Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 7th May 2008, 01:58   #421

Arre gogi bhai..Paint has already been bought. And the scheme will not change. I have finally managed to convince Dad..Please dont confuse him further.

p.s.-got that part you wanted?

And photoshop pro?? HAHA far from it!! salil came and gave me a few tips thats all...
My Left Hand Drive Fiat.-dsc.jpg  

Last edited by Cyrus43 : 7th May 2008 at 02:00.
Old 7th May 2008, 02:05   #422

But what is the paint, silver grey or the azurre grey? And yes finally got the part.
Work starts tomorrow.
Old 7th May 2008, 02:43   #423

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
But what is the paint, silver grey or the azurre grey? And yes finally got the part.
Work starts tomorrow.
The paint is Azure grey BUTT with more coats of paint than the standard paintjob and more clear coats!!

p.s.-very nice..Very nice indeed.

@Dad- Can we have those type of wheels and that type of exhaust on the car??

Last edited by Cyrus43 : 7th May 2008 at 02:44.
Old 7th May 2008, 14:26   #424

Gogibhai - it is Azure Grey, I checked the formulation on the shade card, saw it in the sunlight, compared it with a Swift fortunately standing at my paintwallah's shop and then bought it. It should look good. Let's see.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Old 7th May 2008, 16:02   #425

Originally Posted by GTA View Post
The paint is Azure grey BUTT with more coats of paint than the standard paintjob and more clear coats!!
Uh, careful GTA, you may risk losing your current ID also, this time due to this kind of language...hehe!

Anyways, pardon my ignorance but was it this very shade that was once also offered as 'steel grey' on fiats (circa 1971 to the best of my knowledge, as that was the colour what Prabal's family car was), or was that again a different shade?
Old 7th May 2008, 16:59   #426

Dear Shyam - you are correct but I am not able to recall the exact name of the colour. This swift grey is metallic. I actually wanted non-metallic grey but I could not get this exact shade. Let's see how it comes out.

How's AIA7802 doing ? Did you transfer it to your name ?

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Old 7th May 2008, 19:26   #427

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
Dear Shyam - you are correct but I am not able to recall the exact name of the colour. This swift grey is metallic. I actually wanted non-metallic grey but I could not get this exact shade. Let's see how it comes out.

How's AIA7802 doing ? Did you transfer it to your name ?

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Thanks for the clarification sir. I thought 'steel grey' was the exact name of that colour. Btw, 'didnt know the paint youve bought is a metallic one. 'should turn out interesting!

Reg. AIA7802, it still needs work to begin on it, however it is not my car! It has been bought by another tbhpian who, for reasons unbeknowst to me, has not yet disclosed the news himself! Maybe on reading your post where you took it that the car is mine, he would get some indignation to finally do so!
Old 7th May 2008, 22:42   #428

I think mettalic would look good on fiat, and dont know maybe single tone might be even better, compared to a two tone job
Old 7th May 2008, 23:04   #429

Originally Posted by Stanher View Post
Thanks for the clarification sir. I thought 'steel grey' was the exact name of that colour. Btw, 'didnt know the paint youve bought is a metallic one. 'should turn out interesting!

Reg. AIA7802, it still needs work to begin on it, however it is not my car! It has been bought by another tbhpian who, for reasons unbeknowst to me, has not yet disclosed the news himself! Maybe on reading your post where you took it that the car is mine, he would get some indignation to finally do so!
AIA 7802 is the Millicento with small lights isnt it? I know who has bought it.. But im not telling...
Old 8th May 2008, 09:54   #430

Cyrus Dikra - AIA7802 is the ELEGANT with the small lights, not the Millicento. It has the 3 slat grille, not the centre light grille.
Old 8th May 2008, 09:59   #431

Cyrus Dikra - AIA7802 is the ELEGANT with the small lights, not the Millicento. It has the 3 slat grille, not the centre light grille.
Firstly, any model with the 1100cc engine is officially termed the Millecento. Millecento is Italian for Elevenhundered. So even the Select shape, Delight shape etc have been badged Millecento. In India the centre light grille Millicento was commonly reffered to as "Elegant", not the three slat grille.
Old 8th May 2008, 10:47   #432

Sorry but as karl pointed out the elegant is indeed the '57 "centelight" grille fiat. 7802 is indeed the "millecento", or for Karl's sake, the '54/55 fiat!

Last edited by Stanher : 8th May 2008 at 10:49.
Old 8th May 2008, 10:51   #433

7802 is indeed the "millecento", or for Karl's sake, the '54/55 fiat!
Well, 54, 55 and 56. Actually a majority of the earliest cars Ive found are 56. What does this car date to? Have you seen the books yet?
Old 8th May 2008, 12:16   #434

Originally Posted by karlosdeville View Post
Well, 54, 55 and 56. Actually a majority of the earliest cars Ive found are 56. What does this car date to? Have you seen the books yet?
Nope I havent as yet. The (ex) owner should be here in a month so will get achance to collect the book from him then.
Old 8th May 2008, 12:19   #435

Nope I havent as yet. The (ex) owner should be here in a month so will get achance to collect the book from him then.
Hope i get to see this one soon and hope that it gets restored to its glory.

Last edited by Cyrus43 : 8th May 2008 at 12:20.