Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 13th November 2014, 10:05   #121

Re: Our Lost & Found Classic - 1954 Dodge Convertible

Many congratulations KPS on a fantastic outcome! Now that the Dodge is complete, we're going to have a lot less to discuss in terms of cars when you drop by to Calcutta next!

But please do put up some more detailed daytime photos of the car, like the interiors, trunk etc. All we have are some night time photos of the car completed; not fair

Look forward to more photos and congratulations again on completing the car so well.

Prithvi
mbz180 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th November 2014, 13:16   #122

KPS, Could you tell me what percentage of the cost of those white wall tyres you ended up paying towards duty, shipping, clearence etc (planning to get a tyre set imported). Thanks
Old 17th November 2014, 15:50   #123
KPS

Originally Posted by mbz180 View Post
Many congratulations KPS ............
Look forward to more photos and congratulations again on completing the car so well.
Prithvi
Thanks Prithvi. The outcome still has many gaps which I will fix going forward. The plan is to use the car regularly and make it mechanically sound. I will fix the gaps after that.

We will have a lot to discuss on my next trip to Kolkata, let me assure you. More pictures will follow in the weekend.

Originally Posted by car love View Post
KPS, Could you tell me what percentage of the cost of those white wall tyres you ended up paying towards duty, shipping, clearence etc (planning to get a tyre set imported). Thanks
As discussed, hope you have been able to contact the person who details I have SMS'ed you.

KPS
Old 17th November 2014, 19:54   #124

Originally Posted by KPS View Post
Thanks Prithvi. The outcome still has many gaps which I will fix going forward. The plan is to use the car regularly and make it mechanically sound. I will fix the gaps after that.

We will have a lot to discuss on my next trip to Kolkata, let me assure you. More pictures will follow in the weekend.

As discussed, hope you have been able to contact the person who details I have SMS'ed you.

KPS
No KPS, I'm not the one who contacted you..wanted the details for a future purchase...
Old 19th November 2014, 08:01   #125
KPS

Originally Posted by car love View Post
No KPS, I'm not the one who contacted you..wanted the details for a future purchase...
Sent you a PM

Originally Posted by mbz180 View Post
But please do put up some more detailed daytime photos of the car,.......
Prithvi
As requested

Our Lost & Found Classic - 1954 Dodge Convertible-dscn3151.jpg

Our Lost & Found Classic - 1954 Dodge Convertible-dscn3152.jpg

Our Lost & Found Classic - 1954 Dodge Convertible-dscn3153.jpg

Our Lost & Found Classic - 1954 Dodge Convertible-dscn3154.jpg

Our Lost & Found Classic - 1954 Dodge Convertible-dscn3155.jpg

Our Lost & Found Classic - 1954 Dodge Convertible-dscn3156.jpg

Our Lost & Found Classic - 1954 Dodge Convertible-dscn3157.jpg

Our Lost & Found Classic - 1954 Dodge Convertible-dscn3158.jpg

Dual fuel lines from the mechanical and electric fuel pump
Our Lost & Found Classic - 1954 Dodge Convertible-dscn3159.jpg

There is a lot of minor works to be still done on the car, which we will fix as we run the car. For example, need to connect the oil gauge and get the fuel gauge working. The convertible lock handle broke due to metal fatigue and will have to cast. All trims have to be reset and realigned. Seats need adjustments etc etc.

We did our first morning drive today

KPS
KPS is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 19th November 2014, 10:58   #126

There is a lot of minor works to be still done on the car, which we will fix as we run the car. For example, need to connect the oil gauge and get the fuel gauge working. The convertible lock handle broke due to metal fatigue and will have to cast. All trims have to be reset and realigned. Seats need adjustments etc etc.

KPS
Hi KPS,

Looks nice and elegant .

You need to get a proper photo shoot with this as tribute to all the hard work that has gone in to the resto. I am sure there would be some fellow BHPian who would oblige

Best Regards & Drive Safe

Ram
r_nairtvm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th November 2014, 16:11   #127

Sent you a PM

As requested

KPS
Super brilliant! Thanks!

The 'Dodge' crest on the bonnet is pure eye candy; I remember you said they are hard to get in good condition even on Ebay.

Trust your first drive went well and wish you many happy miles of motoring on this splendid car.

mbz180
mbz180 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2014, 11:37   #128

I would like to dedicate this thread to my dad, Prithvi Ganapathy and his ex-boss Jack William Lawrence. My Dad has always been a car and bike enthusiast. He was inspired by his maternal grandfather Kuttetira Subbaiah who owned a few cars including this 1925-26 Dodge Brother bought new, as seen below (person in the rear right).
Earlier this month I had the pleasure to meet KPS and his family. I was lucky to spend some time with his father, a true blue car enthusiast with the greatest stories to share. His passion for cars is so evident, his discerning eye pointing out every detail on his Plymouth that I would normally have overlooked. Such a warm and hospitable family, I must thank you once again.

Here is my Herald when I was visiting. The Dodge had just arrived home. Seen are KPS, his father and bulletboy - to all of whom I am very grateful.
Our Lost & Found Classic - 1954 Dodge Convertible-kps.jpg
karlosdeville is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 4th December 2014, 16:17   #129

On 5th November the car made it home.

Attachment 1307400

Attachment 1307401

Dad doing the customary pooja as my wife looks on
Attachment 1307402

She is parked with the Plymouth. Much to our amusement the car is longer than the Plymouth and does not fit in the garage by about 6 inches! We need to figure out a solution
Attachment 1307403

We did not make the Southern Road Trail in the car, as I believed that my experience in driving a left hand drive and judging the proportions of the car was not enough to make this trip. However I did ride in the other cars and the experience was very enriching.

KPS
Many congratulations KPS and Prithvi Sir. The car looks fantastic.

-Karumbaiah
Karumbaiah is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th January 2015, 07:44   #130
KPS

Here is the car with the top down.

Our Lost & Found Classic - 1954 Dodge Convertible-image1.jpg

KPS
KPS is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 12th January 2015, 11:21   #131

An Absolutely smashing restoration Sir!! Its great to see another Dodge back on the road. I'm sure that every trip in this car, will be like time travel for your Dad

Kindly share more pics of this beauty, especially the interiors.

Cant wait to check it out in person, next time i'm in Bangalore.
JayD is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th April 2015, 06:58   #132
KPS

Pictures taken yesterday

Our Lost & Found Classic - 1954 Dodge Convertible-dscn3230.jpg

Our Lost & Found Classic - 1954 Dodge Convertible-dscn3231.jpg

Our Lost & Found Classic - 1954 Dodge Convertible-dscn3232.jpg

The big brother keeps company for the photo shoot
Our Lost & Found Classic - 1954 Dodge Convertible-dscn3239.jpg

Our Lost & Found Classic - 1954 Dodge Convertible-dscn3240.jpg

KPS
KPS is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 25th April 2015, 11:20   #133

Both cars looking great KPS !
Kartik
KartikeyaL is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th May 2015, 22:13   #134

Originally Posted by KartikeyaL View Post
Both cars looking great KPS !
Kartik
Indeed they are looking just divine. The work that went into this car is just monumental. The end result is equally monumental. Both make a great pair.
msabbasi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th August 2015, 14:09   #135
KPS

Being a left hand drive, I always wanted to have fender guides. Getting one was more difficult than I could imagine. Finally got one on eBay.

The fender guides look great on the car

Got a very good pair
Our Lost & Found Classic - 1954 Dodge Convertible-dscn3241.jpg

The fits snugly in the wheel arch
Our Lost & Found Classic - 1954 Dodge Convertible-dscn3246.jpg

This lights up so one knows where the fenders ends are in the night
Our Lost & Found Classic - 1954 Dodge Convertible-dscn3247.jpg

Our Lost & Found Classic - 1954 Dodge Convertible-dscn3248.jpg

KPS

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 10th August 2015 at 15:08. Reason: Edited as requested.
KPS is offline   (7) Thanks