Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 26th May 2010, 22:13   #286

Restoration, I don’t believe it. It looks more of a new car directly imported from Germany. I really appreciate the hard work you have put for its originality restoration.

The photo of the car by the side of the tree, amazing. It makes one feel that, its taken from a auto Maxine. you are good photographer too.
Old 27th May 2010, 10:07   #287

Originally Posted by karlosdeville View Post
Add to that a set of original headlights - will look great.
Also do add the Pear shaped side mirrors to the list. The motorcycle mirror of yours is not doing justice to this lovely car

Originally Posted by 67Bug View Post
Also do add the Pear shaped side mirrors to the list. The motorcycle mirror of yours is not doing justice to this lovely car
You will also need a pair of front mud flaps, close the door lock you have on the door (it should be on the handles) and change the position of the radio antenna on your car. It should of near the windshield on the Right hand side.

Last edited by Rehaan : 1st June 2010 at 12:49. Reason: Posts merged. Please use the MULTIQUOTE button instead of making multiple consecutive posts in the same thread. Thanks.
Old 27th May 2010, 17:28   #288

You will also need a pair of front mud flaps, close the door lock you have on the door (it should be on the handles) and change the position of the radio antenna on your car. It should of near the windshield on the Right hand side.
Is it so?
I thought VWsedans came with mudflaps only at the rear wheels
Old 27th May 2010, 20:52   #289

Originally Posted by ajay99 View Post
Is it so?
They did come as accessories.
Old 1st June 2010, 00:20   #290

Originally Posted by narendra.vw View Post
Restoration, I don’t believe it. It looks more of a new car directly imported from Germany. I really appreciate the hard work you have put for its originality restoration.

The photo of the car by the side of the tree, amazing. It makes one feel that, its taken from a auto Maxine. you are good photographer too.
Originally Posted by ajay99 View Post
Is it so?
Thanks to all you guys for a constant support on this thread.

I will ensure i will look into all points mentioned by you guys.

My observations and studies proved me

1) A RHD car had radio antenna on the Right side of the car, and vice versa

2) Front mudflaps never came , but were installed by few over-enthusiasts.

3) Not able to get the original hinge mounted pear shaped mirrors.

Next set of upgrades for the car will start from wednesday.

1) Window chrome trim installation
2) Original door handle
3) Original decklid lock
4) Original back up lights on the rear bumper

All this will be done step by step, and will complete within 10 days time.

But during this time, the car will still be running as usual and will be a running restoration.

Will keep you guys updated on the progress.
Old 2nd June 2010, 14:43   #291

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
Thanks to all you guys for a constant support on this thread.

I will ensure i will look into all points mentioned by you guys.

My observations and studies proved me

1) A RHD car had radio antenna on the Right side of the car, and vice versa

2) Front mudflaps never came , but were installed by few over-enthusiasts.

3) Not able to get the original hinge mounted pear shaped mirrors.

Next set of upgrades for the car will start from wednesday.

1) Window chrome trim installation
2) Original door handle
3) Original decklid lock
4) Original back up lights on the rear bumper

All this will be done step by step, and will complete within 10 days time.

But during this time, the car will still be running as usual and will be a running restoration.

Will keep you guys updated on the progress.
I dont think (1) is correct info,
because I know of 2 single owner RHD cars,one which came from singapore and the other from UK which had factory fitted radios and their antennae were on the left fender.
Old 2nd June 2010, 16:59   #292

My car has the original antenna hole. It is on the left. Starting '68 this style antenna was located the same for RHD or LHD. The early 60s style antenna was attached to the side of the car in front of the left door. These did not have a predefined mounting spot, but was mounted on the left side in all the cars I've seen. However, as these were typically dealer mounted, they could have been mounted on the right by some.

Byas
Old 14th June 2010, 22:11   #293

A small but a much awaited change done on the car today.

Earlier had used the Fiat dickey handle, Got hold of a good ORIGINAL Dicklid button, though its painted black, will be buffing it tomorrow and turn it chrome

Original bits gone into the BUG this week.
1) Original Decklid button
2) Original Assist straps inside
3) Original Ashtray cover

Pending work

1) Window chrome trim installation = have the part, will do it by next week
2) Original door handle = have got the part, will do it by next week
3) Original reverse light = have got the part, will do it by next week
4) Original headlight units = Ordered them ,will install by next week
5) Pear shaped ORVM's = Got the part, will be done by next week.
6) Original engine dust covers = Got the part, will be done next month.

The 6 changes are very vital and time consuming, once i do them, i also need to get both my doors painted, since it involves a bit of welding, But they are a MUST DO.
My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-p140610_22.07.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-p140610_22.08.jpg  

Old 15th June 2010, 10:21   #294

The 6 changes are very vital and time consuming, once i do them, i also need to get both my doors painted, since it involves a bit of welding, But they are a MUST DO.
Great news. Since you will be undergoing the exercise of paint and welding, try and get the front mudguard back in line. Incorrect tinwork in the past has made it out of line.

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-00.jpg
Old 15th June 2010, 10:35   #295

Fabulous!

I've been an admirer of the original bug - the love bug, guess the movie had a lot to do with it. So when I saw the new beetle on display at the VW showroom, I popped over and took a look. The price was ridiculous- 23 odd lakhs.

I figure that you have a much better car at a fraction of the price. Your car did make me drool!
Old 21st June 2010, 19:25   #296

Originally Posted by Adventourer View Post
I've been an admirer of the original bug - the love bug, guess the movie had a lot to do with it. So when I saw the new beetle on display at the VW showroom, I popped over and took a look. The price was ridiculous- 23 odd lakhs.

I figure that you have a much better car at a fraction of the price. Your car did make me drool!
Ha ha,,, thats the way this car is

Present updates.

1) Got the original pear shaped mirrors- thanks to Srisha- but they dont seem to have the mounts, so this will have to wait for some more time

2) The original headlight assembly is been dispatched 2 days ago, will recieve them by weekend.

3) Original assist straps inside the car is put on

4) The reverse lights on the bumpers have come and will be installed in 2 days time.

5) Got hold of the original outer door handles, will need to do it by next week.

Pending work after this:

1) Original type upholstery
2) Tinkering of the fuel tank opener
3) Original inner door handle- which our member ajay99 has, requested for it but no reply :(

Thats it, with the above list, the restoration will come to an end

Last edited by PAVAN KADAM : 21st June 2010 at 19:27.
Old 22nd June 2010, 14:34   #297

Ha ha,,, thats the way this car is

Present updates.

1) Got the original pear shaped mirrors- thanks to Srisha- but they dont seem to have the mounts, so this will have to wait for some more time

2) The original headlight assembly is been dispatched 2 days ago, will recieve them by weekend.

3) Original assist straps inside the car is put on

4) The reverse lights on the bumpers have come and will be installed in 2 days time.

5) Got hold of the original outer door handles, will need to do it by next week.

Pending work after this:

1) Original type upholstery
2) Tinkering of the fuel tank opener
3) Original inner door handle- which our member ajay99 has, requested for it but no reply :(

reply given ,check your pm inbox
Old 22nd June 2010, 14:37   #298

Thank you buddy, This was one big time favour you have done.

Thank you once again, will get in touch with him today and sure will pick it up.
Old 22nd June 2010, 17:27   #299

Restoration never ends mate...it continues till the time you own the car.
Old 26th June 2010, 12:42   #300

A Big Thanks to sv_santhosh and Trammaway

Restoration never ends mate...it continues till the time you own the car.
Thats cent percent true

One part that i had been looking for ages, landed on my lap with ease.

The back up lights fixed on the bumpers(only 1967 models).

A big thanks to T-BHP members SV_Santhosh and Trammaway (Shiva).

Santhosh visited my house few weeks ago in his ever famous Nano ( I just loved his car) and while discussing i mentioned to him about the backup lights, he was travelling to Chennai the coming week and promised he'll get me this part. Shiva helped in sourcing the part in Chennai and Santhosh was generous to get it to me.

Thank you once again guys, you've made my job so easier.

I am putting up these pics only for you guys.
My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-p260610_12.44.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-p260610_12.44_01.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-p260610_12.45.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-p260610_12.45_01.jpg