Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 26th April 2013, 23:25   #16

1973 VW Super Beetle

Yet another Bangalore Beetle Club car exchanged hands couple of hours ago. The ex-owner had parked the car at his place for over a year unused since he was extensively travelling. Luckily a known friend picked it up and sent it straight to me for REFRESHING it.

Lot of modifications being done, will be taking the originality route and hopeful to deliver it in couple of days. Keep watching this space for more
My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc00504.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc00505.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc00506.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc00507.jpg  

PAVAN KADAM is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th April 2013, 21:52   #17

Re: 1973 VW Super Beetle

Finally the Super Beetle is REFRESHED and delivered.

One issue is a big pain in the wrong side - The Pre-Historic Dynamo is unwilling to charge the battery at a consistent rate. Maybe i need to get the Alternator and replace it ASAP.
My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc00617.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc00624.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc00628.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc00637.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc00630.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc00635.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc00638.jpg  

PAVAN KADAM is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 24th June 2013, 10:29   #18

1947 Wolsley

An amazing car, stored well for the past few years, but the recent rains screwed up the car further. The owner got in touch with me, again an amazing personality with loads of passion towards automobiles with an equally or much more enthusiastic wife.

Car came in with few unknown problems, presently we are working on

1) Re-creating a new Radiator
2) Plastic Fuel pipes replaced with Copper fuel pipes
3) Engine room electricals being changed
4) Rats have chewed up the upholstery, so re-doing certain patches
5) Changing essential oils, hoses, belts, new plugs and plug leads
6) SU carb overhaul
7) Complete Brake overhaul
8) Steering overhaul
My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc01447.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc01450.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc01518.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc01507.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc01515.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc01510.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc01520.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc01521.jpg  

PAVAN KADAM is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 24th June 2013, 13:05   #19

Re: My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)

Wow what a thread. Cute looking VW Beetles !

Few years back there used to be one restored VW Beetle (skyblue colour) in Thane but no traces now a days.
Wish i can buy one and use daily may be after couple of years once my new parking space with my home is ready. And ofcourse if cost of ownership is manageable.

Cheers !
sameervg is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th June 2013, 09:30   #20

Water can create quite a lot of havoc on cars.

1) Iron Core Radiator jammed - Replaced it with a new copper core radiator
2) SU Carb Blocked - Overhauled it
3) Steering hard with jammed Shims and bearings - Replaced it with new matching one's and overhauled
4) Brake wheel cylinders rusted - Replaced it with matching one's ( Scorpio in the front & Padmini repair kits at the rear ) This was an easy one
5) Master cylinder jammed - Replaced it with the repair kits from the padmini
6) Plastic fuel pipe - Replaced it with the plastic jacketed copper pipe
7) Engine room wiring gone brittle - Replaced most of them
8) No battery - Got a new one
9) Replaced essential oils, new plugs, plug leads, points & condencer, drive belts and radiator hoses
10) Tappet adjustment and tuning

Hopeful to deliver the Wolsley before weekend. Still have few more things to complete.

1) Get the front grill chrome plated
2) Golden Pin-striping on the fenders
3) Paint detailing
4) A little attention on the Front Left seat and the rear Left roof-lining
5) New carpeting.
6) Mirrors
PAVAN KADAM is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th July 2013, 20:17   #21

A week and the non stop monsoon rains, though delayed, we managed to complete most of the work on the Wolsley and it starts purring like a sweet kitten

But there were bigger surprises once everything was done.

1) The paint on the roof showed cracks all over
2) There was absolutely no clutch action making the car immovable, but it used to start perfectly

So another week of work before i send the car off.

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc01628.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc01629.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc01630.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc01631.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc01632.jpg  

Last edited by PAVAN KADAM : 12th July 2013 at 20:36.
PAVAN KADAM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st August 2013, 09:33   #22

Finally the Wolsley has taken shape and ready to go

But. Just before sending it off to the owner, i tried PINSTRIPING for the first time.! And hell yeah, i just loved doing it, The results are here for all to see.
My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02580.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02596.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02594.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02588.jpg  

PAVAN KADAM is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st August 2013, 22:06   #23

Finally the Wolsley 10 drove for over 20 kms in thick Traffic on a hot afternoon in to get delivered And amazingly no niggles for a car that has seen the tarmac after a decade and more. I am just proud of this machine and mostly the Pin-Striping work that has added lot of character to the Vintage.
My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02632.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02633.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02634.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02642.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02644.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02656.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02635.jpg  

Last edited by PAVAN KADAM : 21st August 2013 at 22:12.
PAVAN KADAM is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 21st August 2013, 22:34   #24

Splendid job on the Wolsley Pavan ji, you have almost made it a show stopper. Nice to know its performing very well mechanically. As you rightly mentioned, pin striping has enhanced the overall look & have broken the monotony of two tone, the owner must be one happy soul

Hats off to you sir for the superb rejuvenation of this oldie.
samsag12 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2013, 08:37   #25

Honestly, I have similar thoughts of restoration jobs and it has always been submissive. I am so glad you are already executing it. Why not try to collaborate and do some TV shows? It might take you far places and get more clients as well. Just my thought.
(a before and after picture comparison would highlight you work a lot better)

Last edited by petrolhead_chn : 22nd August 2013 at 08:38.
petrolhead_chn is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2013, 09:56   #26

Originally Posted by samsag12 View Post
Splendid job on the Wolsley Pavan ji, you have almost made it a show stopper. Nice to know its performing very well mechanically. As you rightly mentioned, pin striping has enhanced the overall look & have broken the monotony of two tone, the owner must be one happy soul

Hats off to you sir for the superb rejuvenation of this oldie.
Thanks Sagar

Originally Posted by petrolhead_chn View Post
Honestly, I have similar thoughts of restoration jobs and it has always been submissive. I am so glad you are already executing it. Why not try to collaborate and do some TV shows? It might take you far places and get more clients as well. Just my thought.
(a before and after picture comparison would highlight you work a lot better)
Hi, Thank you for the compliments. Firstly my restorations are NON-COMMERCIAL, so i would love to stay away from any publicity. And most of the cars that are getting restored are for closed group of friends and their inner circle. I would prefer doing it this way, private and simple.
PAVAN KADAM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th August 2013, 09:55   #27

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post

Thanks Sagar

Hi, Thank you for the compliments. Firstly my restorations are NON-COMMERCIAL, so i would love to stay away from any publicity. And most of the cars that are getting restored are for closed group of friends and their inner circle. I would prefer doing it this way, private and simple.
Hi Pavan. Sent you a PM, please read and let me know what you think.

benz220 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th August 2013, 19:13   #28

1947 Humber Hawk

Very funny the way the car owner ( common friend ) found me, he came to the workshop following a Beetle that we were testing enroute his house

So time for yet another Vintage to wake up from its 2 decade old slumber. Basically when i went over to take a look at the car, it looked solid and heard his stories regarding its restoration that went wrong sometime back, hence he decided to have the car at his home in its present condition than trust anyone to work on it. I loved the stance of the car and immediately pulled out the carb from the car to have it overhauled, and after that was done, i let my mechanic work his magic on the car.

Will unfold the story a little later.
My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02116.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02115.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02117.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02313.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02315.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02323.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02319.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02327.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02322.jpg  

Old 3rd September 2013, 21:27   #29

Re: 1947 Humber Hawk

This one was a little quick

The complete team was on this car to take care of all the minor hiccups we face, End of 1 weeks of work on the car, the HAWK is firing all of its healthy 4 cylinders.

Pending work

1) Replace sheet metal on the Right Rear Door
2) Replace sheet metal on the dickey floor
3) Replace bottom half of the fuel tank
4) New fuel filler cap
5) Small paint touch ups
6) Golden Pin Striping and Red lines on some decals :-D
7) Sun roof repair
8) Document updation

Presently the HAWK is running and has gone back to the respective owner, and will be a Running Restoration as the days come by .
My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02552.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02555.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02553.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02743.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02744.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02748.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02749.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02751.jpg  

My Quick-Fix "Refreshtorations" (including a '72 VW Beetle)-dsc02752.jpg  

Old 3rd September 2013, 22:53   #30

Re: 1947 Humber Hawk

Some videos,

Excuses - They are not professionally shot.