Old 6th February 2012, 11:39   #61

Re: Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150

Originally Posted by sharma_sanjeevi View Post
Nice one Buddy..!!

A Very BIG thanks to you for making my day today. I couldnt have dreamt to see so many Classics in a Single Day

Now for the Update time:

1. MRF Nylogrip Tyres-3.50-8: 2 Nos.
2. Chrome Front Mudguard.
3. Long elusive "L" type Stepney Holder: Got it Used from a Scrap Dealer. It is in fantastic condition.
4. Side Panel Beadings.

Some more critical items are still to be collected, mostly Cosmetic.

Waiting for PAVAN Anna to send them.

Will keep updating the thread accordingly. For now, enjoy the pics:
Thanks buddy for the gesture.. But i didnt do anything. Its your passion that drives the restoration. All the best with rest of the parts.

Priyadarshan
priyadarshan.b is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th February 2012, 11:50   #62

Nice to see the Vespa coming back to life, lovely scooter. I'm sure she is in good hands and will be taken care. Scooters deserve a better market share in India. I'm happy about Piaggio's re entry to India. We finally can get a taste of RETRO COOL.
Leistung is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th February 2012, 21:55   #63

Weekend Shopping Update

Bought the following:

1. Front Side Crash Bars Chrome.
2. Right Hand Rear View Mirror Chrome.
3. 6V Horn.
4. Shoes for the Stand.

Update on the Scooter Painting front, Primer Sprayed. Some Body filling job is still left, hope to complete the same by tomorrow. Will keep updating accordingly.

For now enjoy the pictures.
Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02210.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02211.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02213.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02212.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02227.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02228.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02229.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02225.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02224.jpg  

Old 13th February 2012, 11:07   #64

Weekend Shopping Update

Bought the following:

1. Front Side Crash Bars Chrome.
2. Right Hand Rear View Mirror Chrome.
3. 6V Horn.
4. Shoes for the Stand.

Update on the Scooter Painting front, Primer Sprayed. Some Body filling job is still left, hope to complete the same by tomorrow. Will keep updating accordingly.

For now enjoy the pictures.
Going good sir.. Nice to see the progress over weekend. You seem to have kept yourself busy with shopping over weekends. All the best..
priyadarshan.b is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th February 2012, 12:30   #65

@Priyadarshan, thanks buddy.

Yes, you are correct. More or less it has become a custom for me to visit the Parts Wala on every weekend, since i have started the restoration.

The Work on the scooter is going in on a Slow Pace, hope things will speed up this week, you know better why i am telling this
Old 13th February 2012, 13:13   #66

Good to see updates on the work going on! Any particular reason why the handle lock, brake pedal and engine dome knob were not removed?
Old 13th February 2012, 13:57   #67

Originally Posted by Scarlet_Rider View Post
Good to see updates on the work going on! Any particular reason why the handle lock, brake pedal and engine dome knob were not removed?
Rahul, Thanks Buddy.

There was no particular reason, for not removing the Handle Lock, Brake Pedal & Engine Dome Knob. Just that the mechanics Dad passed away and he went on a long leave and the denter / painter were not sure how to remove them. So, i kept them as it is. Instead of letting them mess with these things.

Now hopefully, the mechanic will be back soon. Otherwise, the whole Scooter Parts apart from the body are kept in my Car .
Old 24th February 2012, 22:51   #68

[

For now enjoy the pictures.[/quote]

hi sanjeev bhai

Thanks for the pictures, yes its nice and nostalgic for me to see that your scooter is progressing as planned esp the gray primer sprayed body domes and cover reminds me of my time of restoration .I just had suggestion to protect the handle lock and brake pedal from being spray painted. try to talk to your painter to see that after each session of painting (or primer0 in this case if he can clean the lock and the brake pedal with the thinner dipped cloth that will ensure tha no paint is seen on them which will enjhance the clasisc look .Nice to see the clean body lines on the dome and the engine cover. keep up the good work. but please ensure that the lill things are also taken care of and I am sure its on its way to becoming an inspiration for someone else and of course a little more of learning for me as well,because each restoration is different each time I just feel as if its the first time. that ensures that I do not ease off after the project is complete.

As Anjan sir says and I quote" restoration is a life long process", achieving the benchmark of creating a perfect restoration is easy as compared to maintaining it that way for life. (Trust me Brother it is indeed, shall be updating my thread on the same soon)

All the best brother. do keep the pictures coming in
take care
regards
Sushil

Last edited by sushil_n79 : 24th February 2012 at 22:52. Reason: .
Old 25th February 2012, 23:01   #69

Originally Posted by sushil_n79 View Post

hi sanjeev bhai

Thanks for the pictures, yes its nice and nostalgic for me to see that your scooter is progressing as planned esp the gray primer sprayed body domes and cover reminds me of my time of restoration .I just had suggestion to protect the handle lock and brake pedal from being spray painted. try to talk to your painter to see that after each session of painting (or primer0 in this case if he can clean the lock and the brake pedal with the thinner dipped cloth that will ensure tha no paint is seen on them which will enjhance the clasisc look .Nice to see the clean body lines on the dome and the engine cover. keep up the good work. but please ensure that the lill things are also taken care of and I am sure its on its way to becoming an inspiration for someone else and of course a little more of learning for me as well,because each restoration is different each time I just feel as if its the first time. that ensures that I do not ease off after the project is complete.

As Anjan sir says and I quote" restoration is a life long process", achieving the benchmark of creating a perfect restoration is easy as compared to maintaining it that way for life. (Trust me Brother it is indeed, shall be updating my thread on the same soon)

All the best brother. do keep the pictures coming in
take care
regards
Sushil
Sushil Brother, thanks for the Golden Words.

You have set a benchmark for us with your restoration of Bajaj-150. That is too hard for me atleast to Beat / Meet, you have done an amazing Job. I am greatful, that my restoration process takes you back to the memory lane when you were restoring your Bajaj-150

The work on the Scooter, has been progressing in a Very Slow manner. As during last month and current month, i really had some testing times. Problems galored during this period on a Personal Level. Now, everything seems to be coming on track Slowly.

Some Updates on the Scooter:
1. Painting Done.
2. Assembling to start soon.

I will let the pictures do the talking. Hope they meet your expectations, Enjoy..!!
Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02242.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02241.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02245.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02246.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02249.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02250.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02252.jpg  

Last edited by sharma_sanjeevi : 25th February 2012 at 23:21.
Old 25th February 2012, 23:59   #70

Pics Continued.. As i was not able to upload ALL in my earlier post.
Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02253.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02255.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02257.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02261.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02262.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02263.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02264.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02265.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02266.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02268.jpg  

Old 27th February 2012, 09:27   #71

Work In Progress: Re-Assembling..!!

Yesterday, started the assembling of the Scooter. This baby is turning out well. Thanks to the Mechanic, who is working as per my wish.

Didnt let him move anywhere yesterday till 11:00 PM, except Lunch / Dinner & few Tea Breaks

The Paint Job has turned out to be EXCELLENT. After the re-assembling is done & 72 Hours past since painting done. I am planning to give it a Teflon Coat / Rubbing Polish Treatment, kindly suggest the recommended way of approach.

We have completed most of the Work, rest of the job will be done today evening hopefully. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Some Pictures for your eyes only:
Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02270.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02271.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02269.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02272.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02273.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02274.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02275.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02276.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02277.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02280.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02282.jpg  

Bitten by the Scooter Bug: My 1964 - Vespa 150-dsc02283.jpg  

sharma_sanjeevi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th February 2012, 13:36   #72

Great to see the scooter taking shape! Waiting anxiously for it to shine in it's full glory! Is the foot rest the one with the aluminium finish or has it been painted?
Scarlet_Rider is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th February 2012, 13:44   #73

Great to see the scooter taking shape! Waiting anxiously for it to shine in it's full glory! Is the foot rest the one with the aluminium finish or has it been painted?
Dear Rahul, thanks for the kind words.

Even i am also waiting for the scooter to complete, as it has taken over One and a Half Month to complete

Regarding the Foot Rest, it is aluminum finish one. It has Bajaj written on it, tried searching for Vespa written on the Foot Rest, but could not find. Ultimately settled for this one.

A Question to you: After the re-assembling is done & 72 Hours past since painting done. I am planning to give it a Teflon Coat / Rubbing Polish Treatment, kindly suggest, what should be the recommended way of approach ?
sharma_sanjeevi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th February 2012, 13:54   #74

A Question to you: I am planning to give it a Teflon Coat / Rubbing Polish Treatment, kindly suggest, what should be the recommended way of approach ?
Once the complete assembly is done, first check if any touch up is required or not. There are chances of a few scratches appearing during assembly. After this go for the rubbing polish treatment. Teflon coating is optional and should be done at the last stage. What paint have you used? Is it 2K?
Scarlet_Rider is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th February 2012, 14:11   #75

Once the complete assembly is done, first check if any touch up is required or not. There are chances of a few scratches appearing during assembly. After this go for the rubbing polish treatment. Teflon coating is optional and should be done at the last stage. What paint have you used? Is it 2K?
Thanks for the Suggestion Rahul.

Will definitely get the Rubbing done, there are some scratches on the Engine Side Panel. Yesterday, something fell on it and resulted in a chipped off paint from two points .

It is a 2K Paint. Is there anything specific to be taken care with the paint while rubbing ? I am just asking, as you particularly asked which paint is it.