Team-BHP - The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon

-   Post-War (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/post-war/)
-   -   The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/post-war/183263-premier-padmini-starline-safari-station-wagon-6.html)

Here are a couple of unique looking wagon conversions from the movie 'Nalayak'. The construction retains the original curved rear windscreen.

The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-nalayak-25.png
The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-nalayak-5.png
The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-nalayak-6.png

An early Padmini Safari seen in the 1979 movie 'Ahsaas'

The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-img_7002.png

A Premier President station wagon conversion seen in the 1975 movie 'Uljhan'

The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-uljhan-8.png

The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-uljhan-15.png

Some more Fiat Safari movie sightings

In the film Dada we see a strange local conversion on the President, with uniquely curved rear pillars.
Name:  dada 1.PNG
Views: 615
Size:  285.1 KB
Name:  dada 2.PNG
Views: 614
Size:  326.4 KB

The same car is seen in Do Khiladi, but in blue
The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-do-khilad-10.png
The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-do-khilad-18.png

In Chhailla Babu we see two President Safari taxis, the latter being a Starline job.
The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-chhailla-babu-1.png
The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-chhailla-babu-2.png

Originally Posted by Anwesh (Post 4657973)
I remember that these used to carry the legend 'choti taxi' in devnagari script (meaning small taxi). I believe this was to assure would be passengers that the fare shall be same as the Fiat saloons. The large American taxies had been withdrawn only a few years previously. There was a dual fare system while they were around and they had higher fares.

In the 1977 movie Aap Ki Khatir we see this 'Small Taxi / Chhoti Taxi' script on the sides.

The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-aap-ki-khatir-16.png

The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-aap-ki-khatir-39.png

Originally Posted by karlosdeville (Post 5048811)
Here are a couple of unique looking wagon conversions from the movie 'Nalayak'. The construction retains the original curved rear windscreen.

The same wagon conversion with the curved rear glass is also seen in the movie 'Mazdoor Zindabad'

The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-img_6844.png

The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-img_6845.png

A smart non-Starline design station wagon is seen in the film Achha Bura

The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-achha-bura-2.png

The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-achha-bura-4.png

The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-achha-bura-6.png

The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-achha-bura-7.png

The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-achha-bura-8.png

From the 1982 Marathi movie 'Umbartha'

We see a Starline stationwagon, second generation. Might have been almost new at the time.

Note the accessory sleeker bumpers without guards. Also tinted side glasses.
The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-umbartha-8.png
The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-umbartha-20.png

Note the roof rack as well as strips on the roof.
The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-umbartha-25.png
The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-umbartha-28.png
The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-umbartha-37.png

We can barely see the badge positioning on the rear fender.
The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-umbartha-43.png

Another conversion seen in South India

Name:  01.PNG
Views: 426
Size:  604.1 KB

A Starline Safari for sale in Guwhati

The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-0-1.png

The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-0-2.png

The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-0-3.png

The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-0-4.png

Another Starline Safari from 1982. I'm told was recently scrapped.

The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-01.jpg
The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-02.jpg

Originally Posted by karlosdeville (Post 5491547)
Another conversion seen in South India

Attachment 2416084

TNS must be a Coimbatore/ Pollachi/ Nilgiris area registration.

Details visible of the unique Starline taillights with thick surrounds

The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-img_5124.jpg

Originally Posted by karlosdeville (Post 5509795)
Details visible of the unique Starline taillights with thick surrounds

Attachment 2427270

Reminds me of the many Picnics we had as kids in our 1982 Safari. We were a group of Five kids including cousins that would fit in the boot. The Safari was our choice whenever we went to the Drive-in theatre.
Notice how the hatch tilts in the photograph - proof of build quality from PAL.

A later attempt in the 90s to build a more modern Padmini stationwagon. More details unfortunately not known.

The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-combi01.png

The Premier Padmini Starline 'Safari' Station Wagon-combi02.png