Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 10th February 2011, 11:19   #466

re: My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done

Can you please show us where have you put the Reverse light switch in your transmission as I thought transmissions of pre-67 bugs never had this provisions?
Old 10th February 2011, 11:35   #467

Originally Posted by 67Bug View Post
Can you please show us where have you put the Reverse light switch in your transmission as I thought transmissions of pre-67 bugs never had this provisions?

The 1967 model came with reverse switch in the gearbox and with 2 reverse lights fitted on the rear bumper. And this was done only for VW's coming out with 1200cc and 1500cc engines in 1967.

For that, you need to give me time till weekend. Will crouch down the car and get a pic for you.
Old 10th February 2011, 18:18   #468

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
The 1967 model came with reverse switch in the gearbox and with 2 reverse lights fitted on the rear bumper. And this was done only for VW's coming out with 1200cc and 1500cc engines in 1967.

For that, you need to give me time till weekend. Will crouch down the car and get a pic for you.
This is a wrong information to the best of my knowledge.The 1200 cc models till 1973(european specs) did not come with back up lights(reverse lights).From 1968 onwards,the 1300,1500 and 1600 models came with tail lamp assy with back up lights (see photo).The 1200 cc models could use accessory reverse lights made by HELLA/SWF and since there was no provision for the switch in the gear box there was a switch which Hooks to the back of the speedometer and turns on the back-up light (see photo of switch).
Regarding the 1967 1500 model,gearbox I am not cent percent sure,whether it had a provision for reverse switch, but generally all pre67 cars did not have that provision in the gearbox
My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-tail3.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-3515815.jpg  

Last edited by ajay99 : 10th February 2011 at 18:21.
Old 10th February 2011, 18:40   #469

Originally Posted by ajay99 View Post
This is a wrong information to the best of my knowledge.The 1200 cc models till 1973(european specs) did not come with back up lights(reverse lights).From 1968 onwards,the 1300,1500 and 1600 models came with tail lamp assy with back up lights (see photo).The 1200 cc models could use accessory reverse lights made by HELLA/SWF and since there was no provision for the switch in the gear box there was a switch which Hooks to the back of the speedometer and turns on the back-up light (see photo of switch).
Regarding the 1967 1500 model,gearbox I am not cent percent sure,whether it had a provision for reverse switch, but generally all pre67 cars did not have that provision in the gearbox
This info too is wrong.

1967 models starting from April 67 and later on, had reverse switches mounted on the gearbox.

Even a 1966 American spec Beetles came with the same set-up. Proof, the 2 LHD 66 Beetles that i've worked on. both the cars had the reverse switch mounted on the gearbox.

About the wiring diagram, i have no clue of them working under such conditions.
Old 10th February 2011, 20:48   #470

This info too is wrong.

1967 models starting from April 67 and later on, had reverse switches mounted on the gearbox.

Even a 1966 American spec Beetles came with the same set-up. Proof, the 2 LHD 66 Beetles that i've worked on. both the cars had the reverse switch mounted on the gearbox.

About the wiring diagram, i have no clue of them working under such conditions.
I had specifically mentioned in my post that I am talking about EUROPEAN Specs beetles, The american specs thing is totally different.
I have seen 2 1968 VW 1200 beetles(European) they both dont have the provision for the Reverse switch in the Nose cone of the transmission
You have been mistaken about the second photo,it is not a wiring diagram, it is a photo of the BACK-UP switch which is used on VW's which did not come with the provision for that switch in the gear box.It was supplied by HELLA called Tachowellenschalter (GERMAN)
271941521a and was an Original VW accessory for fitment of reverse lights on early bug and bus . see clearer photo.

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-3332864.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-3332865.jpg  

Old 10th February 2011, 23:26   #471

Some more German spares came in today

EXPENSIVE............EXPENSIVE..................

I could have easily taken a group of 7 guys for lunch at Taj West End with the money spent for only 2 sets of points and condencer and 1 bowden tube.

From now on, will try only American made spares.
My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-imag_2426.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-imag_2642.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-imag_2643.jpg  

Old 11th February 2011, 10:01   #472

Some more German spares came in today

EXPENSIVE............EXPENSIVE..................

I could have easily taken a group of 7 guys for lunch at Taj West End with the money spent for only 2 sets of points and condencer and 1 bowden tube.

From now on, will try only American made spares.
NOS german ignition points with VW logo (in box) cost USD7 each, the condensers (GERMAN BOSCH) USD4 and the speedometer cable(GEMO) USD10.
Old 26th February 2011, 21:04   #473

Visited my Cousins house today, surprisingly found some old pics of my Beetle.

Very funny to see the old look
My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-p1010020.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-p1010015.jpg  

Old 28th February 2011, 20:17   #474

Restored the ORIGINAL NAGURA fuel indicator assembly.

A simple thing like this to restore took nearly 3.50K

Thanks to RAMESH BHAI " soni meter works" for his undying spirits in getting this thing work.

30 kms from my house, 100 meters from my office. Very convenient for me

Its done and i am happy.
My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-imag_2751.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-imag_2784.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-imag_2785.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-imag_2786.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-imag_2787.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-imag_2788.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-imag_2803.jpg  

Last edited by PAVAN KADAM : 28th February 2011 at 20:19.
Old 2nd March 2011, 11:54   #475

Restored the ORIGINAL NAGURA fuel indicator assembly.

A simple thing like this to restore took nearly 3.50K

Thanks to RAMESH BHAI " soni meter works" for his undying spirits in getting this thing work.

30 kms from my house, 100 meters from my office. Very convenient for me

Its done and i am happy.
First of all there is no OE Fuel gauge called "" NAGURA"".Air cooled beetles used to have either VDO or DEHNE or MAGURA fuel gauge assembly.
to the best of my info good used working fuel gauge is available for around USD20 .
My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-3669266.jpg  

Last edited by ajay99 : 2nd March 2011 at 11:57.
Old 19th March 2011, 22:14   #476

Originally Posted by ajay99 View Post
First of all there is no OE Fuel gauge called "" NAGURA"".Air cooled beetles used to have either VDO or DEHNE or MAGURA fuel gauge assembly.
to the best of my info good used working fuel gauge is available for around USD20 .
A simple typo error can flare up Mr Ajay

OK sorry for the error, yes, the Fuel guage i have in my car is "MAGURA"

Today i got this from GERMANY (1964-1967), quarter window felt, 1966 VW Brazil Winder knob (this is not period specific). Few more stuff ordered will be reaching me after i come back from my 3 week long trip.

Stuff ordered.

1) Original 1967 only Brand new German Door handles with key
2) Original 1967 only German VW NOS Door Chrome mouldings and rubbers
3) Original German Window winding mechanism
4) Maybe The ORIGINAL BLAUPUNKT Radio tooooo........

Will keep u guys updated...
My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-imag_0053.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-imag_0054.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-imag_0056.jpg  

Old 20th March 2011, 23:33   #477

Today i received few stuff

1) 3 pairs of Blank VW Keys
2) VW German make - Horn grills ( i took 6 pieces )

Parts already landed, and delivery tomorrow

1) Window winder mechanisms
2) NOS, but used- Hinge screw cover caps ( 2 numbers )
My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-imag_0090.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-imag_0091.jpg  

Old 21st March 2011, 15:57   #478

Today i received few stuff

1) 3 pairs of Blank VW Keys
2) VW German make - Horn grills ( i took 6 pieces )

Parts already landed, and delivery tomorrow

1) Window winder mechanisms
2) NOS, but used- Hinge screw cover caps ( 2 numbers )
Congratulations on the haul - were these locally sourced (within India) or imported?

Btw, NOS implies old but unused, I assume you want to say the hinge screw cover caps (?) are original, but used.
Old 21st March 2011, 18:52   #479

Originally Posted by karlosdeville View Post
Congratulations on the haul - were these locally sourced (within India) or imported?

Btw, NOS implies old but unused, I assume you want to say the hinge screw cover caps (?) are original, but used.

Thank you Karl,

Most of the Stuff is Imported, Nothing Made in India this time

Please do let me know if you may need anything..

NOS parts, well there are few Unused with VW GERMANY engraved over it, and few used but in GREAT Condition.

I received one more parcel today.

The next big parcel and maybe the Final one's to COMPLETE my Restoration one time finally will be after i return back from my much awaited 3 week Holiday.

Sorry for some blurred pics....Its VW and Germany engraved on that door hinge screw caps....
My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-imag_0092.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-imag_0093.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-imag_0097.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-imag_0101.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-imag_0098.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-imag_0099.jpg  

My 1967 1500cc VW Beetle - Restoration done-imag_0100.jpg  

Old 22nd March 2011, 00:45   #480

Why on Earth is going on between ajay and Pavan.. Ajay i dont think there is a necessity to write a AGAINST post for every post Pavan makes.
Please Chill.. Use this forum to enlighten each other not fight and impose ones superiority.. Everyone on this forum is an enthu and this is a learning process for everyone here on tbhp.. Talking is Easy, But Doing it Isnt so Simple. I usually dont go around posting such "preachings" but I was very annoyed by such a thing happening and no one intervened since long time..
I am not in favour of Pavan nor against Ajay just my 2 cents to keep this TBHP family together as a Happy One..

Anyways, Pavan, You are doing a Nice Job.. It takes immense efforts to take on such restorations, and lot goes into making cars of such vintage "Runners" let alone bringing them to pristine conditions.. and I feel that one should take efforts to bring a particular car to its ORIGINALITY.. but a few things here and there dont matter much as long as the car is saved and restored.. cos that is the need of the Day

Keep up the Excellent Job..

Shreeram