Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 4th July 2008, 19:08   #271

Steer they are gonna paint/clean the suspension and wheel parts also right?
Old 4th July 2008, 19:48   #272

Is that a carb 1800 cc petrol engine in the pics?

By the way the restoration is coming up very well. I guess we all are now waiting to see the car hit the roads, and I'm sure getting impatient as well.
Old 4th July 2008, 20:26   #273

Originally Posted by smsrini View Post
What color is it ? Looks like a deep purple?
Deep Wine. Like very dark Maroon. This was the color used for reference, but it seems to have come out darker than that, though it still looks pretty good in the pics (I havent seen the car in person):

My Landmaster Project-fj.jpg

Originally Posted by smsrini View Post
Is the white/silver thing in the enginebay some kind of heat shield / sound deadening thing against the firewall ?
Aluminium sheet with just thermocole inside.

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Steer they are gonna paint/clean the suspension and wheel parts also right?
Jaggu - whatever can be done by the 7th of July. Nothing more. If there's more to be done we'll do it later. I'm in India for 3 days from 9th and I'd like to close this chapter then.

Originally Posted by musicmanaman View Post
Is that a carb 1800 cc petrol engine in the pics?
Yes it is, and we have one more carbed 1800 as a reserve/standby.

Last edited by Steeroid : 4th July 2008 at 20:35.
Old 4th July 2008, 23:44   #274

Whazzat? No role for me except paying the bill!
Even this is important. Isnt it?

Adheesh Parelkar
Old 5th July 2008, 02:11   #275

Shes looking real good Steer!

I can wait to see the finished pics, and im sure Rudraji is also envisioning some nice photoshoot

cya
R
Old 5th July 2008, 04:58   #276

Breaking news !!

I have been Pm-ing Steer for months now and my efforts have borne fruit.

Steeroid bhai has kindly agreed to sell it to me - After taking delivery of this car and driving it for 3 days, , for nothing more than the costs involved.

Steeroid bhai, I shall be indebted to thou throughout my life. I take this opportunity to express my heartfelt gratitude towards your act of kindness. TUSSI GREAT HO!!

Last edited by kuttapan : 5th July 2008 at 04:59.
Old 5th July 2008, 05:06   #277

@Kuttappa! When are you passing by Kerala next time?
It's sometime nice to hear that Suresh gopi dialogue: Oooaa..rmayundo??. . . . . Eee mukhham??
(Do you remember this face?) in a completely different tone and circumstances.
Old 5th July 2008, 11:16   #278

I will, of course, be coming to take delivery of the car.

Seriously speaking, not until next year.
Old 5th July 2008, 11:42   #279

Originally Posted by kuttapan View Post
I will, of course, be coming to take delivery of the car.

Seriously speaking, not until next year.
And if we dont get the car on the 8th, you might even have your way you know...

Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
I can wait to see the finished pics, and im sure Rudraji is also envisioning some nice photoshoot
We may have some pics today. Inshallah.

Last edited by Steeroid : 5th July 2008 at 11:46.
Old 5th July 2008, 23:08   #280

Status report:

Engine started up finally. Car's ready for road tests tomorrow and the day after, delivery on the evening of the 8th if all goes well.

4 BHPians will then drive her down from B'lore to Cochin starting at noon on the 9th, accompanied by a mechanic and a driver in a Scorpio support vehicle equipped with a tow hook, tow ropes and a toolkit.

MODS: Please edit title to "My Landmaster Project - End of Phase 1, Finally(?)"

EDIT: There was supposed to be a question mark in the title, but hopefully everything will go well. Maybe we wont need that question mark after all. (PRAYING HARD!)

Rudraji - Car available for you to inspect/drive/shoot on Tuesday night/wednesday morning with one of our guys. I will send you the number.

Last edited by Steeroid : 5th July 2008 at 23:21.
Old 5th July 2008, 23:25   #281

Wishing you good luck Steeroid ! Your car is a treat to look at.
Old 5th July 2008, 23:29   #282

Wow!! Finally....
Congratulations and good luck...
Old 5th July 2008, 23:30   #283
v12

Congrats and all the best Steeroid.

I hope Rudra doesnt keep the Landmaster and sends his Amby to you
Old 5th July 2008, 23:32   #284

Originally Posted by v12 View Post
I hope Rudra doesnt keep the Landmaster and sends his Amby to you
Well, as the Old Man(R) of the forum he's entitled to do so and quite frankly I wont be complaining - I will get Power Steering and Airconditioning
Old 6th July 2008, 17:26   #285

Wonderful......please take a lot of pics on the trip and do post driving experiences and a report. Will look forward to it.
I think one can bolt on fit the power steering from Rane.
Airconditioning should not pose any problems.
Since you are doing that, why dont you take a duct right at the rear parcel tray and let out two, twin vents with round air deflectors like in the older Mercs or the Chevies. Wont be difficult to source these vents from the local second hand market.
The best bet would be the W123 circular vents.
Eagerly looking forward to more inputs on this thread