Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

View Poll Results: Which colour for the Fiat 1100/D Special?
Wine Red and White 35 25.93%
Blue and White 36 26.67%
Emerald Green and White 10 7.41%
Midnite Blue and White 54 40.00%
Voters: 135. You may not vote on this poll

Old 16th June 2007, 13:10   #121

Originally Posted by Stanher View Post
Thanks for the info. on Wurth (& your compliment on my spirit ).....will see if I can have someone pick it up there.....but if you live in a coastal area, I guess it serves the purpose better to brush-paint the stuff onto the underside (which'd make it thicker) rather than spray it?
Maybe the brush will not reach some stubborn crevices that a spay will. I would give it an extra coat or two of the stuff by spraying, rather than brush it. It will take almost the same amount of solution and will reach the otherwise unreachable areas.
Old 18th June 2007, 11:03   #122

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
Maybe the brush will not reach some stubborn crevices that a spay will. I would give it an extra coat or two of the stuff by spraying, rather than brush it.
Also a good point......'didnt think of that.....but I guess u could brush it on the chassis floor/underside atleast......also worth rust-proofing each & every suspension component separately before fitting them back on...
Old 22nd June 2007, 21:07   #123

@ Stanher- Thats a great Idea mate, will do that.

Ok Guys, time to post updated pics of whats happening with the 1100.
In my last post you have seen the tinwork almost complete and the finishing, yet to be completed. This time around, the finishing of the tinwork is done and over with. The rough edges have been smoothened, the panels have been hand beaten (how else) to get the right contours and a few of the cut and paste jobs which were pending are now complete. The grill and bumpers were fitted to the body at this juncture to ensure that all line and level is in sync. A few adjustments to be made are made. Now the cars ready for the 'Wurth" treatment. Then the next step to painting starts. Will keep you guys filled in of the progress as it takes place. Im satisfied of the job. You guys give me your opnion and any suggestions.

The Remnants of the 1100. The Skeleton.

The car was really in a bad shape as you can see, hence had to go for a body snatch...oops swap.

A part of the fire wall as you can see is cut. It was welded on to the other car to maintain originality, as the newer breed of Fiats had a different shape altogether

THis is how she looks. The grille, headlight trims and bumpers were just buffed and were temporarily fitted to resolve any fitting glitches before the car was send for the pre paint finishing work. Now they've gone for hard chroming.

Gotta go somewhere. Will finish posting when I get back. Have lotsa pics for you guys!!
Old 22nd June 2007, 21:13   #124

Wow.. The car is already looking good.. Post more pics.
What colour was decided anyway?

Godfather
Old 23rd June 2007, 11:26   #125

Great to see so progress...she looks like a car again! This ones a keeper...

All the best.
Old 23rd June 2007, 11:34   #126

Looks great Gogi bhai! Do keep us posted with the paint work progress. And have you decided on any colour combos yet?
Old 23rd June 2007, 12:22   #127

Wonderful progress Gogi. Shes come a long way . Cant wait to see her through the painting process
Old 23rd June 2007, 23:06   #128

Looks awesome Gogi! Quite a gripping tale this! One of those rags to riches tale that would fit into an Amitabh Bacchan script

I'm hooked... waiting for the updates!
Old 24th June 2007, 12:06   #129

good to see the car getting in the best of shape.... let the debate for the paint job begin.. (or is there any in the first place?)

Finally, the original wheels have been swapped (which I guess you haven't mentioned anywhere).

P.S. Can u PM me the address of the garage?
Old 24th June 2007, 12:39   #130

I can't see the pics in Page 7. :(
Old 24th June 2007, 15:56   #131

@ Godfather and Iraghava- These were the colours suggested by team mates:

Originally Posted by karlosdeville View Post
heres a few more combos...

I have an inclination towards a two tone combo...though invariably it teeters towards looking like a taxi...

Originally Posted by salilpawar1 View Post
These are scale models but u can check out the colour combinations

Originally Posted by salilpawar1 View Post
Here are some really nice paint combinations.......

Old 24th June 2007, 16:00   #132

Gogi - I like the Maroon/White combo!
Old 24th June 2007, 16:05   #133

@ Nitrous- Buddy my previous post were the pics on page 7 which you could not see.

Originally Posted by karlosdeville View Post
well here are a few cars for ideas.

I lIke this one. The first one greyish blue. This is what im gonna paint her but please guys give me your suggestions....
More pics coming up.

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
I was thinking on this colour. What say guys? u agree? I have to give him the final colour so he can do the needful when im away.

According to my garage guy the Wine red with a Black top is THE colour.?? Am confused.

maybe a wine red with a cream/white top?
Old 24th June 2007, 16:15   #134

This one (your choice) is nice, if you want to keep things a bit on the sober side:
ImageShack - Hosting :: fiat01zb0.jpg

This one is a little brighter shade of blue and would look great in the blue-white combo as in the above pic:
ImageShack - Hosting :: special06ox6.jpg

Else, the wine red/white is the most striking combo:
ImageShack - Hosting :: 5901mq8.jpg

Decisions decisions
Old 24th June 2007, 16:52   #135

Sorry guys could'nt post all these the other day as had to leave for Nagpur for a wedding. Got back just last night and am posting these.

The panels smoothened and well contoured

The bonnet and the front lines.
Note the hammer marks on the metal. A lot of manual labour has gone into the metamorphosis already. I would call this a labour of love. After this exercise of temporarily refitting the grill, the minor faults were noted, marked and are in due process of correction. Some of which have been done already. The grille, headlight trims, bumpers, guards and all chrome materials have since then been sent for hard chroming. Shall post pics of the same when they return after the work is done

Uh OH....somethings wrong.. cant upload any more pics from imageshack nor photo bucket. Will do so in some time when the gremlins die down

Last edited by V-16 : 24th June 2007 at 16:54.