Narsingha Rao chasing and bringing the dreams of any scooterhead to reality. Hats off to you sire and to Sushil, you are proving to be a Gennie now. I wonder where that "pot-to-be-rubbed" is. :-D