Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

View Poll Results: Which colour for the Fiat 1100/D Special?
Wine Red and White 35 25.93%
Blue and White 36 26.67%
Emerald Green and White 10 7.41%
Midnite Blue and White 54 40.00%
Voters: 135. You may not vote on this poll

Old 10th April 2007, 11:42   #61

oh! i got this thing in my head...its great that she has the body and soul of the fiat. great going man!

wish you all the best for the restoration! keep up the good work.
Old 10th April 2007, 11:50   #62

Razzaq bhai has executed this very well Gogi! Send him my regards. I thought it wouldn't be done with this perfection. Great work.
Old 10th April 2007, 21:03   #63

Great going, this is turning out to be the restoration of the century....

Best of luck......

Tell your mechanic/restorer that he is gonna give Chip Foose (of Overhaulin' fame) a run for his money...!!!

Have you decided on the paint job yet?
Old 10th April 2007, 21:30   #64

This is a pic of the brochure of the 1100D special

You might be able to source it from here....it's an American website
https://www.mclellansautomotive.com/...rint-index.htm
Old 11th April 2007, 00:46   #65

Originally Posted by salilpawar1 View Post
Great going, this is turning out to be the restoration of the century....

Best of luck......

Tell your mechanic/restorer that he is gonna give Chip Foose (of Overhaulin' fame) a run for his money...!!!

Have you decided on the paint job yet?
Lol!! Think its me whos trying to play Chip Foose and yhis is the Indian Overhaulin

Thinking strongly towards the Surf Blue with a White top.... still open to suggestions....???!!!
Old 11th April 2007, 02:18   #66

How about a nice wine red, or claret?

Or even an emerald shade?

Last edited by v1p3r : 11th April 2007 at 02:23.
Old 11th April 2007, 02:20   #67

Originally Posted by v1p3r View Post
How about a nice wine red, or claret? Or even an emerald shade?

Ive seen a wine red, altough it looks good, think its too dark for the car. This car looks good in lighter, pastel shades. Whats claret?
Old 11th April 2007, 02:29   #68

Wohi, claret, wine red, various fancy names for daaru!

A reddish base with a ivory/cream top wouldn't look too dark, would it?
Old 11th April 2007, 02:32   #69

Ok then ill also see if i can colour her Sauvignon Green or a Chenin Gold or how about a Chiraz Burgundy (Oops..!!Oxymoron became!! )
Old 11th April 2007, 03:49   #70

Kya ji, humein khaali KF, Smirnoff, Bacardi malum! Smirnoff colour is nice.
Old 20th April 2007, 20:00   #71

Ok Guys PHASE-III begins. Invasion of the Body Snatchers

After some extensive shopping for essential stuff and a lot of soul searching (amidst our own and the car's) Phase three was undertaken. The 1100 was stripped of its seats and other belongings and our worst fears came true.
There were Gaping holes in the flooring of the Italian beauty. So much so that if trodded upon with a heavy foot, one could land on the road through the floor.
As one says that a picture is worth a 1000 words, i will spare you the pain of reading 19,000 words.

Im Standing in the dark awaiting resurrection..like a Phoenix rises from its ashes.

The Deteriorated/Nonexistant Flooring...note my shoe tip seen through the flooring.

Note the rusted rear Mudguard. Rust has actually eaten through this car.
The glasses of the 1100 are a light green tint, which will be retained.

The Swapping

I had mentioned in my earlier posts... that;

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
Guys its been a while since I posted the progress.
"FACE OFF"

This will become....

Like this....

So here is how it was done;

The bottom part of the door containing the moulded stripe was cut from the old doors and welded on to the new doors.

The continuity has been maintained..

More or less the body swapping job is done

The left side was being done and should have been finished as Im posting this.

I await eagerly the responses and suggestions from experts.

Coming up soon, the dash replacement and the engine swap.
Maintain a good vigil on this thread

Last edited by V-16 : 20th April 2007 at 20:03.
Old 20th April 2007, 20:10   #72

great to see progress...quite a talented chappie you got there!

the end result seems to be a good match...the spear on the fender can be hand made rather than grafting...if i remember right, that particular donor panel would have caught rust already...

you seem to be pretty much done with the major chunk of it...great!

karl
Old 20th April 2007, 23:35   #73

Good work, keep it going....
Old 20th April 2007, 23:45   #74
gump

wow great work..

waiting to see more of this

Old 21st April 2007, 02:03   #75

In the meanwhile, why dont you guys suggest some colour schemes?