Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 2nd January 2012, 20:16   #16

re: Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED

Thanks for sharing the paint scheme. It seems the blue white combo is a hit among the classic Fiats. Have viewed pics of atleast 4 cars including Super select of Ravi bhai which are in this shade. Will be waiting for the end results and am sure the Dukkar will come out real looker.
Even with your guidance the Padmini will turn out pretty good. Good for the said enthusiast.
samsag12 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th January 2012, 20:21   #17

Originally Posted by samsag12 View Post
Thanks for sharing the paint scheme. It seems the blue white combo is a hit among the classic Fiats. Have viewed pics of atleast 4 cars including Super select of Ravi bhai which are in this shade. Will be waiting for the end results and am sure the Dukkar will come out real looker.
Even with your guidance the Padmini will turn out pretty good. Good for the said enthusiast.

We saw the below pic and then it dawned to us that this is THE BEST shade ever we can paint on the car.

Was waiting for Prashanth to come down from New-Zealand to decide fast on the paint shade. Finally the day came and Prashanth was here in Bangalore after Christmas and off we go to paint shop to select the shade, We packed the paint and decided when to meet to see the car for checking on the final fittings.

Today evening Prashanth made some time to check on the car, and by evening we met at the workshop.

Prashanth and his Beast finally met after a real long time.

Some pics added
Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0385.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0387.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-378576_324185454274750_100000498933587_1387292_198972450_n.jpg  

Last edited by PAVAN KADAM : 4th January 2012 at 20:23.
Old 22nd January 2012, 23:29   #18

The NOMAD (Prashanth) came visiting the workshop today to take stock of his Millecento's restoration.

Though work will resume on his car very soon (painters busy with the Topolino)

A little bit of off-Topic notes, but i must share it with you guys
He got his 1964 Bullet, had seen this some 11 years ago, and till date, Prashant has really kept it in top shape all this while.

The legend has it that, this is The Bullet with which Prashanth has toured each nook and corner of INDIA, be it Nepal, Be it the numerous trips to Himalayas or Delhi/Mumbai , parts of South India, and with him the Bullet has successfully completed 2.5 lacs odd kms and is still maintained like a GUN.

1) Has the original "MADE LIKE A GUN" badge
2) Original Headlight
3) Original Made in England Tail light
4) Original Smiths meters

Forget that, infact most of them are still factory spec.

Never seen such a nice and well kept Bullet.
Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0574.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0573.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0572.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0561.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0562.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0563.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0564.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0565.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0566.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0567.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0568.jpg  

PAVAN KADAM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2012, 20:15   #19

Door setting and door handle setting was done on the car recently.

Due to tinkering and body tapping, there was too much of gaping gaps between the body and the door handles, so it resulted in a double job to set this right, good we saw this at this moment, else, it would have been messy after the paint job.
Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0577.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0578.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0579.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0580.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0581.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0595.jpg  

Old 24th January 2012, 16:15   #20

Dear Pavan - in the first picture of post no 2, I can see the APEX make free flow exhaust manifold. It worked in its day but is cumbersome to maintain in case anything happens to it because it has four half washers in two sizes to attach it to the cylinder head due to which it gets prone to leakage at the slightest misalignment. As soon as this happens, you will lose power or the car will stop completely and it will be very difficult to find the root cause. Therefore, I use the original S1 exhaust manifold with the twin pipe as it was used in production S1 cars in the interest of performance and complete reliability. These are engineered components, the APEX is a prototype manufactured part. During those days, S1 was not there, there was nothing else but APEX. I have the greatest regard for Mr.Govindji Shah who owned APEX but a prototype part cannot replace an engineered aggregate. You know that I was the project engineer for S1. I only did this work way back in 1988/90 with AVL.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
DHABHAR.BEHRAM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th January 2012, 23:25   #21

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
Dear Pavan - in the first picture of post no 2, I can see the APEX make free flow exhaust manifold. It worked in its day but is cumbersome to maintain in case anything happens to it because it has four half washers in two sizes to attach it to the cylinder head due to which it gets prone to leakage at the slightest misalignment. As soon as this happens, you will lose power or the car will stop completely and it will be very difficult to find the root cause. Therefore, I use the original S1 exhaust manifold with the twin pipe as it was used in production S1 cars in the interest of performance and complete reliability. These are engineered components, the APEX is a prototype manufactured part. During those days, S1 was not there, there was nothing else but APEX. I have the greatest regard for Mr.Govindji Shah who owned APEX but a prototype part cannot replace an engineered aggregate. You know that I was the project engineer for S1. I only did this work way back in 1988/90 with AVL.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Sirjee, as per the information i have received from Prashanth, he says the Head is Changed.

More information after i get the real story from him with regards to this modification.
Old 6th February 2012, 20:31   #22

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar

Sir,

I have taken some clear pics of the engine , hope you will be able to decipher this.

OTOH, the engine was pulled out of the car today and they started sanding down the engine room. Next 4-5 days the Engine room and the insides of the car would be complete.
Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0754.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0755.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0756.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0757.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0758.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0759.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0762.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0763.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0767.jpg  

Old 7th February 2012, 10:19   #23

What color have you guys chosen to do on the car ?

Does it have the finned aluminum "Alfin" brake drums ?
wasif is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th February 2012, 18:50   #24

Originally Posted by wasif View Post
I doubt it. Having seen some original '55 Fiat drums earlier, they were rather 'thin' ones compared to the finned types, and had grooves running on the edges.
Stanher is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th February 2012, 18:58   #25

Originally Posted by Stanher View Post
I doubt it. Having seen some original '55 Fiat drums earlier, they were rather 'thin' ones compared to the finned types, and had grooves running on the edges.
Thats surprising since our Fiat has the aluminum finned drums
Old 7th February 2012, 19:17   #26

What color have you guys chosen to do on the car ?

Wasif Bhai, we have decided to go in for the White Top and Sky blue combination for this car.

Thats surprising since our Fiat has the aluminum finned drums
Originally Posted by Stanher View Post

Yes, Shyam is right, the drums has Fins at the edges, and i guess thats what Wasif bhai meant

Since this is a Pre-60 Fiat, this is its usual set-up.
Old 7th February 2012, 19:36   #27

Good choice of colors....a bit like John's WBA 1 I guess ?
Old 7th February 2012, 19:51   #28

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
Yes, Shyam is right, the drums has Fins at the edges, and i guess thats what Wasif bhai meant
For a clearer idea, here's a pic. of the '55 drums I'd referred to....you can see the "grooves" running on the side. 'had a couple more pics. of these, cant find them now!

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-img_2149.jpg

And here's a pair of the 'finned' type drums wasif was probably referring to, which came later, on the select-superselect.

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-img_1794.jpg

Last edited by Stanher : 7th February 2012 at 19:53.
Stanher is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th February 2012, 19:53   #29

Yep..those are the Alfins !
Old 8th February 2012, 19:29   #30

The body prep job on the car is COMPLETE, but since Prashanth wants the car to be painted in a proper Paint Booth and is too particular about it, i have to wait.

Last 5 days, i've been making daily calls to 2 of the known paint booths in my vicinity, but either of them is willing to let the paint booth for one car one full day. I have been asked to wait for another week.

Similar thing happened with the Topolino too, But cant help, just need to wait till i get the opportunity.

Engine room almost ready.
Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0773.jpg  

Restoration of a NOMAD's 1954 Fiat Millecento- DELIVERED-imag_0774.jpg