Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 7th November 2007, 16:26   #16

Suddenly its raining Landmasters...look closely behind the 115.
Old 7th November 2007, 18:49   #17

Originally Posted by star_is_here View Post
I called the dealer (Silver tone motors) and he is quoting 9lac for that blue 115. That's steep ain't it?

9 Lac for a 115? or was he quoting about a dozen of them? and that too, for a left hand drive one?? This guy must be bonkers!

Btw, if u are looking for a car to use regularly, then pls go in for a right hand drive one. L.H.D will be a pain to use in traffic!

P.S, the blue car is a 6cyl 230. That means its not a 115 but a 114.

Last edited by JayD : 7th November 2007 at 18:56.
Old 7th November 2007, 21:42   #18

Originally Posted by star_is_here View Post
I called the dealer (Silver tone motors) and he is quoting 9lac for that blue 115. That's steep ain't it?
the price quoted to you is insane. it generally does happen with certain owners. they forget the real world and dream. there are people who are ignorrant and would pay the price too.

@ jayd it is not a problem if the car is a LHD or RHD. both cars are equally driveable and easy to manuver in the city. the 115 did have the 230 petrol 6 cylinder engine so i dont think it would be a 114. my friend has a similar car.
Old 8th November 2007, 13:34   #19

Is the 115 easier to maintain or should I go for 123 diesel?
Old 8th November 2007, 16:04   #20

I think the maintanence of both will be more or less the samel. Both have their own charm. Just my two cents: First decide on wht charecteristic you are looking for in the car. If it is more classic value with good usability, then go for the 115. If u want a classy but more usable one, go for the 123. 123's are easier to find, and the 240D i've heard is particularly good to drive. But the 115 has more period charm and is rarer than the 123. But finding pristine examples of both are quite difficult, but not impossible. This is what i'v inferred from my search for a vintage merc of my own! Hope i've confused u more!!!
Old 8th November 2007, 16:23   #21

No JayD, infact you have resurrected by belief in 115 more. I love that headlight shape of 114/115 and the way the car was engineered. Simply, cannot get it out of my head.

I am going to use her for driving around for around 100km in a week and I know she is going to enjoy taking me around.
Old 8th November 2007, 22:33   #22

no better way to put it Jayd. i totally agree with you. the 115 have a touch of class and with the headlight shape and the simple yet sharp lines of the car make it a total eye candy. it deffinately is a better looker than the w123.

@star is here. the car sure would enjoy taking you around as much as you would like to take her out as long as you take care of her and treat her well.
Old 9th November 2007, 00:17   #23

Yup! i bet both of u are going to enjoy your drives. By the way, if u get a 115, then pls manage to put in the ivory steering. its so much more beautiful than the modern black steering, which i feel contradicts with the classic charm ofthe car!

Old 9th November 2007, 04:04   #24

Originally Posted by speedy View Post
the price quoted to you is insane. it generally does happen with certain owners. they forget the real world and dream. there are people who are ignorrant and would pay the price too.

@ jayd it is not a problem if the car is a LHD or RHD. both cars are equally driveable and easy to manuver in the city. the 115 did have the 230 petrol 6 cylinder engine so i dont think it would be a 114. my friend has a similar car.
Bro the 115s all had 4 cyl engines and the straight 6 petrols were available in the 114 chassis. No 115 came with a 6 cyl engine. In fact the difference between a 114 and 15 was the 6 cyl engine. All 114s had 6 cyl engines viz, 230.6, and 250. There was a 230.4 (4 cyl) available too which was a 115. Your friend must have had thae four cyl 230.

Originally Posted by JayD View Post
Yup! i bet both of u are going to enjoy your drives. By the way, if u get a 115, then pls manage to put in the ivory steering. its so much more beautiful than the modern black steering, which i feel contradicts with the classic charm of the car!

Jay, its important to maintain the originality of the car. The ivory or black bakelite steering was available till 1973. From then o these cars came with a foam type 4 spoke steering similar to the one in the W123s
How did you presume from the pic that the blue LHD was a 114 and not a 115? All LHDs were not 114s.
Old 9th November 2007, 08:58   #25

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
How did you presume from the pic that the blue LHD was a 114 and not a 115? All LHDs were not 114s.
It was simple! in the site where these cars are listed, the blue one's specs are given as 230, 6cylinder! So That means 114!!
Old 9th November 2007, 13:29   #26

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
There was a 230.4 (4 cyl) available too which was a 115. Your friend must have had thae four cyl 230.
sorry bhai, typo i meant to write four cylinder instead of six. my friend has the 230 four cylinder.
Old 9th November 2007, 14:05   #27

Hey! I saw an ad for a 1967 RHD 115 230.4 auto for sale in bombay! He's asking 5 lac!! Whats with these people these days??
Old 9th November 2007, 14:43   #28

It was simple! in the site where these cars are listed, the blue one's specs are given as 230, 6cylinder! So That means 114!!
ooops, sorry bro

Hey! I saw an ad for a 1967 RHD 115 230.4 auto for sale in bombay! He's asking 5 lac!! Whats with these people these days??
...#@!!&@##!! what else can i say!!
Old 13th November 2007, 18:58   #29

Star, any updates????
Old 14th November 2007, 13:33   #30

No luck (115) as of now. Trying in vain and scouting high and low. Will update you guys regularly as and when I come across any beauty.

By the way, there is a Rolls Royce for sale at a garage near the premises I work in Mumbai.
The guy does classic/vintage restoration. He has some cool cars. I enquired about the RR and got to know it was for sale at 10lac.

I have seen the car from far and according to the garage owner it would need another 10lac to be invested to be restored!

Anyone Interested?